Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

great evening duck shooting

• 21-11-2010 7:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭

hi being keeping a eye on a pond a few miles from the house have not shot it till this evening . arrived just on half past four few teal on it walked them off it .set up the decoys and settled into the hide with the lab few lapwings darting around and snipe seen 3 woodcock but left them alone ducks were the target . 20 mins passed when max looked upi know the ducks are near looking around seen 3 swinging around on them 2 shots 2 ducks good start reloaded the third duck came back going over my head dropped it behind me seen a few more poked the gun a few times :rolleyes: did not shoot 4 more came in for the back dropped 2 more teal were landing on the edge no chance of a shot. time was passing heard a few splashes of ducks landing got 3 more in 10 mins finished up with 6 drakes and 2 ducks fired 11 shots so good return spent 20 mins picking them up with my lab got them all good evening shooting came back and the pup 7 weeks old decided he wanted one of the ducks good to see him showing a interest this early :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 jwoods

Thats a great bit of shooting fair play good pics aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

Thats great shooting,8 out of 11:cool:;)

the pup looks great with the bird, is he docked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

johnner1 wrote: »
    Thats great shooting,8 out of 11:cool:;)

the pup looks great with the bird, is he docked?
    hi no full tail on him you can see it in his shadow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

thats grand, a docked lab would be a strange sight:eek:, stranger things have happend:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭gripp

good post,and goog pics.have you been feeding the pond or is there a natural food source?

gripp wrote: »
    good post,and goog pics.have you been feeding the pond or is there a natural food source?
    hi natural feed i shoot it 4 times during the season last one to cull drakes but keep going as i am there will be no need to water quality is better when your not feeding it there is a good flow in and out and there not being fired at each week i do feed a smaller pond 2 miles away in a sanctuary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

Fair Play Good Shooting...Nice Pup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

out myself last night. the water had only just came on the pond in the last fortnight and had only started to fed it a little over a week ago. when we arrived there was huge amount of feeding activity , so we fed the pond again and sat in to wait. Over 30 ducks came and 6 went home in the van. the shooting rate was not great, but it was the first eve out of the season so hopefully it wiil inmprove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 remi243

great result there m8 your well able to knock em:) they will make some good eating for you,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Antoennis

Great shooting and pics.

Anthony
    www.ishootandfish.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

Good shooting, good success rate by you.

What do ye usually feed a pond if you were doing it to attract ducks? also what time would ye do it and I pressume you just throw in the feed and walk away or is there another way.

Mark

MarkD. wrote: »
    Good shooting, good success rate by you.

What do ye usually feed a pond if you were doing it to attract ducks? also what time would ye do it and I pressume you just throw in the feed and walk away or is there another way.

Mark
    hi mark i feed rolled barley and small spuds mashed up on the edges and whole maize every second feed with no problems i check to see if its all gone if so i put the same amount out again if there is some left i cut back on the next feed i do have a few bait stations down for rats hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

steyrman2 wrote: »
    hi mark i feed rolled barley and small spuds mashed up on the edges and whole maize every second feed with no problems i check to see if its all gone if so i put the same amount out again if there is some left i cut back on the next feed i do have a few bait stations down for rats hope this helps

Thanks alot, I'll try that on a local abandoned quarry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

i scatter an 8 stone bag of barley around the edges in no more than 9 inches of water. i have two ponds .when i return to shot the pond in two weeks time i give it another 8 stone of barley