Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warning

• 21-11-2010 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

I was out for a shot yesturday afternoon with a mate of mine. Parked up the jeep and of we went. Arrived back at the jeep a few hours later to find the jeep had been broken into they popped the barrel on the drivers door. They took my iphone and the mates wallet which were in the glove box and a pair of sunglass and a set of binos, we found the binos in a ditch about 500m away. This is the last thing you wuold exspect after a days shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

jwoods wrote: »
    I was out for a shot yesturday afternoon with a mate of mine. Parked up the jeep and of we went. Arrived back at the jeep a few hours later to find the jeep had been broken into they popped the barrel on the drivers door. They took my iphone and the mates wallet which were in the glove box and a pair of sunglass and a set of binos, we found the binos in a ditch about 500m away. This is the last thing you wuold exspect after a days shooting.

Sorry to hear that, was the glove box locked, hopefully an isolated incident, opportunists ,sign of the times I would say, we will see a lot more of this in the near future with the recession:(

Happened to me not so long ago. Oppurtunists I think, hasn't happened since. Horrible that we have to think of the safety of our property while we're enjoying a bit of shooting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

same thing happened to me last year in kilkenny i was out pigeon shooting only a field away from the car . i heard a noise and i headed towerds the car then i heard a car drive away and when i got to my car the window was smashed they must have seen me coming and got out of there its not a nice feeling and nothing you can do really but from then on ill always try leave my car close to a house and most people know my car but other than that when you leave your vehicle to go shooting its vulnerable to crimenals and they know its a shame really ...what did the guards have to say about the incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 jwoods

The glove box was closed but not locked, The gaurds just took a report not a whole lot else they can do still reported it just to let the gaurds know was what happening in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

Happened to us at a hunt meet few years back. A dozen cars, jeeps and lorries broken into. Tools, clothes, money, cameras etc taken. Nothing came of it though. The cousin's van had bout 40 bottles of whiskey in the back for xmas gifts to customers, lucky for him he was parked a bit up the road and they never touched it !!

40 bottles of whiskey he was a lucky man to still have them.

Damn lucky, dont think his boss would've been too happy to have to replace all those bottles :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

You may wish to consider as I do, leaving the doors unlocked. If they are going to steal the car, there isn't much a glass window will do to prevent the theft. It's those idiots that smash a window or pop a cylinder just to see if there's anything inside to steal that get my goat. Cause a grand worth of damage just to get 100 worth of stuff. If you ever lived in the city, you'll know that the crack heads would break a window just to get a couple of coins. In addition to leaving the doors unlocked I have an alarm that goes off for two minutes the instant the light goes on. Never had a problem. Leave nothing in the car. Put everything into a bag and leave somewhere in a field. Somewhere where the glass can see :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭pejay

Hello lads.

This is the very reason i made a dog box for inside my van this year.

When you are out shooting being able to get the van totaly off the road is great.

If you pulled up in the van to head off shooting at the end of a narrow lane or something like that you might not chance going up it because you might not get turned with the dog trailer and getting stuck in a field trying to swing around because of the extra weight is also an issue.

It is great to be able to get out of sight of those "opportunists", my arse!!! They know what time of year it is loads of vans/cars parked around the roads.

The new thing around here now is doing cars when people are at funerals.

The local hunt had there cars jeeps done the week before last they were parked at a pub on a busyish road

Westmeath hunt had someone's jeep broken into on sat, had hidden the keys in the horsebox, whoever it was found them and emptied the whole jeep, bout €2k of gear !! Lucky he wasnt looking fo another jeep !!

Absolute SCUM !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Given the way the countries headed, I'd expect alot more of this kind of thing in the future:(

The jeep was broken into near castlepollard in westmeath was that any where near the hunt that was on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

It was happening quite a bit around Finea a few years ago (and not just to the D reg cars :p )

I haven't been shooting up there this season, so I don't know if it's still going on.
    :mad:

The jeep was broken into near castlepollard in westmeath was that any where near the hunt that was on?

Where abouts in Castlepollard, that's my neck of the woods !! Hunt was in Bunbrosna, bout 12 miles away on the mullingar - longford road. The previous hunt I mentioned was on the castlepollard/finea road !! Must be a thieving hotspot !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

FISMA wrote: »
    If you ever lived in the city, you'll know that the crack heads would break a window just to get a couple of coins

City drivers don't leave coins or anything on display, so it rarely happens. Looks like JWoods didn't either. I can't believe the obvious question isn't been asked, who the fook robs cars belonging to people that are in the area with loaded guns and dogs with big teeth? I mean seriously, that's insane. The must be watching you, making sure you are miles away when they break in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

happens alot to hill walkers that leave there cars parked on the sallygap/military road in wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

welsummer wrote: »
    happens alot to hill walkers that leave there cars parked on the sallygap/military road in wicklow

Yeah, I have always been lucky, but have seen their handywork.

tfox wrote: »
    Where abouts in Castlepollard, that's my neck of the woods !! Hunt was in Bunbrosna, bout 12 miles away on the mullingar - longford road. The previous hunt I mentioned was on the castlepollard/finea road !! Must be a thieving hotspot !!

Happened on the Multyfarnham to Coole road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Koro

Thanks for the warning I've been getting a bit complacent lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

I Live About 8 miles Away Form Bunbrosana in Longford.....Crime As regards Country Sports Has Being On The Increase In The Area Form Lads Jeeps And Cars Being Damaged While Out Shooting To Ferrets,guns, Dogs And Even Boats Been Stolen...Cant Be To Carefull These Days!!:mad:

I used to live down on the shore of Lough Derravarragh and had 2 boat engines and jack russel dog lifted one night !! House on the finea road was broken into recently and they made a hell of a go at getting the gun safe off the wall !! other few houses been targeted around the area.

A jeep parked at the side of the road on a wend is pretty much an invitation for some thieving scumbag to chance his arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭T223

Sorry to say it was my jeep that got broken in2 that day:mad: was only gone 4 about an hour with jwoods and another 2 lads. <mod snip> also had out board stolen from derravarragh this year so hasent been 2 good of a year 4 me so far