Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Who Is Going to the UK?

• 21-11-2010 1:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭

Specifically looking at people who are emigrating to the UK, because I did this myself about three years ago, I'm interested to know the feelings of people on this board (given the history we have with the UK) towards themselves and others, friends and relatives perhaps, going to the UK in the wake of the countries financial crisis.

So, maybe you already left, if that's the case why did you go?

Maybe you've recently graduated and your best friend just hoped on a plane to London? Would you feel like joining them?

Perhaps you're reading these words and considering moving to the UK if it might offer a better alternative then the indignity you feel about having to claim the dole every week, and maybe your dole is about to run out!

I moved to the UK because I had just graduated and wanted to move in with my other half. But more importantly then that, I did it because I honestly felt as though the UK would have a bigger pool in which to "fish" for a job, and in some aspects I was right and I've been very lucky - and other days I look out the window and wonder if I made the wrong choice. That's life.

Why Did You Emigrate to the UK? 56 votes

I graduated from college and there were no jobs!
    0% 0 votes
    All my friends went there so I followed suit!
    28% 16 votes
    I have relatives there, I could set up shop quite easily
    10% 6 votes
    I'm applying for UK jobs as well as Irish ones, always good to keep your options open
    19% 11 votes
    I blame an older generation who refuse to retire, so I went somewhere I might find a career type job
    25% 14 votes
    I want to start a family, have a good standard of living, I won't get that in Ireland
    16% 9 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

If im moving it wont be to another cold and wet island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'll be over there in the New Year I'd imagine. F**k this country and its paedo church and the gombeens who sank it into a hole. At least I'll be allowed fox and stag hunt to my heart's content over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

I'm already applying for jobs over there. Can't find a job at all here.

I'm currently studying with the Open Uni so it would benefit me a whole lot more because the cost of the modules are half of what they are here.

Added to that what's better than a free visit to the doctor and under a tenner for medication afterwards compared to €50-60 here and then God knows how much for your medication after.

Another reason is how p*ssed off I am with politics in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I don't think I could live there with the Tories in charge.

My sister's over there and she says they are just looking out for the rich lads and all their friends who went to Eton and Oxbridge, who backed them financially and got them into power. I've had enough of that kinda crap here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

I'd consider it but it's easier to get work in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

Yeah my sister and her fiance are applying for jobs there at the minute... she has just graduated and cant get a job, and they have a mortgage to pay so... has to be done :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's best to stay in Ireland. There's going to be a lot of people needed to manufacture deck-chairs for the new lebensraum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭mox54

Deja Vu!, I left in 1986 during last recession and lived in London for 12 years, worked in civil service and now regret ever coming back to this joke of a country, may pack up and go again if got my old job back!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

F**k this country and its paedo church

Lol.
    I may just have that inscribed on my tombstone.

As soon as I'm done with college I hope to be over there. Screw this country. Screw the media. Screw the doomsayers. Screw the people who complain but do nothing about it. Screw the politicians. Screw everything that has made me ashamed of where I was born and raised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

flash1080 wrote: »
    I'd consider it but it's easier to get work in Ireland.

I'd like to live in your Ireland

I take it you're from the city of Dublin, Ohio, USA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Screw this country. Screw the media. Screw the doomsayers. Screw the people who complain but do nothing about it. Screw the politicians. Screw everything that has made me ashamed of where I was born and raised.

As soon as I'm done with college I hope to be over there.

Getting a job with Screwfix direct?

I don't think I could live there with the Tories in charge.

My sister's over there and she says they are just looking out for the rich lads and all their friends who went to Eton and Oxbridge, who backed them financially and got them into power. I've had enough of that kinda crap here.

So is there a difference between FF and the Tories, apart from the accents?

Well - Tories are probably less likely to run their country into the ground or lie through their teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'd imagine there's a significant bmi difference between the two parties also.

I'd like to live in your Ireland

I take it you're from the city of Dublin, Ohio, USA?

No.

Well - Tories are probably less likely to run their country into the ground or lie through their teeth.

They nearly did in 1992 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Wednesday

Labour UK had the IMF in 1976 http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/politics/4553464.stm

So are they equally as incompetent across the water? well I wouldnt say equally, nobody can well and truly f&ck things up like FF, but they've had close calls. And dont forget Blairs' lies about Iraq.

As soon as I'm done with college I hope to be over there. Screw this country. Screw the media. Screw the doomsayers. Screw the people who complain but do nothing about it. Screw the politicians. Screw everything that has made me ashamed of where I was born and raised.

I think all this emigration will be good because it will get rid of people with negative attitudes like that above. All this negativity is what's bringing this country down.

Agreed. We should have gone to the IMF and asked for a big suitcase full of positivity at 6%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I spent 2 years in the UK and moved back to Ireland in 2009. I managed to find a contract job but that's ending in January and I'm off to Canada at the end of January. I liked it over in the UK and wouldn't rule out going back there if I had to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Finishing my degree this summer then heading to America, all going well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

UK AOK

Actually all the negativity that exists in this country is the reason I am counting the days until I'm finished college.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Like yourself perhaps? Running away isn't exactly proactive now is it?

I don't know why people would go to the UK anyway. It's a bit drab really.

Go to Canada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Technically I emigrated to the UK 11 years ago when I moved to Northern Ireland.

Not for any of the reasons on your poll but for several other reasons (the cost of living in the Republic being the main one) A lot of people at the time told I was mad (it was the height of the celtic tiger bubble) most of them are on the dole now.

No immediate plans to move again but wouldnt rule out doing so in the future to Germany or Holland probably.

Like yourself perhaps? Running away isn't exactly proactive now is it?

I don't know why people would go to the UK anyway. It's a bit drab really.

Go to Canada.

It's much easier to go to England, seeing as how no Visas are required. I am doing something about it; I'm not staying in a country that is dying a slow and painful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

It's much easier to go to England, seeing as how no Visas are required. I am doing something about it; I'm not staying in a country that is dying a slow and painful death.

You are not staying in a country dying a slow and painful death, and also running away from negative attitudes?

I came to the UK for a few years a few years ago. It is alright, although London is a bit too crowded. I live elsewhere but work in London.

mostly Irish people over here are still thin on the ground, but generally we are are a happy bunch but we mostly emigrated by choice. I am worried that a new generation of Angries will gather at the local pubs. On the plus side I may find a pub showing a hurling final now and again.

So welcome: but shut up about Ireland. English people dont want to hear you whine about FF. Learn to hate the Tories instead.

BTW I might come back to Dublin if house prices continue to tumble. Tubling house prices for the win. As far as I can see daft.ie is still cloud cukoo land.

You are not staying in a country dying a slow and painful death, and also running away from negative attitudes?

Yes, leaving here is much easier than trying to live in a little bubble - you tune on the radio, they're talking about the recession, you turn on the TV, they're talking about the recession, you pick up a newspaper, there's an article on the recession, you log on to boards, there's hundreds of threads about the recession.

I wouldn't be surprised if, in the middle of a porno, they stop having sex and start talking about this bloody recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ameeee

Don't mean to rain on anyone's parade but if you want to job hunt in the UK you better get over here tomorrow. The ****'s hitting the fan here too and thousands of public sector jobs are going which means the jobs market will be flooded with job hunters very soon. I live here with my fiance and we both have decent jobs but it's drying up.

ameeee wrote: »
    Don't mean to rain on anyone's parade but if you want to job hunt in the UK you better get over here tomorrow. The ****'s hitting the fan here too and thousands of public sector jobs are going which means the jobs market will be flooded with job hunters very soon. I live here with my fiance and we both have decent jobs but it's drying up.

The UK is not booming, to be sure. And it probably wont create jobs net in the next few years, because the public sector will take a hit.

Cameron is going to torpedo the Uk public sector, includes teaching, lecturing research et al.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

It's much easier to go to England, seeing as how no Visas are required.

No visa required for Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus (South), Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden.......

Of course a couple of these countries are just as deeply in the crapper as us while there may be language issues in others but surely the latter shouldnt be much of a problem for our well educated workforce (TM) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I lol'ed at teh option which said "I blame an older generation who refuse to retire, so I went somewhere I might find a career type job", as you will be the "older generation who refuse to retire" in the end :D

BTW I might come back to Dublin if house prices continue to tumble. Tubling house prices for the win.

You vulture! You parasite! It was paying reasonable prices for a home that stopped this country from becoming unjustifiably rich in the first place :mad:

/plans to do same. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Fran79

Hi
    I came over from the UK 2 years ago and would never go back to the UK.
    I love it here......
    No sitting for ages in traffic (and I didn't even live in a city in the UK), no council tax or water rates (ok I know these will probably come in soon - but they will be less than I was paying in the UK).
    The cost of living is not that high here....if you look at the cost of buying things the UK prices have evened up a lot over the past year (with a few exceptions) Check www.mysupermarket.co.uk for a comparison on food prices.
    Bear in mind the really low UK minimum wage and dole rates (£5.93/hr and £65.45/week) - even on minimum wage here I have to work less hours to do the weekly food shop here than I did in the UK.

By all means if you still want to go to the UK go - but just remember that the streets are not paved with gold.

You may find this website usefull
    http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/index.htm

Fran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I came to the UK for a few years a few years ago. It is alright, although London is a bit too crowded. I like elsewhere but work in London.

mostly Irish people over here are still thin on the ground, but generally we are are a happy bunch but we mostly emigrated by choice. I am worried that a new generation of Angries will gather at the local pubs. On the plus side I may find a pub showing a hurling final now and again.

So welcome: but shut up about Ireland. English people dont want to hear you whine about FF. Learn to hate the Tories instead.

as long as you don't end up in a pub where they want to watch a celtic match instead of the hurling final you'll be grand, they're a different sort of angries, with funny accents.

Are you English Fran?

Oh I should say - that it really wont be like the 1950's. I have just arranged to meet a friend of mine in the pub next Friday at 10pm. In Dublin. Talked online, and arranged a flight between this and my last post. Will stay with my sister, who was also on IM at the time. In reality there is no real distance anymore, being in London, or elsewhere in the UK is not different than Cork-Dublin. People will come and go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

When ye go to the UK and they laugh at our economy just reply with 'well at least we've got a leprechaun museum'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Even if the Irish economy was booming I'd leave, there's something about Ireland I've never liked but I can't put a finger on it, the weather, the people?..I'm not sure. I've always wanted to get out of here. Maybe I'll find I dislike other countries as much but I'll have to give them a go first :D.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    No visa required for Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus (South), Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden.......

Of course a couple of these countries are just as deeply in the crapper as us while there may be language issues in others but surely the latter shouldnt be much of a problem for our well educated workforce (TM) ?

The 'educated workforce' is the greatest lie we've inflicted on ourselves. The Brazilian economy is beginning to grow rapidly at the minute and visas are relatively easy to get apparently but an Irish person learn a new language??? Not a hope.

Even if the Irish economy was booming I'd leave, there's something about Ireland I've never liked but I can't put a finger on it, the weather, the people?..I'm not sure. I've always wanted to get out of here. Maybe I'll find I dislike other countries as much but I'll have to give them a go first :D.

Yes, it could well be you.

The 'educated workforce' is the greatest lie we've inflicted on ourselves. The Brazilian economy is beginning to grow rapidly at the minute and visas are relatively easy to get apparently but an Irish person learn a new language??? Not a hope.

Hmm, I agree on the languages but economic migration never goes from a richer place to a poorer place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭dasdog

I'm not going anywhere. We managed to contain the cancer of the Catholic church. I will take pleasure in watching the FF cancer being removed. The PIIGS acronym may be getting a U prefix next year. If the dominoes start to topple they are in line after Espanga (+Portugal/Italy) for market scutiny.

As of March 31, the latest data available, the banks had exposure of about $222 billion to a variety of Irish institutions, according to BIS. That's about one-fourth of the world's exposure to Ireland. About $42 billion of the U.K. banks' exposure is in the form of lending to Ireland's battered banking sector.

http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com/2010/11/european-banks-have-650-billion.html

After them, the USA. That's when the pound of mashed up Dundee cake really hits the fan.

dasdog wrote: »
    I'm not going anywhere. We managed to contain the cancer of the Catholic church. I will take pleasure in watching the FF cancer being removed. The PIIGS acronym may be getting a U prefix next year. If the dominoes start to topple they are in line after Espanga (+Portugal/Italy) for market scutiny.

As of March 31, the latest data available, the banks had exposure of about $222 billion to a variety of Irish institutions, according to BIS. That's about one-fourth of the world's exposure to Ireland. About $42 billion of the U.K. banks' exposure is in the form of lending to Ireland's battered banking sector.

http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com/2010/11/european-banks-have-650-billion.html

After them, the USA. That's when the pound of mashed up Dundee cake really hits the fan.

They can print their way out of recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭dasdog

They can print their way out of recession.

+ they have massive Chinese/Saudi interests but the knock on will be felt unless Obama starts getting his act together to fix the mess he inherited.

Yes, it could well be you.

It is me :D. Ireland and I just don't get along :pac:.
    Hmm, I agree on the languages but economic migration never goes from a richer place to a poorer place.

Well apparently there's been quite significant immigration to Brazil from Portugal within the last 3 years or so and Portugal would always have been considered better off so...I don't know. The standard of living in some parts of Brazil is better than Ireland also so I can't see it being beyond the bounds of economics..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭jaysusake

How do ye work that out? In what sector?