Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards AC time trial

• 20-11-2010 7:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭

Well done to those who turned up for this today (shame we didn't get more, roadrunner had organised a spread to feed an army :D ), superb conditions and course and some nice PBs to match.
    A few pics
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/25938822@N07/sets/72157625432270996/
    Anyone wants an original, let me know and hope you guys enjoyed it.
    well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

What were the scores on the doors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Woddle wrote: »
    Well done to those who turned up for this today (shame we didn't get more, roadrunner had organised a spread to feed an army :D ), superb conditions and course and some nice PBs to match.
    A few pics
    well done.
    Dave, thanks to yourself and the other dave for organising the race. super course and brilliant friendly race and a bit of craic after. thanks to niall for time keeping too. will stick a report up now before i drink too much heineken and start talking dribble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

A few pics
    well done.

Fair play to you all, some great snaps there. Emer911 has quickly moved from a HH wannabe, to current female course record holder, more power to her!
    (shame we didn't get more, roadrunner had organised a spread to feed an army :D )

It is a shame (and the Dublin inter XC's being moved to clash with this weekend didn't help any). FWIW Roadrunner, your input into this run is to be commended, it's all about people willing to step up and volunteer, get off their asses and do something, which you have. I'm going to organize something similar ("time trial") on the Wicklow hills in the new year, which I hope you'll come down to (practice for the WWR;)).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Dave, thanks to yourself and the other dave for organising the race. super course and brilliant friendly race and a bit of craic after. thanks to niall for time keeping too. will stick a report up now before i drink too much heineken and start talking dribble

And where else would you get a game of 3 aside before a 5k :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

roadrunner had organised a spread to feed an army

I tried my best to polish it all off, didnt know it was possible to put on weight racing!
    And where else would you get a game of 3 aside before a 5k :D

A good game of 3 a saide for a guaranteed PB, are we organising a game for the waterford warm up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    What were the scores on the doors?

Sorry beepbeep missed this post, top 3 all under 19 minutes with aero2k taking the win in 18'10 and Brianderunner and kennyb running 18'47 and 18'54 respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭RAL3

Thanks to Roadrunner and Woddle for organising this.

The route was excellent and the feed afterwards was great - really enjoyed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

This was a great race. Well done to the two lads for setting it up.
    But somebody should have told me how stupid that headband looked on me:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

No one told me there was free food. I'd have moved for free food. :)

Hopefully this will happen again and I'll get to go next time. Sounds like good fun was had by all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭SharkTale

Thanks to Roadrunner and Woddle, great course and Michelin Star food afterwards, nice to put a names to faces after the time trial.

Great day, well done again to all,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

Emer911 has quickly moved from a HH wannabe, to current female course record holder, more power to her!

It's a bit of swizz when I was the only girlie doing it - Sheesh! Don't go putting me under pressure or anything!? :p

Thanks to all for organising this. Must admit I was a bit daunted when I saw that there was only a few of us doing it, but I really enjoyed myself. And it was a PB for me too, so dead chuffed with that :D And the food was definitely top nosh notch.

Good photos, as usual, from Woddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Glad you all enjoyed the day. A real pity more people didn't turn up. I was using it as a demo run for a larger race I'm planning on running next year and wanted to get an idea if the start was too narrow etc. I would have invited a few friends along to increase numbers if I had of known beforehand. There was a lot of wasted food which is a real pity.

As a club you should really push to have at least one club race a year. My club has 2 and they are always well attended, those injured or too lazy to run still come along and it's always a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

It was a good outing and a very flat course. No excuse not to get a PB on it. Actually, the 3 a side football knackered me out, I didnt conserve enough energy for the sprint for the last 1km.

Food was lovely alright. Glad to be running in the inaugral race, looking forward to the anniversary run. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Patrick_K

Hi Folks,

Can someone send me the route for this please.
    I run around Maynooth the whole time and would be interested to know if there is a decent spot for a 5K time trial.

Cheers
    PK