Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best driving range

• 17-11-2010 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭

Just wondering what features the best driving ranges in the country have? eg automated tees etc.

I know nothing about golf (yet) but I own a field in a perfect location. The local driving range closed down a number of years ago as the owner became ill and ive heard it was quiet profitable.

So just want ye guys to advice on things like type of balls/automated tees/best design/targets etc. Im going drawing up plams shortly so would to hear ye're recommendations. The town had 8000 ppl and a good golf club.
    if any of ye are involved in the business maybe ye could pm some figures.
    One thing I know may be a problem is the planning permission

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Fourcandle

The best range I've used is Gorey Driving Range (beside Amber Springs Hotel). Quite small by comparison to some but best set up, best automated tee system and hitting mats that I've seen and used.
    Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Frogdog

I'm a member in Killarney and recently the driving range on one of our courses (Lackabane) has been done up (due to Irish Open etc).

We now have decent cover from the elements, and it's also open 24 hours a day with very little supervision/attendance from staff needed. All members have a card with a chip on it, similar to a credit card, which we can top up in the club shop, bar, or either of the two clubhouses. With this card we can get practise balls at any hour of the day from the machines. So insomniacs, fanatics or those that work night shifts can come hit a few balls if they wish.

OP, if you could get some sort of a 24 hour system like this, the only maintenance you'd need to do is cut grass/collect golf balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

The automated tees and associated mats are standard and a must these days IMO.

Targets should be clearly visible from the bays (are you listening Leopardstown!)

For every 5 bays you should have at least targets/greens @:
    50m
    100m
    150m
    200m

After 200m you just need a couple of things for people to vaguely drive towards.

My preference would be for a downhill range, I really dont care that the ball will go a little further, its more important for me to see where/how it lands.

Also dont skimp on golf balls. Anything less than the standard Srixon practice/range balls is a mistake IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

GreeBo wrote: »

The automated tees and associated mats are standard and a must these days IMO.

Interesting about the automated tees - I was under the impression most people didn't like them as they were kind of counter-productive for practise? I personally don't like them but if they're that popular then yuo should probably consider them.

Personally, what I would like to see is alot more targets in the 120yd and less range - even up to 10/15/20 yds away. Not necessarily greens, but at least nets, tyres, flags - anything!

One thing I wanted to mention, is the OP certain the field is large enough? Golf balls tend to go in all kinds of directions - often going further right/left than they go "far" if you know what I mean.

Either way, best of luck!

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Interesting about the automated tees - I was under the impression most people didn't like them as they were kind of counter-productive for practise? I personally don't like them but if they're that popular then yuo should probably consider them.

Personally, what I would like to see is alot more targets in the 120yd and less range - even up to 10/15/20 yds away. Not necessarily greens, but at least nets, tyres, flags - anything!

One thing I wanted to mention, is the OP certain the field is large enough? Golf balls tend to go in all kinds of directions - often going further right/left than they go "far" if you know what I mean.

Either way, best of luck!

I only use the automated feature for my driver and maybe some fairway wood practice but the synthetic longer grass around the rubber tee gives better feedback than the regular hard mat/carpet I reckon.

Also, beginners use the ball from a tee 99% of the time, so I think not having it will put people off.

Regarding targets I think you cannot have too many really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Forgot to say, if the OP can get a snoop round the GUI facility at Carton House he will get a good idea of what a good DR looks like. Having said that, they could do with a few more targets of pitching distance as well - although they have a super short-game area in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

I think the 24 hour thing is a fanstastic idea. Havnt heard of it before but being a bit of a night owl myself, i'd be one of the people that would prefer to use the range very late at night. Id recommend that if you were to build a range, to make sure you have a few outdoor bays where the golfer can hit balls off proper turf. Some places have really nice mats but you can't beat proper turf to practice on and it's nice to have the option between the two. As someone already said, dont skimp on balls. Best range ive used is in Kinsealy and they use Srixons. The upstairs bays in Kinsealy are also good partly from a novelty factor but also because you can cleary see where the ball is landing which is the downfall of many ranges out there.

Best of luck with it anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭EPjnr

Guys thanks alot, this has being the most helpfull thread ive posted. Keep it up:D

I'm getting feedback from other places too that automated tees arent always prefered. so i was thinking half and half esp when id imagine ill save a huge amount for each automatic tee i cut back on. I will have lots of outside bays also as these would not be at all costly as people will be hitting of the turf.

Yeah the 24hr sounds like a great idea. i presume lighting will only need to come on when someone actually comes in. and what about non members? A machine thats despenses balls that takes change?

I was thinking 2 levels myself .... their is no competition locally but people may come from other towns as the facilities in these driving ranges are very poor, so the two levels may an attraction from a novelty point of view. 2 levels = higher insurance i wonder?

Yes the field is huge so there is no worries about balls straying and it is down hill (slightly) very flat field with a slight slope.

i actually stayed in carton hse two weeks ago... and only leaving next morning that i spotted the driving range, unfortunately i was in a hurry but it looked top notch.

I can put in as many targets as I feel people would like as this would not be costly. this may be a stupid question but is it unheard off for a driving range to have greens out on the field, id imagine a few greens with flags at different distances would be good targets to aim for. almost like the real thing :P

top quality balls- check:)

Im getting the feeling if a proper system is in place, wages costs would be very little apart from maintanence/ball collecting.

and can u just fill me in on what a super short game area entails?? forgive my ignorance , i must start getting in on this golf craic :D

EPjnr wrote: »
    I'm getting feedback from other places too that automated tees arent always prefered. so i was thinking half and half esp when id imagine ill save a huge amount for each automatic tee i cut back on. I will have lots of outside bays also as these would not be at all costly as people will be hitting of the turf.
    Just remember that this turf area gets cut up...a lot. After a practice session on grass I will have removed about 1m square of grass. This will require labour to get the grass back, especially during summer. So dont count on it being an automated setup.

I can put in as many targets as I feel people would like as this would not be costly. this may be a stupid question but is it unheard off for a driving range to have greens out on the field, id imagine a few greens with flags at different distances would be good targets to aim for. almost like the real thing :P
    Remember that targets will obstruct your ability to collect the balls. (For this you need a tractor and a ball picking up trailer) If you have big targets/nets all over the place its going to make it much harder to collect the balls.
    and can u just fill me in on what a super short game area entails?? forgive my ignorance , i must start getting in on this golf craic :D
    It needs to have at least 2 large/long greens with bunkers down one side of it and flags opposite the bunkers (say a flag every 5/10m)
    The "other" green needs to be similiar but doesn need the bunkers as people will be chipping onto this. Again this is going to need maintenance to keep the bunkers filled/raked and the chipping area covered in grass.

Personally I start with the range and see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Frogdog wrote: »
    All members have a card with a chip on it, similar to a credit card, which we can top up in the club shop, bar, or either of the two clubhouses. With this card we can get practice balls at any hour of the day from the machines. .
    does it matter if the money on your card is in your comp account or your bar account????
    i always just bought the token cards from the vending machines :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Mat the trasher

The driving range at the Heritage in Killenard is almost as good as Carton, good short game area and putting green. 9 yoyo for 90-100 balls a couple of weeks ago and there was no charge to use the short game area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Drynham driving range have large mirrors behind most of the bays which is a great feature - allows you to check your posture, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Dromoland's driving range is top notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭VikingG

Agree with the poster who said to make sure you have plenty room on either side.... Was in Coonagh driving range in Limerick a few weeks ago and someone who lived in a house on the right hand side of the range came in .... giving out that they had been hit with a golf ball....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Icepickle

Rather than your usual yardage targets I'd like to see lifesize cutouts of the likes of Brian Cowen, Mary Coughlin, Bono, Ronaldo, Jedward etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Supateer

Hi EPjnr
    The best company to work with is Epic Golf Ireland Ltd, based in the North. Really helpful and great products for any driving range. Great advice too - will save you a fortune. They did for me!
    Google them and chat to Julian.
    All the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Sam Fisher

Love going to driving range, I am based in Dublin, so I've been to Leopardstown, Fingal (near the airport) and Elm Green. Also the range out in St. Margarets and Hollystown. Personally, I love to be able to hit balls towards clearly marked (distance) targets, then work on my short game in a short game area (Fingal), then hit shots out of bunkers (in St. Margarets) and practice my putting (Elm Green, very cheeky of me!). If there is a range that has all the above, I would definitely be out there 3 or 4 time per week.

I like the idea of 24 hours range, not too pushed with automatic tees, but I can understand why beginners would like them. How about mirrors to see how bad my swing is? I remember they used to have them in a range out by Tyrellstown which is now closed.

Oh, finally, the price have to be resonable, or maybe some sort of loyalty system, like €8 for 100 balls, and for 1000 balls at €60 or something.

After all ur posts guys and wasting ur time perhaps... i was thinking about it at the weekend... im going to keep it a very simple driving range i think... ill still have the huge field and will have all the markers and all the things that dont cost much... as ive nothing to compete with why spend 90k on a driving range that u could put up for 30k ... was talking to a guy at the weekend who said automated tees are a waste, not everyone likes them.. also he said on fine days everyone would be happy to be outside so just maybe 10 sheltered bays and lots of slots to play off outside... a ball vending machine and lighting.. no un necessary costs and if its a very profitable venture i may upgrade it in a couple of years, its just with this climate and things only getting worse why have unnecessary costs? Your thoughts please from a business point of view rather than golf? If I could cut the cost of this driving range by 50-60k I don’t any extra features would bring in that extra revenue..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

You are wasting every penny you put into that place if you only install 10 sheltered bays. "I was talking to some guy at the weekend and he said automatic tees were a waste of money", FFS.

jimdagym; the last driving range in this town 6 years ago had 6 sheltered bays. cant inagine more than ten people out at the range in a small town like this on a wet day. in both local towns one guy has 8 and the other 12

also the majority feedback was that automated tees were a waste, at 5k a pop.... they'd have to be a must!! So you'd be talkin about a range with up to 20 bays with automated tees i take it??? = 100k ''FFS''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

After all ur posts guys and wasting ur time perhaps... i was thinking about it at the weekend... im going to keep it a very simple driving range i think... ill still have the huge field and will have all the markers and all the things that dont cost much... as ive nothing to compete with why spend 90k on a driving range that u could put up for 30k ... was talking to a guy at the weekend who said automated tees are a waste, not everyone likes them.. also he said on fine days everyone would be happy to be outside so just maybe 10 sheltered bays and lots of slots to play off outside... a ball vending machine and lighting.. no un necessary costs and if its a very profitable venture i may upgrade it in a couple of years, its just with this climate and things only getting worse why have unnecessary costs? Your thoughts please from a business point of view rather than golf? If I could cut the cost of this driving range by 50-60k I don’t any extra features would bring in that extra revenue..?

are you taking the p*ss??
    the above is destined to fail
    sure you can get it up and running a little cheaper than 90k but what ur suggesting wont even attract local rednecks with a rusty 3iron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Leaving anything unmanned in this country is a recipe for disaster. The 24 hour thing is a non starter in my opinion. In all fairness people expect a little more than a field, a glorified shed and a bit of lighting these days.

Actually, one thing you've ommited is drainage, which is pretty expensive. No matter how well drained the natural terrain is driving machinery over it in the winter will turn it into a mud bath in no time.

exactly..
    for that type of service you'd be lucky to get €2.50 for 100 balls or so

you could probably man the service with a couple of alsations during off-peak hours
    get them to fetch the balls as well and immediately ur looking at impressive efficiencies
    food for thought

its all well and good saying put this and that in, we only have about 40k to spend on it... i was planning on adding to add we go... as revenue starts coming in. And its all any golfer is used to down here, just a field and a shed. ill be willing to go spending 80-90k if its a must but ill have to bring in a partner:( but from a business point of view all thise extras are going to be alot of years to bring back in that extra 50k or so that might attract a few extra people. i've being looking around down here and any of the driving ranges in a 20 mile raduis charge €8 for 100 balls and they are always busy.

i have completed a needs analysis for driving ranges in ireland
    i can let you know if ur in a designated area of need or not

give me the exact address, preferably gps coordinates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭VikingG

Just wondering if you are in Limerick city.... crying out for a decent range...

no i live in limerick but the driving range willl be going back home in my home town in co. galway

ballineety golf club aparently has a good driving range?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Supateer

Now that the range in Salthill has closed, and was always short on distance, there would be a need for one close to the city. Galway city is where your customers will come from, and they will be looking for more than basic facilities. You can put in automation later (at much less than 5K per bay), but the bare minimum carpeting, coffee shop, good mats, balls and an interesting outfield. A good dispenser will act as an essential ball management tool, and computerising it will be essential for marketing. You are right in that playing outdoors is popular, and today's non-filled artificial tee lines are perfect for this. We have put in a couple and it has transformed the facility - customers love them. Half indoor bays and half covered works well.
    24 hours? Ask yourself why no-one else does it!
    People do not want to go back to a draughty shed with cold concrete and an alsatian chained to a post! Even though money is tight you are still competing for people's leisure time and they won't spend their money on an experience they don't enjoy.
    Get the right advice (I did) and best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 diy clueless

I like Stepaside - the equiptment is good and most importantly for me the staff are friendly- they always have the days newspaper and a comfortable tv area as well as doing a lovely pot of tea and toasted sandwich- if it's daytime you can use the putting green on the par 3.
    It beats all the other ones where the staff are disinterested or nearly hostile!:)

hostile staff..
    bit of an exaggeration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Have been to Drynam a few times and think it's a great spot to hit balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

Kinsealy grange is not a bad spot too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭jimmystars

Fota

Nice indoor mats
    Nice grass area to hit off
    Clean balls
    Putting green
    Chipping green
    Wedge area up to 50 yards with green and multiple flags
    Bunker beside this green

Its worth checking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 PROV2

I know nothing about golf.

Not the best criteria for the project you're thinking of undertaking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 PROV2

One thing I know may be a problem is the planning permission

P.p. is always useful for this type of venture! A quick word with your planning officer might be more of a priority than finding out about range balls & mats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

You should have a list of opening hours very visible.

And when you've done that, you should make sure you're open
    during those hours.

Newry Golf Inn didn't follow the 2nd rule
    tonight and have now lost a customer.