Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland : The Good Stuff

• 17-11-2010 8:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭

This appeared in the Times today where they got twitter users to tweet some of their favourite things about Ireland

1 @emmagination our turns of phrase – “get up the yard” “get out of that garden” “down there for dancin’”

2 @dcbedwards knowing all your cousins 4 times removed and being shamed by your mother for not knowing all their kids too

3 @SeanMcP West Cork, the sunset through the namhog bus stop at Dingle Harbour, Lough Allan flat beneath a pure blue sky

4 @mrmonty Munster Finals

5 @ChristinaMcS The ritual “no thanks I’m grand I’m only after a cup” followed by “well if you’re having one yourself”

6 @homeopath Everyone’s got a party piece

7 @lightnessalways The book of Kells, Cliff of Moher, Phoenix Pk, Glendalough, National Stud, Japanese Gardens, Shannon, Ceide fields

8 @SimonPRepublic Where you can still watch a Western during prime time Friday night telly

9 @ killianormo Six degrees of separation for the world, two for the Irish!

10 @greenscribbler Community – People will always know and remember you no matter how long you have been away

11 @trixifi Wakes and funerals turning into a party

1 2 @gillianroseduff The Sam Maguire cup being taken around every school in the winning county

13 @AnnieAtkins Irish goodbyes: sneaking out of the pub before anyone coerces you into drinking another pint.

14 @scarie The postman dropping a package for you in your aunt’s work, cos he knows you and your aunt and where ye both work

15 @ChrisFlack your mothers conversations that start with “Do you know who’s dead?”

16 @SlabSquatthrust Keem beach on Achill Island, and the rest of Achill too

17 @idiotkid They can take away our sovereignty but they can never take our red lemonade or sugar sandwiches

18 @inforthenight Curracloe beach, the Aran Islands, Lough Boora parklands, the pier at Dun Laoghaire

19 @thebrieparty The fact that we don’t have to pay for royal weddings

20 @rdelevan The Irish saved civilisation. (Sadly they then invested it in Anglo Irish Bank.)

21 @furlo Looking like quasimodo but still being able to charm the pants off a beautiful foreigner due to the accent

22 @charlemont Having a defence forces instead of an army

23 @bunda Fairytale of new York @ Xmas

24 @eyeblinks The Tart with the Cart, Floozie in the Jacuzzi, Stiletto in the Ghetto, Time in the Slime The Hags with the Bags

25 @foges70 All the ailments that can be treated by putting the kettle on

26 @rubot First country in the world to ban smoking in pubs

27 @poloconghaile Coumshingaun, crisp sandwiches, autumn forest walks and our penchant for tying football socks to holy trees!

28 @quiatimet Irish mammys

39 @SOIreland People going to amazing lengths to help each other. Never ceases to amaze me

30 @irishmarinelife Best surf in the world, and nobody believing you

31 @clairenolan Kilkenny Castle, Kilkenny with the Christmas lights out, Irish soda bread, irish chat and Kerry men!!
    32 @levdavidovic Fellas with no teeth on Winning Streak

33 @culabula The inability to pronounce “th” and then magically inserting it where it doesn’t exist cf. “heighth”

34 @lecraic Unpronouncable names (for English TV presenters). Take a bow Charles Hockey and Liam GallaGRR

35 @crosbhealai Ár dteanga féin – An Ghaeilge!

36 @collumbo Apres Match, better analysis than BBC or ITV

37 @david_o_connell World class procrastination and still having the ability to change the world

38 @David_Ferrie Having a unique measurement of length – the long mile – and naming a road after it.

39 @mikeeng1and Weddings that finish when the bride and groom head to bed at 6am, sandwiches in the residents bar at 5am

40 @TellyDubb The warmth of a Leitrim welcome; peat smoke in your nose in the twilight

41 @Sliother the unassuming genius of Aidan O’Brien

42 @paulclancyNL Waving hello to complete strangers on country roads

43 @daracho Storytelling, the art-form and craft – not the solemn, dutiful recounting of mere facts

44 @anniewestdotcom Beautiful words fashioned in the misty dawn of the countryside, from celtic gossamer. Like . . . gob****e

45 @obrienbarry At GAA matches the fans of both teams mix and have a laugh together

46 @deatonm No killer spiders, box jellyfish, great white sharks, snakes or other dangerous animals.

47 @gillianroseduff The night when you go for a quiet drink and end up at someone’s party having met their second cousin in the pub

48 @xfirefishx The fact that people 10 miles down the road laugh at your “funny” accent vice versa

49 @louiseholohan never letting the truth get in the way of a good story

50 @colettecaddle Laughing at our misfortunes even when it looks like the boat might be .......... glug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

15 @ChrisFlack your mothers conversations that start with “Do you know who’s dead?”

Highlight of my day that one, cos you never know who it'll be this time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

The immortal question: Is it yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

the good stuff about Ireland for me is Home and family.

there is nothing better then coming home at the end of the day to the same place you grew up in! :)

and then having your family around even though they drive you mad at times there is no better feeling than knowing they are just down the road if you need them!

also love the fact you cannot walk through your local supermarket without at least 5 different people stopping you for a chat, and asking how you/your child/members in your family are getting on. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i like this. more of this please. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

orourkeda wrote: »
    The immortal question: Is it yourself?

'Tis.

Only reply allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Walking into your local pub in your hometown is like returning to your 2nd house................except you might get a free pint for being missed :pac:

Being nice and normal to a person's face but when they turn you say to another person: "What feckin' eejit!"

Going for one pint ends up being one of the best drinking sessions you've ever had.

When a friend is getting married the first thing that enters your mind is "That'll be a great piss-up!"

When a friend's baby is being christened the first thing that enters your mind is "That'll be a great piss-up!"

Tea - The universal cure for everything.

Winter is the only time you'll drink whiskey when you won't touch it any other time.

Sit down to your Xmas dinner when the old Charlie & The Chocolate Factory is on TV.

When your Mammy's friend tries to give you money to buy sweets your Mammy would jump in and try with all her might to stop her from handing it over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭veXual

The reward I got for breaking my back during the summer stacking turf with the auld lad.

Absolutely blazing fire in the sitting room while nature went completely spastic last night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The smell of an open turf fire on a cold wet day.

Tae & schpuds.

Pudding with a fry up.

Buckfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Going for one pint ends up being one of the best drinking sessions you've ever had.

This.

All the best nights I've ever had have always started with ".......we've an hour to kill, quick one?"

then stumbling out 10 hours later with a guilty grin knowing you're going to pay for skipping class/dinner/mam's birthday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I'm not a huge soccer fan but I loved the buzz when Ireland qualified for the World Cup. It was as though the entire country was marching to the same drum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Guinness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Ye Bollix as a term of endearment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Pudding with a fry up.
    A thousand times yes to this. Also, Irish sausages and bacon are the best in the world. All other foreign pig products pale in comparisson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

havin awesome megalithic tombs, castles etc every few miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Keeping education and art alive throughout the dark ages

Newgrange being 500 years older than the pyramids

The ring of Kerry

Being able to have a few jars without being called an alcoholic

Irish retail workers say hello, thanks and goodbye

Developing feck as an alternative to you know what and making it socially acceptable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Jenneke87

From a foreign point of view:

1: The accent;one you´ve figured out what´s being said it´s really sexy

2:Irish generousity: Seriously, no one in the Netherlands would pay a taxi for me to get me to my point of destination because I managed to get lost.....(she offered the money herself btw, I wouldn´t dream asking a stranger to pay for it) Or a complete stranger whom your talking to on the bus offers to help you move your stuff to your new place...

3: How the whole village knows in 5 minutes a foreigner has arrived, and then stop you in the streets to interview you about it.....at great length....:confused:

4: The countryside, space, beaches, Newgrange, Glendalough and all the other wonderful sides you´re having.....

5: It doesn´t matter where you go, you´ll always find someone to talk you(whether you like it or not)

6: Sunset at Galway bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Father Ted. That show added so much to my vocabulary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ValJester

The fact it's cheaper and takes less time to get to Berlin via Ryanair than from Donegal to Galway on a bus.

ValJester wrote: »
    The fact it's cheaper and takes less time to get to Berlin via Ryanair than from Donegal to Galway on a bus.

Amen to that. Even from my house in NL to dublin airport is quicker that the train from Houston station to Ennis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Jenneke87 wrote: »
    Amen to that. Even from my house in NL to dublin airport is quicker that the train from Houston station to Ennis...

Think you guys are missing the point of this. It's meant to be positive. Either that or I'm mistaken

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Think you guys are missing the point of this. It's meant to be positive. Either that or I'm mistaken

I did my duty, i posted serval positive things, but I just had to comment on that, sorry:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The drive through the ring of Kerry, given Irish peoples penchant for taking the piss (and sometimes rightfully so) out of this country and how a lot of stuff here is...a bit sh1t to be honest, its a stunningly beautiful part of the country that I never get sick of seeing. It'd be the first place I'd take someone visiting here for the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Puck Fair in Killorglan. They put a goat up on a high stage and treat him like a King for 3 days while the rest of the town and a few tourists like myself go buck ape drinking in the streets around him nearly around the clock. Most random excuse for a big session I've seen yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

the fact that in GAA, water and a bit of spray will cure anything.

Perhaps they should take over the running of A&E departments ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Is there a list for Dublin people? Feeding the cows on a bright winters morning is all very well, but it's a bit mucky for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Confab wrote: »
    Is there a list for Dublin people? Feeding the cows on a bright winters morning is all very well, but it's a bit mucky for me.

Poking mummies in St Michans in church street
    Free and amazing museums
    Pubs in rathmines
    regular or arty cinemas
    walks up the bull wall on a nice day
    being 20 minutes from the mountains no matter where you are
    gigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Thomond park for a HC QF nothing beats it... nothing:pac:

Irish stew
    A good game of hurling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum