Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Speed Cameras - Money Makers or Life Savers?

• 15-11-2010 2:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

A new network of speed cameras came into operation on roads across Ireland from midnight last night.

According to the Gardai, the speed cameras will be positioned in areas where road deaths have occurred in the past.

They will be mostly mobile units & the locations of where they might be are indicated on the Garda website, here;

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=6497

(Probably not accessible at the moment as half the country seems to be trying to look at it & crashing their server).

New Speed Cameras... are they? 64 votes

Money Makers
    0% 0 votes
    Life Savers
    54% 35 votes
    A Bit Of Both
    12% 8 votes
    I Eat Lamp
    32% 21 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Well done - youve gone and broke the Gardai website "server is too busy" :D

Itll only be a matter of time before someone sets up a website showing live locations of them too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

They say it's not gonna be commission based, so if that is actually true, i wouldn't call it a money maker.
    If they save a few lives on the roads, it can only be a good thing imo.

I might not be saying that if i get a fine in the post one morning though. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

Judging from where I live, it's a life saving move. However if I lived in Dublin, I might think different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Its a life saver thing, unless the Irish public are really stupid and going to continue and speed and get hit in the pocket.

Speed will slow down because of these cameras which is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mayflyatr

Anyone spotted a 'safety camera' out and about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

Surely while the server is down, we shouldn't be fined... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

Its a life saver thing, unless the Irish public are really stupid and going to continue and speed and get hit in the pocket.

Speed will slow down because of these cameras which is a good thing.

I just hope they actually put them in the right places. ie back roads

If we see them on the likes of the m50 or the M6, we'll know it's just for the money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I drive , and these cameras are a wreck the head. I have to constantly look down at my speed. 'Travelling at 30mph, looking down at the speedometer for just 1 second means the vehicle has travelled 13 metres (42ft) without the driver concentrating properly on the road. '

If your a little over the speed limit, flash. Then que the jamming on of the breaks. Again like above, if you look down too check your speed and the person in front of you has jammed on. Chances are your going to be in the back of his car.

The flash from the camera is also blinding and gives you a big of a shock.

Absolute hazard and money making tool.

Driver behaviour will not change with these cameras either, which should be what has to change.

Also I think it's only far to state if you actually drive, when responding to posts about been behind the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Will there be a Specsavers voucher for the first one nailed?

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Map displaying the areas where the cameras are supposed to be in operation

Seems that the closer to Dublin you get, the more dangerous the roads are.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

It's a load of me hoop. Speeding and dangerous driving are not mutually inclusive. You can drive dangerously at any speed.

Rather than putting a speed camera at a so-called 'accident black spot', why don't they look at what makes the stretch of road so dangerous and fix it? Remove trees, widen roads, introduce turning lanes at junctions, etc...

What they should also be doing is putting people off the road if they are driving on their own with a provisional license. It's a compete joke that you can still drive without a full license.

They should also be more breathalyser tests, ever notice how most crashes occur at the weekend, even though there is less people on the road? I don't think that's a coincidence, there is still a big acceptance of drink-driving in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

It has increased road safety around here but I can see money was also a big factor in bringing in the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭Martron

it will only make money if you break the law....... so stop it becoming a money making scam and dont break the law.

oh and by doing that it reduces speeding..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

What if they put them near places like motorway intersections, that kind of thing? Where people think they can still go 120km/h but are actually back on the ordinary road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

The cameras are getting paid by how many hours of footage they provide per year rather than how many tickets they issue so for that reason I wouldn't really say they're a money making racket
    And you know where they're gonna most likely be so if you get caught then it's your own fault
    Or else you could try driving so fast that they wouldn't see you

to be honest they do need to upgrade signage.

i believe most people will get done speeding in lower zones. like doing 60 on a 50. the signs are appauling.

also they would need to improve the notification system. with all these new cameras. with 600 cameras on the road. someone who drives for a limit could easily get 12 points fairly rapidily.

points only work as a deterant if you know you have them. so racking up 12 points with the new "safty camera system" in a short amount of time is possible. but if you dont get the poiint notification untila few weeks later it does not give you a chance to alter your driving style/speed to drive accordingly to the amount of points you have

The cameras are getting paid by how many hours of footage they provide per year rather than how many tickets they issue so for that reason I wouldn't really say they're a money making racket
    And you know where they're gonna most likely be so if you get caught then it's your own fault
    Or else you could try driving so fast that they wouldn't see you

the private company is on a fixed rate. but its still 80 euro or what ever for a fine...... so they will be generating income on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭gpjordanf1

They are a money making SCAM plain & simple

Anyone who watches Top Gear will know this and infact if you search the BBC main web site theres a report there that shows the speed cameras do nothing to improve safety or save lives!

In fact they are being removed from alot of places throughout the UK.

But Ireland being Ireland were 20 years behind the times and ignoring factual reports from today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Have to say according to that map some of the locations on the N4/N5 don't appear to be dangerous stretches of road.
    They have earmarked the sections around Rathowen and Ballinalack (182 and 183) in Westmeath and they are pretty good roads in the grand scheme of things.
    I see they have done the old stretch around the Lanesborough-Rooskey junction (376) outside Strokestown after the grand new section where they continually roost on the little hill overlooking the road.
    Again apart from junction the road is pretty good and way better than they other side of Strokestown to Tulsk.
    Again they do the section going into Tulsk (374) where the road is pretty good in comparison to what preceeds and succeeds it.

On the N4 there is indeed a dangerous enough section after Castlebaldwin (166) and I guess it will mean the guards don't have to resort to hiding in the phonebox in the village anymore.
    Oh wait hasn't that phonebox gone ? :rolleyes:

The N11 looks to be one of the most dangerous roads in the country.

These are speed cameras and saying otherwise is just a play on words.
    Plain and simple.
    Why not call them dead prevention devices while they are at it ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Martron wrote: »
    the private company is on a fixed rate. but its still 80 euro or what ever for a fine...... so they will be generating income on that.

Yeah but I think that's good, as long as there's no commission to the private company for a fine then it means they're not going to be overzealous like you can often see with private clampers

As for the state generating income off fines the very simple answer is don't speed

gpjordanf1 wrote: »
    They are a money making SCAM plain & simple

Anyone who watches Top Gear will know this and infact if you search the BBC main web site theres a report there that shows the speed cameras do nothing to improve safety or save lives!

In fact they are being removed from alot of places throughout the UK.

But Ireland being Ireland were 20 years behind the times and ignoring factual reports from today!

its proven fixed cameras dont help.

these are mobile cameras. locations will change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Already being discussed in Motors.
    Please use that thread.