Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster vs Australia, Tuesday 16 Nov 8pm @Thomond Park; Live on RTÉ2

• 14-11-2010 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Let's forget about last Saturday's dour performance, there's a midweek massive game to look forward to! :pac:
    Munster Squad (announced last week):

Mike Sherry, Sean Henry,
    Wian du Preez, Peter Borlase, Dave Ryan, Stephen Archer,
    Dave Foley, Ian Nagle, Brian Hayes, Billy Holland,
    Alan Quinlan, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan, Tommy O'Donnell, Peter O'Mahony, Paddy Butler,

Duncan Williams, Conor Murray,
    Declan Cusack, Paul Warwick, JJ Hanrahan,
    Tom Gleeson, Barry Murphy, Sam Tuitupou, Ivan Dineen,
    Doug Howlett, Simon Zebo,
    Sean Scanlon,Denis Hurley, Scott Deasy.

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/8235.php
    Earls A Likely Starter On Tuesday ?

Given that he has only played six minutes of rugby although selected as a replacement for both the South Africa and Samoan November Internationals, it would appear logical that Keith Earls will get to run out with Munster on Tuesday night in Thomond Park Stadium ?

Why he hasn't been given further game time is hard to understand but may work in Munster's favour and also provide the player himself with the opportunity to impress the Ireland management ahead of the game against the All Blacks.

Munster will have to wait to see how players have come through yesterday's bruiser with Samoa before knowing exactly who will be available to them for selection for the Australia game but Damien Varley is another who may be available as might Johne Murphy.

The newly arrived Peter Borlase can be expected to be pressed into action and that could see a front row of Wian du Preez, Varley and, with Tony Buckley injured and John Hayes surely not available, Borlase at thigh-head prop. The rest of the pack will include a mix of Development and experienced heads while with the likes of Doug Howlett, Sam Tuitupou, Denis Hurley, Barry Murphy and if available Earls and Johne Murphy plus Scott Deasy, the backline will have a very potent hue about it.

The Australians arrive in Limerick this morning and will be in UL this afternoon for a training run.

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/8266.php

Australia team to play Munster:
    15. Lachie Turner
    14. Rod Davies
    13. Pat McCabe
    12. Anthony Faingaa
    11. Luke Morahan
    10. Berrick Barnes (c)
    9. Luke Burgess
    8. Richard Brown
    7. Matt Hodgson
    6. Scott Higginbotham
    5. Rob Simmons
    4. Dean Mumm
    3. Salesi Ma'afu
    2. Saia Faingaa
    1. Ben Daley

Reserves:

16. Tatafu Polota-Nau
    17. James Slipper
    18. Van Humphries (Played for Garryowen in 97/98)
    19. Pat McCutcheon
    20. Nick Phipps
    21. Matt Giteau
    22. Peter Hynes

Can't wait for this. A chance for the Munster fringe players to test themselves against a quality outfit. 6-10 are very strong for the Wallabies. IIRC that was the Aussie front row that was regularly minced during the Tri-Nations. If Borlase is up to it Munster could gain the upper hand here.

Team hasn't been announced yet but this is what I'd like to see (assuming Earls, Murphy and Varley are all available):

Du Preez, Varley, Borlase, Nagle, Holland, Quinlan, Ronan, Coughlan;
    Williams, Warwick, Hurley, Tuitupou, Earls, Howlett, J Murphy

Bench: Sherry, Dave Ryan, Foley, POM, Murray, Deasy, Dineen/B Murphy

On Foley, I saw him in UL wearing a leg brace last week so maybe he won't be fit.

There hasn't been much hype about this game compared to the All Blacks' visit 2 years ago and at time of post it seems only 20,000+ tickets have sold. Hopefully they'll get a full house as the Oz second string has a lot of quality.

Come on Munster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

MOD wont be available to us as he'll be playing next week ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

phog wrote: »
    MOD wont be available to us as he'll be playing next week ;)

Yeah just realised that. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jop

Should be a cracking game

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

it should be a good game and im looking forward to it but considering australia play italy next saturday should they not be playing treviso as there warm up game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

CatFromHue wrote: »
    it should be a good game and im looking forward to it but considering australia play italy next saturday should they not be playing treviso as there warm up game?

Presume Munster at Thomond with all its history (have beaten Australia 3x) was much more of a money spinner than Treviso or Aironi for that matter.

Looking forward to it, hopefully, it will another night to remember.

We have Scarlets on Sunday in MP so hopefully we get thru' Tuesday night without anymore injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Hope to see a Munster win here. Stick it to the Aussies.

Saying that Australia have some dangerous players. Pat McCabe, Faingaas. Mumm Higginbotham and of course Barnes are all players who would challenge for starting spots in any European team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Unfortunate choice of words from Deans in an interview considering the headlines this week

'We saw in the first midweek outing against Leicester that it was a tough encounter but the side nutted their way through and they'll be better off for it leading into this match.

Be good to see Seamus Williams back around Thomond again.

Keith Earls released to play. :)

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/5443.php

Keith Earls released to play. :)

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/5443.php

Great call!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I see Boss didn't do enough to get included.

Shame on him, he had a whole 10 mins!

3 minutes

Damn you alcohol!

Boss doesn't play for Munster or Australia :confused:

The link is for the Irish squad vs New Zealand.

EDIT: And I prob shouldn't be bringing it off topic! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Would love to see a good Munster win. Hopefully some of the young lads put their hands up for selection in more important games, God knows Munster and more importantly Ireland need it!

The link is for the Irish squad vs New Zealand.

EDIT: And I prob shouldn't be bringing it off topic! :o

yeah, it's not like the team for ABs isnt being discussed in another 100 threads. :D

TBH I had like 4 threads open and I miss read this one. With the link to the Irish squad, I just assumed it was the NZ match thread! Woops!

:D:D:D just kidding!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Tickets lads. Is Ticket Master the only option or will they have them in the Munster store on O' Connell street tommorow?

I'd try ticketmaster if Iw as you, but then again if your passing the shop call there and save yourself the ticketmaster fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭budhabob

Munster: Johne Murphy, Doug Howlett, Keith Earls, Sam Tuitupou, Denis Hurley, Paul Warwick, Duncan Williams, Wian Du Preez, Damien Varley, Peter Borlase, Billy Holland, Ian Nagle, Peter O'Mahony, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan (Capt.) Replacements: Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, Alan Quinlan/Brian Hayes, Tommy O'Donnell. Conor Murray, Scott Deasy, Barry Murphy.

Not a bad team. Good to see Coughlan get the captaincy and looking forward to see what Borlase is like.

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/8272.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Username37

budhabob wrote: »
    Munster: Johne Murphy, Doug Howlett, Keith Earls, Sam Tuitupou, Denis Hurley, Paul Warwick, Duncan Williams, Wian Du Preez, Damien Varley, Peter Borlase, Billy Holland, Ian Nagle, Peter O'Mahony, Niall Ronan, James Coughlan (Capt.) Replacements: Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, Alan Quinlan/Brian Hayes, Tommy O'Donnell. Conor Murray, Scott Deasy, Barry Murphy.

Not a bad team. Good to see Coughlan get the captaincy and looking forward to see what Borlase is like.

All things considered its a very strong team. If Quinlan was fit and playing at 6 I'd probably tip them to win it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Will be interesting to see Aussie lineup - with defeat by England last Saturday and Italy up next Saturday some of the guys playing may be in with a chance of a callup to the test team. Saw a bit of the Leicester game last week and wasn't overly impressed by Australia who only clinched victory in closing minutes. Having said that Leicester's points all came from penalties and they never looked like breaching the Aussie tryline.

Considering the injuries, suspension and the guys in the Ireland camp this is a decent team and dare I say I'd be hopeful of a win.

budhabob wrote: »

Delighted with that team. Big chance for O'Mahony.

Earls starting is huge, he'll likely only be allowed play 50/60 minutes so we need to get the best out of him when he's on the field.

Confident we can win this. Really looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

For those among us earning the Queen's shilling :D, does anyone know if this game is available on any other channels? Desperate to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Great to see Tuitupou and Earls finally together in the centre. Am I right in thinking that this is their first time together?

It's actually a very strong 15 except for the inexperience in the second row. Great opportunity for Nagle and Holland to get some game time against strong opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Great to see Tuitupou and Earls finally together in the centre. Am I right in thinking that this is their first time together?

It's actually a very strong 15 except for the inexperience in the second row. Great opportunity for Nagle and Holland to get some game time against strong opposition.

:o Just read over this, and to clarify, I'm not trying to imply anything here.

They were 'together' against London Irish. Broke up after Tuitupou's spear tackle. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Otacon wrote: »
    For those among us earning the Queen's shilling :D, does anyone know if this game is available on any other channels? Desperate to watch it.

It's being shown worldwide on RTE.ie.

Morf wrote: »
    It's being shown worldwide on RTE.ie.

Really? How do you get that to work?

I mean, RTE Player is locked out in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Really? How do you get that to work?

I mean, RTE Player is locked out in the UK.

Worldwide audio only.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/features/munster_australia_audio.html
    RTE wrote:
    Munster take on Australia on Tuesday, 16 November, and commentary will be streamed live around the world here on RTÉ.ie.
    The game kicks off in Thomond Park in Limerick at 8pm.
    A live link to the commentary by RTÉ's Michael Corcoran will appear here at 7.55pm on Tuesday.
    Michael Corcoran will be joined in the commentary box by Donal Lenihan.
    The Munster v Australia match will also be live on RTÉ Two.
    Commentary is by Hugh Cahill and Ralph Keyes, while George Hook, Brent Pope and Conor O'Shea will join Tom McGurk for analysis and discussion.

Live video streaming of the game will also be available here on RTÉ.ie for users in Ireland.
    The Wallabies travel to Limerick on the back of wins against Wales and New Zealand, while Munster are top of the Magners League after seven games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Feckin thomond, only interested in rugby a couple of years and he's already picking the starting team

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

any tickets left for this? how much?

Tickets avaibale on tickemaster. €30, €40 and €50, also family packs available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

I for one am really looking forward to this... hopefully earls can get some of his mojo back and Nagle to give another decent performance.

Any one know if it ment to be a full house?

Munster by 5 :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Hoping to be in Limerick around 6. Cant feckin wait now.
    G'wan Munster!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

Taking the wife out for a romantic dinner of a feed of pints to watch this... mmmm the romance!

GWAN THE LADS, FOR MUNSTER, IRELAND AND SAINT GERTRUDE!
    (Patron Saint of Souls in Purgatory! :)

@Otacon: Irish racing pubs (or dare I say it, Real Irish pubs) almost always have RTE on satellite for racing and GAA coverage?

andrewdcs wrote: »
    @Otacon: Irish racing pubs (or dare I say it, Real Irish pubs) almost always have RTE on satellite for racing and GAA coverage?

True, but I am on call tonight so can't leave the house. Looks like streaming is my only option. Cheers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

True, but I am on call tonight so can't leave the house. Looks like streaming is my only option. Cheers though.

Might I ask what you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Back OT folks, ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Naggin of Jemmie: Check
    Connacht Jersey: Check
    West Terrace Tix: Check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Driving down around 5 or so, my usual spot on the east terrace. Cant wait!

Munster by 5.

Might I ask what you do?
    toomevara wrote: »
    Back OT folks, ta.

Eh... no.

Looking for a big performance from Earls tonight. He has not been at his best recently and I think we will need him and his pace against the ABs this weekend.

Hope Duncan Williams shines as well. I've been very impressed with him this season. We really need some young scrumhalf to stand up TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Really looking forward to this one, I think there will be a massive performance in Munster. Hope that Sammy and Earls can click and cause the Aussies some seroius problems. Interested in seeing Borlase too, it will be interesting to see how he works out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

predictions
    australia by 8+
    luke burgess to be man of the match.
    the commentary to be appaling
    anthony faiinga to score a try.
    one player off each team to be sin binned

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Cant see anyone winning this by 8, tis ****ing lashin.
    Would have liked to see Rod Davies get a few runs, he'll be lucky if he gets a touch now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Hope it's windy enough to prevent a kicking contest.