Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry adams to go for election in louth

• 14-11-2010 8:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

Sinn Féin President, Gerry Adams, is expected to announce today that he wants to be the party's candidate in the Louth constituency for the next General Election.

Mr Adams is expected to confirm his plans at a republican commemoration event in Co Louth this afternoon.

During the week Sinn Féin's sitting TD in the Louth constituency, 56-year-old Arthur Morgan, announced that he would be stepping down at the next election to concentrate on his family business.
    62-year-old Mr Adams, Sinn Féin's best-known figure, is a member of Northern Ireland's Assembly and an MP at Westminster where Sinn Féin has an abstentionist policy.
    Securing the party nomination in Louth is expected be a formality.
    Once that is done Mr Adams is likely to resign his West Belfast Assembly seat to concentrate on the Louth contest in the next Dáil election.
    The constituency's other TDs are Seamus Kirk and Dermot Ahern of Fianna Fail and Fine Gael's Fergus O Dowd.
    In the last two elections Mr Morgan got the fourth and final seat with around 15% of the first preference vote

What do you think his chances are of holding that seat for sinn fein,and will it make any difference to them in there support down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Yep, BBC breakfast news just reported it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

it should do well for the party, voters will see the party leader directly involved in Dail issues.
    He should get the seat considering Louth has 10 SF councillors and one TD out of 4.
    SF are strong enough in the North but are lagging in the South, smart move imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

I won't be voting for him, but he'll definitely get in. The head the balls love him in this area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

must be looking for a nice pension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Trampas wrote: »
    must be looking for a nice pension

;) wouldent think he is short of a few bob ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

A parachute candidate so.
    Doesn't live in the area and no record of constituency work for the locals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

Never been a fan of SF but I would definitely urge people not to vote for him. He couldnt careless about representing the constituency.

The sad thing is he will get in as their would be a lot of support for him for the wrong reasons. I bet when he gets in he wont even live in the area. I'd say Thomas Sharkey wont be too happy to hear this anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Yep but as others have said he will probably get in. He is certainly not running for the good of the region. I can see the next election being a real goldmine for the likes of SF. Cant stand them myself and would never vote for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've little time for parachute candidates

I remember Dana running in Galway and asked to name 5 housing estates for the area she was going to represent
    Couldn't even name one :rolleyes:

Maybe someone should ask the same question to Gerry Adams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

British agent to represent Louth? :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I can see Dermot Ahern getting nasty with this development in his 'backyard' considering he's the minister for justice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Pighead should contest the seat.

no record of constituency work for the locals

he did a few campaigns a few years back. Granted they were of the bombing variety, but nonetheless. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

bigneacy wrote: »
    he did a few campaigns a few years back. Granted they were of the bombing variety, but nonetheless. :p

wouldn't be the first time that happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I think it's kind of bizarre. There are many other SF councilors & candidates who have done well over the years in Louth. I can't see why Adams needs to put himself in the running here. Though having said that, it'd be interesting to see how things go with a politician sitting on both sides of the border.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

He can't be any worse, Seamus Kirk (FF) Dermot Ahern (FF) and Fine Gael's Fergus O Dowd are useless and riding the expenses gravy train massively.
    Lets not forget they all awarded themselves increases in their pay/pensions recently too on the quiet!
    I've little time for parachute candidates
    I remember Dana running in Galway and asked to name 5 housing estates for the area she was going to represent
    Couldn't even name one
    Maybe someone should ask the same question to Gerry Adams.
    Actually, Mr Adams spends a LOT of time around Drogheda and its regions, even to Cloughterhead to aid local staff there, Danny Churchill and Ruth Tuite. Mr Adams been around this part of Louth for years.
    He's a regular on the streets of Drogheda sometimes.

....And I can say that as a definite non-Sinn Fein fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

I think it's kind of bizarre. There are many other SF councilors & candidates who have done well over the years in Louth. I can't see why Adams needs to put himself in the running here. Though having said that, it'd be interesting to see how things go with a politician sitting on both sides of the border.

It's looking as though he'll be giving up his stormont seat

I'd say he's going for Louth because it's a safe bet. If he lost an election, it would be a disaster for SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

PomBear wrote: »
    It's looking as though he'll be giving up his stormont seat

I'd say he's going for Louth because it's a safe bet. If he lost an election, it would be a disaster for SF.

What I gather from the reports I've seen is that he's likely to hold on to his role in Stormont and give up his West-Belfast seat in Westminster. Yeah, if he looses he's finished though. It's a risky move

But he's not going to lose. With the support he has in Dundalk and North Louth, he simply can't.

It makes me think something else is afoot - Its the one seat in the Republic of Ireland he knows he is most definitely going to win. And Arthur Morgan, a long time favorite in the area suddenly decides to step down.

I think Sinn Fein have high hopes for the next election and they want to make sure they have their leader in place.

I have no doubts whatsoever he will win the Drogheda seat.
    The current lot there elected are completely useless and dire. Louth has two TD's that for years have been funnelling everything they possibly could, north to the Dundalk region (where they are from) and south Louth has been (and still is) VERY poorly represented by O'Dowd - and a lot of the locals know or think that way.

Biggins wrote: »
    I have no doubts whatsoever he will win the Drogheda seat.
    The current lot there elected are completely useless and dire. Louth has two TD's that for years have been funnelling everything they possibly could, north to the Dundalk region (where they are from) and south Louth has been (and still is) VERY poorly represented by O'Dowd.

But he has no interest in helping Drogheda. He couldn't care less about Louth. He's worse than a blow-in. He doesn't even live in the county!

All he wants is his foot in the door - I think Sinn Féin believe they will get a part in a coalition. Lets all cross every finger and toe they never, ever do.

But he has no interest in helping Drogheda. He couldn't care less about Louth. He's worse than a blow-in. He doesn't even live in the county!

All he wants is his foot in the door - I think Sinn Féin believe they will get a part in a coalition. Lets all cross every finger and toe they never, ever do.

I'd have to partly disagree there.
    He's always down in Drogheda. Has been for years and years (has friends/relatives/etc) there.
    Of course he wants his foot in the door (anyone running for election does).

Maybe he's come to the conclusion he'd rather be a big fish in a smaller pond - than been a constant small fish in a bigger pond!
    Food for thought...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

and if they did get into coalalition.can they be any worse than the 1s that r in it.thats irelands problem.there just seems to be 2 partys and no 1 else.id love to see the day that the smaller partys get a chance to run the country.etc labour/pds/sinn fein.if u look at the sinners up north how massievely well they r doin and next mays election r expected to the be the biggest party in the north giving mc guinness the first ministers roll.its great to see most people have moved on and let the past be forgotton.so if they can do it up north why not do it down south????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭MavisDavis

and if they did get into coalalition.can they be any worse than the 1s that r in it.

In a word: yes. Do you know anything about SF policy?

God help us all. I'll be sorely tempted to leave Louth if (ok, when) Adams is elected. I'd prefer Sharkey and that's saying something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I don't think any of that is fair, SF are obviously interested in the whole island of Ireland, far more so than the rest of the ROI parties. I think its a smart move, one of the problems with the last election for SF was confusion over why the President of the party was representing the party in tv debates when they were not a candidate for election, this removes the confusion and increases visibility for the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Gerry Gerry Gerry Gerry Gerry :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

I don't think any of that is fair, SF are obviously interested in the whole island of Ireland, far more so than the rest of the ROI parties. I think its a smart move, one of the problems with the last election for SF was confusion over why the President of the party was representing the party in tv debates when they were not a candidate for election, this removes the confusion and increases visibility for the party.

Did you happen to see adams in any of said debates?
    I particularly liked when he was asked about economic policy in the south, he hadnt a fcuking clue, and really couldnt even debate basic economic questions.
    You might as well have been looking into a field of nettles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭MavisDavis

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    Did you happen to see adams in any of said debates?
    I particularly liked when he was asked about economic policy in the south, he hadnt a fcuking clue, and really couldnt even debate basic economic questions.
    You might as well have been looking into a field of nettles.

I liked how he made everything about Northern Ireland. No matter what he was asked about it was "N.I. this and N.I. that".
    He cost Sinn Féin seats in the last election with his dire performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭silkworm53

Was Arthur Morgan told to bite the bullet or.... bite the bullet?

Anyways Gerry Adams is British. What business has this foreigner in our country?

silkworm53 wrote: »

Anyway Gerry Adams is British. What business has this foreigner in our country?
    Ask our president?

Your answer lies in all reality in your view point of what constitutes "being Irish" - the fact that he was born on our "one Island" or that politically, he was born under a different regime?

...But that's maybe a topic for another thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Let's see if Gerry gives up his mp seat in advance of the election in Louth...
    He would have to for definite, I'd imagine.
    It would be seen as a possible conflict of interests.
    English elected MP versus Irish TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

So a scumbag wants to join a chamber full of scumbags?

Fair enough, I hope the good people of Louth tell him to fúck right off though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

Can't Speak Irish (Correctly),

Hasn't a clue of Irish polictics.

No qualifications, no 3rd level education, no experience managing a real economy (not one funded by London)

He has great grass root support, to to leave his ground for louth is a risk

alex73 wrote: »

No qualifications, no 3rd level education, no experience managing a real economy (not one funded by London)

By that description then - he sounds EXACTLY like a Donegal Labour bye-election candidate then! :pac:

Anyways Gerry Adams is British. What business has this foreigner in our country?

To be fair on Gerry, The very last thing he is is British.

Don't like him, but I would not sink so low as to call him British.

Anyway.. we voted in the G. Friday agreement to allow anyone born in the north to be identified as Irish if they want.

So legally he is Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Stinks of desperation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Gerry Adams for taoiseach cool:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭silkworm53

Biggins wrote: »
    Ask our president?

Your answer lies in all reality in your view point of what constitutes "being Irish" - the fact that he was born on our "one Island" or that politically, he was born under a different regime?

...But that's maybe a topic for another thread?

Adams? That's a Brit name for sure.

Are you seriously trying to bait or troll?

If your going to discuss this matter, at least do so with a touch of reality and not that rubbish!

Legally he is 100% Irish.

• Recognition of the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they may so choose; and
    • Confirmation that the right to hold both British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

And with all of the qualifications held by Haughey, Cowen, and Lenihan, look where the country is now.

I would like to see Sinn Fein be able to talk about economics in a way that doesn't boil down to "capitalism stinks!", but there is absolutely no correlation between level of education and knowledge of basic economic principles, especially within the current government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Jackie Charlton.... Now there is a brit name.... Never stopped him doing great work in ireland.....

Having said that Seanie Fitzpatrick is more irish than anything else....

Prob a safe bet to say a brit name is better running ireland.....

Feck off enda...

And with all of the qualifications held by Haughey, Cowen, and Lenihan, look where the country is now.

I would like to see Sinn Fein be able to talk about economics in a way that doesn't boil down to "capitalism stinks!", but there is absolutely no correlation between level of education and knowledge of basic economic principles, especially within the current government.

Sinn Fein were good for standing up for Nationalists in the North. Credit where its due..

But in the south their polices would see is, outside the EU (which the opposed) outside the euro, with higher Corporation tax. So basically Sinn Fein would have us in the same position in Europe as Moldova. Its all very well to oppose capitalism and business greed. But that is the show that is in town and we need to know how to act our part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

Sure wasn't his brother Liam chairman of the Louth comhairle ceantair (although G Adams denies all knowledge of this).

Sinn Fein were good for standing up for Nationalists in the North. Credit where its due..

But in the south their polices would see is, outside the EU (which the opposed) outside the euro, with higher Corporation tax. So basically Sinn Fein would have us in the same position in Europe as Moldova. Its all very well to oppose capitalism and business greed. But that is the show that is in town and we need to know how to act our part.

Sinn Féin have extreme left policies. Not compatible with the way we want to live and the way we want our country to move forward.

(We = The majority of Irish Voters.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I don't think that people need to accept the current system, my issue is that Sinn Fein's policies don't really go anywhere new. There isn't a lot of talk about where revenues are going to come from (other than soak the rich type stuff), but a lot of talk about what they will be spent on. SF seems like they are very good at constituent services, but not good at articulating a viable long-term vision for the country outside of the 'national question'.*

But my general point was that I don't think Adams' lack of formal education as compared to his counterparts should necessarily be a knock against him, especially since none of the current shower seem to have put their fancy educations to good use.

*please don't cut and paste their "plan" from the SF website, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Not many TDs can. The Fine Gael gaelthacht spokesperson freely admits to hardly being able to string a sentence in Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Sinn Féin have extreme left policies. Not compatible with the way we want to live and the way we want our country to move forward.

(We = The majority of Irish Voters.)

funny, I could have sworn the pretty left-ist Labour party and Eamon Gilmore are massively popular at the moment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

As a Hunter it could be interesting, I could go to Mr Adams to complain about Mr Aherns policies affecting my right to hunt though his restrictive firearm policies. "Mr Adams could you bring up the issues of firearm certs in our local area with your fellow TD Mr Ahern?"

I would more than likely never get another firearms cert.