Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

child benefit for romanians

• 12-11-2010 11:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭

Im not racist or anything like that but i thought id share an interesting discovery myself and my partnet made yesterday.

We get child benefit for my two little lads who are 2 and 3. Anyway i think its been late arriving this month so we were checking if its paid monthly or quarterly or what.

Anyway to cut along story short, i typed child benefit into google.ie and the second hit is the citizensinformation.ie website on child benefit translated into roma!!

I take it that means its the second most popular hit according to google.ie when child benefit is typed into the search engine.

Please correct me if im wrong as im not looking to start an arguement or anything else; i just think its a bit bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭sealgaire

Ah yea, handy there sure to check it all up before they come over. Good oul Ireland. BTW the PC brigade are going to jump on this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Im not racist or anything like that but i

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭As i said before

As i said before (lol) im not racist but it is strange is it not?

Im only looking for a decent explanation, not to start an arguement, so can someone explain it without calling me racist or questioning my morals on this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Lightshow

I think this explains it pretty clearly. it's put to you to decide if the REASON this is paid is a problem.

For me, there are sweet feck all Roma children in the state getting childrens allowance compared to the home-grown child benefit carreerists bleeding the coffers dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Ever2010

yeah it's obviously gotten a high number of hits... but I don't see what's weird about it? Let's say 1000 people google "child benefit" on google.ie, the first hit might get 800 people clicking on it, the second might have 100, the third 70 etc etc.

If there is a large Romanian-speaking population in Ireland then they will be accessing it - and also the citizen's advice staff too (to print off), it's also there in Polish and English.

I don't really get what the issue is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Don't get you. Just because a rake of people google the topic does not necessarily mean its true.

Most Roma(if we are talking about them) are from Bulgaria and Romania. They need to work here before they are entitled to benefits. Can you provide said links where child benefit is been paid on the fly to this ethnic group please?

I assume you mean they have to be working here rather than been on that 90 day holiday?(Bulgaria and Romania nationals)

Why not? You ARE entitled to it after all. You may just be the only parent in Ireland who doesn't recieve this payment.

That's some serious moral fortitude sir! I salute you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Many Christians at the time believed that a conspiracy of blacksmiths, wizards and women had been organized to attack the Church. Since many Roma were blacksmiths, the conspiracy theory expanded to involve the Romani.

Another belief was that Roma forged the nails used in Christ's crucifixion. The Roma countered with the rumor that a Roma attempted to steal the nails so that Christ could not be crucified, but was only able to grab one.

The Diet of Augsburg ruled that Christians could legally kill Roma. Meanwhile, the courts were closed to Roma who were injured by Christians.

In 1721, Emperor Karl VI of what is now Germany ordered total genocide of the Roma. "Gypsy Hunts" were organized to track down and exterminate them.

In 1792, 45 Roma were tortured and executed for the murder of some Hungarians, who were in fact alive and who observed the executions.

It is believed that as much as half of the Roma in Europe were enslaved, from the 14th century until Romani slavery was abolished in the mid-19th century.

http://www.religioustolerance.org/roma1.htm

And we thought the Jewish people had it bad! They got billions of dollars and their own country after WWII, and the Roma get people whinging about child benefit. Perhaps if people were more educated about the absolute hell the Roma have suffered in the last few hundred years they'd have a bit more sympathy for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

People coming from the new EU countries have to work for at least 2 years before they can claim social welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Im not racist or anything like that but i thought id share an interesting discovery myself and my partnet made yesterday.

We get child benefit for my two little lads who are 2 and 3. Anyway i think its been late arriving this month so we were checking if its paid monthly or quarterly or what.

Anyway to cut along story short, i typed child benefit into google.ie and the second hit is the citizensinformation.ie website on child benefit translated into roma!!

I take it that means its the second most popular hit according to google.ie when child benefit is typed into the search engine.

Please correct me if im wrong as im not looking to start an arguement or anything else; i just think its a bit bizarre.

The first hit in the Google search is the Citizens Information page in English, the second page is the Citizens Information page in Romanian.

The order of search results has nothing to do with how many people search for the term - it has to do with the relevance of the page to the search.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

http://www.religioustolerance.org/roma1.htm

And we thought the Jewish people had it bad! They got billions of dollars and their own country after WWII, and the Roma get people whinging about child benefit. Perhaps if people were more educated about the absolute hell the Roma have suffered in the last few hundred years they'd have a bit more sympathy for them.

Not forgetting the Holocaust:
    It is not known precisely how many Roma were killed in the Holocaust. While exact figures or percentages cannot be ascertained, historians estimate that the Germans and their allies killed around 25 percent of all European Roma. Of slightly less than one million Roma believed to have been living in Europe before the war, the Germans and their Axis partners killed up to 220,000.

Source

If people want to be concerned about where the money goes in our Republic, they might consider worrying about the things we do ourselves:
    It is estimated that total household expenditure on shopping in Northern Ireland in the 12 months to Quarter 2 2010 was €418 million. The equivalent figure for the 12 months to Quarter 2 2009 was €435 million.
    However, this does not represent a statistically significant decrease.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭santiago

My friend as far as I know Roma people have their own language besides theirs native polish,romanian,bulgarian,etc language.
    The language on the citizensinformation.ie its romanian IS NOT ROMA!
    But I can see that you are not racist!

"As a rule, Google tries to find pages that are both reputable and relevant"

http://www.epsilisdesign.co.uk/seo/how_does_google_rank_pages.asp

I still don't understand; how can google find the relevance of typing child benefit in google.ie as giving the translation of the citizensinformation website on child benefit in romanian as the second most relevant hit.

I mean its more "relevant" than the welfare.ie website on child benefit by that explanation.

Yup, couldn't agree with you more DF, I'm just surprised by your refreshing attitude. Fair play.

Though you'd struggle to find a section of society who needs the help more than some 8 week old child wrapped in a blanket in the arms of a woman begging outside the 2euro shop!!

The REAL burning issue though, is whether that sandle / sock combo is required by Roma law?

"As a rule, Google tries to find pages that are both reputable and relevant"

http://www.epsilisdesign.co.uk/seo/how_does_google_rank_pages.asp

I still don't understand; how can google find the relevance of typing child benefit in google.ie as giving the translation of the citizensinformation website on child benefit in romanian as the second most relevant hit.

I mean its more "relevant" than the welfare.ie website on child benefit by that explanation.

The placement of the Romanian page is based on the relevance and reputability of the Citizens Information website as a whole. I can't help but feel you're trying to make something out of nothing here.

regards,
    Scofflaw

Scofflaw wrote: »
    The placement of the Romanian page is based on the relevance and reputability of the Citizens Information website as a whole. I can't help but feel you're trying to make something out of nothing here.

regards,
    Scofflaw

Again i'm confused; im not and never have been trying to make something out of nothing; just your explanation i find strange.

Can you explain what you mean by the relevance and reputability of the citizens imformation website as a whole?

And you never answered my question which ill post again; How come the translation of the citizensinformation website on child benefit into romanian on google.ie is deemed more relevant than the actual welfare.ie website on child benefit where all the necessary forms for child benefit are to be downloaded as well as all information relevant to said issue?

I suppose i think that the idea of rank of hits being due to relevance seems a bit fishy when its shone under this light; do you not think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bobtongs

I suppose i think that the idea of rank of hits being due to relevance seems a bit fishy when its shone under this light; do you not think?

So are you then asking a question about Google's ranking mechanisms? What do you mean by 'rank of hits'? Google's ranking system is complicated and is based on a number of criteria, including links to pages, the credibility of those links, the credibility of the websites themselves, etc. It is not generally a list of what people search for most, i.e. if thousands of people searched for 'child benefit roma', it doesn't logically follow that the Roma version of the page on citizensinformation.ie will get a high ranking.

bobtongs wrote: »
    So are you then asking a question about Google's ranking mechanisms? What do you mean by 'rank of hits'? Google's ranking system is complicated and is based on a number of criteria, including links to pages, the credibility of those links, the credibility of the websites themselves, etc. It is not generally a list of what people search for most, i.e. if thousands of people searched for 'child benefit roma', it doesn't logically follow that the Roma version of the page on citizensinformation.ie will get a high ranking.

I mean when you type something into google; what constitutes the website being the forst second theird etc hit on the page.

And again i have no idea and am atill bamboozled as to why the citizensinformation.ie website on child benefit translated to romanian is higher in "rank" or "relevance" or whatever you call it than the actual welfare.ie website on child benefit.

This is my problem!!

Can anyone give me a straight forward answer; not arguement!

6 x (.3 / 1.008) + 2 = ?

Thar's a problem. Yours is not.

Lightshow wrote: »
    6 x (.3 / 1.008) + 2 = ?

Thar's a problem. Yours is not.

Well put; thank you for enlightening me.

Apologies, I'm not trying to annoy, I just think this is a strange thing to get hung up on.

Perhaps another search would have the pages listed in a different order. As long as you got the info you were looking for I can't see why this would concern you so much.

Lightshow wrote: »
    Apologies, I'm not trying to annoy, I just think this is a strange thing to get hung up on.

Perhaps another search would have the pages listed in a different order. As long as you got the info you were looking for I can't see why this would concern you so much.

I think people think im a bit of a troll here; it doesnt overlly concern me; i just think its strange but as no one seems to have an answer ill jusr forget about it. Ill see some mates tonight and see if any of them have a more clear answer to it but please dont for a second think that i am hung up on this as im not.

I thought boards would be the place to discuss it when i saw it yesterday evening so thanks for the discussion guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

gurramok wrote: »
    Don't get you. Just because a rake of people google the topic does not necessarily mean its true.

Most Roma(if we are talking about them) are from Bulgaria and Romania. They need to work here before they are entitled to benefits.

The words Roma and work don't really go well together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭motherriley

It has been like that for years the same policy applies in the UK, I am sure if you were to go to any of the Easter EU countrise the same policy would appled to you ie you would e able to claim allowances for your children that live in another EU country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Well, at least you're consistent in your views ;) A mighty fine Libertarian are you sir. I can respect that. But as you said - Not everyone is in a financially sound situation like yourself.

Again i'm confused; im not and never have been trying to make something out of nothing; just your explanation i find strange.

Can you explain what you mean by the relevance and reputability of the citizens imformation website as a whole?

And you never answered my question which ill post again; How come the translation of the citizensinformation website on child benefit into romanian on google.ie is deemed more relevant than the actual welfare.ie website on child benefit where all the necessary forms for child benefit are to be downloaded as well as all information relevant to said issue?

Google ranks pages in its search engine using an algorithm called 'Pagerank'. Amongst other things, it scores the text on the page (which it automatically translates), but one of the major innovations of Google's algorithm is that it works out how 'reputable' the website is by how many other websites link to that website. In the case of Citizens Information, that's a lot, and a lot of them will be government websites and major media websites, which in turn are also considered highly reputable, which boosts the Citizens Information website score even higher.

When you do a search, Google returns relevant pages from the highest scoring website - in this case the Citizens Information website. If there are more than a couple of pages the same (bar language) on that website, it will usually show two - English language first, then one of the others, which might be the Polish page, or the Gaeilge one.

It's an interesting demonstration of how Google searches work, but it has absolutely nothing to do with how many people search for that page, or indeed how many people access that page (since Google has no idea) - you yourself weren't searching specifically for that page.

There really isn't anything mysterious here.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

What your most likely discovering is that search engines still don't work properly and its only because we've trained ourselves to use google and because of their clever biasing that we get anywhere near relevant results :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

The problem here is that their parents do not work or contribute to our society in anyway other than beg and steal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Op, Roma's come from more countries than Romania, so maybe a thread title change is in order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

..........Anyway to cut along story short, i typed child benefit into google.ie and the second hit is the citizensinformation.ie website on child benefit translated into roma!!

The language is Romanian. Romania is a member of the EU.
    The words Roma and work don't really go well together.
    maxxie wrote:
    The problem here is that their parents do not work or contribute to our society in anyway other than beg and steal!

This thread has nothing to do with Roma. I suggest putting away the rope and burning torches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

torch%20mob.jpg

Did someone say Roma?

And on that note...

moderately,
    Scofflaw