Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

opening a SC2 gaming centre

• 29-10-2010 12:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭

I've an idea for a gaming center/net cafe for dublin. It'd be quite similar to other net cafes, but the difference i have in mind is that it'd feel more like a club, it'd be a 24/7 place, with a fair amount of high end pc's and a reliable fast net connection. It'd be a place for running regular tournaments in all game types, and just a sociable place for gamers to hang out.

I'm thinking that 24 high end gaming machines in a large spacious room, so that people aren't cramped over each other. Several empty desks next to power/lan sockets so that for larger tourneys players can bring their own hardware.

There'd be a bunch of couches/chairs in a small section where people can relax or chat after a game. A small coffee shop or something to generate revenue and also a sectioned off area that'll be a normal netcafe.

The general feel of the place would be similar to a poker club, or a pool hall. Now i just need capital :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Research is everything Xios - there are threads elsewhere (Lan Parties I think) where people are very negative that Ireland can get events going...

Regular tournaments are a must

Price is everything

And how do you convince people to leave the comforts of their home to play?
    - Especially when game developers are starting to use online servers even for LAN games (Quake Live, SC2, etc).

Would love something like that.....whether it can survive is a different thing.

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭NeoSlicerZ

If you had a small coffee shop place, stream sc2 content :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

Xios wrote: »
    I've an idea for a gaming center/net cafe for dublin. It'd be quite similar to other net cafes, but the difference i have in mind is that it'd feel more like a club, it'd be a 24/7 place, with a fair amount of high end pc's and a reliable fast net connection. It'd be a place for running regular tournaments in all game types, and just a sociable place for gamers to hang out.

I'm thinking that 24 high end gaming machines in a large spacious room, so that people aren't cramped over each other. Several empty desks next to power/lan sockets so that for larger tourneys players can bring their own hardware.

There'd be a bunch of couches/chairs in a small section where people can relax or chat after a game. A small coffee shop or something to generate revenue and also a sectioned off area that'll be a normal netcafe.

The general feel of the place would be similar to a poker club, or a pool hall. Now i just need capital :)

I'vee been researching the possibility of something like this for quite a while during work on my current project (Nexcade).

I like what the guys in Australia done with their bar.

Manabar (video game bar)

I think that's a good example to give a potential investor a good visual image :)

Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭gearoidof

GameTheWorld is a gaming cafe with high end PCs, but it's not got couches, check it out regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

They seem to have unbelievably high cost to run.

It is getting very hard to get people out of their comfort of their own surroundings to go play games, when most of us have access to high speed internet.

With weekly tournaments and meet ups, perhaps a league that would encourage people to come evey week, you might be onto a winner.

Sc2 looks like its got serious longterm benefits and it will be here for years, so why not.

a club sounds brilliant, because basically its something you want and enjoy.

If there was a cafe around Dublin that ran Sc2 tournaments/leagues I'd definitly leave my comfort zone to mingle with the n3rd whorde.

If anyything to just become a better player. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

TheDoc wrote: »

If there was a cafe around Dublin that ran Sc2 tournaments/leagues I'd definitly leave my comfort zone to mingle with the n3rd whorde.

If anyything to just become a better player. :)

Unfotunately, for every one with that attitude, there are hundreds who just won't bother...

🤪

Sure don't I know that ;)

Yourself as someone working i nthe e-sport journo world, what irish events do you go to that are any use, there isnt any :/

Still with every new game comes a new hope and Sc2 is a new hope.

you can tell from the irc and here the community is mature and all round welcoming and helpful.

Who knows the Starleague might be a big hit and moved to lan format :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

Was looking at an chartbusters up for let in Smithfield €1600 a month, dunno about that location as it's a fair stroll from the city centre.
    I've no money btw, just speculating.
    As for the weekly tournaments, it'd be Starcraft 1 week, then counterstrike the next, then WoW the third and possibly something else on the 4th week.

I'm thinking each tournament would have a 20 euro charge for entrance, 15 of that will go to a prize pool, the rest would go to financing the tourney, and cooking food for a mid tourney break. The Poker Room in celbridge orders in like 9 pizza's from pizza hut in it's medium sized tournaments.

But i think the main appeal of the high end gaming machines is that the cost of a decent pc these days is quite high, last september i bought my pc for 1400 euro, +70 for windows 7, + 100 to 400 on games in the past. so at the highest point for a pc with a lot of games, is 1800. That's a huge price barrier for many people, that's the price of a decent cheap car. Not to mention your ISP bills.
    So this gaming centre lets people experience pc games without the huge investment. The business won't really make any profits for the first 2 years, but once a regular crowd and the tournament system ticks over, then it'll start making nice revenue.

Xios wrote: »
    Was looking at an chartbusters up for let in Smithfield €1600 a month, dunno about that location as it's a fair stroll from the city centre.
    I've no money btw, just speculating.
    As for the weekly tournaments, it'd be Starcraft 1 week, then counterstrike the next, then WoW the third and possibly something else on the 4th week.

I'm thinking each tournament would have a 20 euro charge for entrance, 15 of that will go to a prize pool, the rest would go to financing the tourney, and cooking food for a mid tourney break. The Poker Room in celbridge orders in like 9 pizza's from pizza hut in it's medium sized tournaments.

But i think the main appeal of the high end gaming machines is that the cost of a decent pc these days is quite high, last september i bought my pc for 1400 euro, +70 for windows 7, + 100 to 400 on games in the past. so at the highest point for a pc with a lot of games, is 1800. That's a huge price barrier for many people, that's the price of a decent cheap car. Not to mention your ISP bills.
    So this gaming centre lets people experience pc games without the huge investment. The business won't really make any profits for the first 2 years, but once a regular crowd and the tournament system ticks over, then it'll start making nice revenue.

Are you thinking along the lines of a bar like the manabar? Cocktails and gaming type of place with comfortable lounge seating and contemporary interior design?

Or a gaming cafe with comfy seating and chilled out vibe, but no alcohol?

koHd wrote: »
    Are you thinking along the lines of a bar like the manabar? Cocktails and gaming type of place with comfortable lounge seating and contemporary interior design?

Or a gaming cafe with comfy seating and chilled out vibe, but no alcohol?

No alcohol, random customers, alcohol and expensive pc's won't mix well. The chilled out vibe is the kind of idea i'd be aiming for.

Perhaps a small kiosk or something would sell tea/coffee etc. and when you buy from the kiosk it adds time to your browsing to encourage more sales. But the main attraction is the regular tourneys and B.Y.O.PC area for larger lans.

/mods, sorry for the thread hijack.

Sounds interesting and look forward to hearing the idea develop out more , best of luck too you.

Like I said I've not being big into lans because well, I just didnt rate any of them highly.

Sc2 I know for me and a few lads is a chance to get into the lan scene if it ever gets going. And a lan tournamenet atmosphere cant be matched for intensity and craic.

Watching with interest ;)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

.....Who knows the Starleague might be a big hit and moved to lan format :P

Is that what we are calling the Boards league!!!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

It's a great idea Xios and it's clear you've given it a lot of thought, but there are some serious barriers to that sort of development going ahead in Ireland.
    • Rent on premesis will be huge and it will have to be City Centre to get any sort of passing trade (which you'll desperately need). Be extremely lucky to get somewhere decent for less than €500/week
    • Cost of hardware - best case scenario €900/1000 per machine X 24 Machines...
    • Set up - you'll need to fit it out and decorate and that's gonna be the guts of fifteen grand.
    • Tubes: You'll need a BIG internet connection as there's no more LAN versions of anything any more, so it all gets played online and a normal DSL won't cut it - upload speed being the biggest problem since even if people are sitting beside one another, they're playing online.
    • Ongoing costs: Rent, ESB, Internet, Rates, Wages, you're looking at €1500-€2000 a week. Let's call it €100,000 a year before you're making any money and that's not including licences for new games or upgrades.
    I reckon you'd be lucky to have change of €80,000 after getting started and unless you've got someone from Dragon's Den on the line, that won't happen :) Even in economic boom times, a bank'd have laughed you out the door if you brought your business plan into them.

Do I think people will come? Yes and no. Some communities are great for getting together - the Fighting Games guys are a good example. PC Lan people aren't (hence the death of LAN events in Ireland). I think us SC2 players are a small but enthusiastic lot and would certainly give it a go.

The bottom line is that gamers in Ireland are a small minority with big ideas and bigger expectations, but the population and money just isn't here to support it. This sort of project would need to have 50 regulars coming in for several hours every week as well as three or four times that number as walk-in traffic for an hour at a time to make it sustainable.

All that said, I think there could be options to partner with existing businesses and put something together. One of the game shops seems the most sensible as there's mutual interest. If you could sell the idea of even starting with 8 or 10 machines in the corner of a shop and pack it out for a few months with regular tournaments and lots of buzz and more importantly, people buying games so they see a real up turn in business, then it's a maybe, but it's a big ask. It could also work with a coffee shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

id be willing to chip in and do the sparks work for cost price.

What the above also shows is that you might find a few people inteested seeing it going ahead, and will help you out.

There is alot of people looking for work out there, and for the sort of work required to get net cafe up and running, I'd say you would probbly be able to build a small contractor company from some boards posters, let alone gaming section posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭IRL_Sinister

Dunno how I missed this Thread, will check it out tomorrow <3

What the above also shows is that you might find a few people inteested seeing it going ahead, and will help you out.

There is alot of people looking for work out there, and for the sort of work required to get net cafe up and running, I'd say you would probbly be able to build a small contractor company from some boards posters, let alone gaming section posters.

I agree with you, there's no shortage of talents from the boards.ie user base. Even using boards to ask questions is a win in my eyes.

As for the cafe idea, i'll keep researching it, and make up a business plan before the end of the college year and submit it to banks and venture capitalists :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Wow, that would be an interesting and totally awesome idea; it wouldn't lack for publicity in its own way.

The only problem I could see would be how to get people spending. What's to stop people just taking up a computer/console all day without actually using it? (a bit like peoplein cafés who take up a whole sofa while nursing a small coffee)

pixelburp wrote: »
    Wow, that would be an interesting and totally awesome idea; it wouldn't lack for publicity in its own way.

The only problem I could see would be how to get people spending. What's to stop people just taking up a computer/console all day without actually using it? (a bit like peoplein cafés who take up a whole sofa while nursing a small coffee)

At least they're paying for coffee $.$

Kharn wrote: »
    All that said, I think there could be options to partner with existing businesses and put something together. One of the game shops seems the most sensible as there's mutual interest. If you could sell the idea of even starting with 8 or 10 machines in the corner of a shop and pack it out for a few months with regular tournaments and lots of buzz and more importantly, people buying games so they see a real up turn in business, then it's a maybe, but it's a big ask. It could also work with a coffee shop.

I have some things on paper along the lines of what you're talking about here. I don't want to post too much here as I've worked long on and hard on it and also spent a LOT of cash researching...but if Xios and any other lads that are serious about getting something like this off the ground I would love to get a load of us together to talk about the possibilities.

I was thinking about getting all of the plan together and approaching the likes of GAME/Gamestop etc. with it.

Who would be interested in working together?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

koHd wrote: »
    ..........I was thinking about getting all of the plan together and approaching the likes of GAME/Gamestop etc. with it.

Who would be interested in working together?

I think this could work. If you had a partnership/sponsership from Game then you could get a bit more business from them for things like midnight openings, gaming leagues. Trying to get them to sponser a single tournament might be a good test of their attitude towards the e-sports concept. Perhaps the cafe/gaming centre could also sell games from their stock, giving them another retail point to the market?

I realise its a bad time to start a venture like this but one thing that surprised me is the GemersWorld (table top gaming and RPGs) shop just off Jervis st. It started as Models Inc on Dorset St, after a year or so moved to the new premises across form the Morisson Hotel. I wouldn't have thought there was enough of a market for another model shop, especially so physically close to Games Workshop. It seems that their 'gaming club with a shop attached' idea is doing well for them.

There was an Xboxliver cafe in Tallaght a while back. Am not sure how succesful it was or how long it lasted.

Maybe that could be an angle to approach this from, make it an internet cafe/coffee shop that has an area put aside for the PC gaming club. Thus you get the passing PC use/coffee trade and maybe generate some interest in the Gaming club?

Okay, I've finally gotten down to read it all and here's what I got.

DISCLAIMER: Wall of text inc. Don't say I didn't "tell you so".

First and foremost, in response to the texts in the opening post:

Perhaps the biggest obstacle to exporting e-sports to the West is a lingering belief that playing computer games is not a proper job—an idea that would no doubt sound familiar to pioneers of professional sports from tennis to snooker.

There can be no denying this. I've been a gamer since the release of Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne and ~8 years later I have never once denied it. But, truth be told, the above quote is true. In another sense, it may even be true because going into a gaming career and not seeing it paying off is extremely risky. Basically, you take one year out of University to play 12 hours a day for 300 days and get nowhere? Unless you get very supporting parents or a good financial record behind you it's going to be extremely difficult. But moving back on to my point the Western belief of gaming is so incredibly different to what it is in Asia. There is simply no comparison.

It should also be noted that the major sponsorship of teams (Fnatic, SK-Gaming, EG, srsRAZER, Dignitas) in e-Sports are gaming-based corporations themselves. For Ireland, what have we got? [More on this point later]. That's my initial food for thought, because there is no way you can compare the Asia scene with any other part of the world. Even recently China are beginning to boom in e-Sports (WoW, SC2 and WC3 from personal experience); then again that's not exactly all to do with them being based in Asia.

Moving on, I fixed my eyes upon this quote:
    As long as the default assumption among Westerners is that computer gaming is a pastime for basement-dwelling shutins, then it is going to be hard to attract the sponsors necessary for the game to flourish.

This actually came from a different article but is still along the same lines. The quote kind of says it all. The reason for success in Korea was due to the huge sponsorship money organisations were dishing out. It is simply not viable to contemplate such organisations in Ireland. The nearest thing we have is Dignitas and UV-Gaming. [More on this later].

Okay, so not being totally negative, we have this:
    Now games are advertised on the London Underground, complete with quotes from reviews in the national press. The launch of the latest Halo sequel reliably warrants a slot on the nightly news. The pro-gaming tournaments that do happen in the West already attract sponsors from Intel, a chip-maker, to Doritos, a different sort of chip-maker, keen to advertise to young adults with plenty of spare cash.

How ****ing true is this of Ireland? 100%. It's actually unbelievable how common this is. Admittedly, the "media" aren't always portraying positive messages about gaming. I've lost track of the amount of times I've tuned into the radio to find someone talking about a game. Think to yourself - how often have you heard the addiction/influence levels of WoW on the radio? Take it another step, recently, how often has it been heard about the gore/violence level of the more recent games; notably GTA, COD and Killzone. Advertising on buses, bus stops, trains, shop windows and websites is so common nowadays most of us Forum-users would just look on it with complete ignorance.

I don't want to dwell on the article too much but I think it's important because all this discussion has come out of this and, of course, the OP was about the article(s).

Luckily, the writer(s) were informed of gaming and actually knew what they were on about so the perspective was interested. It was somewhat refreshing to hear a more positive and neutral (lol) side to it all. Realistically, the writer(s) saw the problems that would be associated with all this off the bat and it is something all of us here, as simple Forum-users, have to recognise as well.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not trying to be negative, but for us as gamers' it is so simple to just dwell on all the positives and overlook all the negatives that could easily come crashing down in a split second.

So, do I have an opinion? Yes. Do I have a solution? I have ideas.

So, Xios, you've obviously taken this article to heart and I like that. I'm not going to fault your enthusiasm, in fact, I'm not going to dwell on the negatives significantly. However, I am going to throw some questions out there because I haven't fully investigated it and I've never really needed to because of Warcraft III's own LAN system.

First of all, outside of Midlans, does Dublin (just taking this as the place accessible to most of the people here) have any serious gaming café's that could incorporate people to get together and host (for example) a 32-player LAN Tournament? I don't know the gaming scene in Dublin as I've never needed to access it as mentioned above. But, I believe this THE most important question. If you were to go ahead and try and organise something like would you have competition? Are the resources already there? Are the facilities already there and is there a "gaming centre" available already.

At this point, I'm just going to give you some background information as to where I come from in terms of e-Sports. I don't want to boast, but I will outline a list of Achievements I have achieved online up until this point.

Warcraft III

My first love. I bought the game the day I got broadband, never played the campaign and jumped straight into 4v4 RT. Oh man, did people love me! Anyway, after about two or three years of playing I moved onto 1v1 exclusively and began to watch replays and get more "knowledgable" on the competitve e-Sports scene in Warcraft III. Eventually, after I think three years I joined the world's largest Gaming Organisation - Warrior Nation. Not really a big deal, but this was my first major experience at a structured network with goals, objectives, support and resources.

In Warrior Nation, I quickly began the leading organiser for the WN.WC3EU Section (under the alias WNxGodSinister) and signed us up for various Leagues and Tournaments - notably WC3CL and ESL. In the space of two years I recruited a team who were committed and motivated and we promoted up three divisions to Division 2 before the inevitable decline of Warcraft III.

During these two years I began training extensively myself, becoming accustomed to the "cookie-cutter" builds and signing up for Tournaments that are still noted today - ZOTAC and ESL - as well as various other Tournaments. Eventually, ENC, EPS and WCG 2009 came around and I signed up for Qualifiers. Guess what? I qualified as the third seed (of a 5 man squad) behind the famous DeMuslim and very good player Bassfly.

So yeah, in short I represented UK.WC3 in EPS and ENC 2009.

After that (because the UK were seeded in the top division we didn't have to play many games) the UK Admins contacted me again regarding setting up an Irish ENC squad. I went ahead and did it and eventually gatherd 4 of the best players in Ireland to get a squad out for ENC 2009. In the first round we got matched up against Spain (The famous LucifroN and brothers Ryo and VoshiX) and the games were streamed live in front of more than 5,000 people (3 1v1 and 1 2v2 all BO3). To be fair, that was a pretty massive achievement for Irish e-Sports, especially in Warcraft 3. Anyway, we lost to Spain in what was an incredible experience and we always have the excuse:

"So, who'd Ireland lose to?"
    "Spain."
    "WHAT? They went on to win ENC that year, right?"
    "Yep"

:) there ya go!

So yeah, obviously I became involved with the team aspect of WCGIreland 2009, but as most of you know that was the year that they decided to discontinue Irish WCG and so nothing became of it - shame.

So, to summarise:

• Several quarter and semi-final appearances in professional 1v1 Tournaments while being an amateur.
    • Rank 10, Northrend, 1v1. Level 42 - Human.
    • UK.WC3 player for ENC and EPS 2009.
    • Leader, organiser and player of Ireland.WC3 ENC 2009.
    • Organiser and player of Warrior Nation's Warcraft III (EU) squad which got promoted three divisions in two years.
    (Can provide my old ESL account for people who are interested in all the juicy bits).

World of Warcraft

• Ex-member of the World's leading Alliance Guild - Method.
    • Regarded as the best Restoration Shaman (Horde-side) on Ahn'Qiraj EU.
    • Currently a member of the World top 25 Guild - Paparazzi (Balnazzar EU).
    • Realm First Halion HC 25.
    • Light of the Dawn.
    (Armory "Ushra" on Balnazzar for further statistics)

Like I said, I don't want to boast but I do want to give an insight as to how competitive and serious I am towards gaming. I've been successful in several games and will continue to do so in Starcraft 2 while always attempting to be an ambassador for Irish e-Sports.

So where does this lead my argument? Well, basically, I have no experience of Irish LANs or internet/gaming centres, because quite frankly I've never needed to. Warcraft III had it's own LAN implementations and WoW simply can't be played at a gaming centre - or at least there's no need to. So, when it comes to that I can't offer you a whole lot other than what would attract myself, sponsors and big names because I don't have the physical experience behind my back. When it comes to knowing what I'm talking about and competing at the highest level at e-Sports then that's where I come in. Unfortunately, that is not this topic :)

So moving back to my original question: Is there already an easily accessible gaming center in Dublin (not necessarily in the city)? What facilities does it have? ie; how many PCs? Does it have a bar or a café? What other consoles and sources of entertainment are available? What's the charge for the facilities?

I think that should, ultimately, be the "research question".

Going from there, yes, you have the boards.ie Starcraft 2 users. But that doesn't make it viable to try and form such a facility you're aiming for. I can see it as a good starting point for people to get around a table, have a few beers and throw some ideas at each other but that's it. I like the business idea, I especially like the idea of approaching GameStop or Game and then taking the business idea to the banks (you know how that's going to turn out inevitably though). But you're going to have to move out of the Starcraft 2 zone and look at other popular games in Ireland (I believe CoD and CS:S/1.6 are?). Then, the next step would be to try and find an already existing facility - I liked the idea of a conference room but that's really only a short-term plan for a weekend LAN or something? Like I said, if such a facility exists then a partnership or outlining a clear business plan to an already existing center may reap HUGE potential.

Now, sponsorship. You mentioned Game - good, at least you're thinking. But realistically they aren't going to sponsor anything more than a weekend LAN. What you're looking for here is a sponsor for an annual basis (in the facility) or better yet to sponsor a team. In one way, this can be approach differently.

Currently, I'm a member of UltraViolet Gaming (http://uv-gaming.eu/) Ireland's leading e-Sports organisation. Since joining I've had regular contact with the CEO who is currently the SC2 manager and his goals are very simliar to yours - to ultimately get a recognisable e-Sports community present in Ireland on a regular basis. I'm very enthusiastic about the situation and I have to credit the organisation, Kraski in particular, for really laying down a benchmark for Irish gaming. In terms of sponsorship, UV already has existing sponsorship, so maybe getting in contact with that organisation would be of help to you and perhaps you could work together to outline a business plan and organise some capital. I know Kraski would be behind it and it would certainly enable the possibility of getting the entire project off the ground.

Now, I understand Midlans occurs every few months (????) and is a very popular event. So, obviously, the interest is there. But this entire idea would be more plausible if a convention or center of some sort already existed and it was attempted to be improved on.

To finish I have two last suggestions/thoughts.

A Tournament

If the facility I mentioned above does exist, why not get them to sponsor an online Tournament with a prize pool of, say, 50-100€. Assuming the business is doing fine it won't be too hard to get 100 quid together. Now, what this will do is not only expose the Irish gaming scene but it will attract the big names to compete (be it if they only want to for the money) and in turn big names attract casters, which in turn attract publicity. See where I'm going with this? Funky has already managed to organise a successful Tournament before it has even started and that's only internally. Imagine getting a 560 slot sponsored Tournament (even if you can't get an existing gaming facility, why not try to apprach GameStop [because they're Irish] and get them to throw in 50 quid to a prize pool? They have the money) where every member of this Forum competed and you attracted the usual names from the EU scene. Trying to organise it on a day with no existing prize Tournament already would be even better (ZOTAC, CraftCup and GO4SC2 primarily). The Irish players would get an opportunity to play against world-class players and certain people in higher leagues could even be seeded (myself, Neo and Slayer) so as to ensure they get to further rounds (this isn't cheating, it's standard procedure in Tournaments today).

You can get my idea, I assume, so leave some feedback on it.

Getting together

For people who are seriously interested in this, why don't you all get together round a pub table and discuss the ideas over a few beers? Recently, I met a WoW mate in Temple Bar who came over for a job interview and we had a good time and it was good to be able to just "meet the person behind the screen" so-to-say. On the day you could discuss various ideas - research questions, business statement, capital, sponsorship, location, facilities, resources, etc, etc.

As I said, trying to organise a place where everyone would be able to meet would be difficult and it's a shame GamerExpo got canceled because that would have been the ideal place but a €2.20 bus ticket into the city to just have a discussion on such things wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing by any means, in my opinion.

Apologies for the wall-of-text I didn't want to rush into any replies here and I think I've laid down a few interesting ideas and concepts without being entirely negative. Obviously I'm not a total neutral, I'd like to see these things be successful as much as any of you but realistically I can't see it happening without serious thought and "knuckling-down" to it ASAP.

Feedback and comments appreciated!

Good to see you've put a lot of thought into it Sinister. On the sponsorship thing, when I mention GAME/GameStop, I am meaning using their store as a test bed for a mini cafe "hub" type of thing. Lets say eight stations and a profit share. Mini tournaments being held there. Online tournaments final rounds being held there etc.

While it's not running tournaments, the units are there for general use by anybody. Games like Starcraft & CoD available at the stations.

It gives us prime location without rent. You also don't need on site staff as it's possible to run the entire thing via a coin-mechanism with virtual support available from staff (us) that are working from home via broadband. Everything can be monitored over broadband, and we can go on location when required. All the software to do this is currently out there and I am using it in my test project 'Nexcade'.

And it gives GameStop/GAME/HMV an excellent core-market draw into their store at the cost of a few square foot. As well as opening the door for all type of marketing via tournaments and in-store launches.

It's basically a win-win situation with small costs for both sides. We set up and pay for the gaming "hub". The store gives us a small space. It doesn't work out we've lost a small bit of cash on building the hub, and the store has lost nothing.

if it works out, it could be rolled out across all the stores and then we have excellent venues for tournaments all over the country.

EDIT: Also, I agree with the idea of getting a few together over a beer. We all have the same aim and sort of the same ideas. We could share the burden and make this happen for a relatively low cost per person involved, and potentially have something awesome on our hands that will be extremely fun to be part of.

Wow, sinister, submit that to a newspaper :)

But you are right, market research and a strong business plan are essential before going ahead with any business. And a Starcraft beers night out would be great.

There are 2 internet café's that i'm aware of that have gaming machines. One is 5 star on talbot street, which i've played in. And the other is on liffey street, dunno what's it's called.

As for the five star net cafe, having been to a lan organised by a guy with a username 'Merlin' many years back in 2006/7 i believe. But there was quite a show up, 40+ if i remember correctly.
    the cafe had good machines, but the spacing and general aura about the place was none too appealing. You literally had to squeeze through all the chairs just to get to your pc, and while playing at one, people kept bumping your chair while walking by. I believe it was set up by some koreans.

I think we should all go for a couple drinks, then go to this cafe and play some starcraft, get an idea about what the place is like now.

I just had a look at that 5 star internet cafe [http://www.5starscafe.com]. That looks like a pretty sweet place. Haven't checked it out but the internet rates are cheap as ****.

If you're going to go ahead with it you should really consider organising a "meeting" there, get some people together and see who shows up. Then you could talk to the management about it and take it from there. That's a sick place, and just off O Connell Street means my 67 drops me outside it's door almost. I'd definitely be up for making a trip out there over the holiday and seeing what it's like.

Also, how about considering a LAN there? Doesn't say how many PCs it had but if they offered a LAN for Starcraft 2 and included a 50 quid winning prize I'd be there in two seconds. They've done it before, if you look at the site they held a DotA Tournament with a 500 quid prize pool. Could definitely be worth checking out!

Also, how about considering a LAN there?

I'm game, last time i was there, they had a lot of pc's, more than 20, prob more than 30. Not sure how the hardware is nowadays, but it was quite good a few years back.

I'd be up for that alright. The Nexcade is a totally seperate thing by the way. It's basically a stand alone arcade gaming jukebox for bars. It wouldn't suit games like Starcraft. But I am just saying the stuff I'm using for that have given me ideas. It is a great research tool.

Anyway, I think we should arrange a date soon enough to go to the gaming cafe and have a few games and a chat?

I'm probably going to be heading to it tomorrow. My GF wants to head to Forever 21's (?) opening on Henry Street so I figured while she was there I'd check out fivestarcafe.

I also found this:

http://www.5starscafe.com/Gamezone.aspx
    5 Star is the biggest net cafe in Dublin where it can hold big private game parties or any other similar activities. Also corporate events such as game product launches and preview nights are welcomed. If you have any intiatives to hold acitivity here please click the signs below as your activity type.

That pretty much confirms everything - if you want to hold a LAN or attempt to get something organised they seem to have an 'open door' policy for getting it started.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

What about Game-the-World on Grafton? I've been there a couple of times and it seemed reasonable (can't recall if it was value for money mind you)

Like I said, I don't have any experience with LANs in Dublin. If you know of any please let me know and I'll do some research on it.

Well like I said I've been at Game-The-World a few time and it was reasonable. What I liked was that it was on the 1st floor above ... somewhere (I forget what) and so it was nicely tucked away from prying eyes

Lol, well I just had a quick look at it (still am) and it seems that it doesn't have SC2 yet? Maybe the site isn't updated but....

EDIT: Also not 24 hours like the other. Opens from 9 to 9.

EDIT 2: http://centers.gametheworld.com/aboutus.php This won me over, I want to be there now. This really does look like a quality location. Will definitely be checking this and the other out this weekend :) Will probably write up a bit of a report on Sunday for anyone interested.

EDIT 3: **** me it sounds expensive.

Yes Game The World is really nice and has a clever system in place with user accounts and steam. They use the SmartLaunch cafe software so once you get an account and credit it you don't need to be hassling staff every time you go there. You can simply sit down and log in.

It's based on Grafton Street which is handy for most. And is in a secluded and modern pc gaming room at the top of the building. There's a net cafe below for internet users, so the gaming section is just for gaming.

Not sure they have Starcraft installed on any machines though. From my experience they seemed to only have a Steam Cafe license in place and no other. Can anybody confirm this that has been there recently?

Lol, well I just had a quick look at it (still am) and it seems that it doesn't have SC2 yet? Maybe the site isn't updated but....

EDIT 3: **** me it sounds expensive.

They would need to get a special license to allow Starcraft II to be played there. They might not have got the relevent one from Blizzard.

And those are the prices you get when the place has rent of €2000+ a month on top of staff costs and bills.

That's why if Xios was interested in starting his own, we were suggesting setting up with an existing business it would compliment and take up little square footage so as to cut the huge overhead of the commercial rent in Dublin.

EDIT: Just seeing if I can make it to town tomorrow. Will get back to you on here if I can and we can check out that gaming cafe and see if they have Starcraft II.

I just sent them an e-mail and hopefully I will receive a reply before I head in tomorrow. I asked what the current cost/hr is (site only gives the £ equivalent) and whether or not they have Starcraft installed on the computers.

Last time I was in the standard rate was €5 an hour. But they do special rates if you top up your account by more. It works like credit. And the credit you have is kept safe on your account meaning you can lodge in €20, use €2 today, come back next week and still have €18 credit.

The special rate they had last time was top up by €20 and your rate became €4 an hour, I think.

Hi Diarmuid,

We actually closed our 3rd floor where was the gaming area. We still keep some PCs on second floor and my plan is to build dual boot system for gaming or internet on first floor. (9x XPS machine)

We don't have Starcraft 2 installed.

With membership you get nothing extra after free 1/2 hour.

Our prices are: €3,50 1h
    €10 4h
    €35 20h

Let me know if you need any additional information.

Best Regards

Petr

There goes that idea.

Sorry for the backseat moderation, but is there any chance a moderator could split this topic?

"Starcraft 2 covered in the economist" is a really bad title for discussion about opening an SC2 gaming centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

done. ive tried to please both thread's by copying and editing posts etc, let me know if anything else needs changing.

Just on the 5star issue.

They are sound blokes in there always up for hosting lans.

I was at GHM lan organised by Merlin and that was a bit of a disaster, the setup in there is ok but its an absolute swetbox and its very tightyl packed.

I've not played many lans here, but I've been to many abroad and have been to some big ones working for big companies. I won't outline the specifics like Sinister because like his post its a long list but I guess I've got as much experience if not a little more working around/with professional players etc.

Obviously the big thing is deciding what your tournaments are going to be, based aorund competitive play attracting big players giving out big prizes, or if your going down the route of creating a good atmosphere with friendly lans.

Each are as difficult as each other. I can tell you straight off the bat, as been outlined here, running LANs are time consuming and expensive, and its pretty hard to get ANY sponsorship or support from any organisation to back your LAN.

There is literally no return from them and you are pretty much asking them to sink money for nothing. The likes of the big tournaments get the backing because they are broadcasted live to thousands of viewers on the web and they get great exposure.

For example GHM lan in their pre lan statement promised lots of prizes etc. On the night the WC3 tournament seemed to get canceled, a tourny was run on the super sly without much people knowing and after winning I got a Logitech Pen.

For second place in the CS1.6 tournament I got nothing, first place got a pretty lame logitech t-shirt.

My point being if you are looking into prizes for competitions, make sure you have them, and if you dont, just dont advertise prizes.

I would be happy as larry going to a lan with a nice atmosphere, paying my money, knowing if I won I wasnt getting anything, aslong as I got to meet new people, improved my game and got more lan experience.

However if there was a promise of a prize and when it came to it there was none or lame prizes, end of lan thereforward pretty much.

Its a big decision for yourself, its a massive financial investment. Personally I don't think its viable and the last thing I'd do if I won a million quid was open a lan cafe. I'd prefer to put the time and effort and money into organising an online league/tournament.

I see there is alot of talk of locations and in fairness I havnt seen one that catches the eye. Gamesworld on Grafton street is small and crowded, five star is small and crowded and a swet box.

Like I said I don't have experience in running lands I just have bags of experience attending and operating within the big ones.

If you decide to go ahead with, best of luck, I'm sure I'll attend and get mates to also. But it might also be worth looking into something like an online tournament structure.

The idea of hiring a net cafe is much more viable then creating your own from scratch. But when you do hire your passing over alot of your control and organisatin to cater for the company itself.

Remember, these net cafes make their money from users browsing the web and sending emails etc. Gamers are literally none of their income when you look at the larger picture. So if you are asking them to provide say 50 spaces, youd want to make sure you can provide fifty people, and the price they might demand for the fifty people might be a bit high.

I know looking back GHM was a pretty big disiaster and piss take, and I did pay a fair amount of money for it.

That experience probably tarnishes the possible good others can do, but even with Airsoft, so many times I've been consulted on new sites and new ventures and its usually people with extravagent ideas, little knowledge or experience and no business savy.

Its a big deal lads and its a big move, make sure you get the right advice and counsel and make sure your 100% happy it can be a success. :)

Best of luck.

Well GamesWorld on Grafton is essentially a no-go now. The e-mail I got confirmed they've removed their dedicated gaming section so 5stars is the only place available now. I sent them an e-mail asking whether they have SC2 installed on the PCs and got no reply.

Don't really know if I want to spend 1 hour on public transport tomorrow after College to find out if they do or not but I probably will anyway.

I agree with THADOCTAH! Don't think about investing heavily into anything yet. You should start by contacting 5stars (I'll probably go in tomorrow and do all this anyway) and see would they be up for allowing a LAN to get going (probably without prizes to start) and take it from there.

After that, throw a post here a few weeks in advance and then get a post up on Teamliquid. Funky's Tournament has been a raging success so far and only time will tell how great it's going to be.

If you got 15-20 there that would be awesome just to get together and talk about the game. It's something that's seriously lacking in Ireland. Like, none of my RL mates play video games at all (other than the odd Final Fantasy or whatever) so I'd be interested in it for that and to try and improve my own game as well.

I won't be in town today anyway Sinister so I look forward to hearing what you have to say about 5 star. I've walked past it tons of times but never went in cos it seems a little like a smelly net cafe more than a gaming one.

To jump in on the ROI, its very true that you won't be making money with LAN tournaments. You have to do it because you love doing it. The dream is to break even and have some good competition.

But on the other hand I do feel there is profit to be made from mini 'game centers' located in already proven target market high traffic locations such as GameStop and HMV. If you can negotiate a deal to use a little sq. footage in return for a profit share.

Cutting the huge rent on having your own retail unit is key. You also cut the staff cnd bills. It becomes viable with those overheads taken out.

How awesome would it be being able to go to your local GameStop and sit down at a comfortable gaming station to play Starcraft/WoW/CoD with a few mates, or even strangers that are into the same games?

Kind of like the lads that are into the board games get to go to the Games Workshop venues.

Perhaps we could even convince Games Workshop to put in some PC stations. There's a big cross over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

Sorry to sound negative here but my advice is to stay well away from the 'gaming cafe' idea. Too many have gone down the drain in the past 15 years to count.

Perhaps there is money to be made in bringing sponsorship to Sunday cups a la Zotac, or perhaps money in setting up "another" lan organising website.

Passion is one thing, taking a gigantic huge financial risk in something that is very rarely vaguely successful is another - just my opinion

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I'm currently in talks with a place that would have space and internets for a small (less than 20) BYOPC sort of thing - I was just doing that out of personal interest more than anything, it may not apply to this community if there'd be any interest, but it might be another option.

Disclaimer: haven't read thread
    I have some good experience running tournaments, so I'd be more than happy to help out if some kind of tournament is getting run.

I have the say from a perspective of helping Funky with the Starleague, the response has been tremendous.

I'd say there was definitely an idea of " lets just get lads playing games" but the response has been rather large and with that I think it has forced us to ensure we take it seriously and give a positive experience with things like communications and transparency, polish, proper rules and facilitation and good organisation.

The hope is to have everything run smooth, a competitive and fun tournament and everyone having a positive experience.

Thats the hope, the likelyhood is there will be bumps and incidents and it will show alot about the people involved in how they deal with it.

The benefits of an online sort of league is that , like BSL ( dustaz TM) we have entrants from all over the country and a good few from abroad. This woudln't be achieveable with a lan. Also the flexability of letting players organisers matches that suit the teams in question between a certain timeframe, also not achieveable with a lan.

I'm wondering if there's anything in the UK that you guys could piggy-back onto? Something you could take on as a franchise on behalf of the UK crowd? That might be a little more do-able and cheaper than starting out on one's own (plus with the benefit of an existing community)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Sorry to sound a negative note here but,

Lads, you really need to walk before you run. Go search the lan forum, the cs forum, the competitive gaming forum and the quake forum. All the rhetoric about how ireland NEEDS big lans and gaming centres has been done to death, always with the same result: Ireland doesnt NEED it and wont adapt to it any time soon.

"Inthecurrenteconomicclimate", the thoughts of raising capital for this when the country is about to run out of money in 60 days is a bit naive imo.

However, heres the positive (and from a purely sc2 point of view). sc2 has the opportunity to become similar to how the cs scene was 6 or 7 years ago. It seems to be a burgeoning community and thats half he battle right there.

Saying that the BSL is a "roaring success" already is bordering on silly since nothing has actually happened with it yet (and thats not to denigrate the efforts of funky and doc - well done! but let it actually get started first), but if it does go well, someone could easily take it upon themselves to organise a lan night in one of the cafes mentioned. For no money and no prizes. Just enough money to cover the rent of the place.

If THAT goes well then you can start charging a little more since people know what they are going to and that it will be run well, and you can start doing prizes. If THAT goes well, then hey, contact game or gamesworld for some prizes etc etc.

Think big sure, but start small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

pixelburp wrote: »
    I'm wondering if there's anything in the UK that you guys could piggy-back onto? Something you could take on as a franchise on behalf of the UK crowd? That might be a little more do-able and cheaper than starting out on one's own (plus with the benefit of an existing community)

From around London the most prominant games centre I saw piggy backs on HMV. http://www.gamerbase.com/?a=piccadilly

Basically there's a game centre built into the back of the HMV in the trocedero which gets alot of trade because

a) its in the trocedero where alot of teenagers hang out

b) its right beside the game section of HMV and they do regular offers of letting new releases be played for free and cross promotions etc.

I played avp/vanquish/bad company 2 there for free before I opted to buy them (only I knew the hour session with avp was most of the best parts)

They got a selection of 360s and PCs set up plus fighting sticks for street fighter 4 etc and driving cockpits for forza and need for speed. Which you'd really need, cant rely on pure pc or console to pull in the crowds, you'd get a healthy wow/cs/cod pc troop that will cover some costs but your walk in money would mostly be pulled in via consoles. Oh and this place had starcraft 2 on all the machines

So running off that I'd say something similar would be needed to combat alot of the cost challanges Kharn listed off, not necessarily with HMV, but a gameshop or some social area could really help flow business into you. Though Bars/pubs would be a bit too much of a difficulty, maybe a cinema or a videogame shop. I mean Gamestop on Henry street has that awful dvd shop on top of it, its a small space but I'd say an gamecentre would do better buisness there then that junk shop.

Though teaming up with gamestop is like sleeping with the devil.

There should be other businesses in the same general market that are constantly having a space go to waste (which is the problem with dublin over london...less space in the prominant areas)