Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EIRSIM IN GALWAY

• 11-11-2010 6:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭

has anyone gone flying in the simulater . ive herd it is like the real thing, jimmy norman was on about it the other morning so i phoned it up cos my two boys are mad into planes in a big way, its 170e for two, lasts up to 45mins, cant wait to get the voucher for them .

http://www.eirsim.com/GiftVouchers.html

Didn't hear about this....

Now to find someone to do it with :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

That site is ****ing terrible!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭ingalway

I hope the training/simulator is more professional than the web site....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭magentas

hmm interesting. I've never heard of it either and site says it's around since last year.

could be a nice unusual christmas gift

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Being as you all know a huge Aviation enthusiast I have got to say that for a go in a 737-200series cockpit at those prices I feel are not attractive, if it was a clean €100 then sure for 1 hour id happily go.

I do however wish them all the best.

cats.life wrote: »
    has anyone gone flying in the simulater . ive herd it is like the real thing, jimmy norman was on about it the other morning so i phoned it up cos my two boys are mad into planes in a big way, its 170e for two, lasts up to 45mins, cant wait to get the voucher for them .

Have you not tried ringing the guys and gals at Galway Flying Club out at EICM ( Carnmore ) ?

http://www.galwayflyingclub.com/introductory-flights.html

Was up in EI-MCF ( Cessna 172R ) a few times and EI-GWY ( Cessna 172R ) and EI-BIB ( Cessna F152 ), sound bunch of people out at GFC.

Best time I ever had was doing actual Aerobatics over Galway Bay in YAK52 G-MCCY pulling +7 and -3 G.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭dafunk

Reckon a genuine trip in a cockpit would actually be cheaper or in or around the same price. I spent 70 euro on a flying lesson about 6 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Steyr wrote: »
    Best time I ever had was doing actual Aerobatics over Galway Bay in YAK52 G-MCCY pulling +7 and -3 G.:D
    puke.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 St Jude

Have you not tried ringing the guys and gals at Galway Flying Club out at EICM ( Carnmore ) ?

http://www.galwayflyingclub.com/introductory-flights.html

Was up in EI-MCF ( Cessna 172R ) a few times and EI-GWY ( Cessna 172R ) and EI-BIB ( Cessna F152 ), sound bunch of people out at GFC.

Sorry to hear you wont be using our simulator Steyer,
    but a years hard labour has gone into this project and we have had great support from all our old friends on Galway Flying Club... ( you know who you are!..) We have come a long way from B.I.B !!
    We hope this venture willl serve as a useful training service for those budding pilots among you and also for members of the public who may wish to try their hand at flying.:):) Teething probs with website .. apologies;)

ingalway wrote: »
    I hope the training/simulator is more professional than the web site....

We hope this venture willl serve as a useful training service for those budding pilots among you and also for members of the public who may wish to try their hand at flying.smile.gifsmile.gif Teething probs with website .. apologies:(:(

skelliser wrote: »
    That site is ****ing terrible!!

We hope this venture willl serve as a useful training service for those budding pilots among you and also for members of the public who may wish to try their hand at flying.smile.gifsmile.gif Teething probs with website .. apologies:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

St Jude wrote: »
    Sorry to hear you wont be using our simulator Steyer,
    but a years hard labour has gone into this project and we have had great support from all our old friends on Galway Flying Club... ( you know who you are!..) We have come a long way from B.I.B !!
    We hope this venture willl serve as a useful training service for those budding pilots among you and also for members of the public who may wish to try their hand at flying.:):) Teething probs with website .. apologies;)

St Jude............... patron saint of lost causes, does not exactly inspire confidence.

Ah youre smart.. spotted the irony!!!!:D
    I hope you have compassion in you to at least give this local business a chance..... your blessing would be appreciated...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

I hope you have compassion in you to at least give this local business a chance..... your blessing would be appreciated...:)
    well i cant see anthing wrong with the webb site, .you know what people are like if they see a little flaw in anything new they are very quick to doom and gloom it.

Yes you are correct. Maybe i and others were a little harsh.

I have experience in web design and development.
    If you would like some help feel free to PM me.

:) Thank you for your gratious offer.. which we will take into consideration!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

B737-200? :/

What software are you running out of curiousity? X-Plane or Microsoft Flight Simulator?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 SteveSilverhead

What software are you running out of curiousity? X-Plane or Microsoft Flight Simulator?

The website is under construction at the moment, which suggests they may have taken up an offer for help made earlier in the thread.

Best of luck with it St. Jude; all going well would love to try it out one day.

About the question above, my reading of the following page (still there at time of posting) is that this was a professional simulator owned by one-time Belgian airline Sabena. Not something designed using MS Flight Sim or similar. Is that correct?
    http://www.eirsim.com/AboutEirSim.html

One thing worth noting though is that the photo on that page is a modern 737NG, not a 200 series.

It is pricey enough, but again I am reading that this is a full motion simulator i.e. it moves around in relation to control inputs. That would make it expensive to power. Compare prices to the 737 simulator at http://www.atlanticairventure.com/, which is fixed base. Again, am I reading all that correctly?

Thats what I was wondering too, the picture is of a 737-200 Series Cockpit. Sabena ( Which does not exist anymore ) Operated a mixed Fleet of Airbus and Boeing Aircraft ( Boeing 737-300 and 737-500 ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭swe_fi

The website is so bad it is good almost. But forget about the website.

If you get a chance to do this, just do it. I am not a pilot but have pilot friends and have been in these exact simulators (Boeing 737) and I can tell you it is friggin awesome. I have done a private flying lesson as well and I have to say the simulator is way cooler. Most private flying lessons are only ever in a small 2 seater planes which does not compare to this.

This type simulator actually feels exactly like you are flying a commercial plane, takeoff, landing, emergancy landing what have you. I gor turbulence, rain and crosswinds "flicked on" during my flight and the sweat was pouring down my face and arms, I was ****ting it it feels so real.

170 Euro is a bit steep but /2 = 85 Euro thats like a very cheap night out

I realise the above looks a bit like marketing but I assure you I am not linked to these guys (I would not allow my friends to launch a website like that haha), just did this myself before and one of the coolest things I ever done.

swe_fi wrote: »
    I have done a private flying lesson as well and I have to say the simulator is way cooler. Most private flying lessons are only ever in a small 2 seater planes which does not compare to this.

Excuse me......................WHAT!

So your telling me a Simulator to Simulate Flying is better than ACTUAL Flying? Please.

Im actually speechless, I can still type though..Sure you have flown in a 2 seater Cessna152 as have I but have you done anything more than just straight and level?

Perhaps a stint doing Aero's in a Yak or Extra or a Sukhoi would sort that out for you.

Nothing can compare to the real thing, I have friends who are Pilots some Civillian and some are Commercial and some are Military and they always say nothing can compare to the Real thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Excuse me......................WHAT!

So your telling me a Simulator to Simulate Flying is better than ACTUAL Flying? Please.

Im actually speechless, I can still type though..Sure you have flown in a 2 seater Cessna152 as have I but have you done anything more than just straight and level?

Perhaps a stint doing Aero's in a Yak or Extra or a Sukhoi would sort that out for you.

Nothing can compare to the real thing, I have friends who are Pilots some Civillian and some are Commercial and some are Military and they always say nothing can compare to the Real thing.

That all very true Steyr.
    I've taken the controls of a Cessna and a Piper in the past and nothing beats that feeling.
    However I can't wait to use EIRSIM because I won't have to worry about keeping her straight and level all the time.
    And if I do crash into Graelish's pub after take off, all I have to do is hop out of the sim, brush myself down and go home.
    I won't have to worry about the aircraft I've just written off or the Carnmore carnage I left behind me !

Another thing (just a bit of friendly advice here). Tone down a tad on the cabin crew jargon.
    EICM.....EI-MCF.....EI-.....GFC and YAK52 G-MCCY pulling +7 and -3 G.:D
    All music to the ears of the experts in the Aviation & Aircraft thread no doubt.
    But a little too much for many of us in the Galway City thread who just want to have a go on the EIRSIM yoke.

Lapin wrote: »
    Tone down a tad on the cabin crew jargon.

But a little too much for many of us in the Galway City thread who just want to have a go on the EIRSIM yoke.

I have no intention of doing so, it does not take long to google type in EI-GWY or whatever to see what i mean, as they say on that ad "simples". :pac:

Thank you for the video link Sir but what is with the Graphics? The Port side Cockpit window graphics seems to be duller than the Starboard side of the Cockpit?? Is it just the way the Video was taken eg light reflection?? It also looks like there is a distinct lack of Terrain in the Starboard Screen.

I will admit it looks well.

That is pretty cool! wouldnt mind a go of that myself!!

How is the website going? il build ye a brand spanking site in return for a few hours on that yoke!!

Thats what I was wondering too, the picture is of a 737-200 Series Cockpit. Sabena ( Which does not exist anymore ) Operated a mixed Fleet of Airbus and Boeing Aircraft ( Boeing 737-300 and 737-500 ).
    Hello,
    Sabena actually operated Boeing 737-200 (229) advanced series for many many years.. and trained their pilots and those from other airlines on this simulator.
    Re the technology.. this simulator has been upgraded from its original main frame computers ( Digital pdp 11/45) and sp 1 visuals, to Efis config. using Microsoft in conjunction with its own hardware and software. The visuals use split beam collimation to produce an excellent feeling of depth.

Thank you for the video link Sir but what is with the Graphics? The Port side Cockpit window graphics seems to be duller than the Starboard side of the Cockpit?? Is it just the way the Video was taken eg light reflection?? It also looks like there is a distinct lack of Terrain in the Starboard Screen.

I will admit it looks well.
    Thaks for that! The visuals can only be see to their full potential when seated in either seat as this is where the focal point of the mirrors lie.

skelliser wrote: »
    il build ye a brand spanking site in return for a few hours on that yoke!!

No screenwatching!!! :D

Thaks for that! The visuals can only be see to their full potential when seated in either seat as this is where the focal point of the mirrors lie.

Very good, thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Cool, best of luck with it :)
    I'll probably take a ride on it in the new year.

*barrellroll*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Had a go of this over Christmas with the little fella, it's great craic. And yes, po0k, first thing I did when I got some altitude was a barrel roll!

and promptly hit the ground!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 donogca

Hi everyone,

The simulator experience is available for €80 an hour for a limited time.

Please PM me for further details and bookings.

Thanks.