Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

silage barrier

• 11-11-2010 11:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭

lads has anyone bought/seen the easyfix product you can use as a silage barrier, fecking cows are constantly pelting silge out onto the floor of the passage way and since i drive thru a few times every day its hard to keep clean even with sweeping..i dont want to go for a concrete solution as id like to be able to take it away when needed thats why i thought the easyfix yoke might be handy..but of course its as dear as hell
    http://www.easyfix.ie/easy-feeder.html
    anyone come up with a homemade job, was thinking if a lad made a few metal H pieces with a flat plate undeneath and bolt onto floor and then just slot planks between the H, there wouldnt be and great pressure on them?
    any other ideas??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

I would prefer concrete if it was me because at least if you rubbed a tyre off it it, you would imagine it would be a bit stronger. also i think most of them are designed in such a way you could put the loader under them and lift them out of the way, I suppose it depends how often you have to move them really
    But your idea does sound good and simple but if you have to move the planks for each pen it could be harder than sticking the loader under the concrete or plastic one
    dont know which is cheaper plastic or concrete?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

F.D wrote: »
    I would prefer concrete if it was me because at least if you rubbed a tyre off it it, you would imagine it would be a bit stronger. also i think most of them are designed in such a way you could put the loader under them and lift them out of the way, I suppose it depends how often you have to move them really
    But your idea does sound good and simple but if you have to move the planks for each pen it could be harder than sticking the loader under the concrete or plastic one
    dont know which is cheaper plastic or concrete?
    ya but if you use concrete ones would you be able to pick them in a passage, i mean i would driving at a right angle to the concrete, i couldnt come straight at them in my shed if you follow me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

The other thing to be aware of, is the possibility of cattle ending up on their backs inside in it. The timber on the 'H' sections might be safer then.

You could cast the concrete ones yourself too, if you had the patience. Put steel loops out the top so you could lift with loader from top, and from the end side in a narrow passage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

, fecking cows are constantly pelting silge out onto the floor of the passage way and since i drive thru a few times every day its hard to keep clean even with sweeping..

Why are you driving on silage in the first place? :confused:

Surely you'd wait til silage is ate before putting in more or am I missing something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Here you go, guy in Tipp making them;
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/livestock/1685082