Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A neighbour you wouldn't believe

• 10-11-2010 11:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

I wasn't sure if this was the correct thread or not but here it goes.

I am a first year student in college, staying in student accommodation with two friends of mine. One of my friends does my course which is great. Anyhow, our apartments 'run' in 2's as in next door there is a parallel apartment. Next door lived a guy who was also in class and then another guy moved in (funny enough, also in my class). The guy from our class moved out (This is relevant).

I became friends with this new guy who moved in but my roommates quickly became annoyed with him. This guy was unbearable for them. He dressed in the stereotypical gay fashion (not a problem) this led to him being called a "******...or Gay" in a jokingly manner. He took it too seriously but he has insulted us very badly a couple of times but we shrugged it off as craic. Last week this guy decided to throw a party next door inviting the majority of our class (parties aren't allowed obviously). It was fun until things got outta hand and his both apartments were destroyed mess wise. We tried stopping his guests coming in but we couldn't. This led to the first incident, the warden arrived and he blamed the party on us [more or less].

Now this guy is a sociopath, believes his own lies. At this stage I have become sick of his constant sexuality self-reassurance and garbage about the number of girls he's had mocking us for our 'records'. This is why the guy moved out - couldn't stick him. He moved in next door because he ratted on all his old roommates for drinking in their apartment leading to a creation of enemies for himself. He stopped talking to us and I am angry over this as I did nothing out of the way to him.

Yesterday I went to check on him and he ignored my txts and knocks on the door and angrily I threw candle wax on his door which was foolish but I promptly cleaned it up after being asked to do so by the warden (more like yelled at) after he rang them. As we had a class party we went out last night only to arrive back to the presence of two members of the Gardai in our apartment (this is about 2 am). It was brought to our attention that the guy next door was bringing us up for harassment, burglary or breaking and entering and assault. Here comes his lies.

We have had to see the Gardai again today and tomorrow we have to meet the owners of the apartments. We face court and jail, ejection from our apartment and expulsion from college.

He claimed we entered his apartment without permission when he gave us permission (I wasn't there, I had gone home fro the weekend). He claimed assault on my friend as he did drunkenly swing (and miss by miles may I ad) for but only because he accused my friends girlfriend of swinging for him in her drunken state (she wasn't in his apartment or drinking) and he claimed we harrashed him (gay jokes which all our class did a lot worse than us, a prank phone call which wasn't us but another class mate and the wax which I apologised for)

Now we are actually very upset as we have done relatively nothing compared to our class who broke most things in his apartment and I am upset as I was the only one actually friendly with him. We used to play video games and watch films together like. He is pushing his lies to get us expelled and possible court appearances and jail we were told. I was wondering what we could do as we cannot contact him to reason it out and I certainly don't want to get kicked out of a course I love over something so silly.

Sorry for the length and I hope it makes sense. I need help please :\

BTW: We have a lot of witnesses for the swing my friend made and he has no evidence for anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Get a solicitor and have nothing more to do with your neighbour. I mean ignore him completely. Keep a written record or diary of all future incidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Why do we have to scroll past twice the original post to get to the next post????

k_mac, your contribution is one line yet you have doubled the size of the thread - why????

Thank you for removing the 'quote' from your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

:) ahh the happy and childish times of going to college i do miss it sometimes :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

coylemj wrote: »
    Why do we have to scroll past twice the original post to get to the next post????

k_mac, your contribution is one line yet you have doubled the size of the thread - why????

Habit. I've fixed it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Suzyq

Has he got a thread going in PI about you?

There's a remarkably similar story but from the point of view of the other party going there.
    If so, it sounds like a bit of a mess. I can't see that you would be expelled from College but you may well have to look for somewhere else to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Snap2010

Hmm...just read that and as I know the user name, it is from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

hope he doesnt see this thread so or he'll have libel added to that list....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭legallyblonde86

go to citizens advice and they'll put you in touch with a solicitor for advice. give the gardaí a list of names for people who can back up your story too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Snap2010

True that but I'm actually worried about this whole thing. The fact that I was friendly with him and the amount of lies I just read in this other post is unbelievable. I have actually chatted to many people who were present last week, I also chatted to his old room mates and there seems to be a pattern of lies here.

It's frustrating because we can't get our point across. No justice here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Suzyq wrote: »
    Has he got a thread going in PI about you?

There's a remarkably similar story but from the point of view of the other party going there.
    If so, it sounds like a bit of a mess. I can't see that you would be expelled from College but you may well have to look for somewhere else to live.
    Link please?

As for OP: you were not there when the alleged break-in happened. Why not get your parents or whoever to make a statement to the Gardaí about your whereabouts that weekend?
    As for the other stuff, it's a case of your word against his. The harassment thing is kind of a non sequitur in the matter. Explain to the Gardaí the situation and tell them that you genuinely want to have nothing to do with the guy and offer an apology for any inconvenience or stress you may have caused by your childish actions. I'd be surprised if that wasn't you out of the water. (assuming we're not missing parts of the story and that you actually were home that weekend and didn't break into his place).

Your friend is separate to you and you should be worrying about yourself right now and not him and his girlfriend. Sounds like they assaulted that guy and they should get a solicitor. You stay out of that if you know what's good for you - worry about clearing your own name and not about the assault that was occasioned by your friends.
    Swinging and missing is still potentially assault, but according to your story you weren't even there - so don't bother yourself with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭TimMac

It seems to me that the OP is only giving his side of the story, through rosetinted glasses. In fact the OP,s version of events doesnt make a lot of sense. Why would an independent person i.e. a Garda take such an interest in the matter if there wasnt any wrongdoing on the part of the OP ???

I just find it hard to believe that a Garda would take one persons version of events over anothers so seriously without hard evidence to back up these accusations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Suzyq

Hi Oisin

can't figure out how to reply with quotes but the thread in PI was something like 'messed up college' and now seems to have been deleted. I don't know if mods can see deleted threads but it was deffo there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Suzyq wrote: »
    Hi Oisin

can't figure out how to reply with quotes but the thread in PI was something like 'messed up college' and now seems to have been deleted. I don't know if mods can see deleted threads but it was deffo there
    Yeah I'll have a look. Was really just looking for it to have it taken down temporarily pending a little investigation :)
    Thanks!