Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ice Cream van's at night in dodgy area's

• 09-11-2010 4:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I lived in Dublin for three years just off Dorset street, which to non-Dubliner's isn't the most favourable of places. In the Winter time every night between 8 and 10 the ice cream van would come around playing Popeye and stopping on every street corner.

This always struck me as really odd as who on earth buys ice cream at 10pm at night on a cold December evening.

I've moved down to Cork recently and work some nights in quite a dodgy estate in Togher. For the last few weeks, even in the lashing rain the ice cream van has come around late at night.

Anyone else noticed this phenomenon? I presume they're selling something a lot stronger than 99's??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ice Cream van was within earshot the other teatime, cold and damp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

They're not selling icecream... Or maybe the Icecream man lives beside you?

Mayb'e the'y ar'e!

Can't imagine any of them out in weather like this though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

drug dealing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

ffs mike I told you already.. Sunlight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Check out Grand theft auto: San Andreas and all will become clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

drug dealing

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You have to ask for a speciall 99.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭Wossack

spy-van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

This used to happen whenever we visited relatives in Glasgow when we were younger. They used to come around after 9 and had to blow a whistle as they weren't allowed to put on music. Turns out they were dealing heroin.

And on that note:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/oct/28/dublin-ireland-drug-heroin-addiction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

drug dealing

Yep used to see them all the time when I lived in the inner city. I presume drug dealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

I find your use of the apostrophe a lot stranger

When I was a kid my local Ice Cream Van was always selling cheap cigarettes and fireworks on the sly, wouldnt surprise me if others use them for worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I fcuking hate the ice cream man. He drives into my place about five times a day and, as my house is the last in the estate, he turns outside it with his stupid fcuking music blaring - great on a sunday morning lying in bed with a hangover. No wonder all the kids there are fat.

Fcuk you ice cream dickhead.:mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

maximoose wrote: »
    I find your use of the apostrophe a lot stranger

When I was a kid my local Ice Cream Van was always selling cheap cigarettes and fireworks on the sly, wouldnt surprise me if others use them for worse!

What like selling poppys and govt. cheese? There is no end to the shame once you dig deep enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

panda100 wrote: »
    I lived in Dublin for three years just off Dorset street, which to non-Dubliner's isn't the most favourable of places.

Did he just say that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

People like ice cream. Simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My local ice cream van sells loose cigarettes and weed.

I always wondered why it only came around at 10pm

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Jay D wrote: »
    Did he just say that?

He's right. It is not the most favourable of places. (IE it is in Dublin.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

This was a much better cover story...can't believe it was 10 years ago.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/heroinwithpintas-city-scam-401812.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Jay D wrote: »
    Did he just say that?

I think he just said that.

Although im not offended, it could be the other end of Dorset Street. My end is lovely :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The oul drug dealing Ice Cream van, I first heard about this trick when the CAB seized a van from a drug dealing scum family in Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

Dancor wrote: »
    My end is lovely :pac:

Mine is a trifle hairy, but it gets the job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i've no weed at the moment - can someone please tell the 'ice cream man' around laois/offaly to knock over my way. much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Maybe these are the guys leaving drugs on decent people's doorsteps :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

People eat them indoors. In houses. With heating. Often with a roof too.

Amazing stuff, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Mobile hookers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

if ive learned anything from father ted its that ice cream vans parked in unusual places are normally doing surveillance :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Mobile hookers.

Aren't all hookers mobile?

AnonoBoy wrote: »

You would know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭scudster

Its the TV licence inspector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Passed the ice cream van in Mayfield today about 3.30 - doesn't seem like a very "drug-dealing" time. And he's always around about midday on a Sunday - music is the Match Of The Day theme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

AnonoBoy wrote: »

That's why the duct tape and cable ties are a necessity.

On topic:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Why would any person want to go buy and ice cream van and sell drugs from it? Sure you could do that with any car/bike/push bike. It's not like the Garda can't search the van..

Personally I think it's some quack that thinks it's a good time to sell ice cream at 9 O Clock at night.

I don't understand this cold winter **** either. Just cause it's cold out dosent mean you can't have an ice cream, sure don't we still have cold drinks in winter out in the cold. No difference with an ice cream, you swear the way some people think that if you had an ice cream in winter you would turn into a snow man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

OP didn't play grand theft auto, i am disappoint

jaysus id love a 99 now

msg11 wrote: »
    Why would any person want to go buy and ice cream van and sell drugs from it?

To sell drugs to kids :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

ya I knew a woodwork teacher who always told us make a joint when we went into the class, but when I took out the drugs he sent me to the principals I got expelled, don't know why? :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

I've heard this van going around when living off Gardiner St and off North Strand Rd, I presume it's the one van going around. I always just presumed it was drugs, given the circumstances. Could be innocent though, kids will eat ice cream any time if day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

I presume he's selling sweets and crisps and stuff on the side, ice cream not being too popular in the winter, when he's not unloading his stash of drugs and supplying weapons.

The ice cream man from Ghost Dog; now there was a cool ice cream man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

So why don't ice cream vans get searched at night time if everyone seems so sure they're drug dealers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

SugarHigh wrote: »
    So why don't ice cream vans get searched at night time if everyone seems so sure they're drug dealers?

because they bribe the guards with 99s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

sonic85 wrote: »
    because they bribe the guards with 99s

Got 99 problems but a bitch aint one :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

ive seen an icecream man selling what i assume is drugs, he'd to put a little packet in the cone and give them ice cream as well*, the only people to ever go out to him were the smackead people accross the road, the ones whose kids were taken away, the husband left and there are now 6 or 7 random people living in, either they fooking love ice cream or those packets contain somthing speacial.

it might just be a job on the side, as hed give ya an ice cream if ya wanted one but i never got little packets in mine :(
    * in b4 sound like a screwball to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

panda100 wrote: »
    I lived in Dublin for three years just off Dorset street, which to non-Dubliner's isn't the most favourable of places. In the Winter time every night between 8 and 10 the ice cream van would come around playing Popeye and stopping on every street corner.

This always struck me as really odd as who on earth buys ice cream at 10pm at night on a cold December evening.

I've moved down to Cork recently and work some nights in quite a dodgy estate in Togher. For the last few weeks, even in the lashing rain the ice cream van has come around late at night.

Anyone else noticed this phenomenon? I presume they're selling something a lot stronger than 99's??

Why do you hang out in dodgy areas? drugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

bluewolf wrote: »
    Mayb'e the'y ar'e!

I know my punctuation is atrocious, thats what English state school education does to ya!

I presume it must be drugs they're selling. Really don't understand why the gardai don't crack down on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭dave 27

Iv noticed this too here in Limerick..always wondered why it was only Moyross (that i know of anyway), that the vans were going around! something dodgy going on anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yeah, they go around lots of areas. Well mainly the more run down poorer areas

They sell newspapers and cigarettes. Handy realy for elderly people or people without cars

I suppose some sell drugs too. Though it's pretty easy for the gardai to stop and search