Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone see the guy who bought the farm in France

• 09-11-2010 9:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭

on ear to the ground last night..the weather looked great over there, land looked good too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

He was doing well with them goats too. If I understood it right, €11 investment for a predicted €20k return :D

I wonder did they have a drought problem this year. I read elsewhere hay is very short in France? Didn't much like the idea of 40 degree heat.

French Department of Ag seemed like, ahem, reasonable people too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

johngalway wrote: »
    He was doing well with them goats too. If I understood it right, €11 investment for a predicted €20k return :D

I wonder did they have a drought problem this year. I read elsewhere hay is very short in France? Didn't much like the idea of 40 degree heat.

French Department of Ag seemed like, ahem, reasonable people too.

funny you should say that JOhn, I heard a story about a lim breeder who bought a bit of land over and again couldnt believe how helpful the department were over there compared to here, apparently they actually wanted you to receive the maximum payment possible as opposed to the opposite here :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

My girlfriend was all for moving to France last night :D

I have to say it is appealing, given some public sentiment here, and the Department especially.

Figure I'd need to go into the French Dept in a wheel chair the first couple of times. Best to be sitting down like, for the shock :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

ya looked like a nice setup. he was talking about 20k (2006 ish) an acre v 1200 over there . !! fair play to them . i'd say the whole family work hard at it tho. leaving family and friends is the the obvious /difficult part.

its some ballsy move in fairness without a word of french, i think he said he sold a small house and 10 acres and bought 300 acres stocked and with machinery over :eek:
    faraway hills look green i suppose...and the rain beating in the window here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

.....he said he sold a small house and 10 acres and bought 300 acres stocked and with machinery over :eek:......

And we wonder why we're calling in the IMF.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

very interesting different ball game in france ok

interesting with the family in cork ( i think) with the "lullaby milk" tough going but seems to come easy to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Amazes me how certain TV programmes and papers for that matter, present certain situations in either a glowing light or a catastrophy:pac:

Take that chef guy, Corrigan ............... shure jayzus, you'd think the few lads he finds here and there growing a few carrots or leeks, or making a few bits of blood pudding for the farmers market, had each and every one of them, discovered the exlier of life:P No talk at all about the grief and pain along the way, with all the issues which go with producing any quality produce in a quantity and standard, that not only gets you a stall at the market, and your mug on TV, BUT, also pays the bills and puts the kids through college:cool:

Nationwide for example ........... Mary Kennedy, and your man Ryan, they are every night presenting glory hallelujia from west Cork, or west Clare .... no attention given to the back ground work and strife required to succed

A certain farmer used to be plastered in the Journal a few years ago, producing a zillion gallons of milk, on a certain number of cows grazing a certain number of acres, with sweet eff all inputs, or machinery ............. holy moley ... if the real acerage on which those cows were grazing was presented, ... it would be a different story all together.

As for moving to farm in France .......... sure it could be good, but I bet it's not without it's trials and tribulations and it's ups and downs.

There should be a more balanced presentation of these situations. Not the rose tinted glasses alone.

Same with the media commentary on our current economic woes. They ONLY want to talk about the bad side of the ledger. Reality is there is another side to our situation, and there needs to be a bit of focus put on that also, before we all feck off to France, and spoil it for your man that went and got a few goats:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Amazes me how certain TV programmes and papers for that matter, present certain situations in either a glowing light or a catastrophy:pac:

Take that chef guy, Corrigan ............... shure jayzus, you'd think the few lads he finds here and there growing a few carrots or leeks, or making a few bits of blood pudding for the farmers market, had each and every one of them, discovered the exlier of life:P No talk at all about the grief and pain along the way, with all the issues which go with producing any quality produce in a quantity and standard, that not only gets you a stall at the market, and your mug on TV, BUT, also pays the bills and puts the kids through college:cool:

Nationwide for example ........... Mary Kennedy, and your man Ryan, they are every night presenting glory hallelujia from west Cork, or west Clare .... no attention given to the back ground work and strife required to succed

A certain farmer used to be plastered in the Journal a few years ago, producing a zillion gallons of milk, on a certain number of cows grazing a certain number of acres, with sweet eff all inputs, or machinery ............. holy moley ... if the real acerage on which those cows were grazing was presented, ... it would be a different story all together.

As for moving to farm in France .......... sure it could be good, but I bet it's not without it's trials and tribulations and it's ups and downs.

There should be a more balanced presentation of these situations. Not the rose tinted glasses alone.

Same with the media commentary on our current economic woes. They ONLY want to talk about the bad side of the ledger. Reality is there is another side to our situation, and there needs to be a bit of focus put on that also, before we all feck off to France, and spoil it for your man that went and got a few goats:confused:

Here here Tora Bora. Couldn't have said it better myself;) Your dead right. Success isn't won easily. The corny and an overly used cliche is true - "Blood, sweat and tears" is what it takes.

It's just aswel sometimes though when we succeed that we've Goldfish memory, or we wouldn't attempt another thing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Screw France, go to New Zealand! You can actually make money from milk out here and pay off land/cow loans. Weather and lifestyle isn't bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

ya looked like a nice setup. he was talking about 20k (2006 ish) an acre v 1200 over there . !! fair play to them . i'd say the whole family work hard at it tho. leaving family and friends is the the obvious /difficult part.

He has been on alot of the radio farming programmes here in Galway the past week or so and also on radio1 there over the summer
    http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2010/pc/pod-v-1206105m50scountrywide.mp3
    ( bit about soccer for first few secs of clip)

Hard workers the whole lot of them alright. He used to build sheds years ago so put up all his own sheds when here in Ireland.

Before he left, he was working as a fitter in the mines in Kilkenny, at least a 3hour round trip from where they lived. His wife worked for Chanelle (animal pharmacutial company) in Loughrea, Co. galway. They still managed to farm there own 9acres and had another 150 leased, rearing mainly all PB limousin cattle.

They both don't drink or smoke, keep to themselves and are pure workaholics.

I don't know is it arrogance or ignorance (or both!) too that a lad would move to a foreign country and give the two fingers to learning their language!!:rolleyes:

Fair play to them I say and more power to him, but it wouldn't be for every man,woman or child! As Tora Bora said, you only hear the good bits (or the bad bits, depending on the slant they want to put on it)!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Tora Bora wrote: »

which side of our current situation do you believe the media is ignoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

We need to bring back Oliver Mc Donnell for a bit of media balance :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

We need to bring back Oliver Mc Donnell for a bit of media balance :D

if it was raining 20 dollar bills , that whinger would be complaining about having to buy an umbrella

irishh_bob wrote: »
    if it was raining 20 dollar bills , that whinger would be complaining about having to buy an umbrella