Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ISSF Fullbore w/Electronic targets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Sparks wrote: »
    Very sweet shooting that...

I'm doing a College research project on Electronic Targeting, anyone got any info that they want to send me on?

I think I will use it at the 100 yards to keepo things simple.
    If someone has a soft copy of the manual of these Electronic Targeting equipment could they PM me the details?

Things of interest, Prices, Accuracy, Effect of wind/rain and other objects on the target and the vision system looking at it.
    Whether it is wireless or wired etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Just out of interest, how much damage would that entire set-up do to a bank account - rifle, sights, targeting system etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Soup to nuts? Somewhere around about ten grand or so I think. About as much as a full competition F-Class setup or thereabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Just out of interest, how much damage would that entire set-up do to a bank account - rifle, sights, targeting system etc?

Plenty. Don't know the price of the Sauer STR he's shooting there, which likely has standard factory sights, but a comparable example from Grunig and Elmiger, Bleiker or Tanner would likely run somewhere around the four grand mark. Not certain on the Kongsberg target either, but Megalink electronic targets run around €3-4000 per lane, I seem to recall. rrpc will be able to correct me on that anyway. Add in a good jacket, sling, glove, any other bits and pieces you want, and, well...

Kongsberg go for about US$3200 according to the comments there; so probably about €3000 by the time it got here :rolleyes:

I'm trying to design one that is intelligent ie tabulates the data in Graphical form etc.
    And perhaps analyize the data and give the shooter standard deviation etc/ or score competitors in very tightly fought groups.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Those first 3 shots were seriously on the money. I know the 4th and 5th were not exactly in the next parish, but open sights, in that wind and he was firing quite fast. Good shooting.

Out of curiosity listen at 1:50 - 1:55 and tell me what you hear?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

ezridax wrote: »
    Those first 3 shots were seriously on the money. I know the 4th and 5th were not exactly in the next parish, but open sights, in that wind and he was firing quite fast. Good shooting.

Out of curiosity listen at 1:50 - 1:55 and tell me what you hear?

The ten-ring on that target is four inches. The group runs from 10.7 at one side to 10.3 at the other. That's roughly two inches at 300m, with open sights, in a pretty stiff wind, by the look of things. The rifle is a Sauer STR in 6.5x55. Certainly not the choice for ISSF 300m these days - people have moved away from the 6.5mm rounds as they just kick more than the little 6mm jobs that are the current darlings - but obviously more than capable, and for what I expect would be rather a lot less than their new Bleiker counterpart, a good way into the sport.

The rifle is a Sauer STR in 6.5x55. .

I had its younger brother, also with open sights although mine was mounted with a scope.

picture.php?albumid=811&pictureid=4102

It was a lovely rifle to shoot and very accurate. Had to go though. She was an F-Open caliber and hadn't a chance of keeping up with the boys shooting the 6.5x284 and 7mm.

I, on occassion, have a chance to watch some of the DFST shooting their 6mmBRs. presume that is now the rifle/caliber of choice. Plus got to look at a Bleiker. SWEET. Serious money, but aparently well worth it.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

I had its younger brother, also with open sights although mine was mounted with a scope.

picture.php?albumid=811&pictureid=4102

It was a lovely rifle to shoot and very accurate. Had to go though. She was an F-Open caliber and hadn't a chance of keeping up with the boys shooting the 6.5x284 and 7mm.

I, on occassion, have a chance to watch some of the DFST shooting their 6mmBRs. presume that is now the rifle/caliber of choice. Plus got to look at a Bleiker. SWEET. Serious money, but aparently well worth it.

Aye, 6BR dominates with probably 80% market share. Others include 6XC and 6x47 Swiss Match, with a few even shooting 6.5x47 Lapua. The Bleiker standard rifles the lads have are stunning, and one for my own collection in the future. They are a lot of money, but compared to their main competitor, Grunig and Elmiger, they're worth it. I had a good gawk at both in Munich over the summer and while the Grunig is a really nice gun, in terms of finish and polish and feel of solidity and craftsmanship, the Bleiker is streets ahead of it, for precious little extra cash. Better trigger, better feeling bolt, slightly nicer balance and ergonomics. I wouldn't have the Grunig having looked at the Bleiker. Would love to take a look at the Tanners, but they didn't have a trade stall at the Worlds, sadly.

I know the 6mmBR is the current flavour in ISSF 300m; but the last perfect score I heard of was done with a 6.5mm so they're not that unusable; and even a .308 is a perfectly good starting rifle. I think you could even get a palma .308 rifle and use it for ISSF 300m as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 LCrawford

approx €5300 per lane of target/monitor. then add in control gear, cables and computers. Some day;);)

I know the 6mmBR is the current flavour in ISSF 300m; but the last perfect score I heard of was done with a 6.5mm so they're not that unusable; and even a .308 is a perfectly good starting rifle. I think you could even get a palma .308 rifle and use it for ISSF 300m as well...

You could, but the 1.5kg trigger would have you at a disadvantage, and as you know, I'm the first to admit recoil doesn't bother me, but I'm also happy to say that light recoiling guns are easier to shoot well, so the fact that everyone's gone to 6mm and the lightest possible 6.5mm rounds says it all really. Sure, there are a handful still using .308s, but they're just getting battered unnecessarily and they're not winning matches either. Berg also shot a 600 in the elimination round, and I'm fairly certain he uses a 6mmBR, so it's not the round that shoots it.

LCrawford wrote: »
    approx €5300 per lane of target/monitor. then add in control gear, cables and computers. Some day;);)
    No cables on that model though - all done by radio. So you save a good twenty, twenty-five euro right there ;)

there are a handful still using .308s, but they're just getting battered unnecessarily and they're not winning matches either.
    Yeah, but if you've already got a .308 and want to give it a go... or if you can only have the one rifle and want to do several different matches out to the palma type of ranges, then a .308 is a pretty decent solution.

Oh, absolutely, especially if you can swap out for a lighter trigger than the 1.5kg standard one. About eight ounces in a .308 is as light as I'd want to go, and the round is well able to compete, but you'll need good nerve to handle the recoil and still shoot your absolute best. That said, Stenvaag shot the first world record with a .308. That said, he couldn't be described as short on nerve either. :p

Nope :D

As i'm reading back through the posts i'm just after realising something. I think my Father has a small ISSF "wanting".

First he has the S205, with open sights that, in his words, came with the rifle. Then he changes to a .308 and buys the Savage Palma complete with palma profile barrel, and tenon for open sights.

Need to have a word with that man.:D

Bit of a longing in him i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 LCrawford

Radio gear is more expensive than the cable......

Ray Debevec has been known to shoot free 300m events with the Standard rifle and 1.5kg trigger.

Vebjørn shoots Bleiker and Norma if I'm not mistaken.

LCrawford wrote: »

Well I think I could produce a rough "useable" prototype for less.

If I could get the manual of someones I'd be very greatful.;)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

I'm trying to design one that is intelligent ie tabulates the data in Graphical form etc.
    And perhaps analyize the data and give the shooter standard deviation etc/ or score competitors in very tightly fought groups.

Before you do this, go and have a look at a range with electronic targets. Rathdrum, Wilkinstown and UCD all have Megalinks - there could be more elsewhere that I don't know about.

The Megalinks are the targets I'm most familiar with as a user, and I have to say that they're very impressive in terms of the amounts of data which they record.

I've attached the printout from the match I shot yesterday (50m prone match scaled down to 25yds shot in Rathdrum). That's a fairly compact, yet readable output of some of the data the target recorded. You've got position (to at least 0.5mm precision - I think they can resolve below 0.1mm), scoring and mean point of impact. The system also records temperature and air pressure and if I remember correctly you can extract timing data as well which would also be useful for training for a consistent tempo.

If you're trying to design one, fair play. If you're trying to build one, then I might suggest another project. ;) It might be a bit more than is reasonable for an undergraduate project.

IRLConor wrote: »
    Before you do this, go and have a look at a range with electronic targets. Rathdrum, Wilkinstown and UCD all have Megalinks - there could be more elsewhere that I don't know about.

The Megalinks are the targets I'm most familiar with as a user, and I have to say that they're very impressive in terms of the amounts of data which they record.

I've attached the printout from the match I shot yesterday (50m prone match scaled down to 25yds shot in Rathdrum). That's a fairly compact, yet readable output of some of the data the target recorded. You've got position (to at least 0.5mm precision - I think they can resolve below 0.1mm), scoring and mean point of impact. The system also records temperature and air pressure and if I remember correctly you can extract timing data as well which would also be useful for training for a consistent tempo.

If you're trying to design one, fair play. If you're trying to build one, then I might suggest another project. ;) It might be a bit more than is reasonable for an undergraduate project.

Design one, and have a rough prototype, If it registered a few shots and interpreted the data I'd be happy enough.
    The project is just to investigate different methods of data aquisition/transmission/interpretation.

I'm hoping to use my own rifle for testing so Air Rifle is out.
    I'm working on locating grid software cheap. not great resolution but should pick up a .308 or similar.
    I'm not tasked with construction, that would be more for a basic level project.
    My task is research and a few design concepts & a small prototype perhaps :D
    As a mature students working in Industry my class projects are based more on the Thesis.

I just wanted to do it on something different, and I have the Rifles already ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Sandy22

with open sights ........ for open sights.

Unlikely. I suspect all these rifles had aperture or "peep" sights. "Iron" sights I'd accept even, but not open sights.

Does it show that i don't shoot ISSF style?

If it doesn't have a scope i don't shoot it.