Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daily Mirror Grand Slam Of Darts 2010 Thread

• 07-11-2010 7:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭

Well with the big tournament less than a week away I thought it's the right time to open a tournament thread. The seedings and rankings for the players has been announced and the draw will be held Monday evening. Link to seedings and pools; www.pdc.tv/page/GrandSlamDetail/0,,10180~2211122,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

What channel is this on this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Rob113 wrote: »
    What channel is this on this year?
    All games will be shown live on ITV4 with highlights each night on the main ITV1 channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 tcite

Wade in serious form lately, Taylor virtually unstoppable over a long distance though.

Wonder how Ted Hankey handles the crowd this year? Took flak off the BDO crowd last week, moreso than usual I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

Phil and Ted!

Some very interesting groups after been drawn but surely the clash of Taylor and Hankey in group H will be the most anticipated! How will the crowds react to Hankey? The BDO followers are usually a quite bunch but even they were booing Ted last weekend in Hull! An interesting game lies ahead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

Will it be shown here on itv4 or will we get the "Not available in Ireland " message again?

big John Henderson should go well now that he looks on form judging by the way he qualified. It may not happen but i want Martin Phillips to win or Webster..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

GROUP A (plays sat night, sun night, tues night)
    Simon Whitlock (3)
    Colin Osborne
    Robert Thornton
    Dave Chisnall

GROUP B (plays sat night, sun night, tues night)
    Gary Anderson (6)
    Wayne Jones
    Mark Webster
    Mark Hylton

GROUP C (plays sat night, sun night, tues night)
    Mervyn King (7)
    Terry Jenkins
    John Henderson
    Stacy Bromberg

GROUP D (plays sat night, sun night, tues night)
    James Wade (2)
    Vincent van der Voort
    Tony O’Shea
    Justin Pipe

GROUP E (plays sun afternoon, Mon night, Weds night)
    Adrian Lewis (5)
    Co Stompe
    Scott Waites
    Martin Phillips

GROUP F (plays sun afternoon, Mon night, Weds night)
    Raymond van Barneveld (4)
    Colin Lloyd
    Darryl Fitton
    Tricia Wright

GROUP G (plays sun afternoon, Mon night, Weds night)
    Paul Nicholson (8)
    Ronnie Baxter
    Steve Beaton
    Arron Monk

GROUP H (plays sun afternoon, Mon night, Weds night)
    Phil Taylor (1)
    Wes Newton
    Ted Hankey
    Michael van Gerwen

hankey up against Taylor, Newton & MVG.......0-3 record for the slabber this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

Devastator wrote: »
    hankey up against Taylor, Newton & MVG.......0-3 record for the slabber this year.

I think he has a resonable chance against Newton & Van Gerwen. I wouldn't be surprised if all three of them finished level on points.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Group H is very tasty. Most of the groups are very tough to call, should be a cracking tournament.

It's been asked already but can anyone confirm if UPC have the rights to show this on IT4 in Ireland?

I think he has a resonable chance against Newton & Van Gerwen. I wouldn't be surprised if all three of them finished level on points.

Newton on top form though! Won 2 player championships at the weekend.

MVG can be bit hit & miss at times

Kingp35 wrote: »
    Group H is very tasty. Most of the groups are very tough to call, should be a cracking tournament.

It's been asked already but can anyone confirm if UPC have the rights to show this on IT4 in Ireland?
    I watched it last year on ITV4 on free to air satellite so I can't see why UPC can't show it free on their package?

Group A includes this year's runners up from both World Championships. Simon Whitlock has had a great year with numerous victories in the PDC floor tournaments and has been in the media spotlight throughout the year and will be 1 of the favourites to win this tournament out.

Dave Chisnall surprised many with a great run in Lakeside this year which saw him reach the final only to lose to Adams 7-5. Even though Chisnall has had a quite year since,not playing many tournaments knowing his place for Lakeside 2011 was safe from been this year's runner up,I reckon he'll do well in the Grand Slam and I could see both Whitlock and Chisnall qualifying from Group A.

For anyone interested in a bet on a player to reach the final here's a list of odds for all the players,link; www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/darts/grand-slam-of-darts/winner

John Henderson is worth an each way bet at 150/1. He Beat Hamilton, Farmer and Ovens in the wildcard qualifier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Double Top

What time is it kicking off at tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 DamienDarts26

I really fancy Wes Newton to do serious damage in darts over the next 12 months and i hope he follows up his form (two player championship wins last week in barnsley in 2 days ) then he will be a serious contender....
    Huge fan of the Power but i have a feeling he wont win this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭The Bison

Double Top wrote: »
    What time is it kicking off at tonight?

It starts Saturday evening at 6pm DT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Double Top

The Bison wrote: »
    It starts Saturday evening at 6pm DT

Ah grand, might be home from the tassie in time for the first match

Double Top wrote: »
    Ah grand, might be home from the tassie in time for the first match

After I beat you in the final!:p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Optimistic lads. I reckon the Final in the tassie might not happen till nearer 7. most these tournaments tend to drag on

I'll be twisted drunk by 7!:D:D:D

Well pace yourself or you might end up out earlier then the final!!!!

It doesnt look like it will be shown on itv4 over hear for some reason. Had a look at the prog guide for tomorrow and it has that Not Available from half 12 to half 5.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Yeah it's been confirmed that anybody that has UPC will not be able to watch the darts on ITV4.

Kingp35 wrote: »
    Yeah it's been confirmed that anybody that has UPC will not be able to watch the darts on ITV4.
    Have UPC given any reason why the darts coverage is blocked on their package? ITV4 is a free to air channel,I just can't understand why the darts can't be shown on the UPC package? I reckon this is 1 of the best tournaments on TV with 2 of darts best analysts Alan Warriner and Chris Mason on view and an unbiased commentary team and no Sid Waddell or Tony Green to listen to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

Will those of us with sky still be able to see it? I have itv4 in the extra channels. It came in perfect last year. Hopefully it will be the same this year. Only annoying thing is you can't sky plus the extra channels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 KickingKen

cant beleive this about upc customers being blocked :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 547 ✭✭✭iseethelight

Rob113 wrote: »
    Will those of us with sky still be able to see it? I have itv4 in the extra channels. It came in perfect last year. Hopefully it will be the same this year. Only annoying thing is you can't sky plus the extra channels

yaeh will be there same as last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭wayne76

does anyone know a good stream that is showing it online???

wayne76 wrote: »
    does anyone know a good stream that is showing it online???

I got a perfect quality stream there here before for the darts....before the gimp who was streaming it decided people would rather watch a friendly basketball match :rolleyes: still got another, but not as good

Download and install this pogram

http://www.your-freedom.net/

Choose and UK Proxy address when using the connection wizard.

Then watch the darts on the ITV4 website.

This is what I do every year. It might be a little tricky for some people to set up but there is an instruction manual on the site which tells you exactly what to do. I'll also help with any questions that are posted up here.

Good Luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭johnny_cash

I think thornton will beat the wizard in the first match :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭johnny_cash

This is my precdtions for tonights games :D
    King > Bromberg
    Van der voort > O'Shea
    Anderson > Hylton
    Whitlock > Chisnall
    Wade > Pipe
    Webster > Jones
    Jenkins > Henderson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭buster180

Download and install this http://www.hide-my-ip.com/?id=109&c=4876 . Open programme and look for a uk ip address, then enjoy the darts here http://www.itv.com/watchitv/ :)

First night over and while there was no close games there was certainly some good performances including the 2 BDO players O'Shea and Chisnall and Gary Anderson.

O'Shea was brilliant on his doubles against Van Der Voort punishing the Dutchman every time he missed a double. O'Shea finished with a 102 average which suggests he'll take some stopping this week. Chisnall reproduced his Lakeside form and scored heavily against Whitlock who never got into his stride and in the end it was an easy victory for Chisnall which puts him in a good position to qualify for the last 16.

On the PDC side Gary Anderson played brilliant tonight beating wildcard qualifier Mark Hylton 5-0 with a near 100 average and finishing well on the doubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭villabren

Good professional performance from Hankey. Good to see him not letting the crowd get to him

Great day of darts so far, all of the games so far have been very good. Hankey did well there to keep his head, he scored very well but struggled on the doubles. If Ted starts hitting his doubles he could do very well this week. I was impressed by Aaron Monk as well even though he lost, has the makings of a very good player.

Scores so far:

Co Stompe 4-5 Scott Waites
    Colin Lloyd 5-4 Darryl Fitton
    Paul Nicholson 5-4 Arron Monk
    Wes Newton 3-5 Ted Hankey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Has Taylor played yet? How do the glasses look?

Up next so he is

Dennis Taylor eat your Heart out. The Irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

UPC 136 ITV 4 watching the darts now on it

How strange to be watching "Not Available In Republic of Ireland", I hate people who lie to me via the medium of television.

Ta Hitman, I imagine this wont last too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

How strange to be watching "Not Available In Republic of Ireland", I hate people who lie to me via the medium of television.

Ta Hitman, I imagine this wont last too long

it was the same last year and i watched the whole tournament

UPC 136 ITV 4 watching the darts now on it

Cheers Gary, I've been watching it on the laptop!

Good scrap between Osborne & Whitlock there. Well done to Ozzy.

He's had very patchy form since winning the championship league last year. Maybe this win will really kick him on for a strong finish to the year and a good world championships. I like him, seems a sound bloke when being interviewed. Would like to see him do well this week and in future

Good win for Osborne there. He's after a poor enough year since he reached the semi finals of the Players Championship last January so tonight was a welcome win for him against Whitlock.

As for Whitlock while he's doing very well in the floor tournaments he hasn't played well on telly lately and this will be a worry for him with the World Championship starting in less than 6 weeks.

A great win there for Thornton against Chisnall. Thornton is another player who's had a difficult year on the PDC tour but tonight and last night he's showed he's back to his best and he's guaranteed his place in the last 16 now. It's a straight shootout between Chisnall and Osborne now for the other place from group A,Whitlock is out of the tournament now.

Whitlock can actually still get through depending on results, will take a miracle though.

Tony O'Shea very good again, it really is a mystery how he hasn't won a major yet. Wade was rubbish though.

Is it possible for Whitlock? :confused: Without seeing table its hard to remember.

Currently he is on 0 points. Thornton on 4(& through) Chisnall & Osborne both on 2 points and have to play each other so winner of that game goes through I thought?

Wayne Jones 7/4 to beat Anderson I think it good value. Crowd will be right behind him and giving Anderson some stick.....will Anderson's doubles start to falter with the crowd on his back?

EDIT - by time I waited on PP to pay out on winning of king/jenks game the odds on Jones had changed to 5/4! ****ers