Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Magpul masada ACR

• 07-11-2010 6:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭

does anyone know who exactly make the new magpul masada? cuz im pretty sure magpul dont make it themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

As far as I know Magpul are the OEM of the ACR Masada. I could be wrong, no doubt about that. But Magpul have proven to understand the nature of the Airsoft Industry extremely well, and have taken a shining to it as of late.

Plus, I think the year-long warranty is direct with Magpul themselves - so it's hard to say. Perhaps ask Quality Airsoft Supplies? They currently stock the Irish & UK version of the ACR Masada, so should have more accurate information for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

have not seen anything to disprove people original conclusions that the oem malefactor is ares, going by finish, quick change spring and gearbox components

of course maypul have taken a shin to airsoft :) they get to sell lower quality items at the same price as the fire arms versions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I see their folding stock out for 80ish dollars on RSOV, of course thats a mandatory purchase.

I never liked magpul exactly because they pandered to computer games and airsoft so much, its good business practice and fair play to them, they are smart, but they are the equivilant of Apple computers, all style and shiny marketing and a nice fat price tag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Word was that Ares/Star did supply the materials. But then Star do the green label Pmags which are a lower quality finish than the PTS Pmags, so I'd wonder.

The relationship between Magpul PTS and Star/Ares was there a while before the ACR ever came to the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

I'd second Puding's comments above - gearbox design (particularly the two allen screws inside the mag well), quick change spring - Ares.
    Also I heard that one of the lads had the same issue that Richie had with his tavor - unintended three round burst on full auto, which required a mod to the contacts in the switch. So I'd say 99% Ares.

Having said that I've used mine pretty regular since I got it and I've had zero serious issues with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Inari wrote: »
    Perhaps ask Quality Airsoft Supplies? They currently stock the Irish & UK version of the ACR Masada, so should have more accurate information for you.

One batch comes sub 1J and the other is downgraded to <1J after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

@Puding: Makes sense since Magpul stopped their original line of the Masada on legal grounds. I figured Magpul had just started to produce Airsoft devices in house :S

the early green label pmags had a shiny finish, the newer run has a nice matt finish, but the green label is meant to be the budget line so difference in finish is expected over the pts line direct from magpul ( 20 -25usd for one mag from magpul direct and 50 - 60usd for 10 green label pmags )

ares used to be the oem for stars aegs, at the same time star got the greenlabel line but this did not appear to have been produced by ares as star keeped the line in house after ares and star split

Inari wrote: »
    @Puding: Makes sense since Magpul stopped their original line of the Masada on legal grounds. I figured Magpul had just started to produce Airsoft devices in house :S

easyer to get another company to do it ( and cheaper ) as magpul are not really going to make any other models, setting up a fresh production line from scratch for just the masada line

easier to get another company to produce it for you who already have the tool at hand, considering ares know have a strong admin and factory presence in the US, easier than outsourcing in the far east

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 mastergreener

The only Irish place I can see that you can get a Magpul PTS Masada ACR is on tntquality.com ??? Anyone else know anywhere else that you get them? Can't import them now right? The new law has come into affect?

Anyone that has one are they worth getting?

If I was able to import it I was looking at this one here and upgrading the stock as well. Including the upgraded stock and delivery is still comes in at only €404. Almost €150 in the difference to TNT.

http://www.redwolfairsoft.com/redwolf/airsoft/ProductDetail?prodID=29479

Views would be most welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

The only Irish place I can see that you can get a Magpul PTS Masada ACR is on tntquality.com ??? Anyone else know anywhere else that you get them? Can't import them now right? The new law has come into affect?

If I was able to import it I was looking at this one here and upgrading the stock as well. Including the upgraded stock and delivery is still comes in at only €404. Almost €150 in the difference to TNT.

http://www.redwolfairsoft.com/redwolf/airsoft/ProductDetail?prodID=29479

Views would be most welcome.

Tax, shipping, downgrade, etc. Factor those in and then you'll see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

HobbyAirsoft sell them too and you can still import, the law isn't in place yet. If you were to order that ACR off Redwolf you'll have to get it downgraded under 328fps.

Nobody can tell you it's worth getting you have to decide yourself, also if you import it you'll have to pay Customs charges of about 21% or so of the total price so consider that when looking at prices to import it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Redwolf airsoft is in Hong Kong. That AEG on their site is advertised as 330fps, that is more than one joule so would have to be downgraded before it's sent here.

404 + import tax works out at closer to 500 euro (490 odd).

AEGs are cheaper when you buy them in asia, that's nothing new. But for something like this, it's not as much cheaper as you think. But you also deal with the wonders of importing RIFs (yay, customs), and if you have any problems with the AEG you need to send it back to Hong Kong.

You are able to import it, it's still OK to import a RIF, on the condition that it is below 1J.

*edit* That's what I get for wandering out for a smoke half way through a reply. 3 people beat me to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭TNTQ

**Not an Advert**

AEG available from Hobbyairsoft, Go Tactical and us...

If you were to buy from Redwolf Etc the ACR and Folding Stock...

Apart from the fact that the HK version shoots at 380fps and may never get to you...

Calculation is approx as follows...

$578 inc shipping
    E431 (with paypal at 16,15 today)
    Plus VAT at 21% - E521
    Plus Customs at 3.5% - E540

Currently we will sell you this order for E585 - delivered

For the extra E45 - you get 12 Months LOCAL warranty and you do your little bit to keep the IRISH airsoft retail industry alive.

As a side (not directed at anyone in particular). Give your local retailer the opportunity to quote you for what you are looking for. Dont be seduced by HK prices, by the time it gets here the difference is normally not even 10%. If you are going to give the likes of Ehobby 2-3 weeks to send you something and make the courier co. rich, don't bitch the next time ye go into a local store and see no high-end stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 mastergreener

Points well made. I will take them on board. Will start looking into this.

Thanks for all the comments.