Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BDO Northern Ireland Open

• 07-11-2010 5:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭

The BDO NI Open was held this weekend with England's Robbie Greene winning the mens singles title beating Scotland's Ewan Hyslop 2 sets to nil in the final. In the the ladies Denise Cassidy won the final beating Dawn Campbell 5 legs to 4.

Michael Mansell reached the semi finals where he lost to Greene 5 legs to 4. I'm just wondering how is Mansell still playing BDO events even though he has qualified for the PDC World Championship from the Irish qualifier? He also played in Hull last weekend in the Lakeside qualifiers and World Masters. Has he not signed up a PDPA contract yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Daffy501

Ye mate i wondered the same thing. Its gotta be the only answer,not signing a contract yet.
    He played some brilliant darts. I watched that semi with Kong, and the darts were unreal !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Daffy501 wrote: »
    Ye mate i wondered the same thing. Its gotta be the only answer,not signing a contract yet.
    He played some brilliant darts. I watched that semi with Kong, and the darts were unreal !!
    Good to see Michael Mansell in top form. In the past 5 weeks he has reached a semi final of a PDC Players Championship tournament in Dublin,he won the World Championship qualifier in Dublin with a 92+ average and he lost by the odd leg in 9 to Robbie Green in the NI Open so he's playing very well at the moment.

Kong could be a darkhorse at Lakeside in January,he hasn't done too much spectacular throughout the year but he's more than capable of winning Lakeside when he's on form,he should have beaten Adams in last year's World Masters final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jake The Fat Ma

I sure this has been asked plenty of times on other forums but how come Micheal Mansell is playing in both the BDO and PDC?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

I sure this has been asked plenty of times on other forums but how come Micheal Mansell is playing in both the BDO and PDC?

I'm sure that has already been asked.....in this thread

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Good to see Michael Mansell in top form. In the past 5 weeks he has reached a semi final of a PDC Players Championship tournament in Dublin,he won the World Championship qualifier in Dublin with a 92+ average and he lost by the odd leg in 9 to Robbie Green in the NI Open so he's playing very well at the moment.

Kong could be a darkhorse at Lakeside in January,he hasn't done too much spectacular throughout the year but he's more than capable of winning Lakeside when he's on form,he should have beaten Adams in last year's World Masters final.

ye mate Mansell is playing great darts at the moment , things have certainly come good for him since the qually in Dublin for the WC.

Kong is my bet for the Lakeside , having watched him at the British Open then again on tv at the Masters and again at the Northern Ireland Open , he is on a good run of form and he said himself that he expects to do really well in the Lakeside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jake The Fat Ma

Yeah its not long ago he had a crazy average in a match.128.82.

Jaysus thats a savage 3 dart average lol , taylor-esq sid mite say

Daffy501 wrote: »
    ye mate Mansell is playing great darts at the moment , things have certainly come good for him since the qually in Dublin for the WC.

Kong is my bet for the Lakeside , having watched him at the British Open then again on tv at the Masters and again at the Northern Ireland Open , he is on a good run of form and he said himself that he expects to do really well in the Lakeside
    Just checked the skybet site there and Green is currently quoted at 50/1. The Lakeside draw is on Friday so his odds could shorten after the draw.

I remember reading about that in the darts world magazine,I'm sure it happened in a county match he was playing,a crazy average is right!