Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not understanding other peoples interests

• 07-11-2010 3:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭

Everyone is different and variety is the spice of life, we know this and know this to be good. But are there some things that other people are into that you just can't understand, especially things that some people seem to be reeeaaaaly into

What inspired this was references to all these japanese animations, and references to 4chan that you get here quite often which seems to have a lot of that sort of stuff (amongsst a hell of a lot of other stuff) all over it

I just dont get it, some really odd and sadistic stuff that seems to be cool becuase its all animation. We all enjoy a bit of escapism but some of this stuff is just fúcked up imo and each to there own but damn...
    I gets my escapism from a good buke

I was gonna say another one is someone being really into a particualr band and buying into them as a sort a philosophy but then I remembered that I was a little Nirvana wanker back in the day and liked the sound of Guns 'n Roses but didnt like to say it cos Kurt thought they were too commercial and yada yada yaa.
    you grow up and realise it's just catering to taste anyway and it's all pretentious.
    Arcade Fire fans I'm looking at you

And Star Wars, fúcking Star Wars, and Star Trek for that matter....
    Right, sar wars were good ole flicks, the age old good vs evil saga, brilliant, makes a good flick but ffs they were just films not a fúcking lifestyle
    Some seem to get so far into that craic, whoare probably the same people who sweat over world of warcraft, that they reject tghe real world to be heroes in a little realm that anyone who doesn't understand it is a simpleton. Comic book store guys all over the place

But maybe I'm just being ignorant, these are just things that I can;t understand

And here we'll have a few comments on why I can't understand why you'd bother writing such a post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

and Star Trek for that matter....

What's wrong with Star Trek???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

As granny used to say:
    "Sure wouldn't it be a very boring world if everyone was the same"

I suppose it just depends on different tastes and what gets one persons interest going might not even register with somebody else...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Links234 wrote: »

What's wrong with Star Trek???

Nothing is wrong with it. People quoting it and turning up at Star Wars premiers holding up banners saying "Star Trek forver Star Wars never" is pretty odd though

I mean people who are really into things and reference them at every chance they get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

And Star Wars, fúcking Star Wars, and Star Trek for that matter....
    Right, sar wars were good ole flicks, the age old good vs evil saga, brilliant, makes a good flick but ffs they were just films not a fúcking lifestyle

Maybe you didn't understand them fully?

Nothing is wrong with it. People quoting it and turning up at Star Wars premiers holding up banners saying "Star Trek forver Star Wars never" is pretty odd though

yeah, that is odd.

you know, I used to watch a lot of anime too, it's not sadistic or odd most of the time like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Some people are fanatical about games, others are fanatical about religion. Personally, I prefer the ones who stay indoors all day to the ones who kill in the name of God...but that's just me.

I just think it's a certain personality type that causes people to become obsessive about things. Some people don't really give a shíte about anything or anyone, those people kinda suck. I guess it's all about finding a balance between caring too much and not caring at all.

Edit: Watch Fanboys, it's hilarious. :D

Maybe you didn't understand them fully?

I do. And they're good. It's the age old good vs evil like I said. But why do some people, oostly online, reference them at every opportunity like its some great movement. They were movies and oog ones at that but get a grip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

I do. And they're good. It's the age old good vs evil like I said. But why do some people, oostly online, reference them at every opportunity like its some great movement. They were movies and oog ones at that but get a grip
    I'm afraid I don't understand the issue.

Some people are fanatical about games, others are fanatical about religion. Personally, I prefer the ones who stay indoors all day to the ones who kill in the name of God...but that's just me.

I just think it's a certain personality type that causes people to become obsessive about things. Some people don't really give a shíte about anything or anyone, those people kinda suck. I guess it's all about finding a balance between caring too much and not caring at all.

spot on.

btw I'm not trying to píss anyone off, just trying to get a decent conversation going

Eh cause they are awesome!

I don't really understand football.

I get sport in general, I'm not saying I don't understand competitive sports, but it's like the whole 'world' of football, I just don't get. the crazy fans, the overpayed footballers you know?

that and wrestling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Everyone's different alright.
    There's nothing really i'd be totally mad about to the point where i'd be going to conventions or meet ups about them..not that i can think of anyway.

Eh cause they are awesome!

Yes they are. And so are the Godfather movies but I'm not gonna stuff my cheeks dress like Don Corleone at a convention

Then your not the man for me.....

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Everyone's different alright.
    There's nothing really i'd be totally mad about to the point where i'd be going to conventions or meet ups about them..not that i can think of anyway.
    I've gone to a convention dressed like a football player.

Most people call them matches, but convention sounds cooler tbh.

Now there'd be a sight :D

I've never been to a convention of any kind. I'd like to though, it looks fun. and to be totally honest, I really wanna get this :o

Then your not the man for me.....

Gosh darnit!

I'd love to meet someone to go to a convention with me, it's called the mediocre average joe convention. We just wear what we would usually wear and talk about real world events and what happened on x factor/bitch about how X factor is on TV all the time

Gosh darnit!

I'd love to meet someone to go to a convention with me, it's called the mediocre average joe convention. We just wear what we would usually wear and talk about real world events and what happened on x factor/bitch about how X factor is on TV all the time

So, the pub basically?

I've never been to a convention of any kind. I'd like to though, it looks fun. and to be totally honest, I really wanna get this :o

Get it! I wanna go to a convention, sounds fun but there arent that many in this country.

I want this one :Dhttp://www.buycostumes.com/Super-Mario-Bros-Princess-Peach-Adult-Costume/69257/ProductDetail.aspx

So, the pub basically?
    Sounds like a great idea, anywhere still open this late??

Now there'd be a sight :D

Seeing as you're an honourary redneck at this stage I'll invite you to a culchie convention called the Balla Mart, got some weanlings to get rid of after xmas (and after mass of course) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

spot on.

btw I'm not trying to píss anyone off, just trying to get a decent conversation going

It's not really any different to people congregating in a huge badly made hall once a week and listening to a man wearing a dress tell stories from a book that 2000 years ago someone wrote for the craic and others saw they could make money from.

It's a crutch. It's not doing any harm unless you actually get near Skywalker ranch or whatever and then you'll find yourself with an arse like a vase full of dying roses in a shallow grave...just like them other folk I mentioned.

Gosh darnit!

That sounds terribly exciting. :p

I just think those conventions are a chance for lonely nerds to go out and meet other lonely nerds. It's all just a bit of fun at the end of the day. I'd really love to go to a Comic-Con someday. Not because I'm a huge comic fan or anything, there's just an incredible number of really hot girls in spandex at those things and I'm a pervert.

It's not really any different to people congregating in a huge badly made hall once a week and listening to a man wearing a dress tell stories from a book that 2000 years ago someone wrote for the craic and others saw they could make money from.

It's a crutch. It's not doing any harm unless you actually get near Skywalker ranch or whatever and then you'll find yourself with an arse like a vase full of dying roses in a shallow grave...just like them other folk I mentioned.

All very true

I just cant understand why anyone would be so much into either
    I like to have a little interest in everyting, but thats just me

Anyway, this thread is about more than star wars (point proved :p)

Seeing as you're an honourary redneck at this stage I'll invite you to a culchie convention called the Balla Mart, got some weanlings to get rid of after xmas (and after mass of course) :pac:

Jaysus now there's an offer. :D

Get it! I wanna go to a convention, sounds fun but there arent that many in this country.

I want this one :Dhttp://www.buycostumes.com/Super-Mario-Bros-Princess-Peach-Adult-Costume/69257/ProductDetail.aspx

hah that's cool! :D

Maybe I'll just organise a Nintendo convention!

Do it!

I'd love to dress up as Super Mario.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Sounds like a great idea, anywhere still open this late??

Knacker drinking in a field would probably be all you'd get at this hour :pac:

All very true

I just cant understand why anyone would be so much into either
    I like to have a little interest in everyting, but thats just me

Anyway, this thread is about more than star wars (point proved :p)

Yes but if you turn the camera on yourself there is sure to be something you hold a little more dear than everyone else.

What are your thoughts on accepting a 200 euro note for a fivers worth of petrol for instance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

spot on.

Yeah right!!

You started this thread to have a go at me about being a Springsteen Disciple, admit it :mad:

Knacker drinking in a field would probably be all you'd get at this hour :pac:
    Excuse you, I live in a very educated part of Ireland.

We call it Tinker drinking here :P

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Yeah right!!

You started this thread to have a go at me about being a Springsteen Disciple, admit it :mad:
    Springsteen is an old man with wrinkly balls, and the voice of a toad.

Did that piss you off?? :pac:

Yes but if you turn the camera on yourself there is sure to be something you hold a little more dear than everyone else.

What are your thoughts on accepting a 200 euro note for a fivers worth of petrol for instance?

Was just about to sleep but I'm intrigued, who wouldn't??

Do it!

I'd love to dress up as Super Mario.

Yeah I think its gonna be a really big success. I friggin love Nintendo and could talk about it/ reference it all day.

Don't know whether to be Peach or Zelda though....

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Yeah right!!

Sprinsteen is an old man for old people and that's all there is to it!

/but that dude can belt out some goodtunes

Springsteen is an old man with wrinkly balls, and the voice of a toad.

Did that piss you off?? :pac:

Oh,you're brave-i'll give you that! :pac:

Yeah I think its gonna be a really big success. I friggin love Nintendo and could talk about it/ reference it all day.

Zelda's a dude isn't he?

I'd go with Peach, or if you really wanna blow people away, donkey kong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I just dont get it, some really odd and sadistic stuff that seems to be cool becuase its all animation. We all enjoy a bit of escapism but some of this stuff is just fúcked up imo and each to there own but damn...
    I gets my escapism from a good buke

You spelled bukkake wrong.

That's actually what i thought he'd meant originally. :o
    Had to re-read it!

Zelda's a dude isn't he?

You are uninvited

:P

Ohh I love that joke, it kills at the conventions :(

You dress up as Zelda, I'll dress up as Link. We could totally hook up afterwards. :D

Thems the costume rules

Would ye believe me if I said I finally googled bukkake to find out what it means? Cos it's true
    Round here we call it "We'll all cum on yer wans face"

Was just about to sleep but I'm intrigued, who wouldn't??

Sorry dude. I have awesome recall....didn't you used to work in a petrol station and one time I bought a fiver petrol but you wouldn't accept a 200 euro note from me?Did I make all that up or did it really happen?

Zelda's a dude isn't he?

no, princess zelda is a girl, but people sometimes make the mistake of thinking the character of link is zelda.

zelda: http://jerbl.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/pzeldafull.jpg

link: http://www.diversionprojects.org/images/Zelda-link.gif

no, princess zelda is a girl, but people sometimes make the mistake of thinking the character of link is zelda.

zelda: http://jerbl.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/pzeldafull.jpg

link: http://www.diversionprojects.org/images/Zelda-link.gif
    :P

I know, I was just taking the mick, played most of the games when I was younger.

The only one I didn't like was the one where you went forward in time, and everyone kinda turned to zombies, that was just a very strange game and scared the shít out of me when I was a kid.