Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tax Fine Help

• 03-11-2010 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭

Ok lads, really need help on this one as I am clueless about this as it has never happened me before.

Storey goes, I put a show car I had on the road at the start of September as it was just after it was built. I got the form from the guards and got it stamped saying it had been off the road and therefore its reason for being out of tax.

As I was working 9-5 mon-Fri I hadn't time to tax it during the week. I drove to a show on the Saturday, a week after the tax form was signed by the guardi. I came upto a checkpoint and explained my situation to the Guard, who was fair with me, but said that I would be hearing about this. The next week I had a free day so back taxed the car to the start of September.

A week or 2 after I had taxed the car I received a fine in the post about having no tax. As I was back in collage I had no money that week and just put it to the back of my head and completely forgot about it. Now the fine has gone over 56 days without being paid, so it has exceeded its date to be paid by. So what happen's next? Do I get a summons to court? Or what happens?

I have since sold the car back in September, so it is no longer in my possession.

So i'm just asking what happens now?

BTW I know I should have paid the fine, but genuinely I forgot about it. I don't want to be flamed for it, I just want to find out where do I stand now?

Can anybody help me out and tell me what happens now?

Thankyou in advance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Go to court, pay your fine, learn and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

dose the fine not double?? or is the penelty point fine im thinking about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

go to court and explain to the judge that you back taxed the car,see if you can get reciept from tax office.dont pay the fine and then go to court.there is a good chance he will let you off.if not he will fine you for non display.good luck .this also happened to me once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭tom traubert

Assuming a summons is served on you then you attend Court.

If you explain what happened to the Court as concisely as you outlined it in your post then you should be able to score a strike out.

That's provided you can bring evidence of the back taxing with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭DR.Magoo

Thankyou for the help lads, much appreciated.
    Haddockman wrote: »

Yep certainly is lesson learned already, but how much of a fine will I have to pay after court?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Haddockman wrote: »
    Don't pay it. Go to court, explain as you have here, show you back taxed the car and tell the judge you'll be more than happy to pay the €60 for non display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭tom traubert

DR.Magoo wrote: »
    Thankyou for the help lads, much appreciated.

Yep certainly is lesson learned already, but how much of a fine will I have to pay after court?

By bringing evidence of back taxing with you the no tax summons would be struck out usually. That leaves the failing to display summons only. For a 1st time offender I'd imagine maybe €100 to €300. The latter only if the Judge is highly unimpressed for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

in the off chance that ya have to go to court in naas, make sure ya bring plenty of vaseline, i've seen more lads get fined €400:eek: for no tax no matter what the reason

So, look for the receipts and produce them to the judge to say the tax has been backdated? Anything else?

And I will definetly be called to court? And the worse that can happen is that i'll get a 1-300 euro fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

if ya havent got it already, be expecting a summons sometime soon and depending what district you're in ya could be looking at getting away with it or a hefty fine

I'm in Limerick if thats any difference?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

sean1141 wrote: »
    does the fine not double??

Thought the same myself ?

Not trying to "scaremonger" here just asking. All the advice is to not pay the fine, show a receipt for the back tax and just pay for the non display.

Now either i'm reading the OP wrong or something, but the OP did not have tax on the vehicle at the time he was stopped. Yes he had the form stamped, but it would have shown the date it was initially off the road and the date the Garda stamped on it that day in the station. From the day the Garda stamped it until the day he was stopped he legally had no tax. Its a fine point, but a legit one all the same.

To the OP, have you tried paying the fine since or did you not try as the time frame had expired? If not i would go and see if you could pay the inital fine and any excess for late payment. Court may not be a necessity.

Just to be clear here lads/ladies. I am not a solicitor and my opinions and views above are one of curiosity and self belief. I could have it a**e ways. It has been known to happen.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Was it the first time the car was ever taxed? If not, you can tax it online for future reference.