Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paying for damage to car

• 03-11-2010 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭

Had a small collision with someone when i was reversing back my fault.

Told them to ring me with the cost of any damage done.

Should I ask for a receipt or anything off them when I hand over the bank draft or would that be proof enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I would want written quote and then get them to sign something to say you have given them a full & final settlement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

dont pay anything untill your happy with a quote! Tell them to get a quote first and if you think its reasonable then pay it, if not see about getting a 2nd opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭danjo

Depends on the cost of the damage.
    If it is a small amount I would pay it and get a receipt. If you start asking for quotes first it might inflate the price.

When they come back with the price then decide to ask for quotes or not. That's what I would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Cheers guys they seemed like decent people anyway.

Will let you know how i get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

dont pay anything untill your happy with a quote! Tell them to get a quote first and if you think its reasonable then pay it, if not see about getting a 2nd opinion

You have no choice in the quote they get and can't ask for a 2nd one or send them anywhere.
    Cheers guys they seemed like decent people anyway.

Will let you know how i get on.

They always are at first. Have you informed your insurance company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

Del2005 wrote: »
    You have no choice in the quote they get and can't ask for a 2nd one or send them anywhere.

yes you do.

yes you can

They always are at first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

OP - Remember that they're doing you a favour by allowing you to settle privately. If they at any stage get the impression that you're abusing that kindness then they're perfectly within their rights to just let their insurance deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Anan1 wrote: »
    OP - Remember that they're doing you a favour by allowing you to settle privately. If they at any stage get the impression that you're abusing that kindness then they're perfectly within their rights to just let their insurance deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

although it would most probably be a higher repair bill, the OP can still pay the insurance company and stay claim free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

mickdw wrote: »
    I would want written quote and then get them to sign something to say you have given them a full & final settlement.

I would agree wih the above, especially the signed settlement.

They always are at first. Have you informed your insurance company?
    Del i think you'll find you have every right to ask for a quote and look for a 2nd opinion if not happy. in your world someone would scrape a door and pay 2k to get it fixed:rolleyes: seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Del i think you'll find you have every right to ask for a quote and look for a 2nd opinion if not happy.

You have every right to ask them to get a 2nd quote. They have every right to say "No, pay up at once or I'll do it through the insurance".

Of course they do but most reasonable people just want the car fixed and doesnt matter who does it once its done right.

EDIT: the only type of person who would object to this is the person who got the quote with a bit on top by the freindly garage owner

Of course they do but most reasonable people just want the car fixed and doesnt matter who does it once its done right.

Look, someone damages my door, admits its their fault, and offers to pay for the damage, and asks me not to go through their insurance. Because I'm a nice guy, I say OK, and get a quote. But when I go back to them, they start with the "How much? Ridiculous! Get another quote!" mallarkey.

I'm a nice guy, but I'm not that nice. If you're going to pay, pay. If you're not, your insurance will.

Look, someone damages my door, admits its their fault, and offers to pay for the damage, and asks me not to go through their insurance. Because I'm a nice guy, I say OK, and get a quote. But when I go back to them, they start with the "How much? Ridiculous! Get another quote!" mallarkey.

I'm a nice guy, but I'm not that nice. If you're going to pay, pay. If you're not, your insurance will.
    If i scratched someones car and they came back with a ridiculous quote you can be sure id want a 2nd opinion as would an insurance company! Are you telling me you would not??

You might be a nice guy but you dont sound like a reasonable guy tbh. I hope if you ever find yourself in that situation ya dont meet a "nice guy" such as yourself

If i scratched someones car and they came back with a ridiculous quote you can be sure id want a 2nd opinion as would an insurance company!

So you've already damaged my car, and now when I do you a favour and get a price to fix it without involving your insurance, you're basically saying I'm either stupid or dishonest.

Why do you think I'm going to keep being nice to you? Your insurance company can discuss it with my insurance company.

So you've already damaged my car, and now when I do you a favour and get a price to fix it without involving your insurance, you're basically saying I'm either stupid or dishonest.

Why do you think I'm going to keep being nice to you? Your insurance company can discuss it with my insurance company.
    Ya cant reason with unreasonable people so i wont even try.

Im a reasonable person who has been in this situation a couple of times(sell cars and had people damage them) Iv always got a quote for them and one guy said his mate was pannell beater and could do it cheaper so i let him do the work. Once its fixed and a good job done i wouldnt mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Ya cant reason with unreasonable people so i wont even try.

Im a reasonable person who has been in this situation a couple of times(sell cars and had people damage them) Iv always got a quote for them and one guy said his mate was pannell beater and could do it cheaper so i let him do the work. Once its fixed and a good job done i wouldnt mind

Yes but it was your choice to allow the guy to have his mate quote for it, you were under no obligation to do so.
    The injured party isn't required to go chasing prices, they only need get a quote for the repair, if that doesn't suit the person responsible there's not a lot they can do about it bar ask for them to get another quote if they refuse then you're stuck with a high repair bill or a claim.

Insurance companies don't look for second opinions they will have an accessor look at it or have it repaired at the main dealers (V expensive but the repair is beyond question).

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

That's your own personal perspective, and I respect your reasoning. Were someone to damage my car, though, i'd want the work done by someone I knew would do a good job. This doesn't mean a main dealer, but it equally doesn't mean a panel beater friend of the person who did the damage.

If i scratched someones car and they came back with a ridiculous quote you can be sure id want a 2nd opinion as would an insurance company! Are you telling me you would not??

I doubt that the price you get for an insurance company fix will be anywhere close to reasonable and more then likely will be higher then the original quote you got.

Why should someone have to use a company they don't know or trust to fix their car when they aren't to blame?
    You might be a nice guy but you dont sound like a reasonable guy tbh. I hope if you ever find yourself in that situation ya dont meet a "nice guy" such as yourself

If the person paid attention when driving they wouldn't even have this situation. By letting you pay without going through the insurance company they are doing you a favour.

If you start taking the p!ss when someone is doing YOU a favour then why should they continue to do you a favour, that's what you pay insurance for.

I doubt that the price you get for an insurance company fix will be anywhere close to reasonable and more then likely will be higher then the original quote you got. [

true- but they ain't paying for it and theinjured party don't get any money-the car is fixed. thats it. whereas if its just a bumper scrape and you go to a garage most will quote 2 prices. insurance price. vs. cash price.
    if he quotes for a new bumper i'd tell him i want a second opinion or he can fuck off with himself. Insurance company will do the same.
    Why should someone have to use a company they don't know or trust to fix their car when they aren't to blame?
    i agree,but if its very minor i'd want cash as opposed to the insurance company making money.OP reversed didn't he?...can't be that bad:confused:

If the person paid attention when driving they wouldn't even have this situation. By letting you pay without going through the insurance company they are doing you a favour.

and if me auntie had bollocks she'd be me uncle.
    how is it a favour? i have full no claims and no claims protection. how is me paying cash a favour???

If you start taking the p!ss when someone is doing YOU a favour then why should they continue to do you a favour, that's what you pay insurance for.

sigh*.

correct about the insurance bit.

bladespin wrote: »
    Yes but it was your choice to allow the guy to have his mate quote for it, you were under no obligation to do so.
    The injured party isn't required to go chasing prices, they only need get a quote for the repair, if that doesn't suit the person responsible there's not a lot they can do about it bar ask for them to get another quote if they refuse then you're stuck with a high repair bill or a claim.

Insurance companies don't look for second opinions they will have an accessor look at it or have it repaired at the main dealers (V expensive but the repair is beyond question).
    I know i didnt have to let him but i didnt mind as long as it was done properly as was said.
    That's your own personal perspective, and I respect your reasoning. Were someone to damage my car, though, i'd want the work done by someone I knew would do a good job. This doesn't mean a main dealer, but it equally doesn't mean a panel beater friend of the person who did the damage.
    I agree and so would i, maybe its easier for me as i know most of these guys around and if i dont i just need to call someone else and ask about them.
    I doubt that the price you get for an insurance company fix will be anywhere close to reasonable and more then likely will be higher then the original quote you got.

+1 on pretty much everything thebullkf said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I'd also want to get it done somewhere I was familiar with. I'd get another quote someone else for comparisons sake but no way I'd go where the person that hit me suggested just because it was cheap.

Didn't hear back from them so rang them no answer and text them no reply.

Should I ring my insurance holder and tell them what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

No Way you will have claim pending attached to your file ! Do nothing and wait until you get the estimate. When you get the estimate ring the repairer direct and see if you can get a little more leverage on the price !!

Darsad wrote: »
    No Way you will have claim pending attached to your file ! Do nothing and wait until you get the estimate. When you get the estimate ring the repairer direct and see if you can get a little more leverage on the price !!

Cheers Darsad,

Just worried why there not answering, would people usually wait for nearly two weeks to get back to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

If you don't inform your insurance, and a claim comes in that they're not prepared for down the road, you're up the creek without a paddle as they don't have to pay up for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Bad advice that, advise your insurance of the claim and that you're hoping to settle it yourself, they may even advise you how to go about it.
    If all goes well and it's sorted just call them and let them know it's settled and they will remove it from your file, it will end there, your NCB won't be affected and your premium won't be loaded.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

thebullkf wrote: »
    how is it a favour? i have full no claims and no claims protection. how is me paying cash a favour???

Because NCB protection only protects your NCB % with your current insurer and you will still have a claim registered against your policy. Come renewal time you'll probably find your current insurer has upped your premium a bit despite maintaining the same NCB % as before, or if you try to move other insurers will likely load you because you have a recent claim against you. Overall it's better to have a claims-free history hence the favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I had a similar situation a few years ago. I was a definate 90/10 in fault of the 3rd party but there was very little damage to my car and quite a bit to theirs relative to mine. Swapped details, said we would try and sort it ourselves if possible, I informed my insurance company about the incident but told them not to act on anything without my consent (which they were more than happy to agree to), I rang the bloke several times, left messages, heard nothing back and never did! I wasnt even bothered about the damage to my car, it was only a small dent, but I didnt want him to go claiming off my insurance. To this day I have no idea why he never persued it.

Moral of the story: you might get lucky as I did!

djimi wrote: »
    I had a similar situation a few years ago. I was a definate 90/10 in fault of the 3rd party but there was very little damage to my car and quite a bit to theirs relative to mine. Swapped details, said we would try and sort it ourselves if possible, I informed my insurance company about the incident but told them not to act on anything without my consent (which they were more than happy to agree to), I rang the bloke several times, left messages, heard nothing back and never did! I wasnt even bothered about the damage to my car, it was only a small dent, but I didnt want him to go claiming off my insurance. To this day I have no idea why he never persued it.

Moral of the story: you might get lucky as I did!

Cheers djimi,

I didn't give them my insurance details, they didn't ask for them.

Can they make a claim with just your name and license plate number?

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Because NCB protection only protects your NCB % with your current insurer and you will still have a claim registered against your policy. Come renewal time you'll probably find your current insurer has upped your premium a bit despite maintaining the same NCB % as before, or if you try to move other insurers will likely load you because you have a recent claim against you. Overall it's better to have a claims-free history hence the favour.

fair points

i thought NCB protection was already a premium on my ins. hence my belief that the reason your ncb is unaffected resulting from a crash you caused.....

Cheers djimi,

no. afaik.

Cheers djimi,

If they ask a Garda they can.

A van hit me a few years ago We exchanged details and agreed to sort it out without insurance. I dropped down to a cop shop to report the crash, just in case. The Garda on the desk offered to chase up his details for me if he took the p!ss. Didn't need to take the Garda up on his offer as the other person paid up.

If they ask a Garda they can.

A van hit me a few years ago We exchanged details and agreed to sort it out without insurance. I dropped down to a cop shop to report the crash, just in case. The Garda on the desk offered to chase up his details for me if he took the p!ss. Didn't need to take the Garda up on his offer as the other person paid up.

sure if thats the case i can report me neighbour.....

one needs more than a name and a licence plate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

A number plate is enough, how does one make a claim against a hit-and-run driver.

You don't really need insurance details for a claim, you can report your neighbour, your boss or anyone you like to the Gardaí for them to track down because all you're doing is alleging the other party caused damage, you can even get details off some poor innocent's windscreen and use them if you want but ultimately the insurer has to be satisfied the person you alleging against was responsible.

Having insurance details means you can deal directly and quickly with the insurers without having to get the Gardaí involved in tracking down the other driver.

Of course you can, but it would be easier to take note of their policy number. Anyone can make a claim, it's getting the money which isn't as easy(I'd hope).

No you don't.

I went into a Garda station to report a crash and a Guard I'd never seen before offered to get the other persons insurance details for me if needed. I refused the offer at the time but said if he took the p!ss I'd be back and Guard was happy.

If someone goes into a Garda station and says they where hit by car reg 09D123xxx and they are taking the p!ss and won't pay for the damage they caused, the Gardaí will provide that person with the insurance details. That's what insurance companies are for.

Of course you can, but it would be easier to take note of their policy number. Anyone can make a claim, it's getting the money which isn't as easy(I'd hope).

No you don't.

I went into a Garda station to report a crash and a Guard I'd never seen before offered to get the other persons insurance details for me if needed. I refused the offer at the time but said if he took the p!ss I'd be back and Guard was happy.

If someone goes into a Garda station and says they where hit by car reg 09D123xxx and they are taking the p!ss and won't pay for the damage they caused, the Gardaí will provide that person with the insurance details. That's what insurance companies are for.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    A number plate is enough, how does one make a claim against a hit-and-run driver.

You don't really need insurance details for a claim, you can report your neighbour, your boss or anyone you like to the Gardaí for them to track down because all you're doing is alleging the other party caused damage, you can even get details off some poor innocent's windscreen and use them if you want but ultimately the insurer has to be satisfied the person you alleging against was responsible.

Having insurance details means you can deal directly and quickly with the insurers without having to get the Gardaí involved in tracking down the other driver.

sorry..... i should've should've clarified successful claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jim.hopkins128

A friend reversed into a guys car and cracked his bumper. We had a look at it and it was pretty much just a 3-4 inch crack running down at the front corner of the bumper. They got a quote from him for near to 3 grand to replace and respray it. I just wanted to check if this would be about right? The car is an 11 year old Lexus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

W
    A friend reversed into a guys car and cracked his bumper. We had a look at it and it was pretty much just a 3-4 inch crack running down at the front corner of the bumper. They got a quote from him for near to 3 grand to replace and respray it. I just wanted to check if this would be about right? The car is an 11 year old Lexus

Maybe about rite if its a brand new bumper, sprayed and fitted by a main dealer..

However, a job like this can be sorted for about 300 euro, and it will look just as it did before the accident .

My guess is this guy wants 3 grand, will get it sorted for about 300 and pocketed rest .

Considering the age of the car, the owner is being an unreasonable prick,taking advantage of the situation to make some easy cash .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

The car isn't worth that much, nevermind the bumper.

Bring the car to a repairer you trust and get an alternate quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭timogen

cojomo2 wrote: »
    W

Maybe about rite if its a brand new bumper, sprayed and fitted by a main dealer..

However, a job like this can be sorted for about 300 euro, and it will look just as it did before the accident .

My guess is this guy wants 3 grand, will get it sorted for about 300 and pocketed rest .

Considering the age of the car, the owner is being an unreasonable prick,taking advantage of the situation to make some easy cash .

Happened the OH a few years back as accidents show up euro coins in people's eye's.
    She had the misfortune to hit two neighbours wall's,but the diference in attitude was huge.Knocked 60 blocks on one fellow and about 90 on the other.Asked could i do it without going through insurance,OH has two brothers one a blocklayer and the other a plasterer,Fellow with the sixty blocks had no problem with her brothers doing it as long as the work was satisfactory,couldn't complain about that accident happened on thursday morning and had it all done by saturday evening and also gave him a voucher for the local chinese for a nite out him and his wife(lovely people).
    Now the other neighbour he wanted his friend to do it so i asked him to get me a quote,Had to ring him after a week to see about the quote as i wanted it sorted.Went to collect the quote for remember 90 blocks at most,scribbled on a piece of paper was I WILL NEED 1800e TO DO THIS JOB,i said to the man that is nearly 18e a block but he said that's who he wants to repair the wall.I told him i wasn't paying it and to take it up with my OH's insurance.They paid 450e out to whoever was meant to carry out the work,i passed the place about three months after the accident and the blocks that were knocked in accident were still on the ground and it hadn't been rebuilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

cojomo2 wrote: »
    a job like this can be sorted for about 300 euro,

Simple nissan rear bumper is 300-350E + 200 sprayed + possible double more if there is any metal works/repair required. So expect at least 1k claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

In the case the car is worth less than the cost of repair you are only liable for the value of the car before the accident less its value for scrap.

Either which way I would give the owner of an 11 year old lexus about 1k, and tell him sue me for the balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

zom wrote: »
    Simple nissan rear bumper is 300-350E + 200 sprayed + possible double more if there is any metal works/repair required. So expect at least 1k claim.
    yeah, that if you are replacing it.

My sister bought a new vw beetle a couple of years ago, it was an auto and she thought it was in drive when it was in reverse and smacked it hard into a wall. The rear bumper was badly damaged...

She had it done by someone in Mullingar, they remoulded the bumper and resprayed and refitted.

I was amazed when I saw it..was 100%, none of us could tell that it had previously been damaged, even upon very close inspection..350 euro all in.