Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daily Mirror new sponsors of Grand Slam Of Darts

• 01-11-2010 10:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭

It was announced today that UK newspaper the Daily Mirror will be the new sponsors for the 2010 Grand Slam Of Darts link; www.pdc.tv/page/GrandSlamDetail/0,,10180~2204445,00.html

32 players will be taking part with 26 already qualified with 4 players to qualify this Friday night from a Wildcard Qualifer and the 2 under 21 World Championship finalists from next weekend. Here is a list of players already qualified link; www.pdc.tv/page/GrandSlamDetail/0,,10180~2196664,00.html

This tournament IMO is 1 of the best in darts at present bringing a mix of PDC and BDO players together. Martin Adams has once again declined the offer to play in this and IMO that's a bad choice by Adams as the BDO World Champion.

The Wildcard Qualifier takes place this Friday night and while entries haven't been announced yet but it's open to both PDC and BDO players. It would be nice to see an Irish player qualifying for this tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

dartbhoy wrote: »
    It was announced today that UK newspaper the Daily Mirror will be the new sponsors for the 2010 Grand Slam Of Darts link; www.pdc.tv/page/GrandSlamDetail/0,,10180~2204445,00.html

32 players will be taking part with 26 already qualified with 4 players to qualify this Friday night from a Wildcard Qualifer and the 2 under 21 World Championship finalists from next weekend. Here is a list of players already qualified link; www.pdc.tv/page/GrandSlamDetail/0,,10180~2196664,00.html

This tournament IMO is 1 of the best in darts at present bringing a mix of PDC and BDO players together. Martin Adams has once again declined the offer to play in this and IMO that's a bad choice by Adams as the BDO World Champion.

The Wildcard Qualifier takes place this Friday night and while entries haven't been announced yet but it's open to both PDC and BDO players. It would be nice to see an Irish player qualifying for this tournament.

Don't think he declined, he wasn't offered a place. But if was, he'd have refused anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭greened

I think Adams would sh** himself in the GSOD's. While Adam's is no doubth a great darts player he is far to comfortable in the BDO tournaments and uses his experience to get him through some matchs. Even at this you can often see his hand shaking when throwing.
    He is a "big fish in a little pond" in the BDO and he really should raise his head above the parapet if he has any real ambition or drive to become recognised as a truley great darts player.

This is not intended to knock the BDO system but my opinion on Martin Adam's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

dartsfan wrote: »
    Don't think he declined, he wasn't offered a place. But if was, he'd have refused anyways!

As bdo champion he would have been offered an automatic place surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

Devastator wrote: »

And as a former PDC player, but he's just running scared of Taylor. Shame really would be great to see him there. I'm sure a lot of the BDO players are scathing their heads after looking at the success of Withlock this year in the PDC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭vindaloo1

Whitlock is liked by the PDC crowd, Adams isn't.

Why would he want to leave his comfort zone to put up with the dogs abuse he would almost certainly get from the crowd?

Shame he wont go though, it would be interesting to see how far he would get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭pad180

iv just seen this is to be on itv4 again this year ,does anybody know if this is going to be on upc /ntl . if i remember right it was scrambled after the first day last year for some reason .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Devastator wrote: »
    I think that after he declined last year, the PDC said he wouldn't be asked again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

great comp. Martin is a good player and did well in the pdc events he was in. Taylor apart he'd be a game for anybody but I couldn't see his bottle holding up at the business end tbh. That said no one questions the bottle of O'Shea, Fitton etc.. and all are arguably better on their day but have won less.

Pretty sure Barry Hearn said he won't be asked again, he had his chances and declined. BDO numbers are cut back this year which is a shame but thats life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

I wouldnt say adams is afraid to play the GSOD considering that he played there for a brief period 9/10 years ago.

He played taylor around 2000 and lost 17-9 in the matchplay semi finals which isnt bad considering the hammerings taylor dishes out to players.I reckon if you lose to taylor by a ratio of 2:1 in any given match its respectable enough.This was during a point that taylor was at his peak and adams around 3/4 years away from his best form.

adams would be unlikely to win the GSOD if he was involved but with scott waites getting to the final last year whos to say he wouldnt reach the last 4.

im not a big adams fan but dont forget that the bdo went to such lengths to arrange the masters the same week as the GSOD back in 07 that olly croft basically forced him into taking part in the masters.if he hadnt done that and played them separately then wolfie would have taken part in the gsod.

padr81 wrote: »

Pretty sure Barry Hearn said he won't be asked again, he had his chances and declined. BDO numbers are cut back this year which is a shame but thats life.

One of the main reasons for the cutbacks is that the likes of anderson,webster, and whitlock are more settled in the pdc than they were 12 months ago and any qualifying period from bdo tournaments (2007/08) has expired.

cant wait for it to start again.ted was getting anoyed with the crowd during the masters so it was perfect preparation for the GSOD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

dartsfan wrote: »
    Your quite right dartsfan,he wasn't offered a place this time around because of rejecting his invitation the last 2 years. Adams is doing himself no favours not playing in the Grand Slam. Actually he's the only BDO player to turn down a place so it shows he doesn't have any support for his actions from his fellow BDO players.

An 8 page pullout in today's Daily Mirror on the upcoming Grand Slam,a very good read with interesting articles on various players and the tournament itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭dexter647

It has always baffled me as to why adams has declined each year... BDO elitism or just as has already been mentioned, afraid to leave his comfort zone??... Anyway he's had his chances and its his lose... A great pity though...

vindaloo1 wrote: »
    Why would he want to leave his comfort zone to put up with the dogs abuse he would almost certainly get from the crowd?

Granted, although he has brought that upon himself with his previous reasons for refusal.

The pundits would no doubt have a field day if he ever did compete, can just imagine the sly sports template cheesey match build up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭MACK DE KNIFE

pad180 wrote: »
    iv just seen this is to be on itv4 again this year ,does anybody know if this is going to be on upc /ntl . if i remember right it was scrambled after the first day last year for some reason .

its a load of crab the way upc dont have the rights to show on itv4 :mad:
    but if you have a free 2 air satt.. you can watch it:confused: or sky digital on other channels....

The wildcard qualifier for the Grand Slam takes place this Friday night and 277 players will battle it out for 4 places. A good contingent of Irish players taking part and also noticed that last weekend's BDO World Masters runner up Stuart Kellett is also in the line up. Full list of players entered can be found on this link; www.pdc.tv/page/GrandSlamDetail/0,,10180~2206868,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭cizolin

The wildcard qualifier would be cracking to be involved in. Even to be a spectator I would say would be class due to the tense atmosphere in the later stages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭johnny_cash

Hi does anybody here know when the draw for this will be made?I want to see who's not on taylors side of the draw before having a bet on the winner of this tournament.

Latest score updates on tonight's wildcard qualifier can be found here on this link; www.pdc.tv/page/GrandSlamDetail/0,,10180~2209772,00.html

Mick MacGowan bt 4-3 by Mark Walsh(no 1 seed)
    Brendan Dolan through 4-3 against Peter Hudson(:confused:)

Unfortunatly I'll miss most of this year GSOD as I'm working late shift that week :mad: ...... maybe I'll quit my job before it starts :p

Hi does anybody here know when the draw for this will be made?I want to see who's not on taylors side of the draw before having a bet on the winner of this tournament.
    It'll probably be Monday at earliest before the draw is made I'm guessing because there's 2 players to qualify from tomorrow's Under 21 World Championship and there's a players championship event in Barnsley Saturday and Sunday. No mention on planet darts website of day and time of draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭baldymac

i was at the darts, in city west dublin, it was my first time an what a great craic, even my gf let me take a pic with the bodogs babes,

during the final we were in the seating area, our table was in the middle section and during the final the right leg of the table gave way, on my side an the flood of pitcher of beer went bout 4 in total, it was like a water fall of beer, it was the funniest thing ever.

ill be back defo next year

Great 1st round win for Aodhagan O'Neil beating Richie Burnett 4-3. Willie O'Connor through to 2nd round after 4-1 win over Lionel Sams. Some surprise results already in the early rounds.

Aodhagan O'Neil,Brendan Dolan and John MaGowan all through to the 3rd round but Willie O'Connor beat in 2nd round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Dartgod

Aodhagan beaten in 3rd. round and Brendan beaten in 4th. round.

John Magowan through to last 16 against Mark Hylton.

C'mon Magoo !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭The Bison

Deciding Matches

John Walton 2-4 Wes Newton
    Mark Walsh 2-4 Justin Pipe
    Mark Hylton 4-2 Dennis Priestley
    John Henderson 4-2 Denis Ovens

Qualified
    Wes Newton
    John Henderson
    Mark Hylton
    Justin Pipe

The Bison wrote: »
    Deciding Matches

John Walton 2-4 Wes Newton
    Mark Walsh 2-4 Justin Pipe
    Mark Hylton 4-2 Dennis Priestley
    John Henderson 4-2 Denis Ovens

Qualified
    Wes Newton
    John Henderson
    Mark Hylton
    Justin Pipe

Fair play to big hendo.good going considering he didnt qualify for the lakeside.would have been interesting to see john boy make it but anyway.

shockframe wrote: »
    Fair play to big hendo.good going considering he didnt qualify for the lakeside.would have been interesting to see john boy make it but anyway.
    Great to see John Henderson qualifying after a tough year on the BDO circuit. I read on a UK forum that Big Hendo is making a move to the PDC in the new year?

The Grand Slam draw will be made on Monday evening according to planet darts website.

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Great to see John Henderson qualifying after a tough year on the BDO circuit. I read on a UK forum that Big Hendo is making a move to the PDC in the new year?

How he does in the GSOD of darts will decide if he makes a move or not id say.

He can be an excellent player when on form but he only qualified for the lakeside twice in 7 years which is a fairly poor record.his doubles are terrible and combined with tv nerves has always held him back.

I dont know whether he will do any better with the pdc but he cant do worse than he has done in the bdo.

Not the easiest of throwers to watch either.doubt uncle barry was impressed with him qualifying.

shockframe wrote: »
    his doubles are terrible and combined with tv nerves has always held him back.

Thought you were talking about Anderson for a second there. Moving to the PDC has helped and improved him