Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thread in Politics forum about farming

• 01-11-2010 4:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭

Theres a very interesting debate going on over in the politics forum about farming in Ireland today - touches on things like size of farms and quality of brazilian beef. Thought some viewers of this forum might be interested:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056075328

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Heated debate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

'tis quite animated alright! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

They don't understand in that debate that farming is a living thing.

I stay out of those threads now as when the day comes I do genuinely hope they choke on their imported food. When Irish farms are turned into "factory farms" the same gombeens will be lamenting our passing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

johngalway wrote: »
    They don't understand in that debate that farming is a living thing.

I stay out of those threads now as when the day comes I do genuinely hope they choke on their imported food. When Irish farms are turned into "factory farms" the same gombeens will be lamenting our passing.
    Too true, in twenty to thirty years this will be reality, no more 50 herd dairies, more llike 500.
    If you dissagree, think how many farmers in your area there are under 40, now, how many of these have recently expanded or expect to in the next 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭paulaa

So where were you all when I needed some support :D

I'm sure many here could have put my points across much better than me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Too true, in twenty to thirty years this will be reality, no more 50 herd dairies, more llike 500.
    If you dissagree, think how many farmers in your area there are under 40, now, how many of these have recently expanded or expect to in the next 10 years.

I don't disagree with you at all. I see that at my local mart. Though, in fairness, there are a lot of young heads around too but they mostly have second jobs to get by.

I :rolleyes: at some of the suggestions in the other thread. If people had to pay the actual cost for food they'd soon get a nasty surprise. We're a high input cost business compared to other parts of the world. For me especially as I can't grow any type of forage, so anything needed is bought in.

The middlemen are the ones creaming it but try saying that and you'd be accused of being a scam artist. YET, they complain that big business gets the most of the subsidies they're against, but want more of them!
    paulaa wrote: »

I was there reading the posts, you done well. I thanked a lot of posts but felt I couldn't add anything better myself really. I also didn't want the frustration of arguing with those people.

Thanks John, I did see your thanks and I understand your frustration.

People like to dehumanize farmers and write us all off as a group of whingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

fair plat to tipp man, he put yer man back in his box..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

paulaa wrote: »

There is one member here that posts in farming & forestry now and again who didn't give you much support. It wouldn't be the first time I've witnessed him running with the fox and hunting with the hounds ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Anybody else think that these kind of arguements are just a complete waste of energy.

It's like a thick drunken arguement. Just waiting for the barman to go - "have ye any homes to go to..." :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Had forgotten about Angel Dust, only in Ireland would it be for sale on the black market for cattle not humans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

pakalasa wrote: »
    Anybody else think that these kind of arguements are just a complete waste of energy.

It's like a thick drunken arguement. Just waiting for the barman to go - "have ye any homes to go to..." :mad:
    Its difficult to see the people posting standing in front of each other and having a discussion. Just because its anonnomous(?) seems to be a spur for people to vent whatever bile is in their system at that moment. Fair play to paulaa though. She is well able but there isnt any point argueing with people on the fundementalist wing of anti farming IMO. Life is too short and the web too big

5live wrote: »
    Its difficult to see the people posting standing in front of each other and having a discussion. Just because its anonnomous(?) seems to be a spur for people to vent whatever bile is in their system at that moment. Fair play to paulaa though. She is well able but there isnt any point argueing with people on the fundementalist wing of anti farming IMO. Life is too short and the web too big

Thanks 5live. I agree with you and I don't know why I got myself sucked into that one, I usually ignore threads like that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Upstream

My favourite heated debate on farming.
    Reminds me of the saying "Never argue with an idiot, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience"