Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT Tomorrow, totally forgot!

• 01-11-2010 3:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭

I only just remembered that I have my NCT tomorrow.

Main points:
    1) My front tyres currently need replacing. So I know 100% that I will fail.

2) I would probably fail it anyway due to something or other. On my previous car everything passed with flying colours.... One guy went back to have a second look underneath the car for no apparent reason (he actually admitted this to me) and noticed a chaffed hose. FAIL. :rolleyes:

Should I cancel and re-arrange it or should I just go on in knowing I'll fail it? Let them tell me exactly what I need to get fixed before going in again.
    Is there any consequences to going in with pretty bald tyres?

btw, in case you're wondering.... I cant just go and replace the front two tyres. They need to be ordered in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Not being a smartass but why are you driving around with tyres that you know would fail the nct?Considering the weather we're having lately that's a pretty bad idea.

Anyway,thats not gonna help you.Is there nowhere you can get tyres today?Where are you located?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Buy a bus ticket to be honest. Then book it in and get your tyres, what car is it that the tyres need to be ordered?

P.S your car didnt pass with flying colours if you had a chafed brake hose :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Why not just go ahead and do it, if/when it fails on the tyres you'll just have to replace them and bring it back for a quick visual check. You'll also find out if there's anything else wrong that'll need to be done.

If you do it at a later stage you could go and replace the two tyres, bring it in and have it fail on something else anyway, which you'll then spend more time putting right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Not being a smartass but why are you driving around with tyres that you know would fail the nct?Considering the weather we're having lately that's a pretty bad idea.
    kona wrote: »
    Buy a bus ticket to be honest. Then book it in and get your tyres

Okay, when I say bald, I don't really mean completely bald. There's thread there, but I'm sure they'll fail the test. I've been meaning to get them changed. I've been injured for the last few weeks so haven't been driving much.
    It's the front two (on a rear wheel drive car) that are worn. The back two are pretty new.

I'm not the first person in the world to let the tyres on a little longer than required.
    Anyway,thats not gonna help you.Is there nowhere you can get tyres today?Where are you located?
    what car is it that the tyres need to be ordered?

I'm in Cork. A lot of cars these days have larger tyres. Some very specific ones. It's not unusual to need to order in tyres as they're costly to stock.

P.S your car didnt pass with flying colours if you had a chafed brake hose :rolleyes:

:rolleyes: indeed.... miss the point much?

stevenmu wrote: »
    Why not just go ahead and do it, if/when it fails on the tyres you'll just have to replace them and bring it back for a quick visual check. You'll also find out if there's anything else wrong that'll need to be done.

If you do it at a later stage you could go and replace the two tyres, bring it in and have it fail on something else anyway, which you'll then spend more time putting right.

Ya, that's my thinking as well. I was wondering whether that is "acceptable" or seen as wasting their time etc

Any chance they mark cars with illegal tyres as not to be driven away, tow truck only ? That would be a slight concern, dunno do they do it or not, if they are below 1.6mm you really shouldn't be on the road with them. Driving about on baldies is a total and utter disgrace really.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Any chance they mark cars with illegal tyres as not to be driven away, tow truck only ? That would be a slight concern, dunno do they do it or not, if they are below 1.6mm you really shouldn't be on the road with them. Driving about on baldies is a total and utter disgrace really.

Okay, I actually just went out to check the tyres there and they still have plenty thread on them for the most part. Well over 1.6mm in the centre of the tyre. It's just close to the edges of the tyre is quite bad due to the fact that I had traction issues for a while.
    I presume it would still fail because of that, but just letting ye know I'm not some reckless mad man going around on completely bald tyres.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Depends on how much there is

If the depth of tread is less than 1.6 mm in the central three-quarters of the tread pattern then it's a fail. If it's just the edges you should be ok.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

jimbling wrote: »
    ... It's just close to the edges of the tyre is quite bad due to the fact that I had traction issues for a while. ...
    Traction or tracking? Excessive wear out around the shoulders can be caused by tyre pressures too low; conversely excessive wear in the centre can be caused by tyre pressures too high.

If the wear is out around the shoulders the tyre can't clear water from the tread
    (by squirting water out sideways), increasing the possibility of aquaplaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

It never ceases to amaze me how people in this country throw a big hissy fit over a test as simple as the NCT. It's only 50 quid, has to be done bi-anually and if you keep your car in any sort of reasonable order it should fly through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Bring the car for the test... you're going to pay anyway and at least you'd know if there was anything else that needed doing..

Previous "traction issues" or not if the tyres are poor they shouldn't be on the road... excuses are grand until you mow down a few kids and then see how you feel.

Okay, when I say bald, I don't really mean completely bald. There's thread there, but I'm sure they'll fail the test. I've been meaning to get them changed. I've been injured for the last few weeks so haven't been driving much.
    It's the front two (on a rear wheel drive car) that are worn. The back two are pretty new.

I'm not the first person in the world to let the tyres on a little longer than required.

I'm in Cork. A lot of cars these days have larger tyres. Some very specific ones. It's not unusual to need to order in tyres as they're costly to stock.

:rolleyes: indeed.... miss the point much?

Yea , Darwin TBH.

FAIL.

Crazy, never have trouble with my car 99% of the time. First time going for NCT two months ago and my alternator packed up the night before. Got rescheduled for yesterday and stopped in my tracks on the way there with a cracked alloy :rolleyes:

btw: it was a rear alloy, nothing to do with the tyre situation. 19" alloys / low profile tyres on these god forsaken pot hole riddled roads :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

a cracked alloy

So it's a BMW, then?

FAIL.

Yes your car is a FAIL , no thanks to the driver too :rolleyes:

wtf is wrong with you..... jesus, are you 12?

So it's a BMW, then?

yes, indeed it is.... although I'm not sure that's going to prove whatever weird point your trying to make. The wheel is a replica.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Just for crack, can you tell us does all this mean you're driving around without a valid NCT ?

wtf is wrong with you..... jesus, are you 12?

Doesnt say much for you then :rolleyes:

Bald tyres, Oh Its gunna fly through... oh wait, ive a cracked alloy and a bogey alternator :rolleyes:

Cop on, If you cant afford the car get rid of it, running around on bald tyres, cracked alloys and god knows what the hell else is a good indication of your total inability to maintain a car, the NCT isnt even a standard of roadworthyness.

However Ive a fair idea it will take a brick wall or a lamp post to knock some sense into drivers like you.

although I'm not sure that's going to prove whatever weird point your trying to make.

Just that every time I hear "cracked alloy", it's a BMW.

Doesnt say much for you then :rolleyes:

Bald tyres, Oh Its gunna fly through... oh wait, ive a cracked alloy and a bogey alternator :rolleyes:

Cop on, If you cant afford the car get rid of it, running around on bald tyres, cracked alloys and god knows what the hell else is a good indication of your total inability to maintain a car, the NCT isnt even a standard of roadworthyness.

However Ive a fair idea it will take a brick wall or a lamp post to knock some sense into drivers like you.

Wow, just wow. You can't actually be serious????

Okay, very slowly..... so you can understand.

1) I NEVER stated that it was going to fly through an NCT.... at all. Not even out of context. In fact, I stated the opposite.
    2) I am not driving around on bald tyres. Read the thread. They are in fact above the legal limit.
    3) An alloy cracked. Oh my god. First time that's ever happened I'd say. :rolleyes:
    Also, just so you know... you cant really drive around on a cracked alloy. Quite dangerous. That's why I stopped, cancelled my NCT, called for assistance and got it fixed.
    4) I do not have a bogey alternator. Two months ago the alternator stopped keeping my battery charged. I brought the car to a BMW specialist and it was fixed immediately.
    5) My car gets serviced every 6 thousand miles. It is very well maintained.

Now please leave this thread alone and stop trolling.

Just that every time I hear "cracked alloy", it's a BMW.

I'm pretty surprised by that. I've been looking around the last few days (as I probably have to get a full new set) and the replica wheels seem to be the ones that get damaged and crack easily.

But to be fair, all alloys run the risk of cracking. And the larger the wheel (which means lower profile tyres) the larger the risk of cracking. Especially with the condition our roads are in today.

Reloc8 wrote: »
    Just for crack, can you tell us does all this mean you're driving around without a valid NCT ?

Yes it does. The last time I had to cancel my NCT they gave me this date. This meant I would be out of date. I spoke to a police officer and he told me it was no problem. Just keep the letter from the NCT in the car and there wouldn't be any issue.

I'm pretty surprised by that.

Really? I thought it was well known.

Hmm, typing "cracked alloy" into Google throws up a lot of results mentioning BMWs.

Really? I thought it was well known.

Hmm, typing "cracked alloy" into Google throws up a lot of results mentioning BMWs.

I think that's more to do with the fact that BMW don't cover it as part of their warranty.

EDIT: Dont get me wrong. I genuinely don't know whether BMW are renowned for poor alloys or not. It's possible. But I've never heard of it. And I know the OEM BMW alloys are a lot stronger than most of the replicas out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

How did you get on? Just saw the thread now :D

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Main points:

2) I would probably fail it anyway due to something or other. On my previous car everything passed with flying colours.... One guy went back to have a second look underneath the car for no apparent reason (he actually admitted this to me) and noticed a chaffed hose. FAIL. :rolleyes:

Should I cancel and re-arrange it or should I just go on in knowing I'll fail it? Let them tell me exactly what I need to get fixed before going in again.
    Is there any consequences to going in with pretty bald tyres?

btw, in case you're wondering.... I cant just go and replace the front two tyres. They need to be ordered in.

you are going to pay if you cancel so you might as well get the test done and see what else you might need to get done. good luck.

bladespin wrote: »
    How did you get on? Just saw the thread now :D

Well, read on good sir.... tis a fantastic tale.

Fate intervened (see earlier post) and I never made it to the NCT centre. Have to re-schedule the test.

hondasam wrote: »
    you are going to pay if you cancel so you might as well get the test done and see what else you might need to get done. good luck.

See above.

Fate intervened (see earlier post) and I never made it to the NCT centre. Have to re-schedule the test.

See above.

sorry better luck next time.:)

Wow, just wow. You can't actually be serious????

Okay, very slowly..... so you can understand.

1) I NEVER stated that it was going to fly through an NCT.... at all. Not even out of context. In fact, I stated the opposite.
    2) I am not driving around on bald tyres. Read the thread. They are in fact above the legal limit.
    3) An alloy cracked. Oh my god. First time that's ever happened I'd say. :rolleyes:
    Also, just so you know... you cant really drive around on a cracked alloy. Quite dangerous. That's why I stopped, cancelled my NCT, called for assistance and got it fixed.
    4) I do not have a bogey alternator. Two months ago the alternator stopped keeping my battery charged. I brought the car to a BMW specialist and it was fixed immediately.
    5) My car gets serviced every 6 thousand miles. It is very well maintained.

Now please leave this thread alone and stop trolling.

You have bald tyres. Your car is not well maintained. Servicing every 6k is the norm, doesnt mean its well kept, its just serviced properly.

I find you whole attitude to be full of condascending ****e tbh, your the one driving with no NCT and Bald tyres, not me.
    I dont want to have my insurance premium go up because people like you are too tight to maintain their cars.

Glad to see you stopped with the cracked alloy, but yet deem your car safe with bald tyres. :confused: I still find it hard to believe that somebody who has a "well maintained car" can allow thread to go below the minimum and even if it has not be able to order or get a set of tyres.
    You do know you can do the NCT 3 months before its due?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Jesus .. starting to hate boards...

Can't people just answer the original question rather than throw in their two cents, regardless of what their 'feelings' are.

IMO the NCT is a pile of shi*te anyway, nothing to stop you sticking on a spare set of tyres and a swapping back to bald ones later.

Servicing Every 6k is not Normal, an inspection at weekly, monthly etc is normal, service would be between 10 and 20k depending on the Oil/Endinge Type etc.

If i service every 6k i'd be servicing my car every 6 weeks.

Better luck with the next test, hope it goes well. Amazing how the bad stuff always seem to happen just before it, has a screen washedbottle break on mine the day before (how often does that happen :confused:), halfords for a new one and all ran smooth.

You have bald tyres. Your car is not well maintained. Servicing every 6k is the norm, doesnt mean its well kept, its just serviced properly.

I find you whole attitude to be full of condascending ****e tbh, your the one driving with no NCT and Bald tyres, not me.
    I dont want to have my insurance premium go up because people like you are too tight to maintain their cars.

Glad to see you stopped with the cracked alloy, but yet deem your car safe with bald tyres. :confused: I still find it hard to believe that somebody who has a "well maintained car" can allow thread to go below the minimum and even if it has not be able to order or get a set of tyres.

Oh, would you just stop, his tyres were ok, he's repeatedly said that.

Servicing Every 6k is not Normal, an inspection at weekly, monthly etc is normal, service would be between 10 and 20k depending on the Oil/Endinge Type etc.

If i service every 6k i'd be servicing my car every 6 weeks.

Erm what car has a 20k service interval?
    Mine is serviced every 5k as instructed by owners manual.

also you do 142KM a day? :o

Oh, would you just stop, his tyres were ok, he's repeatedly said that.

Main points:

you do 142KM a day? :o

I do 166 km total in and out of work. That's down from 250 earlier in the year. Service every 20K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Longlife service Interval is 20,000km or a specific Time Period on some cars.

I do 128km each way thats 256km each day, 1024km / week (4 day week, 1 day from home)

Excluding my normal driving of course.

Every 5k .. what exactly does it say a service is ?
    Only ever heard of that kind of carry on in the United States

Jesus .. starting to hate boards...

Can't people just answer the original question rather than throw in their two cents, regardless of what their 'feelings' are.

Couldn't agree more. But some people enjoy being on a high horse, even when it's a make believe one.

Ya, and did you go on and not read a single other post or something??
    You've talked complete nonsense from start to finish in this thread.

Just for the sake of it
    Okay, I actually just went out to check the tyres there and they still have plenty thread on them for the most part. Well over 1.6mm in the centre of the tyre. It's just close to the edges of the tyre is quite bad due to the fact that I had traction issues for a while.
    I presume it would still fail because of that, but just letting ye know I'm not some reckless mad man going around on completely bald tyres.

If there's more than 1.6 mm across the main thread the tyre isn't bald, it's quite acceptable and legal.

Ya, and did you go on and not read a single other post or something??
    You've talked complete nonsense from start to finish in this thread.

Dont really need to listen to somebody trying to justify it tbh. Its black and white.
    Now the thread has gone to tit for tat, maybe your should go get new tyres and get your NCT?

Longlife service Interval is 20,000km or a specific Time Period on some cars.

I do 128km each way thats 256km each day, 1024km / week (4 day week, 1 day from home)

Excluding my normal driving of course.

Every 5k .. what exactly does it say a service is ?
    Only ever heard of that kind of carry on in the United States

Change oil and filter every 5k. The plugs and leads I usually do every 15k and ive K&N filter so clean that every 5k.

Whats the craic with this Longlife service? is it on German cars or what? 20k seems abit mad to me.

I do 150km everyday. 5k seems a bit much. I have longlife service.

You are WRONG.
    You find MY attitude condescending. Seriously? Now you're having a laugh. :eek:
    I'm driving Cars and Motoribikes for 15 years without a problem. I can assure you, nobody's insurance premiums are going up because of me.

Dear god. I mean, dear god. :confused:

Yes. Yes I do.

Every single one of your posts in this thread have been off topic, abrasive and borderline troll material.

Not to attack the poster, but your posts make you look mentally challenged. Either start acting your age (I'm presuming you're old enough to drive) or please leave this thread.

Change oil and filter every 5k. The plugs and leads I usually do every 15k and ive K&N filter so clean that every 5k.

Whats the craic with this Longlife service? is it on German cars or what? 20k seems abit mad to me.

The K&N needs to be cleaned every 50k give or take.

I wouldn't trust a longlife service (probably ok but I'm mechanically sympathetic).

The K&N needs to be cleaned every 50k give or take.

I know but since it costs nothing as Ive the cleaning kit I just do it anyways, doesnt take long.

I wouldn't trust a longlife service (probably ok but I'm mechanically sympathetic).

Yea I dont really get it either, Id love to see the Quality Assurance from the companies that offer these services and if it actually affects the durability.

You are WRONG.

You find MY attitude condescending. Seriously? Now you're having a laugh. :eek:

I'm driving Cars and Motoribikes for 15 years without a problem. I can assure you, nobody's insurance premiums are going up because of me.

Dear god. I mean, dear god. :confused:

Yes. Yes I do.

Every single one of your posts in this thread have been off topic, abrasive and borderline troll material.

Not to attack the poster, but your posts make you look mentally challenged. Either start acting your age (I'm presuming you're old enough to drive) or please leave this thread.

Yes miss.

It's a boggo Ford, 20K's been standard for a long time. If I was servicing every 5K I'd be doing it 10 times a year.

Hang on, you wouldn't be talking in Leagues or Miles or one of those old measurements, would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭WacoKid

stevenmu wrote: »

Agreed. Just whack it thru and then fix the faults ;)

It's a boggo Ford, 20K's been standard for a long time. If I was servicing every 5K I'd be doing it 10 times a year.

Hang on, you wouldn't be talking in Leagues or Miles or one of those old measurements, would you?

is it petrol of diesel? does it have much mileage? I know for people doing high mileage , servicing at 5k would be 10 times a year, but if thats whats the reccomended interval, IMO thats the bottom line.
    Luckily I cycle into work, so dont need so clock up huge mileage.