Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Lee: what has happened to him?

• 31-10-2010 1:54am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭

Anybody know where he is now, or what he's doing? I heard him on the radio presenting some marginal business programme some weekend back, and that's about it. He seems to have thrown away a quite privileged and successful career. I was just thinking today that his very sudden departure not only from the Blueshirts but from the Dáil was the action of a very, very desperate man.

Anybody know what the real story to it all is? For instance, it would have been acceptable for him to leave Fine Gael and stay on as an Independent - but he just threw in the whole towel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

In most countries Lee would go back to his original broadcasting job.
    In Ireland though he's a "spoiled TD", the modern incarnation of the "spoiled priest"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Well they couldn't put him back in his original job, given that he'd just been a member of one of the main political parties.

(Plus he still had that big sulky childs puss on him...news is bad enough without that looking out at ye...when the dust settles and the moods off him they might stick him back on the tv)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

He's presenting The Business Show on Radio One at 10AM every saturday morning...... He's not as good as John Murray to be honest... Just killing his time in purgatory until he's drafted back into the economics department..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭deanh

Rebelheart wrote: »
    - but he just threw in the whole towel.

seems to be the story of his life judging by all of the career changes on his c.v., most infamously the 1 day he spent as an economic advisor to a financial services company in the 1990s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

he joined the wrong party so he has to warm the subs bench for a while until RTE pardon him. In fairness it was his decision to leave so he shouldnt expect to get his old gig back, especially if it means demoting others to put him back where he was.

Personally I would like to see him back in a prominent role again, even if it was political commentary more so than economic. I wonder if he has it in him to host a decent current affairs programme, something a bit more hard hitting than the tame prime time or frontline. I'm not particularly concerned about bias as I feel he joined FG purely as they were the largest alternative to the current Gov. I think he would be equally critical of all the main parties, assuming hes big enough to stop sulking. Even if he doesnt get a regular prominent role I wouldnt mind seeing a few documentaries etc on Dail workings and his thoughts on making politics more efficient. Maybe that would be biased but I'd still like to see it. I hope RTE find some way to utilise him anyway, although whatever they have him do could make or break him depending how bitter or objective he comes across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

He's sitting around in Montrose with Charlie Bird chewing the fat and laughing at how easy it is to get ones well paid job back at our over staffed state broadcaster after having a hissy fit and pitting out his dummy in that other bastion of hard work and over payment in Kildare Street. He presents one hour of radio a week. Oh. And Charlie presents none! Can't be bad for two guys who couldn't hack it in the outside world.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

He took offence because he didnt become Taoiseach in his first week, now he has his cushy number to fall back on which is something the man in the street doesn't have. I've no sympathy for the man whatsoever. Just a celebrity candidate like Dana nearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

RTE have him tucked away doing some Saturady morning radio 1 show. Until his political bias time limit passes for him to return to his economic profile for the RTE News!

I wish I had a state organisation sponsor, who would keep a job for me, if I want to take an other career option or chance, just in case it does not work out!:rolleyes:

RTE = Jobs for the Boys!:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

More importantly, what will he tell his children ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

sesna wrote: »
    More importantly, what will he tell his children ?
    Yeah :D I remember his whiny speech where he was on about being able to tell his kids and Grand kids that he tried.... I guess he'll just tell them that the big bad Pigs politicians wouldn't move over and make room for him at the trough so he took his bat and ball and went back to his even cushier and better paid number at RTE.