Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fu**ing fireworks!!!!

• 30-10-2010 10:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭

Took two hours to put the baby asleep this evening and some thick, inconsiderate chav cnuts have just decided to let fireworks off in the back garden of the house across the road, waking him up :mad:

Anyone know whether they can be warned by the Gards for doing this? I don't mind them letting them off during the day or early evening (if it amuses the morons), but starting their own little fireworks party after 11 o'clock at night is just taking the p*ss.

Is there a law about this kind of thing? If they wake the baby up again, I might find myself knocking seven shades of sh!t out of the bastards just out of pure insomnia driven rage.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Living in the country is great, when ever I hear the loud bang of fireworks I just fire back. Soon puts a stop to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Tell me about it man, it's like I'm being shelled in a trench in WW1 over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Do you not remember what its like to be young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

To my understanding yes there are laws against this being illegal. i.e. fireworks are illegal in ROI. Problem is the Gardai have too many complaints around this time of year they almost ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

but its just one or 2 nights a year, we didnt mean to wake your baby sorry about that luv.

Honestly thats sucks, but its just one or 2 nights a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Saila wrote: »
    Honestly thats sucks, but its just one or 2 nights a year

One or two nights??

It's been going on here almost every night since the first week of October.

One or two nights??

It's been going on here almost every night since the first week of October.

in the neighbours back garden at 11pm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

No fireworks here tonight. It is very quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭CavanCrew

On a lighter note...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vlLgvQErn6o

This lullaby should send the Baba off ta sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭babs.jones

Some little bollox threw a fire work at my house. Trying to get the decorations I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Took two hours to put the baby asleep this evening and some thick, inconsiderate chav cnuts have just decided to let fireworks off in the back garden of the house across the road, waking him up :mad:

Anyone know whether they can be warned by the Gards for doing this? I don't mind them letting them off during the day or early evening (if it amuses the morons), but starting their own little fireworks party after 11 o'clock at night is just taking the p*ss.

Is there a law about this kind of thing? If they wake the baby up again, I might find myself knocking seven shades of sh!t out of the bastards just out of pure insomnia driven rage.....

chill out, you want to get some kids arrested just because of a few fireworks ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It's your own fault for having kids.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

The last 2 weeks have been crazy. Bangers going off untill 2am some nights.

Havent heard one tonight tho. Hope the pricks ran out of them or blew their hands off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

lotsa love here tonight:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Zynks

Try to keep it in perspective. In a few years it might be your son with the fireworks and those 'cnuts' giving out 'cause their babies are sleeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Why haven't they been legalised? So silly. Think of the economic benefit as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Really such begrudgery , don't be so judgemental - youthful high spirits is all it is :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Christ I'd love some bangers, you know those ones you strike off the match box and nearly **** yourself in the process cos everyone knows of someone who had one immediately blow up in their hand
    Fear makes things better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I wish the gardaí would do something about it, they've been going mad with them here by the last month and it's sending every dog in the neighbourhood mad. There were some gurriers throwing them into the road earlier.

kylith wrote: »
    I wish the gardaí would do something about it, they've been going mad with them here by the last month and it's sending every dog in the neighbourhood mad. There were some gurriers throwing them into the road earlier.

Move to the sticks. It's more civilised.

If you'll give me a house I will happily move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

kylith wrote: »
    If you'll give me a house I will happily move.

I'll rent you a loft. Free as long as you feed cows and build walls. Idyllic some would say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

chill out, you want to get some kids arrested just because of a few fireworks ?

Are fireworks not illegal?

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Are fireworks not illegal?

Yeah , but so is stealing apples from peoples apple trees - never stopped me ! Like I said - letting off fireworks is just youthful high spirits. Honestly some people sound like Victor Meldrew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭google faps

delancey42 wrote: »
    Yeah , but so is stealing apples from peoples apple trees - never stopped me ! Like I said - letting off fireworks is just youthful high spirits. Honestly some people sound like Victor Meldrew.
    Bill cullen is formulating a letter to hi solicitors as we speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

Oooh I wish I was a punkrocker with fireworks in my haaaaaaair

Put cotton wool in the baby's ears - problem sorted , I think that's a clever solution , who agrees with me ?

delancey42 wrote: »
    Put cotton wool in the baby's ears - problem sorted , I think that's a clever solution , who agrees with me ?

All children should be wrapped in cotton wool until they are 18.

I think it's a great way to prepare them for life as an adult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

hey man. chill the beans. It will be all over soon.

fireworks are great craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

We dont use the word chav, this is Ireland. Its skanger or knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭stephenmarr

christ people need to lighten up
    im sure your child has annoyed people when he/she cries in public.
    yeah fireworks are annoying but so are babies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

My son (20months) just looks at the pretty colours. Not too mad about the noise though. It is not the fireworks that annoy me, but the little scumbags using them. I live right next to the largest scumbag population in South Dublin, and the Tescos closest me is there.

I had to go there yesterday evening, (early, because my momma didn't raise no fool!) and on our way home, 15 young teens walked by and then from about 4 meters behind me and my son (who was in his buggy) they set off a small firework, the noise went right through me, terrified my son too. And 4 young boys (no older than 12 I'd say) set of bangers and then ran across 4 lanes of traffic so not to be vindicated.

I love fireworks and if my son is woken because of them tonight we are bringing him onto the balcony and showing him them. But it is irresponsible idiots that get me, can they not do it in a garden, near a road, or near pedestrians. Do it in a park or something!

They should be punished for the use of them in a crowded area! It is not fair on animals, children and parents. But the majority that went off here last night were in the park so that was no where near as bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭liverpool100

Seem four teenage boys drop a firework which took 8-10 seconds to go off by which time they were gone in jervis centre friday evening. the noise out of it and the look of fear on small kids was awful to see.

i hope jervis look on cctv to see who involved and at least ban them from centre for life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Scum the lot of them. Never used fireworks when i was younger alway's thought they where for scummers.

christ people need to lighten up
    im sure your child has annoyed people when he/she cries in public.
    yeah fireworks are annoying but so are babies

Babies aren't illegal. Babies can't be heard for several miles around. Babies can't blow up in in someone's face and disfigure them. Most babies are in bed after 11 P.M, therefore not annoying anyone else in public with their crying. Babies are human, in fact, you used to be one yourself.

Comparing the two really shows up your intelligence - or complete lack of it.

I'll lighten up as soon as you wise up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Babies can't blow up in in someone's face and disfigure them.

Imagine that! :o

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    My son (20months) just looks at the pretty colours. Not too mad about the noise though. It is not the fireworks that annoy me, but the little scumbags using them.

I love fireworks and if my son is woken because of them tonight we are bringing him onto the balcony and showing him them. But it is irresponsible idiots that get me, can they not do it in a garden, near a road, or near pedestrians. Do it in a park or something!

They should be punished for the use of them in a crowded area! It is not fair on animals, children and parents. But the majority that went off here last night were in the park so that was no where near as bad!

Yeah, this is my point. Most people love a good fireworks display - they're lovely to look at. I'll leave the kids up every New Years Eve to watch the fireworks, no problem.

However, it's the inconsiderate scumbags who feel to let them off indiscriminately in housing estates, streets, etc. late at night throughout the whole of October, without any regard for the people living around them, who get my heckles up.

It's not about spoiling their 'fun', it's about the complete lack of any consideration for those living around them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

The couple next door have just had a little baby three days ago.I have Know someone with very large rockets.They know this person with the said rockets too ,so I will go in and ask them if it's ok for the person in question to let them off tonight.If it's not ,the person with the rockets will be driving to dublin to go nuts for a while.;)

gsxr1 wrote: »
    hey man. chill the beans. It will be all over soon.
    Unfortunately it won't. I know from experience that they will tail off a bit in November, but be back with a vengence in December for the run up to New Year. If it was just Halloween night and New Year's eve I wouldn't mind, but my nerves are getting shot at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Mits

I think fireworks are great and I resent the nanny state making them illegal.

I always had fireworks at Halloween but in the last two years I haven't bothered. The be honest this has ruined Halloween for me and reduced the enjoyment for my kids and friends.

I can understand the annoyance of the inconsiderate use of them, but they are just scumbags and the rest of the people who like them should not be should be allowed to enjoy them.

You can't please everyone but this country is a joke e.g. dog muzzles, dogs banned from beach, no fires on beach ( barbarecue, scounts, party, ) inappropriate speed limits, restricted drinking times, etc, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Yes Mits we are now a nanny state. Because we have too many young scumbags injuring themselves, costing the HSE money and trying to sue.

If we did not become a state of Sue Sue Sue, we would not be forced to act in this manner. I believe if you are dumb enough to grip a firework/bangers in your hand then you deserve what happens! Survival of the fittest me thinks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    ! Survival of the fittest me thinks!

Natural selection more like, unless of course its faulty.

To be honest i think its ridiculous that they are still illegal, since i was a kid everyone ive ever know has had no problem getting them.
    The guards complain about them, launch safety campaigns on safe use and warn pet owners about the dangers of leaving animals outside etc.

If they legalized them they would get a lot of tax off the sale when they are doing the campaign anyway, could even produce them here and create a few jobs, sell them for haloween and Christmas.

I mean its well know that its over a €1million thing as is and they are illegal are the government so blind that they can't see that wasting so much on trying to take them off the public and "disposing " of them all they have to do is legalize them claim tax and regulate the sale (license of some sort) and haloween would be much more enjoyable for everyone.

my 2c anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭KingMambo26

It's all great craic if they do it in the park at night when there's nobody around to get injured, scared sh*tless, etc. not so great fun when the knackers throw them at front doors in the middle of the afternoon as I witnessed yesterday. It's neither great fun when they put them through you letterbox at 9pm as it happened to us on Saturday night.