Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbag kids trick or treating...

• 30-10-2010 7:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

Sometimes you get the odd decent kid putting effort into their costume and they might even sing you an odd song, it's especially cute if they little kids are shy! Deserve a quid and a mars bar or whatever. But most of the time it's young scumbag kids who put no effort into anything and just ask for free money.

A few years ago about 10 little knackerlings called to the door, not one of them was dressed up (I think one little kid had a green 2euro shop mask on). I was broke, had about 1 euro on me, so I gave it to the kid with the mask. The rest of them said "What about me bai gimme supm!" I said I didn't have anyting, so they told me to go **** myself. Little 5 year olds! Imagine. The worst thing was, their mothers were standing on the path with their buggies just laughing at them. "Aww isn't that cute? Little Jacinta told the cnut to go fcuk himself!"

So glad I'm not in Ireland for Halloween. Do you give trick or treaters money? Have you had any problems with these little scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I usually challenge them to a water fight......."hang on there 2 mins til i go and boil the kettle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

How do you know that wasn't all part of the act?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

I have never been offered nor given money to trick or treaters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

If you answer the door on Halloween and don't have anything to give the kids then you deserve whatever you get. Disable the doorbell and don't answer the door or just go out for a few hours. Alternatively, you can just buy a couple of bags of sweets and hand them out like normal people do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

If you answer the door on Halloween and don't have anything to give the kids then you deserve whatever you get. Disable the doorbell and don't answer the door or just go out for a few hours. Alternatively, you can just buy a couple of bags of sweets and hand them out like normal people do.

So when a group of little knacker kids turn up at my door without costumes or even a sing song and rudely demand money - I should give it to them? Fcuk that. As I said I have no problem giving sweets to kids who make an effort - but it's the little scumbags who deserve nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I like to stand in my hall and ween kids of sweets by giving them apples and nuts. That's what it's all about right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Giving them money? God help the poor kids who arrive on your doorstep after doing their Communion!! A bag of sweets to lodge in their junior savings account!!!!!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

Money for trick r treaters!!??????

0verblood wrote: »
    So when a group of little knacker kids turn up at my door without costumes or even a sing song and rudely demand money - I should give it to them? Fcuk that. As I said I have no problem giving sweets to kids who make an effort - but it's the little scumbags who deserve nothing.

Who said anything about money? I've never known anyone who gives money for Halloween. You give kids treats because they scare away all the angry ghosts of our ancestors who hate us for what we've done to the country. Also, if you don't give them treats most kids with a bit of cop on will put a banger in the letterbox, egg your house, or toilet paper your trees if you're lucky enough to have any. Give them some sweets and tell them to dress up next year or they won't get anything. Or maybe you could buy some cheap plastic masks and hand those out to the kids with no costumes. Halloween is more for them, not for you. Get over yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Ozwald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

If u don't want kids calling, just spraypaint PAEDO SCUM!!! over your front door / car etc...

Then sit back and enjoy your undisturbed evening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I am also aghast at this giving of money, wtf??!! I could imagine how that would attract undesirables from all corners to your door...parents 'n all

Cream pies ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

The simple solution is to not answer your door unless you are expecting someone. The only unexpected calls to your house will be people wanting money, whether they are trick or treaters/charities/tv license inspector etc.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Loving the Paedo Scum idea :D lol

Alternatively you could just go into Lidl or Aldi and stock up on the cheap sweets they pedal and have them in a bucket by the door..

I would NEVER hand money out to trick or treaters :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Jesus H..... social welfare thread much!! Nasty little kids with nastier mothers give everyone a bad name. :rolleyes:

I think a large number of AH posters should just move house to a nicer area where you don't get that sort of carry on. You must live in the scummiest places imaginable for all the stories you tell about people to be true. :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Jesus H..... social welfare thread much!! Nasty little kids with nastier mothers give everyone a bad name. :rolleyes:

I think a large number of AH posters should just move house to a nicer area where you don't get that sort of carry on. You must live in the scummiest places imaginable for all the stories you tell about people to be true. :D

You don't have to live in a 'scummy' estate to have knackers calling to your door..

'Have legs, will tavel'... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

xzanti wrote: »
    You don't have to live in a 'scummy' estate to have knackers calling to your door..

'Have legs, will tavel'... ;)

I think by knackers/scumbags the OP meant working class. They were kids, ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

It's been my experience that when asked the traveller kids will treat for their goodies, unlike some of the middle class brats in their perfect down to the last tiara costumes. Children are children and none of them are nasty unless confronted by nastiness first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

I do not hand money out at the door ,full stop! they can have sweets or they can feck 0ff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I dont know how loaded you are OP,but if I was to give money,even a 50c or a euro to every trick or treater who called to my door I'd be very broke,very quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

whiskeyman wrote: »
    If u don't want kids calling, just spraypaint PAEDO SCUM!!! over your front door / car etc...

Then sit back and enjoy your undisturbed evening...
    Or the "Garda crime scene" plastic tape all over your door :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Are you serious? Most kids with cop on would do what? Is this how you tell your kids to act if they don't get treats?
    Who said anything about money? I've never known anyone who gives money for Halloween. You give kids treats because they scare away all the angry ghosts of our ancestors who hate us for what we've done to the country. Also, if you don't give them treats most kids with a bit of cop on will put a banger in the letterbox, egg your house, or toilet paper your trees if you're lucky enough to have any. Give them some sweets and tell them to dress up next year or they won't get anything. Or maybe you could buy some cheap plastic masks and hand those out to the kids with no costumes. Halloween is more for them, not for you. Get over yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

It's been my experience that when asked the traveller kids will treat for their goodies, unlike some of the middle class brats in their perfect down to the last tiara costumes. Children are children and none of them are nasty unless confronted by nastiness first.

If only that were the case. Unfortunately it's not and there are kids who gather in groups and intimidate elderly people or other unfortunate people who are in the wrong place at the wrong time.

With regards to the TrT it's best not to answer the door if you have nothing to give. But it's not going to break the bank to buy some buckets of sweet treats. The days of giving nuts and apples etc are long gone. Chocolate bars and candy are the order of the day now.

I really don't know what to say here.
    You think encouraging kids to be aggressive and vandalising things in exchange for what they want is a good thing? Really? No wonder we have problems with kids these days if this is the attitude :confused:
    As for the following line - tell them next year they won't get anything - well then I guess any kids with cop on next year will still vandalise the place :rolleyes:

In MY day if a house didn't give treats the kids would say "oh don't go to so-and-so's house, they don't have anything waste of time" and move on. Not act like little thugs.

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Are you serious? Most kids with cop on would do what? Is this how you tell your kids to act if they don't get treats?

Hehe, I grew up in the U.S. and that's what kids do. I don't think the Irish fully understand the concept of "trick or treat". You give the kids a treat or they play a trick on you, which usually comes in the form of eggs on your door or toilet paper in your trees. I guess it's a tradition based on myths of malevolent spirits that come out on Halloween night, that's why you light jack-o-lanterns and use fireworks to keep them away. Maybe you should research what Halloween is and you'll get a better idea of what it's all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Unfortunately it's not and there are kids who gather in groups and intimidate elderly people or other unfortunate people who are in the wrong place at the wrong time.

According to the OP the kids were five. Ill-bred brats maybe but scumbags is a bit harsh for five-year olds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

theteal wrote: »

Cream pies ftw!

You really should only try that when they are over 18 and agree to that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

When did the phrase "Trick or treat?" become the accepted norm in Ireland?

When I was growing up we said "Help the Hallowe'en party!" and all we got was fruit and nuts, popcorn if we were lucky.

bluewolf wrote: »
    I really don't know what to say here.
    You think encouraging kids to be aggressive and vandalising things in exchange for what they want is a good thing? Really? No wonder we have problems with kids these days if this is the attitude :confused:
    As for the following line - tell them next year they won't get anything - well then I guess any kids with cop on next year will still vandalise the place :rolleyes:

In MY day if a house didn't give treats the kids would say "oh don't go to so-and-so's house, they don't have anything waste of time" and move on. Not act like little thugs.

Overreact much? It's eggs and toilet paper, they're not breaking windows or kicking in doors. I doubt you knew what Halloween was even about back in "your day". Halloween wasn't even really celebrated in this country until recently because of the Catholic Church. It's one of the few pagan holidays they didn't hijack because it's a celebration of the dead and the darker side of life. Read my previous post. As I said, maybe the Irish just don't get it yet. It's not just dressing up and handing out candy to kids.
    At the time of mass transatlantic Irish and Scottish immigration that popularized Halloween in North America, Halloween in Ireland and Scotland had a strong tradition of guising and pranks.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samhain#Gaelic_folklore

Pretty ironic that the tradition started in Ireland yet some people here have no clue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Hehe, I grew up in the U.S.

I'm sorry for your troubles

Hehe, I grew up in the U.S. and that's what kids do. I don't think the Irish fully understand the concept of "trick or treat". You give the kids a treat or they play a trick on you, which usually comes in the form of eggs on your door or toilet paper in your trees.
    That's not a "trick", that's out and out vandalism

Overreact much? It's eggs and toilet paper, they're not breaking windows or kicking in doors. I doubt you knew what Halloween was even about back in "your day". Halloween wasn't even really celebrated in this country until recently because of the Catholic Church. It's one of the few pagan holidays they didn't hijack because it's a celebration of the dead and the darker side of life. Read my previous post. As I said, maybe the Irish just don't get it yet. It's not just dressing up and handing out candy to kids.
    Right, we've never had Samhain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I hate this American "trick or treat" nonsense. Years ago you'd call to someones house and if they didn't give you sweets or money you'd just accept it and move on. As far as I'm concerned throwing eggs at someones house is vandalism and shouldn't be tolerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Children don't come to my house because the dogs bark, but I buy sweets anyway just in case someone is brave enough to knock in. If they do they get all the sweets. So far no kid has done it so I get a load of sweeties November 1st :D

bluewolf wrote: »
    That's not a "trick", that's out and out vandalism

God forbid you should have to wash a few eggs off the door.
    Right, we've never had Samhain

Yeah, you missed my edit.
    At the time of mass transatlantic Irish and Scottish immigration that popularized Halloween in North America, Halloween in Ireland and Scotland had a strong tradition of guising and pranks.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samhain#Gaelic_folklore

Egging a house is a prank, I'd hardly call it vandalism. You must have led a fairly protected life, eh?

I'm sorry for your troubles

No troubles for me, I enjoyed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Every year on Halloween, All the young kids go trick or treating. The teenagers go throwing eggs and flour and bangers. It's just the way it is. Here and in the U.S, been like that for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭jetpack101

WYou give kids treats because they scare away all the angry ghosts of our ancestors who hate us for what we've done to the country.
    :D:D
    With the ****e we are in now it will be the spirits themselves ringing your door bell with the works "what the **** are you lot up to"

I'm sure we could generate electricity from them spinning in there graves :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

If anyone has enough money to buy eggs and throw them at someones house why don't they buy their own sweets? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Hehe, I grew up in the U.S. and that's what kids do. I don't think the Irish fully understand the concept of "trick or treat". You give the kids a treat or they play a trick on you, which usually comes in the form of eggs on your door or toilet paper in your trees. I guess it's a tradition based on myths of malevolent spirits that come out on Halloween night, that's why you light jack-o-lanterns and use fireworks to keep them away. Maybe you should research what Halloween is and you'll get a better idea of what it's all about.

Am I right in thinking that, In the US, it would be rare enough for kids to 'trick' anyone, as the majority of households would be well prepared and stocked up for the evening that's in it anyway? It's a big event in the American calender.

It's all a bit of fun, anyways. I don't know why anyone would begrudge handing out a few sweets to the kids one evening a year. My children always come back with the few obligatory apples, nuts and satsumas in the bag as well, so not all junk. Although, in fairness, those items are more often than not just left festering at the bottom of the bag, whilst the goodies are consumed with gusto!

Definitely wouldn't be handing out money though....

Am I right in thinking that, In the US, it would be rare enough for kids to 'trick' anyone, as the majority of households would be well prepared and stocked up for the evening that's in it anyway? It's a big event in the American calender.

Yeah, pretty much. The tricks are usually reserved for the houses that refuse to hand out candy year after year. It was usually the ultra religious Christian houses that got the most toilet paper. It's a huge holiday over there with haunted houses and all sorts of stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

TonyD79 wrote: »
    Giving them money? God help the poor kids who arrive on your doorstep after doing their Communion!! A bag of sweets to lodge in their junior savings account!!!!!!:rolleyes:

Sorry what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

iki/Samhain#Gaelic_folklore[/url]

Egging a house is a prank, I'd hardly call it vandalism. You must have led a fairly protected life, eh?

I would call it vandalism. Eggs are very difficult to wash off once dried

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

0verblood wrote: »
    Sometimes you get the odd decent kid putting effort into their costume and they might even sing you an odd song, it's especially cute if they little kids are shy! Deserve a quid and a mars bar or whatever. But most of the time it's young scumbag kids who put no effort into anything and just ask for free money.

A few years ago about 10 little knackerlings called to the door, not one of them was dressed up (I think one little kid had a green 2euro shop mask on). I was broke, had about 1 euro on me, so I gave it to the kid with the mask. The rest of them said "What about me bai gimme supm!" I said I didn't have anyting, so they told me to go **** myself. Little 5 year olds! Imagine. The worst thing was, their mothers were standing on the path with their buggies just laughing at them. "Aww isn't that cute? Little Jacinta told the cnut to go fcuk himself!"

So glad I'm not in Ireland for Halloween. Do you give trick or treaters money? Have you had any problems with these little scumbags?

Another reason why living in the countryside is superior to living in Dublin and housing estates generally.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Anyway, any time I hear the term "trick or treat" I think of this massacre where, in Halloween 1993, the gunmen shouted "trick or treat" before gunning down people in the pub - and the soccer match between the north and the south shortly after it when members of the crowd shouted it out to provoke the south. The black comedy play, A Night in November, was written about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Scambuster

Fling dried **** at their crusty tinker mouths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I thought the tradition was monkey nuts and sweets
    When did money get introduced?

And if I don't give anything my door gets eggs and someone mentioned a banger in my letterbox?

It's like an episode of the Sopranos, pay up or else......

Put a banger in my letterbox and you'll be introduced to a 34" hurl

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

When did the phrase "Trick or treat?" become the accepted norm in Ireland?

When I was growing up we said "Help the Hallowe'en party!" and all we got was fruit and nuts, popcorn if we were lucky.

Any wannabe yank saying trick or treat at my door will get nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

spurious wrote: »
    Any wannabe yank saying trick or treat at my door will get nothing.

Kids in Ireland have been saying this for 30 years. Have you ever gone out trick or treating when you were a child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I thought that was just in the films. I grew up in the US too living in 3 different states. Kansas, Wisconsin and Connecticut and i never remember having my house egged or TP'd at halloween. Nor do i remember doing it. And i didn't grow up thinking i was warding away spirits or any of that nonsense. Granted i'm Irish and just moved over there. But from my experience it's not just Irish kids that don't "get" Halloween.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

padma wrote: »
    Kids in Ireland have been saying this for 30 years. Have you ever gone out trick or treating when you were a child?

Er no they haven't!
    It was Help the Halloween Party when i was growing up, and when my brothers and sisters were growing up, and when my nephew was growing up.
    If you'd gone to a house 20years ago and said trick or treat, you'd get nothing but funny looks.