Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late Show: 29th October 2010

• 29-10-2010 8:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/ten/2010/1029/latelateshow.html
    Tom Jones set for The Late Late Show. Friday 29 October 2010
    Welsh singer Tom Jones is set to join host Ryan Tubridy on 'The Late Late Show' tonight.The singer will be talking about his long and colourful career, as well as performing live on the show.'Lord of the Dance' star Michael Flatley is also due to appear on the show, to talk about his return to the world stage. Singer and actress Andrea Corr will also be dropping in to chat about playing Jane Eyre and her solo career. Watch 'The Late Late Show' tonight at 9.35pm on RTÉ One.

From Twitter, the following will be appearing on tonight's show:

jack Dorsey, founder of Twitter and incredibly cool & smart guy! He's gonna come in for #latelate tomorrow night. Any q's for him?"

(well he'd have to be on really wouldnt he.. )

"Also joining us on the show tomorrow night...Lord of the Dance, Mr. Michael Flatley. Have never interviewed him but looking forward to it."

(so Gerald Keane and Lisa wont be on the show tonight)

"Thanks to all who made it to the book launch last night.Fun had. Time for work.Mr.Tom Jones on the Late Late Show tomorrow night. Excellent."

More to follow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

i like flatley so looking forward to seeing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

"In an RTE exclusive, and a LLS show first, Ryan will be interviewing himself about the release of his new book.

He will be asking himself all the tough questions. His privileged up bringing, he explains his rapid ascent through RTE while devoid of any real talent.

He opens up about his troubled past, how he once kept a library book out for more than 3 weeks and how he was affected by a trip to the northside in 2002.

Ryan will have a copy of his new colouring book of “JFK. A money spinner” for everyone in the audience( available at the RRP €19.99. credit cards welcome)"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

I heard that the founder of bebo will also be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,019 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Flatley should dance to Jones singing sexbomb :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

I heard that the founder of bebo will also be on.

That's the word, yeah. That means it is either Michael Birch, or someone is confused and said Bebo because Twitter use their old offices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I see his book is being made in to a movie..

jfk2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Poly wrote: »
    "In an RTE exclusive, and a LLS show first, Ryan will be interviewing himself about the release of his new book.

He will be asking himself all the tough questions. His privileged up bringing, he explains his rapid ascent through RTE while devoid of any real talent.

He opens up about his troubled past, how he once kept a library book out for more than 3 weeks and how he was affected by a trip to the northside in 2002.

Ryan will have a copy of his new colouring book of “JFK. A money spinner” for everyone in the audience( available at the RRP €19.99. credit cards welcome)"

Brilliant, LOL:D

Watched this awful awful nonsense last week for the first time in an age, Jezz it goes from bad to worse. This said, i would love to see Gerald Kean, Lisa Murphy and flatley on the same sofa. As for the Twitter Guy, how Ironic he is going to be interviewed by the great Twit Ireland has produced.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

That's the word, yeah. That means it is either Michael Birch, or someone is confused and said Bebo because Twitter use their old offices.

They are both in Dublin for some founders conference along with Skype founder

My 300th post!!

They are both in Dublin for some founders conference along with Skype founder

yeah they're all here.. Global web giants get together at Dublin events
    CHAD HURLEY, Niklas Zennstrom, Michael Birch and Jack Dorsey certainly are not household names.But YouTube, Skype, Bebo and Twitter, the web companies they started certainly are and rank among the most influential and most valuable web companies of the last decade..........................

It was kind of a given which one Tubridy would ask on to the show really..

Yus, I see.

However, Birch wouldn't really give a riveting chat, I wouldn't say. It will be shadowed by Dorsey. He's a nice guy, however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Tonights house band.

oswald2sm.jpg?w=450

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭AOwannabe

Singer and actress Andrea Corr will also be dropping in to chat about playing Jane Eyre and her solo career.

Andrea Corr has a solo career? Who knew?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Would like to watch the interview with Twitter founder but can I put up with Tubridy asking him stupid questions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

AOwannabe wrote: »
    Andrea Corr has a solo career? Who knew?

It's inevitable after Jim got tin-foil poisoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭diarmuid05

Might actually be worth watching tonight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

diarmuid05 wrote: »
    Might actually be worth watching tonight...

Yeah... I wouldnt bet on it :p

This show has gone from bad to worse, and in my opinion should be axed. Tubs is no good in this type of show unfortunately and the guests are shi*e most weeks.

Lol on the post above about Tubs book. So funny coz RTE would have him interviewing himself if possible! For some reason RTE adore this beanpole.

Going to listen to the Twitter founder on The Last Word instead, and skip The Late Late Show.

Would like to watch the interview with Twitter founder but can I put up with Tubridy asking him stupid questions...
    Since they've got Twitter's founder on, I wonder will they hit the #latelate feed?
    If you've ever seen it, it's always tearing apart the guests and Tubridy.

It's quite hilarious. And I'm a big fan of Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

I think Pat would be a good interviewer of the twitter and bebo guys - leave tubby for Dustin. Off to Tesco for some beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Shane10 wrote: »
    i like flatley so looking forward to seeing him.

heard richard bacon interviewing him on 5live over the summer. came across as an unbelievably nice guy. showman maybe, but also a gentleman.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Since they've got Twitter's founder on, I wonder will they hit the #latelate feed?
    If you've ever seen it, it's always tearing apart the guests and Tubridy.

It's quite hilarious. And I'm a big fan of Tubridy.
    Didn't even know there was a Late Late hashtag. Will be getting in on that tonight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Got the pizza and the garlic bread on standby, another Friday night in, (living the dream!) going to be watching the Late Late and thanking God I'm not half the tool DLB is.
    And of course reading, giggling and posting on the Boards!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

"Do you have any Irish relatives?"
    "Do you have any advice for us in Ireland?"
    "I believe you once met one of the Kennedys, what was that like? Were you allowed touch them? I'm not longer allowed touch them."
    "The Interwebs, isn't that just tubes full of filth? It will never catch on surely?"
    "I'd like to remind the folks at home that if they have any questions, fax RTE on 016......"

"Do you know if you had never invented Twitter, my radio show would be 25% less irritating"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Evening all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Jean Byrne is going for the rubber nurse look tonight on the weather ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

what are we all having to drink tonight to get us through this LLS :)

Evening lads, 2 Bottles of red wine and 10 bottles of Nobelaner..

Unfortunately tonight's not gonna reach the heights of Poly's post earlier on.. My particular favourite line being

I was jealous of all his thankszzzz and tried to be funny, but I struggle to be humourous "on the tilt"... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

1 can of lager thats all tonight

oh I take it ye all heard that Micheál Martin's 7 year old daughter died today in Great Ormond Street Hospital .... she had a heart condition... I'd say he will probably mention it before the first break...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

24 pack of Miller...................+ bottle of Jameson to be safe. :D

I'm always terrified when he comes down the stairs that he's going to try out his version of a humorous monologue.

<Thread moved to Alcoholics Anonymous Forum>

Rovers win the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Nice bit of lick arseing from Flatley there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Strange accent, sounds Hollywood Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Who's Cario????

Ask him about Lisa Murphy, ta be sure ta be sure..

Frankly without Jean Byrne none of this matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Tubridy thinks legs are important to Irish dancing, Christ he works hard for his pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

How soon will Tubs mention Margarine or Butter any takers???

How soon will somebody ask what DLB is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Flatley sounds like a Simpson's character from the Irish episodes. Begorrah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Denisejcc

Evening all *raises the obligatory glass* Hope youre all well this Friday eve .. TFIF!!!!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Knob nation got his accent spot on. I'm waiting for Daniel Day to make an appearance!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

flatley looks wacked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Jesus...the accent... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Go on Ryan - dare ya ............ Play gift grub

This is a great interview, an insightful view into Flatley and what drives him.

"Legs, they're important yes?"
    "The costumes are lovely right?"
    "Where do you buy your furniture?"

Bit of a steamer isnt he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Bit of a steamer isnt he

Maybe. What's a "steamer"?