Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PDC World Cup

• 27-10-2010 11:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭

PDC WORLD CUP TEAMS CONFIRMED

The inaugural tournament will be played across three days in December as the sport's top nations compete for a £40,000 first prize and the PDC World Cup title, live on Sky Sports.
    Each of the top 24 nations in the PDC Order of Merit will compete in the tournament, headed by the English pair of Phil Taylor, the 15-time World Champion and recent Bodog.com World Grand Prix winner James Wade - ranked first and second in the world.
    Northern Irish duo Brendan Dolan and John MaGowan are included in the top eight seeds while the Republic of Ireland team of Mick McGowan and William O'Connor are seeded at number nine.
    The top eight nations come in at the second round stage on Friday night, where they will face the winners from the 16-team knockout first round.

PDC World Cup - Competing Nations
    England (1) - Phil Taylor & James Wade
    Netherlands (2) - Raymond van Barneveld & Co Stompe
    Australia (3) - Simon Whitlock & Paul Nicholson
    Scotland (4) - Gary Anderson & Robert Thornton
    Wales (5) - Mark Webster & Barrie Bates
    Northern Ireland (6) - Brendan Dolan & John MaGowan
    Canada (7) - John Part & Ken MacNeil
    USA (8) - Darin Young & Bill Davis
    Ireland (9) - Mick McGowan & William O'Connor
    Germany (10) - Jyhan Artut & Andree Welge
    Spain (11) - Carlos Rodriguez & Antonio Alcinas
    Finland (12) - Jarkko Komula & Marko Kantele
    New Zealand (13) - Phillip Hazel & Warren Parry
    Austria (14) - Mensur Suljovic & Maik Langendorf
    Sweden (15) - Magnus Caris & Par Riihonen
    Russia (16) - Anastasia Dobromyslova & Roman Konchikov
    Gibraltar (17) - Dylan Duo & Dyson Parody
    Slovenia (18) - Osmann Kijamet & Sebastijan Pecjak
    Denmark (19) - Per Laursen & Vladimiar Andersen
    Poland (20) - Krzystof Kciuk & Krzsystof Ratajski
    Belgium (21) - Patrick Bulen & Rocco Maes
    Japan (22) - Haruki Muramatsu & Shintaro Hirai
    Czech Republic (23) - Martin Kapucian & Pavel Drtil
    Slovakia (24) - Peter Martin & Oto Zmelik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Dg, does it go on seedings???

Shall Mick and willie be playing slovakia 1st round??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Dartgod

Dicie wrote: »

I have asked that question, Dicie, from the PDC and I await their response.

The following was published on the PDC site in July - - -
    http://www.pdc.tv/page/PDCWorldCupArticle/0,,10180~2089691,00.html

Dartgod wrote: »
    I have asked that question, Dicie, from the PDC and I await their response.

The following was published on the PDC site in July - - -
    http://www.pdc.tv/page/PDCWorldCupArticle/0,,10180~2089691,00.html

Cheers sir.. seeya weekend

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I'm looking forward to this tournament, should be very interesting. If the two Irish lads are on form they can have a decent run in this. Hopefully it is seeded and they are up against the Slovakians because there are a few tricky teams outside the top 8.

PDC reply - - -
    "We’ll be confirming draw and format in due course, a few things being ironed out."

PDC World Cup Schedule
    Friday December 3
    1pm-5pm : Round One

7pm-11pm : Round Two

Saturday December 4
    1pm-5pm: Third Round - Group A

7pm-11pm: Third Round - Group B

Sunday December 5
    1pm-5pm: Semi-Finals

7pm-11pm: Final

PDC reply - - -
    "We’ll be confirming draw and format in due course, a few things being ironed out."

PDC World Cup Schedule
    Friday December 3
    1pm-5pm : Round One

7pm-11pm : Round Two

Saturday December 4
    1pm-5pm: Third Round - Group A

7pm-11pm: Third Round - Group B

Sunday December 5
    1pm-5pm: Semi-Finals

7pm-11pm: Final

Like Paul Nicholsons Passport details maybe??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭paulcorr

If it does go on seeds they would play the USA in the last 16 if they got through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

more than likely slovakia or else 9-16 will be seed and a random draw with the other 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

The draw and format has been made for the upcoming World Cup of darts,link; www.pdc.tv/page/PDCWorldCupArticle/0,,10180~2225199,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

this on tv?
    bit of a micky mouse event is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭MRPRO03

Yeah, its on Sky.

Its the PDC's equivalent to the BDO's.

Interest in this tournament must be very low,on the PDC website it says there will be free admission for the opening session on Friday afternoon! If Ireland overcome Slovakia in their 1st round game they will face Australia in the 2nd round.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Interest in this tournament must be very low,on the PDC website it says there will be free admission for the opening session on Friday afternoon! If Ireland overcome Slovakia in their 1st round game they will face Australia in the 2nd round.

In fairness it's a brand new tournament and hasn't exactly been marketed like crazy. Plus the Friday afternoon doesn't feature any of the glamour players.

That being said, I don't have much interest in it either bar seeing how Ireland do. I'm sure interest will pick up in it though in years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 eilocon

Kingp35 wrote: »
    In fairness it's a brand new tournament and hasn't exactly been marketed like crazy. Plus the Friday afternoon doesn't feature any of the glamour players.

That being said, I don't have much interest in it either bar seeing how Ireland do. I'm sure interest will pick up in it though in years to come.

Ah lads..come on. It's an honour to represent your country in any event. Just because it's new, don't run it down.... I'm sure our boys will give it their best shot, and I wish William and Mick the best of Irish!!! :D:D:D:D:D

eilocon wrote: »
    Ah lads..come on. It's an honour to represent your country in any event. Just because it's new, don't run it down.... I'm sure our boys will give it their best shot, and I wish William and Mick the best of Irish!!! :D:D:D:D:D
    I actually think this has the makings of been a popular tournament but I think the timing of the tournament is the reason for a seemingly lack of interest in it.

The Grand Slam was on less than a fortnight ago and the World Championship starts in a fortnight and this tournament been in between is suffering from a lack of media coverage and publicity. If this tournament was moved to another time of the year I'm sure it would attract a lot of interest. Personally outside of the premier league of darts there's no coverage of a tournament from February to June so holding this in April would be a better option IMO.

I read on another forum that Dutch duo Barneveld and Stompe are still stranded in Holland because they can't get a flight to England due to the bad weather. What a disaster it would be if they couldn't make it!

Best of luck to Willie and Mick tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭mussha

germany have got a bye to the next round it was just on shy sports news..

snowed in with darts on telly happy days. hope willie and mick put on a good show. hard to see anybody beat taylor and wade tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Double Top

this is a very good match Russia/Gibraltar looks like its going all that way
    any time we get to see Anatasia on tele is a good match for me haha

Well done, Mick and Willie.

Bring on the lads from Oz and send them packing to the Jungle !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Well done, Mick and Willie.

Bring on the lads from Oz and send them packing to the Jungle !
    Looking forward to the match tonight against the Aussie's, real proper test for the lads, who will need to up it a few gears to win, especially Mick who was a bit erratic against the Slovaks.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Looking forward to the match tonight against the Aussie's, real proper test for the lads, who will need to up it a few gears to win, especially Mick who was a bit erratic against the Slovaks.

I agree with you there Gringo but if Mick can up his game tonight I fancy them to go through.
    Doubles is a hard game to play and the 'losers off' format gives everybody an opportunity to get back into the game if they lose 'with the darts' !

C'mon you Boys in Green !

Northern Ireland lost 6 - 3 to Austria.
    Poor performance from Magowan and Dolan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 ton chucker

wat a game with england and spain hahahaha cmon spain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭buster180

Gabriel was right………..Dreams can come through :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Artfu1Dodger

What an upset:eek:

Big shock - - Spain beat England 6 -5 !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Every other team practised together today except Taylor and Wade who were at different ends of the building practicing today.

Have to hand it to the Spanish, great bottle and great darts. To have the bottle to hit back to back 180's in a game of doubles against the 2 best players in the world in their own home at 5-5 is brilliant.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Every other team practised together today except Taylor and Wade who were at different ends of the building practicing today.

England played well, don't think it was a poor Taylor and Wade though, it was just a great Spanish performance.

super last leg for spain to win it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

your man on sky really has to eat his words his words been
    "england should walk this tournment"

Tool

lets hope ireland do the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

lets hope ireland do the same
    Not with the way the way McGowan is playing:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

The two egos were to big for the one board in the practice room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Carrickman wrote: »
    Not with the way the way McGowan is playing:mad:
    Totally agree mate, he must have Willie's heart broke with the way he is playing.

Great show by Mick and Willie - - unlucky to lose 6 - 5 in the end.

Unlucky Ireland, but tbh we should of being beaten more comfortably. Feel for Mick mcGowan, he just doesn't look the player he was. Its a shame to see his health affect his dart game so much. Hope he gets back some time.

A close game in the end between Ireland and Australia but if the Australians hadn't missed so many doubles they would have won more comfortably. The Spanish knocking out the English was surely 1 of darts greatest upsets? A brilliant 11 dart finish by Spain to win the game. A wide open tournament now,any country left in it has a chance of winning it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭sofireland

The Spanish match was great to watch. There was a good comment by one Of the pundits about darts being 9/10ths between the ears, so poor health would really affect ur game. Sure look at Barney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Shame indeed that McGowan wasn't near his best. Had he been better we definitely could have capitolised on the profligacy of the Australian teams double shooting.

We did however only barely cling on in the game stealing legs from missed darts by Nicholson and Whitlock. Had McGowan been playing well that not only could have been a better game, I think we would have taken them.

William played super in both games, Mick wasn't at the races but between them they mustered a pretty good challenge against two top names in darts.

At 4-1 I thought we were gonna be pounded but you have to give it to the lads no matter how far behind they were they kept fighting and took the chances they were given.

Did us proud and certainly another day could have been a real threat to go to the quarters(groups) / Semi's, I'd still see Scotland and Holland as just too strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Before one of the earlier games there was an interview and you could see them both in backround. It certainly looked as though they were on the same board, even if they weren;t they did stop to talk to eachother between throws.

Pity Ireland went out, O'Connor nearly won by himself. Good performance from him, hope to see him push on further.

I like Taylor & Wade(I know some people don't), but no matter what sport I love when England fail miserably in the world cup :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

The wire on the double ten looks split to me surley the board should be changed.

Anyone else see it?

those crazy Spaniards, really don't know their place in the darts world. Just dumped out Scotland. Despite Rodriquez losing 3-0 to Thornton in the first match.

The Spanish team continue their good run by beating USA and Scotland in group B tonight to qualify for the semi finals. Wales top group B and they will play Australia in 1 semi final tomorrow while Spain play the Netherlands in the other semi.

This tournament definitely attracted more interest when Taylor and Wade got knocked out last night. A great tournament and it definitely has a future on the PDC calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭dexter647

The Spanish team continue their good run by beating USA and Scotland in group B tonight to qualify for the semi finals. Wales top group B and they will play Australia in 1 semi final tomorrow while Spain play the Netherlands in the other semi.

This tournament definitely attracted more interest when Taylor and Wade got knocked out last night. A great tournament and it definitely has a future on the PDC calendar.

Big time:)... i'm really enjoying this tournament.. pity about ireland but there's always next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Did it? I'd imagine the crowds went back a bit when the number 1 and 2 were knocked out.

Degag wrote: »
    Did it? I'd imagine the crowds went back a bit when the number 1 and 2 were knocked out.
    There was a big crowd for the 2 sessions of darts yesterday. I thought after the English were knocked out Friday night that the crowds would go downhill but if anything the crowds are bigger and there is more of an atmosphere at the venue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Wales through to the final against Holland after one of the best couple of matches I've ever seen.

This tournament is up there as the best on TV, both for entertainment and pride.

Yeah i have to admit, this tournament has been great.

The players are showing great passion playing for their country. The Welsh lads went nuts up there. I hope they go on and win it now.

I like both Webster and Bates and I hope they go on now and win this tournament. Webster took a while to settle in the PDC but he has made great strides in the past 12 months and is now showing the class player that he is. Bates IMO is one of the best finishers in the game and a great character,met him in Killarney a few years back and a gentleman he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭dexter647

Big time behind the boys form wales now... It's great to see players play with such passion and pride for there country... Whatever outcome this tournament has been a great success and a joy to watch:)