Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David Norris Attack Website

• 26-10-2010 1:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭

So a friend of mine sent me this link today, and I have to admit I was pretty disgusted:

http://www.davidnorris4president.com/index.html

An organisation called The Campaign for Conscience is behind it (some hybrid of Coir?).

I think this illustrates pretty aptly the sort of rubbish we will all have to put up with if Norris runs for President. I really think it will bring out the worst in some people and groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

http://www.facebook.com/people/Enoch-Burke/100001766582603#!/profile.php?id=100001766582603&v=wall is the guy behind it. Sad to see someone so young already so full of hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

I saw somebody did a whois on it, same crowd who've been behind a few of these campaigns, though amusingly the server/domain is a close relation to several Dutch porn sites. Likely not affiliated to the campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

Norris is a sickener. He's always looking for sympathy. The young fellow who posted that site is just playing into his hands.

That is a disgraceful website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

We need a 4chan DoS attack!Yeah its pretty retarded in this day and age.I'd like to think he would get the presidency on merit as opposed to his sexuality.

If that fella on the facebook page is behind this, he looks like he ought to try having sex before giving out about the rest of us at it.

If he was 20 years older he'd have been at the forefront of trying to keep condoms out of pharmacies and women would still be obliged to have sex with their husbands, as the courts here once ruled (before being slapped down by the European Courts. Imagine how backwards we'd still be if we hadn't joined the EC?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Should be on the humour board. These fools are hilarious.

From a Times article.
    The placard holders are members of one big family. When challenged by a pinstriped cyclist, 21-year-old Enoch Burke takes him on. “Well, where does Aids begin?” asks Enoch, following up with HIV figures from St James’s Hospital, to “prove” that homosexuals started it. “God help you,” says the cyclist mournfully. Enoch, who declined a place in medicine at University College Galway, is one of 10 children – all with biblical names – of Sean and Martina Burke from Castlebar, Co Mayo. His brother Isaac is in third-year science in Galway. Esther is working for her HDip. Ammi hopes to study languages. The family belong to no particular sect. “We’re just a Christian church,” says Martina.

How do she and Sean find the time to support their large family and stand all day outside Leinster House? Sean, she says, was a qualified electrician, “and does a lot of different things now”. Martina, a qualified secondary teacher, “still does private tuition” for exam students. “Of course there are a thousand other things we could be doing. I could cry coming up,” she says, “but there’s a lot of unrest in the country, and the politicians are not representing the people.”

The Bible sustains them on the three- to four-hour drive from Castlebar two or three days a week, before they stand tall with their placards for up to nine hours a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Makes me want to vote for him even more. Anyone these muppets give out about must be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

I believe in free speech so best of luck to him with his site.

I also think his site is a load of rubbish and im sure people can make up their own mind about norris without looking at this drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

How appropriate, a guy called Enoch fronting such a disgusting, hate filled, narrow minded, and bigoted campaign. If this kind of thing becomes a feature of the campaign, I for one will vote for Norris just to spite the fundamentalist troglodytes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭markphillips

http://www.facebook.com/people/Enoch-Burke/100001766582603#!/profile.php?id=100001766582603&v=wall is the guy behind it. Sad to see someone so young already so full of hate.

As a gay guy, I gotta say he ain't bad. Why is it the hot ones are always right-wing hate-filled Christian loons? :(:D

Given the amount of right wing republicans and pastors who have turned up with rent boys and interns of the same sex, I wouldn't discount your chances yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

OMG!

I'll pray to my Gods, Madonna the Mother, Kylie the daughter and Gaga the Holy Spirit for that young boys eyes to be opened that he may see the light!

Norris was a howl at Gay Prom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    We need a 4chan DoS attack!

No, we don't, thank you*. :)
    While the site is something I'm very sad to have seen originating in Ireland and is more associated with the Bible-bashing belt of America, boards.ie should never become a source for 4chan-/b/-style DDOS attacks on other sites/people.

*I know you probably weren't being that serious but just in case anyone thinks you were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

What's the line from "Good Morning Vietnam"? "In More Dire Need of a Blowjob Than Any White Man in History"

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Good grief they're decrying homosexuality on the grounds of ''no genetic evidence''' whilst remaining biblically fundamental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Enoch, his parents must have known something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Good grief they're decrying homosexuality on the grounds of ''no genetic evidence'''

Wonder what they think of Darwin's theory of evolution

I presume they mean that there's no evidence for the basis of sexual preference being genetic (arguable, but with strong evidence against their claim) - if not, then what they're saying is amusingly daft.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

r3nu4l wrote: »
    *I know you probably weren't being that serious but just in case anyone thinks you were.
    No wasnt serious,was said in jest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

It seems Norris' rebuke to then archbishop desmod of dublin during the campaign to legalise homosexuality is appropriate

"I believe he knows a lot about angles. But he knows nothing about fairies'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

I don't believe Norris should be President but not for reasons of his sexuality or anything connected with his private life. I just feel he's had a free ride off us for long enough in that great debating club known as the Seanad and IMO anyone connected with the current Government and Opposition should be debarred for the hames they've made of the country.

Oh, and according to yer man Enoch's website Norris was born in Leopoldville in the Belgian Congo. Now that should preclude him too. Imagine being born in Leopoldville!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭markphillips

I don't believe Norris should be President but not for reasons of his sexuality or anything connected with his private life.

HOMOPHOBE :eek:

Just kidding. Another thing I really hope does not happen if he runs is that people with genuine reasons against voting him don't have their opinions discounted because they are arguing against a gay guy. That'd just be bad for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

what sort of name is enoch?

aDeener wrote: »
    what sort of name is enoch?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eunuch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

This website is not endorsed or produced by David Norris. Furthermore Campaign for Conscience does not endorse David Norris for President.

Heh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

This Enoch Powell Burke guy must be bored now that Coir/Libertas/Youth Defence are doing nothing. I bet he does his Westboro website for free, forsaking even €1.84 an hour.

Hope someone meatspins his inbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bobby42

no genetic evidence for homosexuality? but there's plenty of genetic evidence for heterosexuality,right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

This sort of bile plays right into Norris's hands. How many fundamentalist, funded by someone somewhere, loonballs who have the time and resources to picket the Dail about HIV are actually out there? 100? An irrelevance at every level.

All Norris's core constituency (urban middle classes) will see are a group of rabid boggers with bloody knuckles and vote for him to not be seen on the side of the most regressive and bigoted culchie waste.

Plenty of this to come and his campaign will privately be delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »
    Should be on the humour board. These fools are hilarious.

From a Times article.
    The placard holders are members of one big family. When challenged by a pinstriped cyclist, 21-year-old Enoch Burke takes him on. “Well, where does Aids begin?” asks Enoch, following up with HIV figures from St James’s Hospital, to “prove” that homosexuals started it. “God help you,” says the cyclist mournfully. Enoch, who declined a place in medicine at University College Galway, is one of 10 children – all with biblical names – of Sean and Martina Burke from Castlebar, Co Mayo. His brother Isaac is in third-year science in Galway. Esther is working for her HDip. Ammi hopes to study languages. The family belong to no particular sect. “We’re just a Christian church,” says Martina.

How do she and Sean find the time to support their large family and stand all day outside Leinster House? Sean, she says, was a qualified electrician, “and does a lot of different things now”. Martina, a qualified secondary teacher, “still does private tuition” for exam students. “Of course there are a thousand other things we could be doing. I could cry coming up,” she says, “but there’s a lot of unrest in the country, and the politicians are not representing the people.”

The Bible sustains them on the three- to four-hour drive from Castlebar two or three days a week, before they stand tall with their placards for up to nine hours a day.

Thank heavens he didn't go into medecine.
    I thought there was meant to be an exam now to weed out those thought totally unsuitable for medical profession no matter how bright they were ?
    Once again Castlebar delivers a family that brings ridicule to the town.
    They make the flynns look normal.

Send him an email telling him you think he is hot, he will have nightmares and spend every night up praying for your soul. :D

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Awful carry on ,the same religous/backward mentality that keeps finna fail in government.
    48930_100001766582603_3617683_n.jpg
    That guy should stick to hucklebucking with his mammy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Im torn between Norris and Michael D for our next prez.

Either way we should have an adorable older gent.

Mickey D has plenty of moral fibre and in my opinion would be closer to Mary robinsons campaign.

with david on the other hand, we would get to wear jaunty straw hats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

What a horrible, nasty, vindicative agenda this is.

What does it matter in this day in age about a person's sexuality??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Fairly pathetic website tbh, if they oppose David Norris they should run a candidate against him instead of resorting to this type of disgusting negative campaigning. Its obviously linked to the type of rubbish that right wing religious organisations engage in over the water in the States and I would hazard to guess that these "Christian" types are getting help from over there as well.

I would say that pathetic, knuckle dragging rubbish like that website will have the complete opposite effect than they want and drive people towards voting for David Norris.

Just for the novelty of having a Queen as the head of state i think we should all vote for David Norris ;)

(just as an aside do you ever notice that these Christian types are not very Christian like at all!)

Im torn between Norris and Michael D for our next prez.

Either way we should have an adorable older gent.

Mickey D has plenty of moral fibre and in my opinion would be closer to Mary robinsons campaign.

with david on the other hand, we would get to wear jaunty straw hats.

And every day would be Bloomsday!

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Poor Enoch ... I'll pray for him & his conscience :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭NewHillel

fat__tony wrote: »
    What a horrible, nasty, vindicative agenda this is.

What does it matter in this day in age about a person's sexuality??

Indeed, it never should have mattered. :)

(I have to admit to having a sneaking regard for DN, indeed I vote for him every election. Having said that, I don't believe that the Senate, in its current form, serves any useful purpose.)

Just viewed their site.

I don't usually vote, but, after seeing this,

I will vote for Mr Norris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Oh I get it - God hates gays....

Wow insightful opinions from this young man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

NoDrama wrote: »
    Just viewed their site.

I don't usually vote, but, after seeing this,

I will vote for Mr Norris.
    In fairness I think this reaction is very stupid.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »

Maybe the reaction is stupid, Mussolini, though the whole presidency is stupid in my world, and not needed, which is why I haven't voted in the past.

In relation to what I posted, I am sure if those sad people who created that site look at their analytics they will see many redirects which originated from here,

So, I wanted to give an objectionable voice to it.

Anyways, there are greater things to be worrying about these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

" out-of-line with traditional biblical morality. "

sounds good to me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

It's just the Presidency though, it's not as if it's a real political job.

All you really need to do the job properly is to be good at hosting tea parties and banquets, signing your name legibly and sitting through sporting events without falling asleep.

Scofflaw wrote: »
    And every day would be Bloomsday!

cordially,
    Scofflaw

But I don't like liver. :(
    egan007 wrote: »
    Oh I get it - God hates gays....

Wow insightful opinions from this young man.

Sure didn't Jebus himself have two daddies??

" out-of-line with traditional biblical morality. "

sounds good to me:D

AKA "updated since the Bronze Age".

cordially,
    Scofflaw

I don't think so really. The presidential election is really just a convuluted popularity contest. Voting purely to stick it to a few bible bashing homophobes is as valid a reason as any in a race that's all about personality/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TheReverend

sent a nice email to him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Einhard wrote: »
    I don't think so really. The presidential election is really just a convuluted popularity contest. Voting purely to stick it to a few bible bashing homophobes is as valid a reason as any in a race that's all about personality/
    So you are letting literally a handful of people influence you so much? These people should be ignored, instead you are giving them power over you.

They're not gaining power over me. If they did, I wouldn't be voting for Norris!! I have no particular preference who becomes president, and as such, will happily vote for a candidate for what may seem to you like the slightest of issues.

Seeing something and making a (relevant) decision based on it is "giving people power over you"?

amused,
    Scofflaw