Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Socialist Party in 10,000 euro photo shoot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Some wearing suits and some wearing jeans and runners.
    The photos seem very dark, background is distracting from the councillors.

A photo somewhere around Fingal on a sunny day would have been ever better

council_indo_721059t.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

OP: The title of the thread should read "Labour, FG, FF, Socialist and Independents in 10,000 euro photo shoot".

I wonder if the Indo got on to the other councillors about the cost involved and what it would have cost if the pictures were taken in Fingal council headquarters instead of Newbridge House. I agree its a waste of money and if necessary should/could have been done cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

To be fair to the socialist party, all the cllr's were there.

The quote saying that, essentially, "we were told to go and we did, and my, you're right, that is a lot of money thinking about it" says a lot about Irish politicians and 'leaders'

They were all, to a man or woman, told by public servants to go somewhere, and they did not question it. The cost, the benefit, nothing.

This is precisely what they should be doing, on a daily basis, particularly in an age of cuts in what are perceived to be wasteful local councils.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

In fairness this is an non-issue. It was an official Council photograph, obviously they should have absented themselves due to the extortionate cost when local authorities are supposedly struggling to pay for services.

Anyway, I think some people confuse socialism with frugalism a bit too often. A misconception I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

As a socialist my feelings are that this photograph is inappropriate and disgraceful.

As stated above the background is too dark, The corner is off centre, the arrangement of the councillors is frankly all over the place and I think the focal length was wrong. The should have had the against the fireplace or in the grounds with a shallower f stop for better bokeh.

This is what happens when you have equal distribution of camera equipment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

The article states:
    The total cost of taking the pictures, and putting 32 framed shots up in the 11 buildings, came to €9,471.

Professional framing is EXTREMELY expensive. I'd guess that's what ate up most of the cost right there.

It is also standard in most jurisdictions to take professional photos of the new representatives. Although in this case, the photos aren't great.

To be honest, these figures don't seem that off to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Not sure but it seems a little convenient for the press to highlight this photo shoot was specifically for the socialist party, this was an official fingal county council photo shoot and all councilors were invited. Another point being missed by the press is the fact Newbridge House is owned and managed by Fingal County council and its a fantastic tourist amenity. I would annoyed had they chosen a private venue for such a shoot. Ready the headline in the Indo, one would think this was a junket arranged by the socialist party, then again the Indo could hardly be described as being objective, this paper has become nothing more than a toilet rag over the past few years, I used to buy it daily, now moved onto the times and I am not a socialist but do admire Joe Higgins.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

I think clare daly smiling is the bigger story here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The article states:

Professional framing is EXTREMELY expensive. I'd guess that's what ate up most of the cost right there.

It is also standard in most jurisdictions to take professional photos of the new representatives. Although in this case, the photos aren't great.

To be honest, these figures don't seem that off to me.

Yep. Weddin photos are a shocker of a price by all accounts, so theres no reason to presume committing these blushing beauties to the record is going to be any cheaper.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Not sure but it seems a little convenient for the press to highlight this photo shoot was specifically for the socialist party, this was an official fingal county council photo shoot and all councilors were invited. Another point being missed by the press is the fact Newbridge House is owned and managed by Fingal County council and its a fantastic tourist amenity. I would annoyed had they chosen a private venue for such a shoot. Ready the headline in the Indo, one would think this was a junket arranged by the socialist party, then again the Indo could hardly be described as being objective, this paper has become nothing more than a toilet rag over the past few years, I used to buy it daily, now moved onto the times and I am not a socialist but do admire Joe Higgins.

I have to say, lately the Indo's headlines have read like something from the Daily Mail. The whole premise of the article is extremely misleading.

clown bag wrote: »

LOL, AN AFTER THOUGHT OF MINE ALSO! :D

I have to say, lately the Indo's headlines have read like something from the Daily Mail. The whole premise of the article is extremely misleading.

Exactly as I read it! I purchased the Sunday indo yesterday for the first time in Months, Jezzz its just appalling, apart from the unbelievable amount of Super Market advertising space (I wasn't sure if the Lidl insert was the main paper), the stories covered were just mundane, uninteresting and a repeat of the same of bull****. Apart from the obligatory standard headlines which they seem to force themselves to cover, i wondered what is the point of this newspaper anymore. This said they would have us believe over a million people buy this edition weekly so perhaps I'm missing the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

As soon as I saw her looking somewhat human I thought "€10,000 well-spent".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Nice selective journalism from the Indo on this. TBH its a non story from the point of view of the councillors apart from the fact that the location for the photographs isn't the best from a composition point of view. If the subject of the shots is supposed to be the councillors then the background is way too distracting and the whole shot is too dark.

The price is about right for 32 framed shots by a professional photographer to be hung in 11 locations.

The people who the ire of the waste of resources should be aimed at are those within Fingal County Council who thought a project like this would be appropriate at a time when the country is in severe recession and it just proves that these people really do not have an actual grasp on the real situation out here.

gandalf wrote: »
    The people who the ire of the waste of resources should be aimed at are those within Fingal County Council who thought a project like this would be appropriate at a time when the country is in severe recession and it just proves that these people really do not have an actual grasp on the real situation out here.
    And who do those officials answer to (when somebody bothers to ask)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Nijmegen wrote: »
    And who do those officials answer to (when somebody bothers to ask)?

By the looks of recent and past events in Government and Local Government nobody and therein lies the problem with Governance in Ireland. No one is responsible for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

as far as I've read a council meeting doesn't go by without discussion of upkeep of various attractions and estates in fingal, in terms of promoting tourism, visiters, jobs etc.

do you think we should ignore our history, let manor houses go to ruin, demolish them perhaps?

this was a tourism project, so anyone encouraged to go visit new bridge house because of these photos,im not sure, think they should have kept promotion of the council and tourism slightly more seperate, it was bad idea,

they should have done it cheaper at the council halls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 slurcher

The story is only published in an O'Reilly rag, unlike many important stories which wont pass thier newsdesk. No supporter of the socialist party, yet reminds me of a similar Murdoch story when a large number of firefighters went for a curry, not on the taxpayer, yet it was an expose of their 'lavishness'.

Socialist party councillors posing for a photograph they were asked to do as part of their job does not equate to them squandering tax payers money.

O'Reilly press is very selective on what it chooses to report on, in this case, something to try to show that members of the socialist party are livin it up on taxpayers money. Although they fail to report on the billions being robbed from the taxpayers by Shell, they actively refuse to report what is happening in Rossport, unless it tries to portray any activist as having nothing to do with the campaign and just wasting taxpayers money.

Whatever the socialist party councillors were doing in this photoshoot, it was part of their job, not for personal financial gain, unlike many other politicians. If O'Reilly's journalists can find their links to Irelands largest business then maybe I would think - oh yeah, they're just like the rest.

slurcher wrote: »
    The story is only published in an O'Reilly rag, unlike many important stories which wont pass thier newsdesk. No supporter of the socialist party, yet reminds me of a similar Murdoch story when a large number of firefighters went for a curry, not on the taxpayer, yet it was an expose of their 'lavishness'.

Socialist party councillors posing for a photograph they were asked to do as part of their job does not equate to them squandering tax payers money.

O'Reilly press is very selective on what it chooses to report on, in this case, something to try to show that members of the socialist party are livin it up on taxpayers money. Although they fail to report on the billions being robbed from the taxpayers by Shell, they actively refuse to report what is happening in Rossport, unless it tries to portray any activist as having nothing to do with the campaign and just wasting taxpayers money.

Whatever the socialist party councillors were doing in this photoshoot, it was part of their job, not for personal financial gain, unlike many other politicians. If O'Reilly's journalists can find their links to Irelands largest business then maybe I would think - oh yeah, they're just like the rest.
    The entire council was there, as I think we all accept and can see.

€10k for their photographs? I know there's an old joke about rather wanting them on the mantlepiece, but still, if they're spending that on photos what are the officials in the council spending on other projects, and who is taking them to task about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

spotted this update on facebook a while ago re the photo shoot and the paper article.......

http://www.joehiggins.eu/2010/10/fingal-county-council-hiring-of-photographer-for-e9471-is-indefensible/

€10k for their photographs? I know there's an old joke about rather wanting them on the mantlepiece, but still, if they're spending that on photos what are the officials in the council spending on other projects, and who is taking them to task about it?

Maybe they should have refused to be in the photos, may not have helped them politically, they do want to be publicised the SP doesnt have the resources of the larger parties to get their message across.

It may go in the SP's favour as did the kebabs remark when it backfired on Lenihan. Its an obvious and unfair attack to discredit the SP councillors. If O'Rielly is out to get them, they must be doing something right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

From Joe Higgins
    Had any Socialist Party representative been aware of the cost at the time, they would have objected and insisted that the shoot be performed by Council staff.

Getting a council photographer saves very little.

Main cost is framing photos which is ridiculously expensive. And it's not like the council has staff employed to do that, they have to select a private company. Maybe the council got ripped off, bids tend to get inflated when the council pays.
    Edit, reading it again, 10k for 32 photos seems about right

I do think the article was unfair to just select the SP though

From Joe Higgins

Getting a council photographer saves very little.

Main cost is framing photos which is ridiculously expensive. And it's not like the council has staff employed to do that, they have to select a private company. Maybe the council got ripped off, bids tend to get inflated when the council pays.
    Edit, reading it again, 10k for 32 photos seems about right

I do think the article was unfair to just select the SP though

I think a council photographer is justified, councils produce tons of literature and leaflets with photos and have websites with photos they could of course do other work, dtp etc. they wouldnt have to sit on their rear all day just waiting for a photo opportunity. It would be interesting to see the annual spend on council photography outsourced to produce all the councils publications.

Its not an article, its non news that councillors sat for a photo in a hotel, it is just an attack on the SP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Who is the one in yellow with the legs open in the front row:cool:

Similar photo shoots in the past for the Council website and Council publications were performed by a council employee who retired in 2008 and was not replaced because of the recruitment embargo.

Mhm. And if the officials who organised it had a half a brain they would have found a cheaper way to do it. I don't care if they went down to Blanch IT and found people in the media studies classes to do it for nothing but the price of their lunch and some credit in class.

And the elected representatives were thick not to ask.

If they don't ask about the cost of things they are involved in, how can we expect them to query the costs in the other €250m Fingal budget that is spent without them being present?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I would have done a better job myself for 200 quid. any of the lads from the photography forum also would have done better. 10 grand is a stupid amount of money for that

Mhm. And if the officials who organised it had a half a brain they would have found a cheaper way to do it. I don't care if they went down to Blanch IT and found people in the media studies classes to do it for nothing but the price of their lunch and some credit in class.

And the elected representatives were thick not to ask.

If they don't ask about the cost of things they are involved in, how can we expect them to query the costs in the other €250m Fingal budget that is spent without them being present?

yeah it the same excuse we got from ministers, saying i didn't book the hotel my secretary did. although you would have to make it a proper job to a qualified person no undercutting, its similar to the nurse embargo, sacking public nursing jobs meaning that we end spending more on agency nurses for all you lovers of privatisation out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Who is the one in yellow with the legs open in the front row:cool:

Looks like Mags Murray, ex PD now FF. (could be wrong though). Sorry don't have her mobile so it looks like another lonely Friday night indoors for the flutterer. :pac: