Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Garda clamp-down this weekend.

• 23-10-2010 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭

Looks like Donegal is in for a thousand check points this weekend targeting young Male drivers. . I was out driving last night at late hours and must have seen about 15 garda cars with in two hours. ranging from fiesta's to volvo xc90 jeeps. Am i the only one who thinks this is gender-ism? why aren't they targeting all reckless or dangerous drivers, such as young FEMALE drivers?
    Was the some sort of briefing this weekend along the lines of " lets rape the lads this weekend,never mind the girls they will be grand.see for your self.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Falcon Crest

You can't deny the fact that more young male drivers have lost their lives in Donegal though unfortunately. Not saying they haven't lost their lives in other counties, of course they have, but unfortunately for Donegal it has a bad name for this.

I drove from North Dublin to West Cork yesterday and didn't see one Garda car or checkpoint. So much for the clampdown, they're obviously just targeting certain areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

LISTEN

Young men crash, drive fast and kill people MORE THAN ANYBODY ELSE

So why not pick on them? They are involved in the most accidents after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Seriously thou don't they know anything about young males ?

They need a hot and sexy scantily clad young female making suggestive poses and saying only the simple message "Slow driving turns me on" to get the message across. Some male middle aged sensible worried looking garda using a rational appeal is not going to hold their attention for more than 5 seconds. FACT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Berty wrote: »
    LISTEN

Facepalm.jpg

Go do some research before talking crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

LISTEN

Is it supported by any statistics?

I'd be interested how many % of driviers in certain age groups crash. Separately male and female.
    And only count drivers that actually do have a full licence.
    Driving permit or provisional licence drivers can't count as regular drivers, as while they are learning, they might be more likely to cause an accident.

Go do some research before talking crap.

This isnt after hours. Have a little more respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

exactly what is the ratio of young male drivers under the age of 21 to young female driver of the same age, id hazard a guess about 10-1. now on a statistical basis clearly there are going to be many more crashed involving young male drivers. DUH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

fact is females cause and are involved in more crasher. However when a male crasher there is a higher mortality risk and higher financial loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

CiniO wrote: »
    Is it supported by any statistics?

I'd be interested how many % of driviers in certain age groups crash. Separately male and female.
    And only count drivers that actually do have a full licence.
    Driving permit or provisional licence drivers can't count as regular drivers, as while they are learning, they might be more likely to cause an accident.

Yeah it is, and rightly so.

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Road%20Safety/RSA_Strategy_ENG_s.pdf -- see page 75 if the report (page 77 of the .pdf document)

If blokes here want to bury their heads in the sand and wait for statistics to be presented to them then so be it.

Blokes react to peer pressure and drive/act differently with other men. They drive fast, act like muppets until they mature and grow out of it.

I know this, most mature people know this and more importantly the RSA and AGS know this.

I was picked on when I was younger and moaned about it. Now I know why and accept the reasons for it.

Hindsight is a great thing.

If blokes here want to bury their heads in the sand and wait for statistics to be presented to them then so be it.

Blokes react to peer pressure and drive/act differently with other men. They drive fast, act like muppets until they mature and grow out of it.

I know this, most mature people know this and more importantly the RSA and AGS know this.

I was picked on when I was younger and moaned about it. Now I know why and accept the reasons for it.

Hindsight is a great thing.

yes, but don't you think AGS should target all reckless drivers instead of turning a blind eye to everyone except the male 17-22 age group?

bmw535d wrote: »
    yes, but don't you think AGS should target all reckless drivers instead of turning a blind eye to everyone except the male 17-22 age group?

Who said they would? Its all smoke and mirros to get young men to cop on this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Yeah, it always bugs me that they dont show the statistics pro rata .... i.e. how many accidents per 1000 young lads or young wans. Instead all you get is that there were so many accidents in this particular age group last year etc etc.

The statistics NEVER take into account the cretin drivers who swerve all over and cut people up and leave accidents in their wakes. I worked with a guy in Galway and I swear to god he could not keep in his lane, he never indicated and just generally had no idea what was outside any of his windows except the windscreen. I had to stop getting lifts from work with him because my heart was in my mouth the whole time ..... how many accidents did HE have, very few if any. God only knows how many he caused though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

This isnt after hours. Have a little more respect.

Likewise - Base your comments on facts rather than making sweeping statements that are inaccurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

BigEejit wrote: »
    Yeah, it always bugs me that they dont show the statistics pro rata .... i.e. how many accidents per 1000 young lads or young wans. Instead all you get is that there were so many accidents in this particular age group last year etc etc.

Look at post #10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Look at post #10

Eh, that's exactly what the statistics in that post leave out. It doesn't take into account the number of female/male drivers of each age group. If there's three times more males driving at the ages between 17-24 then it's not too far fetched to expect there to be 3 times as many accidents/fatalities for males compared to females.

KylieWyley wrote: »
    Yeah it is, and rightly so.

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Road%20Safety/RSA_Strategy_ENG_s.pdf -- see page 75 if the report (page 77 of the .pdf document)

A fatal flaw in this is that involves passengers. (Look at the m/f 0-9 group)

Is there any stats for drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Eh, that's exactly what the statistics in that post leave out. It doesn't take into account the number of female/male drivers of each age group. If there's three times more males driving at the ages between 17-24 then it's not too far fetched to expect there to be 3 times as many accidents/fatalities for males compared to females.

I misread his post,oops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Ah another bank holiday w/e, another garda crackdown with accompanying warnings across all radio news bulletins. Instead of all this talk of clampdowns and warnings, why not just get on with it...or is it a simple case of all mouth and no trousers?
    We just got done with road saefty week, ironically a week in which more people died on the nations roads than the preceding month...meanwhile the big drive by the RSA is against drug driving, but not a word about making sure your headlights are on during wet winter's days or a a hundred other real world road safety issues...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Treehouse72

So you're telling us the AGS sit there just waiting for young males to come along and ignore everyone else? Absolutely ridiculous, as is your repeated insinuation that young male drivers are no more dangerous than other drivers. Oh yes they bloody well are and the evidence on that is clear both in Ireland and internationally. Why in the name of god would the guards and insurance companies target young men specifically and arbitrarily when targeting, say, rich middle aged women might be more profitable and improve road safety? You proposition is entirely nonsensical.

It seems to me you don't understand the difference between technically accurate driving and safe driving. Young men might rightly claim they can take a corner more accurately than a young woman or old man (I would tend to agree with that in general terms - youth, special awareness, an acuity for mechanics), but that means absolutely nothing if they then drive dangerously (too fast, not concentrating, showing off). You would do well to think hard about the difference between safe driving and technically accurate driving.

You are also almost certainly arguing with interest here, which dilutes your credibility somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

Young men are far more likely to be on bikes or mopeds than older people also, which skews the stats somewhat. The statements they put out try to make the deaths figure even more significant "50% of all road deaths are in the 16-30 age zone, and three quarters of them are male*, the use of 50% and 3/4 make it sound more significant than it actually is... i.e 37.5% of road fatalities are in this group.

They should publish the details of each fatality in the country, stating the drivers status (learner permit, full license, etc), toxicology results (is drink, drugs involved), was there 8 people in a car for 5?, were they wearing seatbelts, were they driving a 15 year old corsa, or a 2010 volvo?, had they not slept in 24 hours?, were they driving dangerously, and what factors were involved, other than just saying "speed was a factor".

BTW: GATSO on the n1 inbound this evening at Whitehall, 50km/h zone.

This is all talk from the Gardai, and thats all it is.

There are ~34 members of the Traffic Corps covering all of Donegal. How many of that them will be on duty at 3am on Sun morning (with shift patterns, etc)??

And the regular garda, again only some will actually be rostered to be on at night, will be walking up and down the road outside nightclubs.

And does anyone think overtime will be offered this weekend? With the way the state's finances are in.

I am from rural Donegal, and its a fact that there are fewer checkpoints in the last 18 months.

Anecdotally, people who wouldn't drink/drive a couple of years ago, have become to realise that they are much more likely to get away with it now. And its on the rise again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ulinbac

To the point, has anyone seen a garda yet this weekend?

I have driven on motorway twice and another person also on the same stretch and no gardai. Thought the campaign was about being seen. Last bank holiday I didn't know anyone to come across a checkpoint, speed trap etc.

It doesn't seem as though many other gardai are on duty. That said, could just be coincidence:rolleyes:

salonfire wrote: »
    This is all talk from the Gardai, and thats all it is.

There are ~34 members of the Traffic Corps covering all of Donegal. How many of that them will be on duty at 3am on Sun morning (with shift patterns, etc)??

And the regular garda, again only some will actually be rostered to be on at night, will be walking up and down the road outside nightclubs.

And does anyone think overtime will be offered this weekend? With the way the state's finances are in.

I am from rural Donegal, and its a fact that there are fewer checkpoints in the last 18 months.

Anecdotally, people who wouldn't drink/drive a couple of years ago, have become to realise that they are much more likely to get away with it now. And its on the rise again
    I am from rural Donegal too and its fact there is at least double the amount of checkpoints in Inishowen since June than the previous 10 years. Letterkenny and Buncranna Gaurda stations all got new unmarked Gaurda cars including an estate vectra that i have seen pulling people over at least 10 times now. the presence of Gaurda on the roads in Donegal this last wile is huge compared to a year or too ago. If you don't agree with this your most likely from south west Donegal or somewhere.

True, and I accept your point...maybe there is more activity up round your way. I would guess that may be the exception rather than the rule though, brought on by the appalling road safety record up there

Dear God it is depressing how many people don't understand statistics. ITs more depressing how in this country when it comes to road fatalities statistics are abused on a systemic basis. The way the stats are done is plain WRONG as shown by that report someone has posted. Stats on road deaths need to be done on a pro-rata basis. They should also account for how many years someone is driving.

I would love to see the real statistics some day.

Meanwhile the insurance companies make a fortune.

Cionád wrote: »
    Young men are far more likely to be on bikes or mopeds than older people also, which skews the stats somewhat. The statements they put out try to make the deaths figure even more significant "50% of all road deaths are in the 16-30 age zone, and three quarters of them are male*, the use of 50% and 3/4 make it sound more significant than it actually is... i.e 37.5% of road fatalities are in this group.

So, you think statisticians are unaware of tainted samples and other biases in sampling of one kind or another? In other words, that they entirely ignorant of a central aspect of their job? Or perhaps you think these statisticians are unethically ignoring sound practice and are simply going with the conspiracy to screw young male drivers anyway?

Holy mother of God, is there no end to the self-delusion of young male drivers that they can twist and mangle simple issues like this to serve their own interests? I find the attitude on this forum towards dangerous driving (and the corollary, legal and responsible driving) to be nauseating at times.

So, you think statisticians are unaware of tainted samples and other biases in sampling of one kind or another? In other words, that they entirely ignorant of a central aspect of their job? Or perhaps you think these statisticians are unethically ignoring sound practice and are simply going with the conspiracy to screw young male drivers anyway?

Holy mother of God, is there no end to the self-delusion of young male drivers that they can twist and mangle simple issues like this to serve their own interests? I find the attitude on this forum towards dangerous driving (and the corollary, legal and responsible driving) to be nauseating at times.

i have yet too see anyone support dangerous driving in the forum/thread yet. Yes it is my opinion the insurance companies are sitting back laughing, while the RSA blurts ****e out to blacken ALL male drivers that are young.

It's not the statisticians or their methods that are faulted by posters on here and wider afield...it's the way they are selectively used by the RSA and the insurance companies to back up their own agendas...

The "He Drives, She Dies" campagin of recent times being a great example....where quoted stats about males being more likely to crash and kill a female passenger fail to take into account such contributing factors as how much more likely a man is to be doiung the driving when in a relationship or how much more milage is done by males compared to females.
    I've yet to see anyone on these forums suggest dangerous driving is acceptable or making excuses for those that do same...unless you consider dangerous driving to be a blanket term for breaking speed limits where they are unrealistically applied/enforced...

i have yet too see anyone support dangerous driving in the forum/thread yet. Yes it is my opinion the insurance companies are sitting back laughing, while the RSA blurts ****e out to blacken ALL male drivers that are young.

a. I didn't mention people "supporting" dangerous driving. I said I despaired people's attitude to dangerous driving. Different thing altogether, so please don't put words in my mouth and brush up on your reading comprehension. And please see my reply to Wertz below for more on this.

b. Have a look at this list:

> Young men
    > Young women
    > Middle aged men
    > Middle aged women
    > Old men
    > Old women

Now, you are telling us that the RSA, guards and insurance companies look at that list and, seemingly arbitrarily, pick one of those categories to pick on. Why? Are they the richest group? No. The least likely to complain? No. The easiest to target? No. And yet, here they are being picked on. Can you explain that please?

Wertz wrote: »
    It's not the statisticians or their methods that are faulted by posters on here and wider afield...it's the way they are selectively used by the RSA and the insurance companies to back up their own agendas...

The "He Drives, She Dies" campagin of recent times being a great example....where quoted stats about males being more likely to crash and kill a female passenger fail to take into account such contributing factors as how much more likely a man is to be doiung the driving when in a relationship or how much more milage is done by males compared to females.
    I've yet to see anyone on these forums suggest dangerous driving is acceptable or making excuses for those that do same...unless you consider dangerous driving to be a blanket term for breaking speed limits where they are unrealistically applied/enforced...

Well excuse me, but yes I do see breaking speed limits as being dangerous/bad driving. You are perfectly proving the point I am trying to make by - if I may say - rather disgustingly brushing aside the rules of the road as an optional inconvenience. Is that what you do when you are out on the road? Break the speed limit because it is "unrealistic"? And then in the next breath you join the faction saying young men aren't more dangerous drivers? Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Guys, guys, this isn't a men vs. women thing, or a young vs. old thing.

We are specifically saying that young men IN DONEGAL are the worst drivers in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Oh no. There's going to be some drivers inconvenienced this weekend by checkpoints. Dear oh dear..

TBH, quit whinging and bítching and attacking other users. (You know who you are.)
    If you're a young male driver you know very well that a lot act the prick. Keep everything in check and don't be smart with the Gardaí and give lip and you'll be grand.

Those being defensive and on their mighty high horses, give it a rest, ye have barely any driving experience (me included) compared to some users on here so I think it's threads like this where us young pups should shut our traps and listen carefully to the older users who have "been there, done that."

Well excuse me, but yes I do see breaking speed limits as being dangerous/bad driving. You are perfectly proving the point I am trying to make by - if I may say - rather disgustingly brushing aside the rules of the road as an optional inconvenience. Is that what you do when you are out on the road? Break the speed limit because it is "unrealistic"? And then in the next breath you join the faction saying young men aren't more dangerous drivers? Please.

When such limits are applied on a county by county basis, inconsistently, usually by a local authority with seemingly no relevance to the actual condition/function of the road; eg 100kmp/h bothareéns, 80kmp/h dual carriageways, they fly in the face of good road sense and are generally ignored or broken. That's a running theme on this and other Irish motoring forums.
    When it comes to determining speed limits, where is the oversight from experts from perhaps the NRA? Where is the input from people who actually drive the roads? No it's just slapping up the signs and posting out the fines.
    The tone of your post suggests someone that hangs on the everyword of Noel Brett and Gaybo.

...and where did I say young men aren't dangerous drivers...was it that I said that not all young men are dangerous drivers or questioned an RSA "statistic"?
    Obviously young men are a more dangerous element on the road...but is it because they are young men or is it because of other related factors such as those I mentioned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Just wondering at what age does a person cease being a "young" driver in the eyes of the law?

Reason for asking is that I was recently calling insurance brokers looking for a better price for my car insurance and was quoted a few crazy prices. So I quizzed one sales person as to why there was a difference between the quotes and he said that at 26 I am still considered a "young" driver.

Now I presume each insurance company has its own set of guidelines but I would have presumed at 26 I would be above the threshold, obviously not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

I was stopped twice today alone....Lucky for me they only checked my insurance.

I think statistians do what their employers tell them to do. I think the RSA and government types simply don't understand the proper use of stats, or at best, choose to avoid the issue. I think its much harder to do the statistical analysis properly since it would involve detailed investigation of the driving and road using history of every fatality and every non-fatal accident. I think no politician wants to pay for that. I think its cheaper to just set up an ineffective agency and run a few ads. I think no insurance company wants to challenge a status quo that suits them. I think Gay Byrne and his like, whilst well-meaning, simply do not understand the math.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Bonito wrote: »
    TBH, quit whinging and bítching and attacking other users. (You know who you are.)

umm... you?
    If you're a young male driver you know very well that a lot act the prick. Keep everything in check and don't be smart with the Gardaí and give lip and you'll be grand.

Generalize much?
    Those being defensive and on their mighty high horses, give it a rest, ye have barely any driving experience (me included) compared to some users on here so I think it's threads like this where us young pups should shut our traps and listen carefully to the older users who have "been there, done that."

You have no idea what driving experience I have :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

KamiKazi wrote: »
    umm... you?
    Well I am now because I'm tired of the amount of pleb-like posts being made in this forum as of late.

I'm also tired of people with this "holier than thou" attitude and galloping in on their horses, I'm sure boards has an equestrian forum.
    Generalize much?
    I'm turning 19. I drive prim and proper but my insurance company rapes me on renewals because of males the same age as me acting the prick so, no, I'm not generalising in the smallest of forms.
    You have no idea what driving experience I have :rolleyes:
    You could be driving 5 or 6 years and have no claims bla bla bla bla but there's people who have been driving 20 - 30 years and have no claims and there's even days that they're on the road and there could be something which they've never encountered before.

Look, we can sit here and play who has the bigger dick game by asking how long each other is driving, what we drive, how many lessons we had, how many points we have, how many times it took us to pass our test etc or you could drop it and admit my posts are quite logical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 mardy_bum

Maybe it's my proximity to Dublin, but I think the guards do quite a good job at patrolling the roads. In my 8 or so months driving, I've been through about 5 checkpoints, and was stopped last night at a checkpoint. On top of this I saw 3 other Garda vehicles in a 10 minute journey.

mardy_bum wrote: »
    Maybe it's my proximity to Dublin, but I think the guards do quite a good job at patrolling the roads. In my 8 or so months driving, I've been through about 5 checkpoints, and was stopped last night at a checkpoint. On top of this I saw 3 other Garda vehicles in a 10 minute journey.

in the country side we normally see a garda car about once a month.

Sitec wrote: »
    Im usually not out on the road after 11pm so I was only ever stopped at 2 checkpoints in the last 7 years and one was a saturday morning at 9 am!

Its exactly the same at night.

The Garda shift pattern, last review in the 1970s :rolleyes:, makes no distinction between night & day, weekend and week day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

I don't know how you interpreted that from my post. If you look at the statistics, it's simply an analysis of deaths on the road, there is no sampling, its just a body count. More detailed analysis of the accidents, in order to find the actual cause of the deaths is required. If anything my post encourages more statisticians to be involved.

Then a more focussed Garda operation, or bank holiday weekend message could be released, that doesn't solely focus on the 'diseased young male', as Gaybo calls the under 25's. I was cured this year thank God, and haven't sped since. I'm still delusional according to you though I guess, it depends what your cutoff age is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

exactly what is the ratio of young male drivers under the age of 21 to young female driver of the same age, id hazard a guess about 10-1. now on a statistical basis clearly there are going to be many more crashed involving young male drivers. DUH.
    So perhaps they should target young male drivers then, seeing as they make up the majority of this group?
    Wertz wrote: »
    When such limits are applied on a county by county basis, inconsistently, usually by a local authority with seemingly no relevance to the actual condition/function of the road; eg 100kmp/h bothareéns, 80kmp/h dual carriageways, they fly in the face of good road sense and are generally ignored or broken. That's a running theme on this and other Irish motoring forums.
    When it comes to determining speed limits, where is the oversight from experts from perhaps the NRA? Where is the input from people who actually drive the roads? No it's just slapping up the signs and posting out the fines.
    The tone of your post suggests someone that hangs on the everyword of Noel Brett and Gaybo.
    If you have a problem with a speed limit, report it to your local councillors. To be honest, the Dublin area councils have dealt with most of the anomalies*, with most boreens reduced to 50 or 60km/h. Kildare is another matter and there are rural roads which large amounts of residential frontage at 80km/h. Bungalow blitz has seriously messed up the couny's roads. I've spent a few hundred hours going through bye-laws since the summer and while yes, there are places where limits can be increased, they are relatively few. However, in Kildare alone, hundreds of km of road need their limits reduced.

There are precious few "100kmp/h bothareéns" as 100km/h is primarily used on national routes which are less like to be boreens. "80kmp/h dual carriageways" do exist, primarily in places where there are junctions, private entrances, pedestrians and other vulnerable road users, limited lines of sight and right turns / breaks in the median.
    ...and where did I say young men aren't dangerous drivers...was it that I said that not all young men are dangerous drivers or questioned an RSA "statistic"?
    Obviously young men are a more dangerous element on the road...but is it because they are young men or is it because of other related factors such as those I mentioned?
    Young men are willing to take risks. Some of this is brain make up (from back when this would have been imporant in hunting) and some of it is where they are in society (they don't have a family, mortgage, etc. to think about). This is why we see them involved in street violence, crime and accidents (of all kinds). Indeed this willingness to take risks is sought out by militaries the world over. As people mature, their willingness to take risk adjusts.

Another factor is that men tend to see the 80% that they can do and women see the 20% they can't do. So John sees that he can parallel park, merge easily on the motorway, overtake confidently, fit though that narrow gap, do hand brake turns and thinks he's a great driver. Jane sees that some of these things are a challenge and sticks to simpler, more straightforward tasks. Thats simplying things, but there is a strong pattern in these things. However, when it comes to taking a tight corner, at speed, at night in adverse weather, sometimes John's risk-taking allows him to exceed his abilities (remember he may only have a few year's driving experience) - and thats when a serious accident happens.

Now, nobody is saying that young males are "bad people", merely that sometimes the situation exceeds their skills and then bad things happen.

* The Lucan Road / Bypass is bought up as a road that should have a higher limit, but how would the people at this bus stop feel about it? http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=dublin&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=53.300127,114.169922&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Dublin,+County+Dublin+City,+Ireland&ll=53.355879,-6.398849&spn=0.019825,0.055747&z=15&layer=c&cbll=53.355695,-6.398108&panoid=ahQmJzcNNvIc0pfPO48lGg&cbp=12,284.79,,1,0.62

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

This nonsense of statistics and young and old drivers posts is missing the point.

Why?

Very simple if your young, old or a man or a women. Dont drive like an Idiot, dont drink drive, dont drug drive, dont cram 20 people into a fiesta and do hand break turns, have all insurance, tax and NCT up to date then what in the name of lord do you have to worry about?

It just so happens there has being to many road deaths in Donegal invloving young people and the Guards dont want to be knocking on parents doors telling them their loved ones are dead. They also dont want call to anyone's house saying your 60 year old father died in a crash because he was pissed.

People get off the high horses and realise that we need to make our roads safer for everyone. If what is required to achieve lower fatalities is many Garda checkpoints then so be it. SAFE MOTORING.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

your dead right. Whats all the moaning about.stats lol just drive safely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭johnthemull

I really wish the cops would clamp down on the myriad of useless ****s that drive at feckall miles an hour in the overtaking lane of motorways. i hate them all and if guns were available i tescos i would shoot them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Drove from Dublin to Wexford last night. Saw a few traffic corps jeeps about and there was a check point near Ferrycarrig just as you come into wexford town. I've no problem with check points, surely only a problem if you're up to something you shouldn't be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Victor wrote: »

I'm sure they'll manage fine, since they aren't on the road. They do ok here with a 100km/h limit with just a hard shoulder.
    In any case, many of us who would like to see the limit raised on that road are talking about raising it to 100km/h from after that junction heading west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

If it's a bank holiday weekend, shouldnt they surely clamp down on the 45+ age profile who are the highest risk of drink driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

If it's a bank holiday weekend, shouldnt they surely clamp down on the 45+ age profile who are the highest risk of drink driving?

Young peoples driving suddenly doesn't get worse on bank holiday weekends.

However, there is twice the amount of drink drank as Sunday night is a late opening night with no work on a monday. Logic dictates to me that there would be far more drink drivers on a bank holiday weekend than on a normal one.