Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Early Childhood Memories

• 23-10-2010 11:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭

Loads of snow at christmas
    The smell of the new bicycles in the bike shop while waiting to get the tube repaired on my bmx for the 400th time
    The oul lad arriving home with a state of the art Telefunken Vhs Player
    All 5 of us in the video shop picking out the first video to watch
    The video was herbie goes bananas
    The smell of the new carpet in the good front room
    Not being allowed in the good front room except at christmas
    The fire being lit in the good front room at christmas with the tele on and the oul lad watching the world's strongest man
    The bread man coming on a thursday night and getting a bar of chocolate from him to eat while watching the crystal maze
    The excitement of watching my baby brother walk for the first time
    The joy of arriving home after the last day of school before the summer holidays

Any more.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

1) At three, my dad coming home out of his head on various hard drugs and beating the crap out of my mother then being hauled off by the cops.
    2) Riding my bike along a boardwalk by a beach in California.. would've been six or seven.
    3) Riding my tricycle and being convinced I was being chased by E.T. Think I was four or five or something.
    4) Coming home with my mother to find that she'd switched the position of a stool (for taking shoes off outside the door) and a cactus.. so I, out of habit, sat where the stool used to be and found my arse full of cactus thorns. Remember my mom putting me up on the kitchen table trying not to laugh while she plucked them out of my arse. I was between the ages of 4-6, I think..
    5) Going to the libary nearly every day. This bothered my mother enough that she forced me to read books upside down so I'd go through them slower.

Don't really remember a whole lot else tbh. Didn't have much of a childhood to remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Yore ma!!

Yes yes yes yes

Brilliant :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

The Mr. Chimney Pot I got one Christmas, think I was about three.
    The time my Da thought I'd swallowed a piece of glass, the night spent in Temple St. only to come home the next day to find the piece of glass stuck on the curtain. About three there again.
    When we were in Yugoslavia and went sight seeing to this beautiful church, candles lit everywhere, very somber atmosphere, and my little brother (about two at the time) asks really loudly "IS IT SOMEONE'S BIRTHDAY?", mortifying my folks because they never took us to mass.
    Sitting in the Anglers' Rest on a Sunday for the jazz sessions and my parents telling us it was mass so on Monday in "Our News" I'd say we went to mass on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Yore ma!!

Yes yes yes yes

No no no no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Superbus wrote: »
    No no no no

I disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

One thing that sticks out is my brush with the law when I was 4 or 5.
    I was playing near an open drain cover, a garda spotted me and shouted ''hey! git outta off it!''. I ran away, little scamp that I was.
    A while later, a few older lads (10-ish) told me the garda was looking for me and wanted to bring me to jail. I reacted normally and started bawling my eyes out, those bastards then told me ''Ah, we're only messin' lad''.
    I've never felt such fear since that day :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I remember the excitement of getting a Betamax video machine, only to endure the bitter taste of disappointment when we realised we'd backed the wrong horse in that particular race :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭itac

-Spud guns, and the tiny bruises you'd get from being hit by one.

-3 big brothers, 2 of whom were footy mad, using me as targetpractise, aka goalkeeper from an early age.

-Getting a Sindy doll, doll house & Sindy jeep for varying Xmas/Birthday pressies, when everyone else had Barbie!

-Planning family holidays around nearby hospitals, cos my big sister has Downs & used to collapse a lot.

-Only two memories of my Granda who died when I was five were of him giving out to me, and then kissing him goodbye in the coffin.

-One of my brothers bringing home the happy meal toys from McDonalds in Dublin 'cos Sligo didn't have one.

-Seeing Raughly coastline from Rosses Point beach, thinking it was America, and wanting to swim to there, cos my cousin had just moved there, and I really missed him.

-When my parents set up a mini sports course in our back garden for one of my birthday parties-each team of kids had to go from a-b-c- and complete all tasks & they got extra goodies.

-First time I cycled a bike with gears, and the first time I cycled a bike without back pedal brakes.

-Italia 90, sunny days that seemed neverending, gangs of us playing outside all day in the estate, tip the can, how rich you felt when you got a pound note, putting money in socks when cycling and you had no pockets on your skirt/shorts, spraoi magazine at school, my first Sligo Rovers match....

the list goes on and on, and even though there's some sad memories, I'm glad I've had them all : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

One of my first trips to the cinema at the age of 6 or 7 to see James Bonds 'A View to a Kill'.

Playschool aged 4, taking all the tracks to make the worlds biggest train set and going to McDonalds and Chessington Zoo for outings.

Learning to ride a bike.

Going up and down 7 flights of stairs every time the lift broke down, and prefering to take the stairs when it worked due to the smell in it.

Getting my first black eye climbing on top of the washing machine reaching for a bag of conkers from the top kitchen shelf.

Sleep overs.

Trips to Ireland.

My Grans and Great Grans Houses way out in the sticks, nearest house another mile away, having to go down the feild if wanting to go to the loo, collecting water from the spring, and thainking the window was going to be blown in on a stormy night.

Christmas morning, early to mid eighties, local park, foot deep in snow.

Moving to a town house from a top story flat and exploring its every nook and cranny.

Many many more, to many to mention, and a few to personal to mention here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

three years old, getting lost in my own house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Aw did the poor wittle wich kid get upset when he got wost in his mansion? I'd say the butler had you in sight the whole time pffffft!

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

This made me laugh out loud :D

soooo cute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

liah wrote: »
    1) At three, my dad coming home out of his head on various hard drugs and beating the crap out of my mother then being hauled off by the cops.

:( that's sad to hear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

:( that's sad to hear

Ah sure it's grand, it was 20 years ago now, I'm over it. Depressing that it's my first memory but it doesn't affect me now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Bubs99

Every sunday night when my Mam put my big brother and i in the bath together to get washed for school. She's scrub behind our ears and our necks (so painful) and my bro and I would make giant bubble mountains.

In the cold winter school mornings when Mam used to warm my uniform infront of the superser before she put it on me.

Every summer, all my aunts and cousins and mam and my brothers would go to the local GAA club to the Donkey Derby. One Summer Mam and my aunt entered my baby bro and my baby cousin in to the bonny baby show and my cousin won.

Every christmas, we'd go to a sale of work in an old small school out the country, hundreds went and entered raffles all day and bought loads of tasty home made buns and tarts.

The late nights when mam and dad would stay in work (pub) and have a few which would continue for hours on end and Id fall asleep on the bar sofas while all the drunk adults sang Irish ballads and spoke dirty jokes until 5am! (I blame them on me having such a dirty mind now...Im 27).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Setting fire to the bed while looking for dinkys under it. Sneaking downstairs for water,my Granddad catching me,and my brother shouting,tell him. Him lifting the bed with one arm (I was seriously impressed with that) and managing to put out the fire. Call it coincidence or whatever,but it's the only time he had ever stayed home with us on a Sunday night,usually all the grown ups would have went to bingo and the men to the pub,this night he decided not to go. The house would have more than likely burnt down that night only for him.

Turning on the light in the sitting room in the early hours of Christmas morning and standing goggled eyed at the sight of what Santy had brought,dear christ it doesn't get more exciting than when your 4 or 5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

wrote:
    Originally Posted by EverEvolving
    Yore ma!!

Yes yes yes yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Falcon Crest

Thanks for making me smile :) Very cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Can't believe my genius post was removed. I'm devastated.

Anyway, my earliest childhood memory is my mum giving me a bath in the sink and giving me a sweet when she was done. I can still picture the wrapping around the sweet. Must have been under two as my sister was born then, don’t have many memories from that age but that one is quite vivid.

After that it’s all a blur. And still is!