Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gun licence change over

• 23-10-2010 8:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭

Just wondering if anyone knows how long it takes to get a licence changed over? I bought a new savage .243 with a synthetic stock (nice yoke) there nearly 3weeks ago now. Now ive phoned the local station to see if there's any up date on it but i just get a dumb arse response of "ammmm, im not sure what the story is with that now, ive it all sent off anyway"...

Now its not like im applying for a new licence as im just upgrading from the .223, so has anyone else done something similar and how long did it take?

S2K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

Shoot2kill wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone knows how long it takes to get a licence changed over? I bought a new savage .243 with a synthetic stock (nice yoke) there nearly 3weeks ago now. Now ive phoned the local station to see if there's any up date on it but i just get a dumb arse response of "ammmm, im not sure what the story is with that now, ive it all sent off anyway"...

Now its not like im applying for a new licence as im just upgrading from the .223, so has anyone else done something similar and how long did it take?

S2K

a friend of mine changed his gun not to long ago it took him just over 6 weeks to get it back but it all depends what part of the country your in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

6 weeks :eek:

Im in north cork, the local station is meant to be good enough that way but i hope to christ its alot faster than 6 weeks!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

The accepted amount of time for a "like for like" subsitution of a firearms license is 2 weeks. Allowing for postage to and from stations, etc allow 3 weeks then start asking.

Problem with your subsitution is a .223 is not a .243. They are two different calibers. Now i've heard of lads getting them done, my own Father got his 6.5 changed to a .308 under the new system as a straight substitution. However, it really is station dependant. Meaning your FO or Super could view the changing of a .223 cal to a .243 cal as being a brand new application, but as your FO said he has the application sent off already and with a substitution you do not fill in all the FCA1 it must be going through as a sub and not a new application.

You will know soon enough. You get a grant letter (as per a new application) saying your application has been successful. You do nothing. A few days later your new license will arrive automatically in the post. If you get a receipt letter instead of the grant letter then it is likely it went through as a new substitution. Although i don't know how that could be as with a sub you do not fill in doctor details, referees, photos, etc. All of which are needed for a new application.

Hope that is easy enough to follow.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Commissioner's Guidelines on substitutions state that a like for like substitution could mean, for example, an unrestricted long firearm for an unrestricted long firearm, provided the purpose hasn't changed, so if your super doesn't view the .243 as a deer calibre and your .223 was for foxing, then you could be fine. Likewise, trading a .270 for say a .300 Win Mag should also be fine. Swapping a shotgun for a hunting rifle would depend on how broadly your super interpreted the term hunting as a reason for licensing. Of course, all this is dependent on your super adhering to the guidelines, but for what it's worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Thanks a million for that lads. That clears it up a bit alright. I phoned the station again today and got talking to another gard, he was bang on and was into the hunting himself, reckons ill have it in the post Tuesday or Wednesday so happy days!

I'll be in action next weekend. Ive managed to get permission to shoot a lovely piece of land. There has been sightings of a few big reds up. Cant wait to get up there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Taking all as said above a like for like will take as long as it takes to input the new data into the new computer pulse system. The new license will then issue automatically. For me this was one working day to just post out the new license as the data was input on a Wednesday night and the license issued the next day and I had it on the Friday.