Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interest Check: Team tournament, Hallowe'en weekend

• 21-10-2010 9:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭

Since Gamer Expo isn't on Hallowe'en weekend, would people be up for a team tournament in XGC instead?

Also, would ye prefer 2v2 or 3v3 as the format?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

2 v 2. More teams.

Could we perhaps pick our own teams? We've done the random thing 3 times now, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

Yeah, sorry, should have clarified that. I'm all for people picking their team members in advance. Anyone left over can pair up on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

fantastic ID, i am game.
    Bagsy Terry

Placebo wrote: »
    fantastic ID, i am game.
    Bagsy Terry

Get in line, there's Team Azzamax, and if not we had an idea of forming the most annoying team in sports entertainment Irish Street fighter history :D

Team eyeliner, that my teams name.
    Azzamax probably will be the most annoying team in history !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

Even as you know how I am not a fan of SFIV, I'd still be up for this, just for the laugh and just to have some craic.

Team "IHateThisGame", who is with me?

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

Team ProbablyWontBeThere. Sorry guys :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Id be up for this if its a Saturday

Sat for me too thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭GorySnake

I got Ramza!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

I could be up for this.

Team "What'sAFlyingBarcelonaAnyway?"

lads take monday off, we can all go out after and take some ecstasy tablets and snort some white powder, back stage*

*im not joking or am i ?

Me Steve and Gory

Team Mexican snakewheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

Team Schoolgirl

Let's go Yreval! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

I'll be up for this if I can find someone as sh1t as me to team up with:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭J.I.M.

This in Dublin? I'll come if I can find a team partner and accommodation :D

J.I.M. wrote: »
    This in Dublin? I'll come if I can find a team partner and accommodation :D

Don't ask for much do you?:D

pdbhp wrote: »
    Don't ask for much do you?:D

Well, a few beers would be nice too...:rolleyes:

Don't forget the sweet Chinese take away!

If you're stuck I'll partner you

Don't forget the sweet Chinese take away!

If you're stuck I'll partner you

Allright cool, looking forward to it. Now I just need a place to stay... *whistles*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 daltronica

Sounds cool. How does this work? Do i need to round up a team?

Hey Jim, where abouts in tralee you from, thats a long way to come for some games.

Shout out:
    I played a few casuals with a guy who moved here from America at the last Inferno, wondering if he's on here. Played a savage akuma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,822 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

I vote 2v2, single game each -- P1 of Team A takes on P1 of Team B, same for P2s, winners play for tie-break.
    Double-elimination.

SSFIV games are slow enough as-is, 3v3 would take ages.

More teams. More rivalry.

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    More teams. More rivalry. More sandwiches

FYP :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

Pfft. chicken rolls form spar, man.

With sundried tomatoes. and double bacon.

daltronica wrote: »
    Sounds cool. How does this work? Do i need to round up a team?

Hey Jim, where abouts in tralee you from, thats a long way to come for some games.

Shout out:
    I played a few casuals with a guy who moved here from America at the last Inferno, wondering if he's on here. Played a savage akuma.

Nah it ain't, trains are pretty cheap with student travel card. Plus I want to visit Dublin again, didn't really get to see it much last time since I was at Eirtakon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

I'm considering coming out of retirement for this. Team Anti-Doom. After making him rage quit last week, he is denying it. Almost have to really

Any takers for Team Anti-Doom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭animaX

Shout out:

Yeah that's DPjohnny. He'll be around alright.
    ayjayirl wrote: »
    After making him rage quit last week, he is denying it. Almost have to really

Was the hauppauge running?!

Unfortunately not. You should hear his crap excuse. Pathetic really :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

ayjayirl wrote: »
    Unfortunately not. You should hear his crap excuse. Pathetic really :)

Well lets here it then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I'm game for this.

I'll even put some practise in beforehand.

Bush80 wrote: »
    Well lets here it then :D

My fiance called us for dinner so he instantly hit end match without so much of a second gone by after losing 4/5 in a row...... Never in the history of playing SSF4 have we not finished out the game we were playing. :rolleyes:

Allright cool, looking forward to it. Now I just need a place to stay... *whistles*

Good man J.I.M looks like we're a team :D
    I'm sure you'll find some place to stay.
    Do you play Xbox or PS3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,822 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

I'll join you AJ.

Team DryRyu ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Ken B

I'm only available for friday if anyone wants to join the 'Team Spanking-Gorgeous'.....for an unforgettable evening.

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    I'll join you AJ.

Team DryRyu ;)

Done. But it has to be Team Anti-Doom....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Speed Boat

I'll be there for sure. Think a 2v2 will be best for getting numbers(of teams).

Will we be running it as one instance of a character per team and character lock?

Speed Boat wrote: »
    I'll be there for sure. Think a 2v2 will be best for getting numbers(of teams).

Will we be running it as one instance of a character per team and character lock?

Character lock is good idea but if they want to pick the same characters, let em. imo. :)

Good man J.I.M looks like we're a team :D
    I'm sure you'll find some place to stay.
    Do you play Xbox or PS3?

I play on a PS3 pad. No worries though, I ordered a controller converter for 360, still needs to be tested though. It should be arriving on early next week.

Oh yeah, could someone provide me a link to where this XGC is? :)

Oh yeah oh yeah, we need a team name now! Suggestions? Who do you play? I main Guy.

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

Directions: Get the Luas into the city from Hueston as far as Jervis, then... walk about 2 minutes :)

Saturday's grand, that's the day I was sort of assuming people would want it anyway.

I want to run it as character lock and 1 of a character per team (the norm for 2v2 and 3v3 tournaments).

Anyone else have a preference on Japanese or American-style format (American = as Kiki said, P1 team A vs P1 team B, P2 vs P2, then tiebreak between the winners - Japanese is winner stays on so you can have OCVs).

Personally I prefer Japanese style but if a good few people would prefer the other way I'm happy to run it that way.

I'd prefer Japanese style, but either way is fine with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Speed Boat

Japanese style i think. I want to see ocvs and the associated hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 daltronica

Nah it ain't, trains are pretty cheap with student travel card. Plus I want to visit Dublin again, didn't really get to see it much last time since I was at Eirtakon.

Just wondering cos im from round tralee way too. 75 euro for a return to dublin, without a student card, your nearly better flying. sigh..

Train tickets are a hell of alot cheaper if you book early and online, student or not.

Just wondering cos im from round tralee way too. 75 euro for a return to dublin, without a student card, your nearly better flying. sigh..

You're in Tralee? Hey PM me if you wanna have some casuals this weekend or next week. I could use a little practise :D

I play on a PS3 pad. No worries though, I ordered a controller converter for 360, still needs to be tested though. It should be arriving on early next week.

Oh yeah, could someone provide me a link to where this XGC is? :)

Oh yeah oh yeah, we need a team name now! Suggestions? Who do you play? I main Guy.

Usually main Blanka or Ryu but I've been playing some Seth lately.
    I play Xbox.
    As for team names we should be team "probably won't win" or team "cheap booze is good news" something sh1te like that

wouldnt sunday suit ? as people will be in town for halloween etc and can go out straight away ? specially ppl travelling from far

I doubt it, especially doubt people want to bring their sticks and whatever out on Hallowe'en night straight from the tournament. I'm running it on Saturday anyway.

makes sense.
    Also +1 for japenese style, OCV's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭GorySnake

We want OCV's get outta here Kiki