Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winmau World Masters 2010 Draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

Some nice draws and some tough ones. Connie got a tough board and could have to play the two welsh boys and John Walton in his first 3 games.

Tough one for Vindaloo against John Henderson, good luck mate. Sean Mc Gowan a tough one, Martin McCloskey in the same group but with a start i'm sure he'd like.

Nice enough draw for Damien O'Driscoll and he could do very, very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭greened

I see Paddy Meany got a bye in the first round (which is not always good) but he should be happy with the board. Dont think he would be worried about Mitch Davies, although he will know the Bristol player from the recent IOM International where he (Davies) won the youth play off. after that I dont know about the other players he might face if (when) he gets past Davies. Good look to Paddy he could do well there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

padr81 wrote: »
    Some nice draws and some tough ones. Connie got a tough board and could have to play the two welsh boys and John Walton in his first 3 games.

Tough one for Vindaloo against John Henderson, good luck mate. Sean Mc Gowan a tough one, Martin McCloskey in the same group but with a start i'm sure he'd like.

Nice enough draw for Damien O'Driscoll and he could do very, very well.

Big shout to vindaloo and damo, and all the Irish lads taking part.

If mick plays his proper game he cud worry hendorson, and a win for mick would not suprise me in the slightest.

Damo im told is coming back to form bigtime, (o shea said it tuesday) (sprout said it last week) im hearing big storys bout the lad coming back to his old self. Thou his missus is due to drop soon, (not sure if she has popped)

I think lakeside we will see 1 irish lad qualify, hopefully more.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭vindaloo1

Yep, big Hendo, and Rik Hofstra and Martin Phillips up the top. Couldn't have asked for an easier draw :P

I played with Kevin Thomas in the IOM in the blind draw doubles on the Friday. Good player, but I think Connie should take him.

John Flood another man with a tough group. Colin Tyrer and Dennis Nilsson lurking in the bottom of the draw.

Sean Wilson would be my fancy to go well - based on the fact that I dont recognize any name apart from Peter Evison in bottom half of his draw. Martin Heneghan another one to look out for too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭greened

good luck to all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Dessiemc27

good luck to john joe dolan and denise cassidy. Up Fermanagh !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

TV coverage of the World Masters begins next Saturday October 30th on BBC 1 from 1 00 to 4 30 with highlights of the last 16 round of mens games followed by live coverage of the quarter finals. The coverage continues on Sunday on BBC 2 from 2 00 to 5 30 with 1 mens semi final live and the final live with highlights of the other mens semi final and the womens final. The 1st mens semi final can be seen live on BBC interactive (red button) from 12 00 to 2 00.

Best of luck to all Irish players tomorrow in Hull and let's hope we'll see some Irish players qualify for the televised stages on Saturday.

vindaloo1 wrote: »
    Yep, big Hendo, and Rik Hofstra and Martin Phillips up the top. Couldn't have asked for an easier draw :P

I played with Kevin Thomas in the IOM in the blind draw doubles on the Friday. Good player, but I think Connie should take him.

John Flood another man with a tough group. Colin Tyrer and Dennis Nilsson lurking in the bottom of the draw.

Sean Wilson would be my fancy to go well - based on the fact that I dont recognize any name apart from Peter Evison in bottom half of his draw. Martin Heneghan another one to look out for too.

blew it.
    lost first set 2-0. lost 2nd 2-1, missed 3 at double 12 to win it. won third 2-1. lost 4th 2-1 f*cked up 56 finish, hit a fat 8 instead of 16. could have had him 3-1, should have been 2-2.

still a few left in today and going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

blew it.
    lost first set 2-0. lost 2nd 2-1, missed 3 at double 12 to win it. won third 2-1. lost 4th 2-1 f*cked up 56 finish, hit a fat 8 instead of 16. could have had him 3-1, should have been 2-2.

Unlucky Mick, i had an idea u wud run him close if not beat him, iv been on the other end of 1 or 2 of ur games!!!!!

blew it.

unlucky mate. being following your progress all week.

Martin Mc Closkey a game away from the TV stages and will play Steve Douglas or Paul Jennings.

Martin McCloskey is through beating Paul Jennings 3 sets to 1 to qualify for his 2nd consecutive televised BDO major. Hope he does well.

Martin McCloskey will play Tony O'Shea in the last 16 tomorrow and that will be 1 of the last 16 games that is live on TV. Hard luck to Paddy Meaney who lost out in the quarter finals of the boys masters but a great acheivement all the same to get that far.

Dicie wrote: »
    Unlucky Mick, i had an idea u wud run him close if not beat him, iv been on the other end of 1 or 2 of ur games!!!!!

thanks, Dicie, might see you in Kilkenny if you are there, I'm leaving here today. I'll give you all the gory details about Hull.

Martin McCloskey is through beating Paul Jennings 3 sets to 1 to qualify for his 2nd consecutive televised BDO major. Hope he does well.

McCloskey played super stuff yesterday, well deserved.

John Flood was going well, ran out of steam though after coming back to beat Denis Nilsson, couldnt keep up with West.

That Jan Dekker lad is good, qualified both days, will run Adams close if he keeps his head.

Bright pink backdrop on the main stage by the way, it'll be like a gay darts festival up there.

Action underway in the last 16 since 9 00 this morning. Full list of games on www.bdodarts.com. McCloskey in action at 1 30. Results coming through as games end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 smcque

well done martin against o shea epic:) ,good luck in quarters

Brilliant day for Martin McCloskey,he beat Dean Winstanley 3-0 to reach tomorrow's semi final where he'll play Martin Adams.

Brilliant stuff alright. Wolfie tomorrow. I think today's results guarantee him lakeside too. With Phillips, Adams and Kellet already qualified does he get the spot from the masters?

He has to win the masters to qualify for Lakeside. If he doesn't win Andy Boulton who won a play off for a standby place in Lakeside will take his place in Lakeside. The other 2 semi finalists have already qualified for Lakeside. McCloskey is playing well and could beat Adams tomorrow.

ah ok, i thought robbie green got it last year on the strength of his masters performance?

First semi final just over result,Stuart Kellet 6 Martin Phillips 5. Adams v McCloskey on at 2 00 live on BBC 2.

ah ok, i thought robbie green got it last year on the strength of his masters performance?
    Robbie Green qualified from the rankings last year. There is 1 place available in the Lakeside line up for the World Masters winner. If the winner has already qualified for Lakeside the place is then given to the winner of a standby play off from the qualifiers. The 4 losers of the qualifying finals from Thursday play off and the winner from that group is the standby player. All a little complicated!

Hard luck to Martin McCloskey who lost out 6-3 to Martin Adams in the semi final. Martin missed 1 dart at double 20 to level it at 4 sets each and after that Adams pulled away to win. Adams went on to complete 3 masters titles in a row beating Stuart Kellett 7-3 in the final.

While the BBC were making a big deal out of Adams 3 in a row Bob Anderson done 3 in a row in the 80's when you had to play from round 1 unlike Adams who was given a bye each time to the last 16 and personally I think Bob Anderson's acheivement is much more worthy.

As for the BBC coverage I'm afraid it leaves a lot to be desired and you'd wonder do the BBC have any interest in BDO darts long term?

Well done to McCloskey on reaching the semi final,gaining hard earned ranking points and earning £3000 for his trouble but personally I think a player deserves a lot more than that for reaching a World ranking semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Any Double !

Great run by Martin. He's a real class act and as an earlier post said, surely reaching a semi final spot in what is one of the only 2 "World" televised tournaments that the BDO/WDF hold deserves a place in their World Championships after XMas.
    The good thing is at least we won't have to listen or look at Bobby George for a while again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

£3000 for a semi-final spot in a "major" is an absolute piss take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

Can anyone tell me a bit more about McCloskey? Has he appeared in a major before? Ever tried his hand at PDC events? How would he compare to Dolan, McGowan etc?

dartsfan wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me a bit more about McCloskey? Has he appeared in a major before? Ever tried his hand at PDC events? How would he compare to Dolan, McGowan etc?
    He played in this year's Lakeside World Championship where he won his 1st round game against Steve West 3-2 before losing to Garry Thompson 4-1 in the 2nd round.

He has been a regular on the Irish darts team the past few years and has played in World and Europe Cups with them as well as other International team events. He plays in all the INDO events in Ireland and as far as I'm aware he has never played in any PDC events.

Personally I think McCloskey is a good player and is up there with the best in Ireland. I do think he would do well in PDC events but I'm pretty sure he'll stay with the BDO for the foreseeable future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Any Double !

Martin is a very seasoned international but also just last year beat the cocky No11 seed Steve West in round one of the world championships before being below his best against Gary Robson when he lost in the next round.
    Domestically he has won just about everything there is available under the INDO umbrella.
    I don't believe he's ever played in a current PDC event or in a round of the Ireland's Players Championship... but I'm sure Dartgod will confirm this. I do remember watching him years ago in Rosslare playing against a team made up of the top PDC players around then. Martin was in an Irish team selected from the best in the land at the time regardless of their chosen code. He was drawn against Shane Burgess who was very hot at the time and runner up to Taylor in the Grand Prix. Martin took him apart 3-0 never going over 15 darts.
    Its a shame he may not get a chance to be on TV again for a year due to the current drought of televised tournaments on the BDO/WDF circuit. I think the next time he is on ... his opponent will get a very tough time of it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Last time i saw him at an event it was at the All-Irelands, I played his compatriot from Donegal Sean Wilson who I was narrowly beaten by. Great game.

McCloskey has done well here, and his strongest asset will be his calmness on stage. He doesn't look nervous or worried or out of place. Most certainly something which will stand to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭cizolin

Kingp35 wrote: »
    £3000 for a semi-final spot in a "major" is an absolute piss take.

Gotta totally agree with that, especially when stuart kellet made 25,000 for making the final, semi finalists should of at least got 10,000 imo

I would say Martin is on a par with most the countries top players. Theres very little difference between our top 20 player both north and south of the border.

He's probably our most consistent player though and very rarely has the bad days that alot of our others top players tend to have. To play in 2 BDO majors in less than a year is a testament to him and his consistency. He's got as far as any irish player ever in the Lakeside and now in the Masters and to do it all in one year is a huge achievement. To make the semi's of the masters off the floor is a brilliant performance and he had to play 5 games before Adams even started. Same with Lakeside.

At the end of the day Ireland has about 10-12 players who are of a simular standard and could compete at the business end of any professional event and alot who are right on their tails and just need the consistency to match them. its just a pity we can't get them all trying for the Irish shirt.

Last time i saw him at an event it was at the All-Irelands, I played his compatriot from Donegal Sean Wilson who I was narrowly beaten by. Great game.

McCloskey has done well here, and his strongest asset will be his calmness on stage. He doesn't look nervous or worried or out of place. Most certainly something which will stand to him.

Tbh I think he can be a bit of a head shaker at times. His opponent never gets to him but he gets frustrated with himself when he goes 6 darts without a treble sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

It was a good run by mccloskey and for a few loose darts might well have been closer.

considering stuart kellett looked fairly average mccloskey could have missed a big oppurtunity.

i read over the weekend that he wont be at lakeside.shame if thats the case.