Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do other nations complain as much as ireland ?

• 20-10-2010 7:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭

are we a nation of moaners and bitter jealously driven haters ?

UK today says they are cutting 83 BILLION , were only expecting to cut 4 , maybe 5 billion....... and everyone swears ireland is the worst place in the world!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

UK today says they are cutting 83 BILLION , were only expecting to cut 4 , maybe 5 billion....... and everyone swears ireland is the worst place in the world!!!!!

Is this a complaint, or just a question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

no, others just go to war...........As someone said to me recently, we'd have had a revolution here years ago if we could get someone else to do it, how right he was, there's certainly no fighting Irish left, anyone with any get up and go has got up and left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

You have to complain and say Ireland is the worst place on earth.

If you say anything good about Ireland, it is automatically assumed you are in the IRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SamSamSammy

why do we complain and moan so much ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

From my Point of View, Ireland complains the least. Or rather, I've never seen such an appalling complaint:action ratio as Ireland's got. Cement Truck heroes and protest rallies are far too uncommon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

So our country is or isn't in the sh*tter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

everyone complains.

UK cut 83 BILLION..... i think thats worse than us.... people say they'll move to UK for jobs....... how does that make sense......

people make out ireland to be worse when they have bigger cuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Well if you watch Scottish or English comedians tones of them have a stock "you can say one thing for the English, we are the best in the world when it comes to having a good moan, at least we top the world in one thing, amIright?" joke or bit. There are probably plenty of German/French/Dutch/Norwegian comedians with the same stand up bit in their routine.

So no, it's nothing specific to Ireland. It's a human thing not an Irish one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

In France they want to increase the retirement age by 2 years and this is what happens

We dont complain enough!!
    Or bother to take to the streets!!

Last year Brian Clowen spent 850k of our money on 6 personal advisors! Imagine what they would do in France in Sarkozy did something like that!!

Also are incompetent gov raised our retirement age by 2 years last year and no one said boo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

why do we complain and moan so much ?

Stop moaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Just to put that into perspective - The UK population is around 61 million & they have the 3rd largest economy in Europe. So relatively speaking, their cuts will be felt a lot less.

And even so, the Brits love to moan too. It's not just the Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

ONLY?

Ever hear of relativity?
    61 million people in UK / 4million in Ireland

83 billion divided by 61 million = 1360
    4 billion divided by 4 million = 1000

In reverse UK have far far far more revenue generating capacity than Ireland purely based on population, therefore they can fix their problems quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I think the Brits are bigger moaners than us by far. Open any U.K. newspaper and see what a nation of whingers they are. They're always bleating about how the country has gone to hell in a handbasket with hoodies, immigrants, benefit cheats, single mothers, and on and on.

Ah, if only Diana were still alive...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Plus, the Uk aren't pouring their entire body of cuts down a black hole in Seanie FitzPatrick's back garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭greeno

Ah here look at the size of their population and ability to raise taxes compared to our country. There is no comparison.

the UK seem a better nation to us then ?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

It's only when we are content as a nation that we are really in trouble. Complaining is our main form of communication.

edit: bloody laptop, messing up my typing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

skelliser wrote: »
    In France they want to increase the retirement age by 2 years and this is what happens

Last year Brian Clowen spent 850k of our money on 6 personal advisors! Imagine what they would do in France in Sarkozy did something like that!!

Also are incompetent gov raised our retirement age by 2 years last year and no one said boo!

They should raise it by a month for every day they keep rioting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Stupid fcuking thread.
    Everything is fcuking stupid.

etc.

cypharius wrote: »
    They should raise it by a month for every day they keep rioting.

Dunno about you but i dont intend on working until 67 to pay for Seanies, Biffos and Berties **** ups!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

Dunno about you but i dont intend on working until 67 to pay for Seanies, Biffos and Berties **** ups!

Nor do I, I'll be moving once I'm ready. But the French are raising it from 60 to 62.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

You don't have to work until you're 67. You can retire whenever you like.

The only catch is that you'll have to have enough money to live on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

the UK seem a better nation to us then ?

Oh God - I just realised i posted in After Hours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

no, others just go to war...........As someone said to me recently, we'd have had a revolution here years ago if we could get someone else to do it, how right he was, there's certainly no fighting Irish left, anyone with any get up and go has got up and left.

Oh but if we got up they'd be sorry, they'd be sorry!!:rolleyes:
    All that uproar for just the one issue and looked at all the things we've had to take and not a single budge from us, I'd say the older generations would have made their voice heard for less.
    But I'd say the main reason for that is because some people are just trying to get by and don't have time for rioting, but I'd say the in budget in December could change everything..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Your right I am retiring at 48 or tonight if Teletext decides to show my lotto numbers.

Fcuking Aertel. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

And even so, the Brits love to moan too. It's not just the Irish.

I love London and Londoners but I am amazed at the things they complain about at times, for instance if they have to wait 5 mins for the nxt tube, they start complaining about the service, they also complain about the cost of the tube, they don't realise how lucky they are and how cheap it actually is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

If I'm not mistaken, the UK are cutting £83 billion over 4 years
    = 94.34 billion euro at today's exchange rates.

We're trying to cut 15 billion euro over 4 years.

So they're trying to cut 6.2 times more than us.

population of uk = 61.4 million
    population of ireland = 4.4 million
    ---> they have 14 times more people than us but are only trying to save 6 times what we're trying to save.
    ---> we're trying to save over twice as much per person as they are.

Still though, we do talk about the budget situation an awful lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Eh, do ye know how population numbers work? Population of UK: 61 million. Population of Ireland: 4.2 million. Not a giant difference in cuts per person there OP.

ETA: Just saw Cleremy's much better post there. Dammit!

i know that put did you read the small print?

Basically you can opt out which means your on your own. Also the money the gov collects will be goin to the same pension fund managers that have screwed up their returns in the recession! Happy days for them!

You might be thinking sure what odds, il get the state pension anyways but no, this is a nice little plan to let the state pension rot, because the majority who can afford it will go with this or private.

By the time you reach 67 the state pension will be nothing it is compared to today, inflation etc.

Once again screwing the worse off and lower paid.

This is the same way they have ruined the public health service, to be gauranteed quick treatment you need to go private.
    Its a great little country we live in when public hospitals are closing whilst new private hospitals are opening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

You cannot extrapolate cuts in the UK to the proposed Irish cuts, quite similar in terms of objectives which is cutting the budget deficit , but it is a lot different when you consider methodology.

Some of the cuts announced today in the UK do not take immediate effect i.e. there are planned timelines in place to ease the transition. When the Irish cuts are made in December 2010, a lot will take immediate effect from January e.g. social welfare, child benefit, increased taxes, cut in healthcare frontline services etc, if you look carefully into the UK cuts, social related cuts ( welfare, NHS, increased taxes ) have been calibrated in such a way that it doesn't distort the economy in the short-medium run.

Having said that, in reality there is little room for the Irish government to make any economic manoeuvers at the moment. They have to make the cuts and it is going to be painful. The opportunity cost of doing otherwise will be very dangerous e.g. IMF/ EU intervention which I think is certainly not desirable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

I won't hold that the carry on of these thuggish c@nts is anything to be either emulated or condoned, most of these prats are just out to cause mayhem and destruction. They don't care about the economy or social justice because they will in all likelihood not contribute anything worthwhile to society. They want to protest peacefully thats fine with me, but burning out cars that probably belong to some poor bastard who has nothing to do with the situation is not on.

I hope cops smacked a few of these w@nkers upside the head with a truncheon for acting like animals, they deserve some rough justice and I won't shed a single tear for them when the cops dish it out.

I agree. All we do is moan and complain to each other instead of getting out on the streets like the French do to register our protest (though I certainly don't agree with burning cars and violence). It mightn't change anything but at least we wouldn't feel like impotent chumps about the banksters/NAMA/spending cuts and feeling like we're just sitting back and taking whatever pain the Govt. decides to dole out to us without a fight.

The French have solidarity, something that's seemingly missing in out individualistic society. Here it's just keep the head down and look after no.1.
    Imagine if the French...or the Germans, or the Dutch, Spaniards, Swedes...whoever, were going through what we are, they bloody well wouldn't just take it without mass protests on the streets either. I hate the apathy and sense of impotency of too many people in this country.
    I've really lost a lot of respect for people here.
    The only people with any convictions and guts were the older people who protested against pension cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Britain already has its banks pretty much sorted; this means they will be able to borrow and lend and will allow credit to flow in the economy.
    The cuts they are making, whatever one might think of them, are being made to prevent the country getting into further debt and to balance the books.
    What is still be borrowed and spent will actually be spent for the benifit of the country.
    Ireland is in a completely different situation.
    Even our supposedly solvent banks already require huge transfusions of capital from the state; and will only get worse.
    The heist that is the Anglo-bailout/Nama, will leave the country in unimaginable, horrific debt; if anyone will actually lend to us, we'll be borrowing just to try and stay afloat, all the while getting into further debt.
    The cuts being made, which will be bigger than already admitted to and the huge borrowings that continue to get us into further debt, will be made in order for us to pay the debts of gamblers; debts we have no responsibility for.
    If we continue down the Anglo/Nama route the country is finished.
    All in all, i'd say people aren't complaining nearly enough; or at least aren't doing so in a constructive enough manner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

ours was raised from 65 to 68 france the raised it from 60 to 62!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

You have to complain and say Ireland is the worst place on earth.

If you say anything good about Ireland, it is automatically assumed you are in the IRA.

I thought that one myself, or they assume you support Celtic and have a Bobby Sands poster, It aint that bad a place, just that you voted in a bunch of self serving d!cks (FF & Greens) and now our grand children will be paying for it, Just dont do it again (vote FF & Greens).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

The Aussie wrote: »
    , just that you voted in a bunch of self serving d!cks (FF & Greens) and now our grand children will be paying for it, Just dont do it again (vote FF & Greens).

If only it was that simple. You have to wonder if we (the Irish) can get ourselves out of this mess

OPENROAD wrote: »
    If only it was that simple. You have to wonder if we (the Irish) can get ourselves out of this mess

Yes but not in our lifetime, if only we had a full pension after 5 years worth of "Work" (i tried to use the term work as loosely as possible) and then fall back on a cushy job we spent 5 years setting up for ourselves, oh if only i was a Fine Failure or a Tofu eating Green, if only.

The Aussie wrote: »
    I thought that one myself, or they assume you support Celtic and have a Bobby Sands poster, It aint that bad a place, just that you voted in a bunch of self serving d!cks (FF & Greens) and now our grand children will be paying for it, Just dont do it again (vote FF & Greens).

The Greens may be a bit of a spineless lot but they didn't cause Anglo/NAMA or the economic meltdown (yes I know they compromised and voted for NAMA to stay in power).
    They've brought in a few bills and pieces of legislation that I think are great i.e. like yesterday the new law making it an offense to lay down poison on land that kill our birds of prey, the opening of the Dunboyne railway, increased investment on enhanced fibre optic communications network, the Civil Partnership bill, the Greener homes grant scheme for people to switch to renewable energy for their homes, new planning bill this year to curb future inappropriate development.

That's off the top of my head. And no I'm not a Green Party member though I did vote for them in the last elections. :)

Punish FF by all means but I don't see why the Greens should take the blame for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

We just bitch; we never do anything.

Yes we do bitch the most but other countries get change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Actions speak louder than words. Just look at the Frenchies!
    The Irish talk a good game but fail to turn up for the kick off!

Greentopia wrote: »
    The Greens may be a bit of a spineless lot but they didn't cause Anglo/NAMA or the economic meltdown (yes I know they compromised and voted for NAMA to stay in power).
    They've brought in a few bills and pieces of legislation that I think are great i.e. like yesterday the new law making it an offense to lay down poison on land that kill our birds of prey, the opening of the Dunboyne railway, increased investment on enhanced fibre optic communications network, the Civil Partnership bill, the Greener homes grant scheme for people to switch to renewable energy for their homes, new planning bill this year to curb future inappropriate development.

That's off the top of my head. And no I'm not a Green Party member though I did vote for them in the last elections. :)

Punish FF by all means but I don't see why the Greens should take the blame for them.

I can see where you are coming from that they have done some good, but at this stage they are guilty of association, they have the power to end this charade but wont, which leads to asking yourself Why???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I invite you to go visit Germany... a more miserable batch of wingers you'll be hard put to find anywhere else. And the jealousy... they've even got a special word for jealousy resulting from keeping up with the Jonses. Futterneid.