Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats your opinion on jeeps .Landcruiser,pajerio,hilux,navara??????

• 20-10-2010 1:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭

hey guys posted a similar topic in the 4x4 section but i said id post here aswel .

i am looking for a comercial jeep for driveing around and general towing sometimes .I like the look of the new shape 2003-... swb landcruisers and the new shape pajerios i know the two of em are completely different or so i have been told . I have also taught about a crew cab ,navara or hilux as the tax and insurance would be commercial but still b able have more seating . what are your veiws on the above landcruiser ,hilux,navara,pajerio,
    And roughly what are 2003-2004 landcruisers makeing price wise .
    Are jeeps still popular sellers ? I know a lad trying to sell a top spec 2007 hilux vigo 3.0d4d 104km and he lookin 17,000 and getting no interest in it at all.

All opinions welcome .

bk1991

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭vcsggl

It depends a lot on what you are going to use the jeep for but at the end of the day you'll never get anything that will beat a Landrover Defender when it comes to serious work!

George

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 30 rocketjk

Be careful newer landcrusers (d4d engines) injectors give trouble. Have a mechanic friend who works in a toyota dealership, says every d4d injectors give trouble cost over E1000:eek: and will still fail again after reconditioned. He owns a 99 lc and with 300k miles never gave a days bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

What would you be using it for?

Maybe sone on here could comment on the miles per gallon on a land cruiser / pajero?

I know they are handy yokes to have, but if you dont have a need for it every day, is all yer doing just throwing away money on diesel?

(Should I brace myself for the back lash from that last comment) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭bk1991

well as i said above i would be useing it as car alwell as off road and trailer pulling .As well as trowing tools etc in back . from what i am reading hearing 30mpg would be at the limit for good going ? or is tis wrong ?.

i have been searching on done deal and pricies are very varied .But i was told that at auctions that 2003-2004 landcruisers can be got cheep . And theese have enginerrs reports so shoulnt have much probs ...

also whats the story with the tax did it come into force yet ?

bk1991

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

we had an 2003 landcruiser - new shape... great job , it was a commercial , we only sold it as we needed a passenger jeep , no complaints here

whelan1 wrote: »
    we had an 2003 landcruiser - new shape... great job , it was a commercial , we only sold it as we needed a passenger jeep , no complaints here

had you any problems with it ? and what spec was it ? did you trade it or private sale and what price it make ? did you go for another landcruiser ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

had most jeeps except pajero, land cruiser is not great off road and have heard the new ones give bother. isuzu are serious machine to pull a trailer but again if off road ok is about it. disco are an excellent machine and easy to get parts.
    currently have a jeep cherokee fairly bomb proof so far and best i've driven off road getting parts for them can be a b*#t#h and some mechanics run when they see it but in the second hand market some serious value now and are a serious work house, you'll hear allot of bad comments but mine is the most reliable jeep i've ever had and best off road bbar none had but as mentioned parts and getting work done.....
    my next will be a disco just because of the parts issue with jeeps

bk1991 wrote: »
    had you any problems with it ? and what spec was it ? did you trade it or private sale and what price it make ? did you go for another landcruiser ?
    we sold it in the auto trader in 2008 got 15000 for it:D this was when things where good , it was a black d4d ,lovely looking jeep, bought a 1997 lwb pajero 7 seater for 7500 instead , grand job but heater plugs are a problem on it, can bring it anywhere , tax on it is crimminal:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I have a 2006 Commercial Landcruiser. Bought it for €16,500 last year with low mileage.

Getting about 28 MPG overall. My first 4WD, so cant compare to others.

No problems so far anyway. Great to pull a trailer. Handy driving around fields too when needed.

The problem mentioned above about the injectors was to do with the 'seats', the washers underneath the tip of the injector. Toyota replaced these for free, but I had to ring them and book it in.

Had a problem with a heavy clutch but a spray of white lithium grease on the release bearings, etc solved it.

afaik the navarra's are trouble , my neighbour did the turbo in 3 times in his

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

im in the process of looking too, iv had my trooper for 5 yrs, but i left the radiator to long before fixing and the head got ***ked, so ill change, isuzu was a savage tower and i never had much trouble, but i think i got lucky, where are the auctions??? anyone bought there, better again where is the banks repossesion car park :D. its either a discovery 00-04 a pajero or another trooper for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

afaik the navarra's are trouble , my neighbour did the turbo in 3 times in his

true clutches cant be kept in them if they are doing any heavy pulling either.
    have a hilux my self, cant fault them, except for there is no where to put the buggy and groceries when the whole family is in tow. 25-30 mpg, will cruse happily at 100km/h any thing over 120 you may fit another tank on the back.
    they should be ten a penny these days with the building gone belly up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

grand job but heater plugs are a problem on it, can bring it anywhere , tax on it is crimminal:eek:

these might be worth a try , this guy is on ebay also

http://www.pajeroshop.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=21&zenid=r87elqhur3vqojd7607s2hg6l7

found them superior to the ones sold locally delivered to the door for about €12 cheaper for the set of four

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 bobby9

had a jeep cherokee myself,2.5 td wouldnt fault it for the world.would tow no bother, do 100km+ no bother, 25-30 mpg.awesome jeep. for sale now though if any1 interested.had to get a car for the college commute

bobby9 wrote: »
    had a jeep cherokee myself,2.5 td wouldnt fault it for the world.would tow no bother, do 100km+ no bother, 25-30 mpg.awesome jeep. for sale now though if any1 interested.had to get a car for the college commute

what year, miles' and price for a start,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 bobby9

shes a 99 with 88,000 miles,4 tires are prac brand new defo 90%.absolutely spotless,well maintened.doe and tax are just out but will get it doed.2 grand would be the lowest i could let it go for.why do you tink your interested

cheers for the advice guys seams to be landcruiser .I might take a few trips to the auctions and see whats about . They have a report on em so they cant be too bad . but relisticly what is the 2003-2004 landcruiser worth ?

bk1991

bobby9 wrote: »
    shes a 99 with 88,000 miles,4 tires are prac brand new defo 90%.absolutely spotless,well maintened.doe and tax are just out but will get it doed.2 grand would be the lowest i could let it go for.why do you tink your interested

im only after finding out my engine is pretty sick, so iv to decide 100% what i want to do, or what i want to buy, need to ask around, is it a 2.5 there is a few on done deal ill look at the 99 model, tbh im leaning towards getting another trooper, cos mine has lots of good parts plus 4 good tires, etc, but i wont rule anything out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

im only after finding out my engine is pretty sick, so iv to decide 100% what i want to do, or what i want to buy, need to ask around, is it a 2.5 there is a few on done deal ill look at the 99 model, tbh im leaning towards getting another trooper, cos mine has lots of good parts plus 4 good tires, etc, but i wont rule anything out

you'r just outa luck ,my mechanic had a perfect trooper engine for sale for over a year, sold it a few weeks ago for €350 complete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭castletrader

The nissan xtrail is a good little jeep especialy if you have children to bring around in.Its a cross between a car and jeep ,decent mpg and can pull 2 or 3 cows behind it as well.The hilux and other crew cabs are just too long and big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

The nissan xtrail is a good little jeep especialy if you have children to bring around in.Its a cross between a car and jeep ,decent mpg and can pull 2 or 3 cows behind it as well.The hilux and other crew cabs are just too long and big.

I know someone with a commercial x-trail and it has broken their heart. problems with injectors after 40k miles, turbo gone at 45k, cv joints gone at 50k. Major bearings in the rear axel at 50k. Great for pulling on the road, but go into a field and it just sits with any size of a trailer behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Not trying to be a smartass, but stay away from a Cherokee, especially if you're going from a Trooper. I did the reverse a few years back. The Cherokee was the first jeep I really drove for any length of time. A great machine on the road, but totally out of its depth with a 12-foot box behind it. It wouldn't even reverse the empty box without having the 4wd on. The Trooper was a superb towing machine and could handle the box with no trouble. Depending on where you are in the country and how cheap you're selling, I may be interested in yours. ;)

For the OP, the one piece of advice I'd give you is to stay away from SWB jeeps if you can help it at all. Nasty bouncy yokes with no carrying capacity in the back. 4 years on and I'm still pi$$ed off with it.

Not trying to be a smartass, but stay away from a Cherokee, especially if you're going from a Trooper. I did the reverse a few years back. The Cherokee was the first jeep I really drove for any length of time. A great machine on the road, but totally out of its depth with a 12-foot box behind it. It wouldn't even reverse the empty box without having the 4wd on. The Trooper was a superb towing machine and could handle the box with no trouble. Depending on where you are in the country and how cheap you're selling, I may be interested in yours. ;)

For the OP, the one piece of advice I'd give you is to stay away from SWB jeeps if you can help it at all. Nasty bouncy yokes with no carrying capacity in the back. 4 years on and I'm still pi$$ed off with it.

my jeep only needs engine it passed the test in mid sept,- big problem i know but i know thats all thats wrong,i left radiator to long big mistake, may put it in and sell it or let it off and let the buyer fix it, mine is an auto .was told years ago when i got it that it was a great job for towing , it finds the gear more natural and you dont dog the **** out of the gear box or engine,ill find it hard to go back to manual, im in mayo, pm if u want more details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

have a 96 3.1l trooper sitting in the yard, body shook, but engine only has 98k miles on it and fresh shocks all round.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

some people might be interested in this scrappage scheme. Sounds ok for a d-max.

http://motoring.eircom.net/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201032199144432

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

my jeep only needs engine it passed the test in mid sept,- big problem i know but i know thats all thats wrong,i left radiator to long big mistake, may put it in and sell it or let it off and let the buyer fix it, mine is an auto .was told years ago when i got it that it was a great job for towing , it finds the gear more natural and you dont dog the **** out of the gear box or engine,ill find it hard to go back to manual, im in mayo, pm if u want more details

Thanks for the info, bur you're too far away for it to be feasible for me. I'd recommend sorting out your own engine if you're happy with the jeep otherwise.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 37 audi4444

on my sixth landcruiser granted not a huge mileage person but i don't spare them either. never seen a garage bar odd service change oil engine myself regularly.
    the only seller is landcruiser although country is flooded with them i'd say u will see them gettin scarse again

what ye think of toyota hilux vigo from 2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭metalwood

Im starting to put in a new clutch in my 04 Navara in the morning.........very soft clutch for pulling which i do 75% of the time and only 51K on the clock.........on the bright side this is the first money ive spent on it apart from a new battery 2 weeks ago original gave up the ghost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The mitsubishi Pajero (old model) are a great all rounder and very popular up this part of the country. We've a '97, but I've seen loads of clean early 90's models still doing the biz. You'I buy them cheaper than a landcruiser and they're 2.5 (come in 2.8D too)compared to 3.0 which has to mean savings in fuel. As stated, jeeps/4X4's aren't a very economical vechicle. If you need them to tow,fine, but they're certainly not a 'round around';)

Another underrated and often forgotten about option are the suzuki Vatara. They're only 2.0L. But if you're only doing light and occasional trailer work they are ideal. A 4X4 at a cheap and affordable price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭thetiredfarmer

If you can help it at all then please stay away from the pre 06 NISSAN NAVARA.I bought one dearly thinking they were the BeesKnees until the engine blew at 50k and outside the warrenty it was only then I heard about this well known and very common problem.It cost me almost 3k
    to get it back on the road and now its only worth about 3k.For the fun of it try locating a replacement engine for 03 navara 2nd hand .
    Hens teeth!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Timberboss

dar31 wrote: »
    have a 96 3.1l trooper sitting in the yard, body shook, but engine only has 98k miles on it and fresh shocks all round.
    id be interested in that engine if the price was right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 gsmbooster - Authorised Merchant

Nissan Navara all the way.. I have a 06' le premium, heated leather seats, 6 speed manual, cruise control. The are the beast all round crew cab, i do alot of motorway driving and a bit if off road/towing at wknds i have 97klms on it only thing i replaced was a 4wd sensor and nissan done it free of charge. there not bad at all on fuel defo doin 30mpg the are a good solid drive.. was going to buy a new one few months back till i heard about new face lifted navara coming out early next year.. will hold off for that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

i do alot of motorway driving and a bit if off road/towing at wknds QUOTE]

4x4's are made for working rather than motorway driving and if you used yours for a lot of off road/towing and a bit of motorway driving at wknds you would find that the Navara is as soft as butter. Navara's that do any amount of towing are prone to clutch failures.

Have a look at honest John's review of the Navara (05 onwards)

http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=55683

Great 4x4 if you're going to use it as a car, but would it not be cheaper to buy and run a car

www.knackerednavara.co.uk/