Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boring, mundane car for under a grand - Suggestions

• 19-10-2010 10:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭

I've a grand to spend on a car that'll need to keep going for the next 6 months.

What's needed?

1. Under 2L....I'm operating on the principle that I'd consider taxing it
    2. Big boot (for the bodies you see)
    3. Prefer something that wouldn't look out of place parked in a scrapyard
    4. NCT-able....See point 1....even the testers have to slip up every now and then
    5. Would like something a dope/apprentice drug dealer will buy off me when I've completely worn it out
    6. If it's something I can claim represented good motoring value down the pub or here on boards, repeatedly, that would be a bonus.

:p

I'm thinking along the lines of rough around the edges japs, chrome 'enhanced' euro barges, or self cleaning/lubricating brit-mobiles (I already own a couple of landrovers, so I know what that's all about).

Anything else worth considering? :D

Pics would be helpful. Doesn't matter if they've been posted many times already. I always like seeing the same cars time and time again, just like donedeal really.

Answers on the back of a €50 note.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I can see these threads being more and more common, I'm in the market for something similar, but with the added stipulation of it being hatchback (which is really limiting me). I'd add a Mazda 626 to the list, or if 5) is very important - a 323f coupe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

E34?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

Onkle wrote: »

I'm loving that one. Yeah. Just the ting-ting. The sunvisor's bleedin' deadly man. Rapid.

How much would it cost me to fit a 1.9 VAG into that yoke? I here I could get it chipped and have 360 ponies handy like. Would I need the red T, red D, red I though?

I have an old vento that I was told came from the Never-been-ring in Germany. Yer wan in the transih' drove it around in 8 minutes flah. And would I need a full torrrr-bo with the chips n vinegar magic that I'm gettin' from santy, or can I put one of those cyclones in and a sticker and dem sparco mudflaps from the looooo-pors down in me local halfords expert centre?

I'd debadge it too. That'd be good for another couple of horses. An oul fella towin' a horse box down talbot street told me all the mad bastids back in the day you-sed to do tha'.

Sound.

Lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Ah, I see....

how about "ROCKET OF A VAN FASTER THAN ANY 1.6 CAR" ... lad

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1635183
    Bit over budget, but ticks most of the rest...

Bottom end knocking, pure rocket lad, Suitable for the teeDiddlyRedEye conversion
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1619808

langdang wrote: »
    Ah, I see....

how about "ROCKET OF A VAN FASTER THAN ANY 1.6 CAR" ... lad

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1635183
    Bit over budget, but ticks most of the rest...

Bottom end knocking, pure rocket lad, Suitable for the teeDiddlyRedEye conversion
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1619808

Now. Yore. Schmokin'. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I'm not an expert at this type of Bangernomics - prefer my cars free from a manufacturer, but:

Reckon you could get something like this for around €430
    1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Just buy this (ya'll get it for €800 no worries bud)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1640217

Stick lexus lights on it, gti badges, bad boy eyebrows, bonnet scoop(Bitta water in there will help keep the engine cool) , get her remapped to 77bhp, put an electronic dump valve noise maker in it.

Ya'd be sorted then lad, pull all the young wans in town with that yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

draffodx wrote: »
    Just buy this (ya'll get it for €800 no worries bud)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1640217

Stick lexus lights on it, gti badges, bad boy eyebrows, bonnet scoop(Bitta water in there will help keep the engine cool) , get her remapped to 77bhp, put an electronic dump valve noise maker in it.

Ya'd be sorted then lad, pull all the young wans in town with that yoke.

Hahahaha

put an electronic dump valve noise maker in it.

Sure there's an iPhone app for that now!

Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Seriously?

Anyone want to put money on how long before there is an Android app for it too? :pac:

R.O.R wrote: »
    Anyone want to put money on how long before there is an Android app for it too? :pac:

Just started working on it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Uggghh.... The Donegal reg and all the other specification that goes with it is enough to put me off. I wouldn't be surprised if the diff is welded as well.

I'd reckon an S40 would be pretty much perfect for what you want. They are supposed to have almost Japanese reliability and typical Volvo comfort:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1454436
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1618009
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1615170

^^If the last one could be got for a grand I reckon you'd be doing very well indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Probably get something like this for about €800

2008_1219Prelude_clean0002.jpg

R.O.R wrote: »
    I'm not an expert at this type of Bangernomics - prefer my cars free from a manufacturer, but:

Reckon you could get something like this for around €430

Sold it for €700, was in ****e when I bought it really.

RoverCraft wrote: »
    I've a grand to spend on a car that'll need to keep going for the next 6 months.

What's needed?

1. Under 2L....I'm operating on the principle that I'd consider taxing it
    2. Big boot (for the bodies you see)
    3. Prefer something that wouldn't look out of place parked in a scrapyard
    4. NCT-able....See point 1....even the testers have to slip up every now and then
    5. Would like something a dope/apprentice drug dealer will buy off me when I've completely worn it out
    6. If it's something I can claim represented good motoring value down the pub or here on boards, repeatedly, that would be a bonus.

:p

I'm thinking along the lines of rough around the edges japs, chrome 'enhanced' euro barges, or self cleaning/lubricating brit-mobiles (I already own a couple of landrovers, so I know what that's all about).

Anything else worth considering? :D

Pics would be helpful. Doesn't matter if they've been posted many times already. I always like seeing the same cars time and time again, just like donedeal really.

Answers on the back of a €50 note.

If you have a problem with me or my posts perhaps you should PM me.

RoverJames wrote: »
    If you have a problem with me or my posts perhaps you should PM me.

Ah no James - We're only messing with you. Absolutely no offense intended, honestly. :)

You're on the ball with your posts - Fair play to you. Just though it would be a good opportunity to have a bit of a laugh here with the other regular posters.

Hope you're not offended. Come up to a meet and I'll buy you a burger. :)

Hope you're not offended.

Likewise :D

Come up to a meet and I'll buy you a burger. :)

Print this out and bring it with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Typical Rovers, always causing trouble!

Hahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Come up to a meet and I'll buy you a burger. :)

I think you should buy us all a burger each :pac:

Glad you took it well James! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Anything with 6 months tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭_DMac_

a ford focus or mondeo. big and spacious. nippy, and go forever and there's a boat load of them for sale for pennies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

You mentioned the fact that it didn't have to be mint: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1642928

Tax, a good bit of NCT and auto for under 500 quid. It's also a 2.0 litre.