Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Octavia - Jumpy & Chugging..

• 19-10-2010 7:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭

I'll try to be brief..

10 year old Octavia 1.6 95k miles on the clock

Start car, move off, car feels jumpy, no smooth power in the lower gears
    At idle I can feel a 'rumbling' and hear a chugging from the exhaust.

Took it to mechanic, he suspected a fuel pump problem.
    Given the age of the car I agreed to a new fuel pump.
    4 weeks later problem is back and it broke down in busy
    traffic while the missus was driving!
    Started again after 20 minutes and drive perfectly.

this problem is intermittent and driving me nuts.

Does this sound familiar to anyone, I'd like to have an idea before I contact
    the mechanic again.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Any warning lights on the dash? Specifically the engine management symbol?

Immediate thought is one of the coils is on it's way out (if the 1.6 has individual coils?) as it sounds fairly similar to what was happening to my 1.8t Octavia before a coil finally failed completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

R.O.R wrote: »
    Any warning lights on the dash? Specifically the engine management symbol?

Immediate thought is one of the coils is on it's way out (if the 1.6 has individual coils?) as it sounds fairly similar to what was happening to my 1.8t Octavia before a coil finally failed completely.

wow, that's a prompt reply.
    No, no warning lights at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

This deffently sounds like the fuel pump, the filter won't cause this but get it replaced when changing the pump. You don't want to be caught again. I have to replace my own one too:(

EDIT, I don't think it will bring up a fault, this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭gafarrell

Had the exact same issue and it turned out to be the coil pack. Just one word of advise If it is the coil pack get an oem one rather than a spurious one.

Plug wrote: »
    This deffently sounds like the fuel pump, the filter won't cause this but get it replaced when changing the pump. You don't want to be caught again. I have to replace my own one too:(

the fuel filter? I'll ask the mechanic about that.
    Actually, what do ye think I should expect from the mechanic here, should he
    look at it and repair it for free of charge (excluding parts) as I've already paid
    him for putting in a new fuel pump and still no joy.

Lads in fairness this dosen't sound like a coil pack. He said it wouldn't start for 20 minutes and then it did and drove perfectly.

gafarrell wrote: »
    Had the exact same issue and it turned out to be the coil pack. Just one word of advise If it is the coil pack get an oem one rather than a spurious one.

oh right, good to know it's a known issue. I'm a bit annoyed as to why the mechanic didn't think of this? Is there any way he could have detected this?

the fuel filter? I'll ask the mechanic about that.
    Actually, what do ye think I should expect from the mechanic here, should he
    look at it and repair it for free of charge (excluding parts) as I've already paid
    him for putting in a new fuel pump and still no joy.

Oh didn't read your post properly, he replaced it all ready?
    Did he fit a brand new pump or second hand. About the filter, he should just replace it when he is doing the pump anyway, its good to do it. Do you know if its one coil per cylinder engine or a wasted spark type(plug leads go into the one coil pack)

Lads in fairness this dosen't sound like a coil pack. He said it wouldn't start for 20 minutes and then it did and drove perfectly.

well when it broke down on the missus she moved it to the side of the road (gravity!) and tried to start it once, no joy. She then waited about 10 minutes before trying again (she was afraid with constant trying...flooding etc!). So when I arrived I tried it and it started no problem and I drive it home and it was well behaved.
    Just like this morning, started straight away and drive into work, no bother.

I drove to the shops last week and it was jumpy as hell. I parked at the shops, when done I hopped in and started her and drive her home and she was perfect.

Intermittently annoying!

oh right, good to know it's a known issue. I'm a bit annoyed as to why the mechanic didn't think of this? Is there any way he could have detected this?
    This would have brought up a fault code and he would have replaced the coil(s) but thats why I'm still on about the pump theory. Diagnosing coils i baby stuff, I did he would notice them unless he is a pure jinit!

Oh didn't read your post properly, he replaced it all ready?
    Did he fit a brand new pump or second hand. About the filter, he should just replace it when he is doing the pump anyway, its good to do it. Do you know if its one coil per cylinder engine or a wasted spark type(plug leads go into the one coil pack)

yep, he already replaced the fuel pump. Not sure if he used a brand new one but I presume he did, I would hope he's inform me if he was using a second hand one.
    I don't know if it's one coil per cylinder I'm afraid.

yep, he already replaced the fuel pump. Not sure if he used a brand new one but I presume he did, I would hope he's inform me if he was using a second hand one.
    I don't know if it's one coil per cylinder I'm afraid.
    Google images say its single coil per cylinder, its unlikely 4 will go but possible. I have to go to work now talk later!

In work now, eh you say there are no faults or lights up on the dash. Get him to do a fuel pressure test and tell him all the symptoms. Coils would turn on the engine light and so would sensors.

OK, will do.
    I do know when I was last in with this problem he did some check where he was able to see the power output from the pump and it was low, when he put in new pump the value was up - maybe this is the test you are on about??
    I don't think the mechanic is messing me around, he seems a nice lad and he did say if the pump wasn't the problem he'd take it out and put the original one back in but I suppose a month has passed and the problem is back.

Could be wiring going to the pump or the likes then. Well sure either way bring it to him and report back here.

going to ring him this morning and we'll see what he says.

All this carry on has me thinking it's time to replace the thing!
    Hmm, what do ye think of a 06 Volvo S40 1.6 Diesel?? Good car? :)

update: mechanic came to collect the car this morning, it's been driving well Wednesday and Thursday but this morning it acted up again.

Anyway, as mechanic was sitting in the car it just conked out from idle. I was delighted it did, now he knows I'm not going mad :)

Few thoughts were crankshaft sensor could be faulty or power connection for the fuel pump may be loose...just some suggestions he made.

He's going to plug it in to the computer and I'll know more later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Ruled out the MAF yet? They do tend to go, and give similar symptoms to those you have described.

Mr.David wrote: »
    Ruled out the MAF yet? They do tend to go, and give similar symptoms to those you have described.

I presume the mechanic will check the MAF, jaysus, the Octavia is riddled with dodgy sensors! Wouldn't any of these failures show up on the dash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

I presume the mechanic will check the MAF, jaysus, the Octavia is riddled with dodgy sensors! Wouldn't any of these failures show up on the dash?

It wont show up on the dash, no. If you know anyone with a Golf mk4/Octy mk1 you could try swapping their MAF over and see if that cures it. Its dead easy to swap.

Mr.David wrote: »
    It wont show up on the dash, no. If you know anyone with a Golf mk4/Octy mk1 you could try swapping their MAF over and see if that cures it. Its dead easy to swap.

don't know anyone else with one but would a new sensor be cheap to replace and fit? I'm expecting a call from the mechanic any time now and trying to prepare for the hit.
    I wouldn't mind but there's already a new fuel pump gone into her to address the same problem (last month)!

OK, apparently the problem was a faulty camshaft sensor, cost for new one €160 with labour €40. Does that sound right?
    getting fairly sh*t sick of this Octavia now :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

I replaced one of these in my MKIV Golf a while back but the problem I had was the car would not start sometimes.It would turn over but not start.My mechanic scanned the car and this showed up.I cannot remember how much he chrgaed me to replace.I don't know if this will cure your problem though as my car did not suffer from the same symthoms as yours.As previous people said it sounds like a MAF problem to me.

Best of luck with it!

Moanin wrote: »
    I replaced one of these in my MKIV Golf a while back but the problem I had was the car would not start sometimes.It would turn over but not start.My mechanic scanned the car and this showed up.I cannot remember how much he chrgaed me to replace.I don't know if this will cure your problem though as my car did not suffer from the same symthoms as yours.As previous people said it sounds like a MAF problem to me.

Best of luck with it!

well I will obviously keep an eye on it but I might ask the mechanic about the MAF sensor. I was planning on changing the car next year but now, given the money I've put into it I'm gonna keep the thing for a bit longer...or perhaps after the December budget we won't have two pennies to rub together.