Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stand Up for WWE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

300x600.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Sorry to post another Cornette video but his thoughts are worth a listen on the McMahon campaign :D...

NSFW (language)

Anyway, this latest stunt is just a silly marketing ploy from the company in my view. Email friends and family telling them you're a fan? Write a letter to a newspaper editor? Are they serious?

How are they being unfairly treated? Surely some examples ought to be provided if you're going to make that claim. From what I've read and heard on this campaign they have come out with some very dubious statements. Bringing the 'WWE Universe' into play seems like a desperate attempt to revive Linda's chances. It's a low strategy imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

chordtype wrote: »
    300x600.jpg

All of those options are social suicide. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭StoneColdFan

Vince is going to make “special announcement” on Raw tonight about this id say

I always stand up for double double E.

But this does seem a tad silly. Seems to be more aimed at kids again, than sensible adults, but sure there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Lads someone really should tell thee MMA regulars about this.:D

I would, but I am busy emailing friends and family members in epic detail about why I am a WWE fan! . :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭jmolloy

Vince is going to make “special announcement” on Raw tonight about this id say

imagine it will just be the youtube speech again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

What an absolute joke.

Putting up that video and yet having comments disabled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

****ing disgrace. Stand up for WWE. I like the product, but for **** sake. WWE deserves the negative publicity it gets. Its schedule is too rigorous, bordering on exploitative. Theres no union. Theres a list of wrestlers dead in the ground due to painkiller addiction and other related afflictions, stemming from their work with wwe. They arent ****ing able to stand up for WWE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Rjd2 wrote: »
    All of those options are social suicide. :o

Acknowledging wrestling at all post-puberty seems to as much of a social sin, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I expect far more rants like DQ, who's totally right. If no-one does, i will :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

Originally I thought this to be quite funny. It would take a lot of money for me to have 'I'm standing up for WWE' anywhere near my Facebook. But then I actually thought about the things that WWE are being attacked on. I'm being asked to stand up to a company that only introduced a drug policy when a top star died and only started enforcing that policy when another top star killed himself and his family. A company that treats their performers not as employees but as independent contractors which means no health benefits or pension. A company which is being attacked over all the stupid angles that they ran which insulted my intelligence and made me ashamed to be a wrestling fan. Yeah I'd love to give these guys a hand in buying a Senate seat. I really hope that Linda loses this election and all these issues (specifically the independent contractors bit) are looked at properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

****ing disgrace. Stand up for WWE. I like the product, but for **** sake. WWE deserves the negative publicity it gets. Its schedule is too rigorous, bordering on exploitative. Theres no union. Theres a list of wrestlers dead in the ground due to painkiller addiction and other related afflictions, stemming from their work with wwe. They arent ****ing able to stand up for WWE.
    Agreed, they're telling us to stand up for the WWE but not giving us any reasons why we should.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CoolHat

That is a complete joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

This is perhaps one of the most pathetic things I've seen WWE try in years.

As another poster said, to follow any of these would be social suicide.

What exactly are WWE followers supposed to stand up against?

Apart from ya know, justified negative reviews of their product etc. Negative press??? Hasn't WWE always gotten negative press, and not only that but didn't they strive on it in the Attitute era.

exactly, they used their biggest adversary and turned it into the caption of the company, to have "attitude!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

The video on raw was brilliant I thought in fairness to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

It would be funny if people did the opposite to what Vince McMahon asked, and actually sent videos to friends and families detailing why they shouldn't watch WWE. Post I hate WWE as a twitter/facebook status and just bashed the WWE in general. Of course that being said, I don't wish harm on WWE instead. I just don't like what WWE are doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Utterly ridiculous, pathetic and saddening!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭jimmy jailbreak

Gerard.C wrote: »
    The video on raw was brilliant I thought in fairness to them

To Vince Mcmahon It was high quality masterbation material. For the rest of us it was something to get f*ucking sick to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pingi

My name is Pingu_girl* and I am standing up for WWE

*pingi since the boards hack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Load of aul ****.

*waves at Pingers*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

Aimed at the American audience. Don't see anything to get upset over.

Load of aul ****.

*waves at Pingers*

Well Diabhal bai,

^ Unreal love the last soundtrack

Staind - All I want for all those not in the know

WWE are masters of video packages and marketing stuff in general

Why are the youtube tags not working?

Anyways - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zP8zO9sRdI

Pingi wrote: »
    My name is Pingu_girl* and I am standing up for WWE

*pingi since the boards hack

oh thats you?! :o

Linda's distancing herself from this. Was it just Vince feeling ignored

Ed Patru, spokesman for Linda McMahon's U.S. Senate campaign, stated to Brian Lockhart that they have nothing to do with the "Stand Up for WWE" campaign promoted by Vince McMahon yesterday.

"The company didn't consult the campaign; we didn't ask for anything. It acted independently. You should address questions about that to WWE."

In response, WWE Spokesperson Robert Zimmerman said: "It had absolutely nothing to do with the Linda McMahon campaign, It’s trying to correct inaccuracies that have been reported. ... The attention that’s been put on WWE by Linda’s opponents have focused media attention on the company."

The Connecticut Democratic State party spokeswoman Kate Hansen obviously then ripped on the campaign, commenting, “Linda McMahon’s $50 million attack machine now has corporate reinforcements, thanks to the ‘Stand up for WWE’ campaign launched by her husband Vince McMahon. No coincidence, it looks a lot like her political campaign... except this one is probably against the law,” reads a statement from the state party that refers to federal election law that prohibits corporations from coordinating with political campaigns.

Hansen added, "“Linda McMahon’s claim that her husband’s aggressive public relations campaign is independent of her own political campaign is unbelievable, particularly after Vince McMahon specifically cites the Senate race as the reason for the offensive."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

One thing that struck me...iirc, there's one part in the video that played during Raw which said 73% of the audience is over 18 or something like that. If that's true then, why the hell are WWE still aiming their product at kids? <_<

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

To make the company less smutty and violent for Linda's campaign, which is a shame as I liked the smutty and Violence!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

so what exactly has to stand up for wwe :rolleyes: when i see nattie something stands ;)

One thing that struck me...iirc, there's one part in the video that played during Raw which said 73% of the audience is over 18 or something like that. If that's true then, why the hell are WWE still aiming their product at kids? <_<

What an excellent point.
    I completely agree with you TSC, in fact:
    CMpunked wrote: »
    well thats interesting...

"78% of our programming audience is over 18 years old"...

then why dont they aim it at the majority?
    :p

(also, where the hell have you been hiding?! Welcome back :))

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Great minds and all that :P I did read the topic but missed that post...

And not been hiding. Just dont visit the wrestling board that often. I only ever see to venture onto these boards every few months. Came on to see if there was any more about the Wrestlezone Ireland convention and saw this topic so decided to post.

Don't know why I dont use these forums more. The main one I do use drives me nuts <_<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

jmolloy wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lz_fm3pYITs

A new campaign from Vince obviously he feels like he's been villianised. Not sure if this will help Linda's campaign but I for 1 am proud to stand up for WWE

10 STEPS TO STAND UP FOR WWE ARE LISTED HERE
    http://www.wwe.com/inside/standupforwwe/fansstandup
    What's the deal with Vince's lips?

Riddle101 wrote: »
    It would be funny if people did the opposite to what Vince McMahon asked, and actually sent videos to friends and families detailing why they shouldn't watch WWE. Post I hate WWE as a twitter/facebook status and just bashed the WWE in general. Of course that being said, I don't wish harm on WWE instead. I just don't like what WWE are doing

I'd imagine there are plenty of former wrestlers who would be more than willing to do that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Vince is looking very bet these days.:eek:

The fact that he says the media allegations are directed at WWE fans is outrageous.
    Some sections of the press have a negative view on MMA. I wonder if Dana White will feel as intimidated as to launch a viral campaign "Stand up for UFC".
    Hmmm.. nah, hell be too busy counting the cash from the 1million plus buy-rate for the next Lesnar payperview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,941 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Never knew vince does botox

Headshot wrote: »
    Never knew vince does botox

Theres not a lot vince doesnt do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Sorry to post another Cornette video but his thoughts are worth a listen on the McMahon campaign :D...

Oh that Jim. Bitter as always. Really what Politician isn't trying to buy an election anymore? They spend millions of dollars on ads and stuff and all it is a slagging contest which they do for a year or two before they're even up for election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭TheTosh

I wish WWE would focus more on the wrestling and delivering good shows, rather then on the marketing for once

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=161051023928413

They shouldnt have added those fake crowd noises in at the end. :pac:

Ha, this disappeared altogether!