Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 weeks for a replacement drivers licence.

• 18-10-2010 4:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭

In order to renew my car insurance I have to send in a copy of my drivers licence to the insurance company....however when i checked the place i usually keep my licence (in the car because it doesnt fit in my wallet), it turns out it's missing. So after waiting around sitting on my ass for an hour in the local motor tax office, I'm informed that it will take 3 weeks to get a replacement licence. Fantastic.

After some consideration, it leaves me bewildered once again as to how inefficient our public service is. After paying for the initial ten year licence aswell as the fee for a replacement licence - on top of all the tax i've been paying over the years....this is the kind of crappy service i get from the generously paid paper pushers in the public service? I cannot drive for the next three weeks because it takes that amount of time for the motor tax office to re-print a piece of paper. And why do we have these bulky pink pieces of cardboard as licences anyway? In other countries people have plastic cards the same size as a credit card that is designed to fit neatly into peoples wallets and therefore generally more difficult to lose.

This country desperately needs a hard nosed government to come in and force changes in the public sector. However who is the most popular candidate to become the next taoiseach in gullible little ireland?? Eamon Gilmore - long time good friend of the union leaders. We're screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Got mine in two days.
    You can still drive with the receipt afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭McNulty737

I'm surprised you got it in two days - they were adamant it would take three weeks.

You can drive with the receipt, but you cannot renew your insurance with one.

McNulty737 wrote: »
    I'm surprised you got it in two days - they were adamant it would take three weeks.

You can drive with the receipt, but you cannot renew your insurance with one.

Well I was travelling a few days later and needed to hire a car. Got it fast tracked just showed them printout of tickets. They were very helpful about the whole thing.
    Didn't think you need a licence to renew insurance do it over the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

i got my replacement made up there and then, same as if you were renewing you licence or applying for a new one e.g. after passing a driving test.

I fail to understand why it will take 3 weeks?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

His insurance company won't insure him until he sends a copy of licence?

Yawns wrote: »
    His insurance company won't insure him until he sends a copy of licence?

Looks like an inefficient private sector is the root of his problem.

Just to clarify, i was told with 100% certainty that it will take three weeks to replace the licence.

I'm going with a new insurance company that wishes to see my licence before insuring me.

20cent - the efficient insurance company i'm dealing with will actually insure me over the phone once they receive a faxed copy of my licence.

Just to clarify, i was told with 100% certainty that it will take three weeks to replace the licence.

I'm going with a new insurance company that wishes to see my licence before insuring me.

20cent - the efficient insurance company i'm dealing with will actually insure me over the phone once they receive a faxed copy of my licence.

did they give you a reason why? I've never had to wait more than the time in the queue at the tax office for any licence.

Would you be faster applying for it through the post?

You first said you were renewing. Now its a new policy so different story I guess. Still I'd call them say you need it more quickly 3 weeks sounds wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

It took me 2 weeks plus an additional €50 "express processing" fee to get my passport. Its a joke when you have to pay an extra €50 just to get someone to do their job properly.

Crasp wrote: »
    did they give you a reason why? I've never had to wait more than the time in the queue at the tax office for any licence.

Would you be faster applying for it through the post?

She just said 'thats how long it takes', i assume they have to send the application off to another office, but after reading the replies here i'm gonna go back in tomorrow and ask another worker there what the story is.
    You first said you were renewing. Now its a new policy so different story I guess. Still I'd call them say you need it more quickly 3 weeks sounds wrong.

You're right I wasnt clear in my first post - it is a new insurance company...and i will have a word in the motor office tomorrow.

She just said 'thats how long it takes', i assume they have to send the application off to another office, but after reading the replies here i'm gonna go back in tomorrow and ask another worker there what the story is.

You're right I wasnt clear in my first post - it is a new insurance company...and i will have a word in the motor office tomorrow.

Did you get the "lost document" form stamped in the Garda station, aye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

It obviously doesn't take 3 weeks to print out the license, but there is (also obviously) a lot of other tasks being carried out by the motor tax offices.

Someone needs to verify what they have on record, process your application etc. I guess if they had nothing else to do and were just waiting for you to show up with your misplaced drivers license you'd walk out the door with a new license in under 30 mins.

But since we don't have a motor tax office for every single citizen in the country hanging on stand-by you will have to put up with the fact your application will have to work it's way through the workflow queue like everybody else's.

But don't let common sense get in the way of a good rant... ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I don't understand why the insurance company even need the licence. they should only require you to tell them the number, I don't see the need for them to have anything more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,048 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

I've been waiting since MAY for an E104 form from Ireland that proves I paid my PRSI like a good taxpayer for 12 years before leaving that innefficient dump. I NEED this document in Germany and the German authorities cannot understand why it would take half a year to get a simple piece of paper that is issued within a few days here.

I rang the dept. in Donegal when I applied and was told it would take "in excess of 3 months" to be processed. What a fcuking bunch of jokers. I'm lucky, I'm working but if I was made unemployed I would DESPERATELY need that E104 form to prove my entitlement to social welfare here, otherwise I would get nothing! That's why I'm anxious to get my hands on it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

renewed my licence in the Smithfield Tax Office last month on a Monday and i had the licence in my hand by the Friday. The guy was probably just giving you the worse case scenario.
    murphaph wrote: »
    I've been waiting since MAY for an E104 form from Ireland that proves I paid my PRSI like a good taxpayer for 12 years before leaving that innefficient dump. I NEED this document in Germany and the German authorities cannot understand why it would take half a year to get a simple piece of paper that is issued within a few days here.

I rang the dept. in Donegal when I applied and was told it would take "in excess of 3 months" to be processed. What a fcuking bunch of jokers. I'm lucky, I'm working but if I was made unemployed I would DESPERATELY need that E104 form to prove my entitlement to social welfare here, otherwise I would get nothing! That's why I'm anxious to get my hands on it.

it happens everywhere man, my cousin brought in a car form the UK last year and had to ring the DVLA in the UK for a replacement V5 Cert so he could VRT it, took him nearly 4 months!

You only need it if you are claiming benefits there. In which case it is fast tracked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Boskowski wrote: »
    It obviously doesn't take 3 weeks to print out the license, but there is (also obviously) a lot of other tasks being carried out by the motor tax offices.

Someone needs to verify what they have on record, process your application etc. I guess if they had nothing else to do and were just waiting for you to show up with your misplaced drivers license you'd walk out the door with a new license in under 30 mins.

But since we don't have a motor tax office for every single citizen in the country hanging on stand-by you will have to put up with the fact your application will have to work it's way through the workflow queue like everybody else's.

But don't let common sense get in the way of a good rant... ;-)

I have also received mine in a few days and it seems to be the norm here, if thats the case what sort of clown working in the office doesn't know that. It has never taken mine more than 5 days max so I doubt the 3 weeks is a worst case scenario, probably a member of staff that doesn't know their arse from their elbow
    20Cent wrote: »
    You only need it if you are claiming benefits there. In which case it is fast tracked.

I would love to be relying on them if that is the case :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

It takes 5 minutes in switzerland to have a new plastic drivers licence issued after losing it. 3 weeks really boggles the mind unless it takes longer to create a paper printout than a plastic one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

it leaves me bewildered once again as to how inefficient our public service is.

It's you who lost the licence though ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Paige Turner

The wait time in waterford city is crazy for re-newing licences also. My licence was due to expire the the begining of July this year, I sent it in the last week of June to be re-newed. After 2 weeks of not hearing back I phoned the Motor Tax office and was advised there was a 5 week wait. The 6th of August, Ireceived my new licence. Crazy.

you sent it in a week before renewal.
    you can renew you licence within 3 months of the expirey so you could of sent it earlier.

as i said it depends where you do the transaction, i had mine within 5 days from Dublin.

BornToKill wrote: »
    It's you who lost the licence though ...

It is the first time in over 8 years of driving that i have lost my licence, which is pretty good considering my work takes me outside the country regularly and i have to bring it with me. These things happen in life....on the other hand it taking 3 weeks to print out a piece of paper is just evidence of the lack of technological advances and efficiencies in one of the most generously paid public sectors in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭ronkmonster

I lost my licence 2 years ago. Reported it missing at garda station on saturday and got form dropped in on the Monday; had new licence posted out on the Tuesday.

You must be taking the p!ss? Fast tracked? So what, I'd get it in maybe a month?

Anyway, when I rang Donegal I was specifically told that it would take longer if I applied as "a private citizen" and that it would indeed be prioritised if the German authorities were looking for it....prioritised to "only" take about 8 weeks that is! You'd starve to fcuking death waiting on the Irish PS to issue a simple piece of paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

sarumite wrote: »
    It took me 2 weeks plus an additional €50 "express processing" fee to get my passport. Its a joke when you have to pay an extra €50 just to get someone to do their job properly.

I paid 135 euros for the Express service here in the Netherlands through the Irish embassy.

took 6 working days, fantastic service, MILES ahead (and much cheaper) than the UK Passport service.

Standard Irish passport service via the Embassy takes about 5-6 weeks apparently.

Dont mind paying the exta 55 squids since it works out at an extra 5.50 / year for the thing.

In Cork, I filled out the form, waited about 5 minutes and they made it up there and then.

I think its just Dublin you have the long waiting time due to the population density.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

I went in Thursday morning to apply for new licence, was about 5 mins in there and it arrived in yesterdays post. I was actually surprised, thought it would have taken a couple of weeks.

You must be taking the p!ss? Fast tracked? So what, I'd get it in maybe a month?

Anyway, when I rang Donegal I was specifically told that it would take longer if I applied as "a private citizen" and that it would indeed be prioritised if the German authorities were looking for it....prioritised to "only" take about 8 weeks that is! You'd starve to fcuking death waiting on the Irish PS to issue a simple piece of paper.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/moving-country/moving-abroad/leaving-ireland/leaving_ireland_and_your_social_security_entitlements

If you leaving Ireland you get the S1 and U1 (Replacement for E104) while in Ireland. If your abroad and need to claim benefits then this needs to be done by the agency in the country you are in.

Similarly if you move from Germany back to Ireland you'd need your S1 and U1 forms for the same.

....on the other hand it taking 3 weeks to print out a piece of paper is just evidence of the lack of technological advances and efficiencies in one of the most generously paid public sectors in the world.

i would like to hear from the OP and see when they actually get it, i would hazzard a guess that it will be alot less than 3 weeks.

kceire wrote: »
    i would like to hear from the OP and see when they actually get it, i would hazzard a guess that it will be alot less than 3 weeks.

No prob....i'll post here as soon as it arrives.

honestly :D
    oe will you wait three weeks then just say it came today :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I handed in my passport application form to Cork, texted the reference number to a friend of a friend in the office and had my passport in my letterbox 4 days later and this was during the backlogs this summer when people were waiting months
    It's down to who you know ;)

So OP, do you know anyone in your local motor tax office?

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/moving-country/moving-abroad/leaving-ireland/leaving_ireland_and_your_social_security_entitlements

If you leaving Ireland you get the S1 and U1 (Replacement for E104) while in Ireland. If your abroad and need to claim benefits then this needs to be done by the agency in the country you are in.

Similarly if you move from Germany back to Ireland you'd need your S1 and U1 forms for the same.
    My bold. This is factually incorrect-you do NOT have to apply for these forms before leaving Ireland. I can apply for these forms (I applied for both) myself to be prepared in case anything goes awry with my employment situation. I SPOKE to someone in Buncranna who told me it was fine and that it would take longer than if the German authorities applied for it on my behalf BUT (as I already said) they said "prioritisation" in this case means about an 8 week wait...a long friggin time if you have been made unemployed I would imagine! So here I am, like a good lad, trying to be prepared (I see the PS supporters are lambasting people here for being so silly as to lose their licence or for not applying in good time before expiry, so what's the problem with me applying in good time to be prepared?) and I get nothing in return.

How in the name of God can ye defend a 6 month+ wait for a couple of forms that are pretty damn important.

My bold. This is factually incorrect-you do NOT have to apply for these forms before leaving Ireland. I can apply for these forms (I applied for both) myself to be prepared in case anything goes awry with my employment situation. I SPOKE to someone in Buncranna who told me it was fine and that it would take longer than if the German authorities applied for it on my behalf BUT (as I already said) they said "prioritisation" in this case means about an 8 week wait...a long friggin time if you have been made unemployed I would imagine! So here I am, like a good lad, trying to be prepared (I see the PS supporters are lambasting people here for being so silly as to lose their licence or for not applying in good time before expiry, so what's the problem with me applying in good time to be prepared?) and I get nothing in return.

How in the name of God can ye defend a 6 month+ wait for a couple of forms that are pretty damn important.

nobody said you havent done the right thing and applied in good time, but maybe because your not a priority case, you dont get processed as quick as another person who has been made redundant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

I see the PS supporters are lambasting people here for being so silly as to lose their licence

I didn't 'lambast' anyone. I didn't "support" anyone. It does tire me to hear people always seeking to cast the blame elsewhere for everything that affects them. I would like to see more personal responsibility. So, in a case where someone loses their own driving licence and then needs to produce it fairly urgently, I don't believe that is reason to criticise the issuing office.

It's your licence. Look after it. If you do lose it, request a replacement at the time of the loss and not when you next urgently need your licence for something.

BornToKill wrote: »
    I didn't 'lambast' anyone. I didn't "support" anyone. It does tire me to hear people always seeking to cast the blame elsewhere for everything that affects them. I would like to see more personal responsibility. So, in a case where someone loses their own driving licence and then needs to produce it fairly urgently, I don't believe that is reason to criticise the issuing office.

It's your licence. Look after it. If you do lose it, request a replacement at the time of the loss and not when you next urgently need your licence for something.

In my experience of moving abroad the Private Companies were far worse than the PS when requested for anything

i.e.
    Quinn Direct took 2 months to give a No Claims Bonus certificate, they also NEVER produced/sent a Green card despite stating twice that they had done this.

VHI were a total bunch of muppets, try to charge me for months I wasn't even in the country, just automatically renewed my insurance that was cancelled by my employer and never had any signature from myself for the new policy they setup.

My Previous employer in Ireland took 6 weeks to give me my P45

Tax office on the other hand was fantastic, went in and a girl went through all the stuff I was entitled to claim back.

The HSE were great too, had to be tested for TB as was exposed to someone with it, they contacted the Dutch Health service and arranged everything, also got my EHIC in about a week.

And the driving license office were great too, passed my test 2 days before leaving for Holland and went in the next day, filled out a form and got it on the spot.

And finally I got my passport in 6 working days, just stated that I needed it urgently as I cross the German/Dutch border every day and needed an official form of Identification.

A Colleague of mine lost her passport while in Oslo (She's English) she applied for a new passport via the Embassy in Amsterdam, they told her its all outsourced now and comes via France, was around 180 pounds too and upto a 3 month wait.

She ended up travelling to an Embassy all the way in Germany and getting it done there hoping she wouldnt get stopped at the border

I'm not trying to defend the PS, just merely stating that I had a good experience in my case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭galway2007

In order to renew my car insurance I have to send in a copy of my drivers licence to the insurance company....however when i checked the place i usually keep my licence (in the car because it doesnt fit in my wallet), it turns out it's missing. So after waiting around sitting on my ass for an hour in the local motor tax office, I'm informed that it will take 3 weeks to get a replacement licence. Fantastic.

After some consideration, it leaves me bewildered once again as to how inefficient our public service is. After paying for the initial ten year licence aswell as the fee for a replacement licence - on top of all the tax i've been paying over the years....this is the kind of crappy service i get from the generously paid paper pushers in the public service? I cannot drive for the next three weeks because it takes that amount of time for the motor tax office to re-print a piece of paper. And why do we have these bulky pink pieces of cardboard as licences anyway? In other countries people have plastic cards the same size as a credit card that is designed to fit neatly into peoples wallets and therefore generally more difficult to lose.

This country desperately needs a hard nosed government to come in and force changes in the public sector. However who is the most popular candidate to become the next taoiseach in gullible little ireland?? Eamon Gilmore - long time good friend of the union leaders. We're screwed.
    why did you not mind it?
    Did it grow legs and walk out of the car???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭galway2007

But why so long for you??????????????????
    Everybody else get them there and then or within 3 day
    are u the problem???????

But why so long for you??????????????????
    Everybody else get them there and then or within 3 day
    are u the problem???????

The problem is slow, inefficient unionised beurocracy. There is now a sign on the wall in the motor office that says 'Licence applications are taking four weeks to process'. Thank you very much.
    Did it grow legs and walk out of the car???

It is totally irrelevant how it was lost, the fact is that it WAS lost and it is totally ridiculous that it will take 3 weeks for it to be replaced.

What would be an acceptable time then ?

I mean I could walk into a Pizza Parlour, ask for a pizza, they point at a sign saying its a 15 minute wait.

Next thing I say its a 'joke' because i expected it to only take 5 minutes.

The problem is slow, inefficient unionised beurocracy. There is now a sign on the wall in the motor office that says 'Licence applications are taking four weeks to process'. Thank you very much.

Which motor tax office is this?
    How do you know it is slow, inefficient unuionised beurocracy?
    Everyone else seem to get them in acceptable times. Maybe there are people there on maternity leave, part timers etc who have not been replaced. Maybe there is broken equipment that cannot be replaced or fixed. There could be a million reasons why yours is taking longer.
    Wouldn't be so quick to blame the Public Service. If that was the case then everyone else would be waiting three now four weeks.

What would be an acceptable time then ?

I mean I could walk into a Pizza Parlour, ask for a pizza, they point at a sign saying its a 15 minute wait.

Next thing I say its a 'joke' because i expected it to only take 5 minutes.
    Then you have the CHOICE to take your business to a decent pizza parlour. PS users don't.

Course you do, I went into the Office in Dublin, they said 2 - 3 weeks.

So I just went to Cork instead ;)

This is more about what you find acceptable in your own head. Your annoyed because you needed something and standard delivery time doesn't suit you.

I dont think the Driving License office ever set the expectation that it would be any faster if there was a sign advertising it on the wall.

Now if it took 4 weeks and they said 3 weeks, i think you would have an argument.

P.S.

All pizza places take 15 minutes minimum to make a pizza, if they don't, its not fresh.

However if you didnt know this and your expectation was 5 minutes i guess you would be annoyed, that doesn't mean the Pizza place is overpaid, inefficient etc.

kceire wrote: »
    nobody said you havent done the right thing and applied in good time, but maybe because your not a priority case, you dont get processed as quick as another person who has been made redundant.
    I would fully understand that if the delay was of even of the order of weeks, but we are now talking months. There's no excuse for it no matter how hard some people try to find one.

Course you do, I went into the Office in Dublin, they said 2 - 3 weeks.

So I just went to Cork instead ;)

This is more about what you find acceptable in your own head. Your annoyed because you needed something and standard delivery time doesn't suit you.

I dont think the Driving License office ever set the expectation that it would be any faster if there was a sign advertising it on the wall.

Now if it took 4 weeks and they said 3 weeks, i think you would have an argument.

P.S.

All pizza places take 15 minutes minimum to make a pizza, if they don't, its not fresh.

However if you didnt know this and your expectation was 5 minutes i guess you would be annoyed, that doesn't mean the Pizza place is overpaid, inefficient etc.
    I think the likes of the tax offices are a rare example where a PS "customer" has a choice of which office they use. In my case, my E104 form is only issued from one office in Donegal. Nowhere else.

I would fully understand that if the delay was of even of the order of weeks, but we are now talking months. There's no excuse for it no matter how hard some people try to find one.

Why are you concerned about getting a document you don't need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Why are you concerned about getting a document you don't need?

He has already explained, read the thread properly.
    I can apply for these forms myself to be prepared in case anything goes awry with my employment situation. I SPOKE to someone in Buncranna who told me it was fine and that it would take longer than if the German authorities applied for it on my behalf BUT (as I already said) they said "prioritisation" in this case means about an 8 week wait...a long friggin time if you have been made unemployed I would imagine! So here I am, like a good lad, trying to be prepared (I see the PS supporters are lambasting people here for being so silly as to lose their licence or for not applying in good time before expiry, so what's the problem with me applying in good time to be prepared?) and I get nothing in return.

He has already explained, read the thread properly.

Did read it thanks. He wants it in case he needs to claim benefits in Germany if he loses his job. In which case it is fastracked as explained earlier. How long the fast track takes we do not know. Never heard of this being an issue. Both anecdotes in this thread are Joe Duffy style whining in order to bash the public sector. Like there aren't enough other threads to do that in.

I SPOKE to one of your PS colleagues in Buncranna in the telephone. He told me the wait time would be app. 8 weeks if the German authorities applied on my behalf and about 3 months otherwise (this was almost 6 months ago that I applied and I still haven't got it). So, you either accept your colleague's figure as genuine, doubt your colleague's abiltity to give me accurate information, doubt my ability to remember a simple telephone conversation or accuse me of fabricating the whole thing (read back through my posts on Boards if you like, I have mentioned this before in other threads it has been going on that long).

why can't you just say it: 6 months and counting for a pice of paper that proves I paid stamps is a fcuking joke. All this information is sitting on a Revenue/DSW computer somewhere. They do NOT need to go telephoning my previous employers to verify that I paid PRSI because eh, they got the money off me already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

I SPOKE to one of your PS colleagues in Buncranna in the telephone. He told me the wait time would be app. 8 weeks if the German authorities applied on my behalf and about 3 months otherwise (this was almost 6 months ago that I applied and I still haven't got it). So, you either accept your colleague's figure as genuine, doubt your colleague's abiltity to give me accurate information, doubt my ability to remember a simple telephone conversation or accuse me of fabricating the whole thing (read back through my posts on Boards if you like, I have mentioned this before in other threads it has been going on that long).

why can't you just say it: 6 months and counting for a pice of paper that proves I paid stamps is a fcuking joke. All this information is sitting on a Revenue/DSW computer somewhere. They do NOT need to go telephoning my previous employers to verify that I paid PRSI because eh, they got the money off me already!

You are not the only person that is looking for this - you are in a queue of probably hundreds of other people also waiting on this information - some who have lost their jobs and will be dealt with before your case as they are priority.
    How many staff members are in Donegal? What is their case load? How many claims are pending? Do you know what other duties they have to do apart from this? Until you know these variables I don't think you can comment on the efficiency.

On a side note, other countries are slower. My brother is unemployed and has been waiting 3 months for Spain to send his to Ireland.