Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jammy group/night in Cork?

• 18-10-2010 1:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭

I was talking to Malice over PM and we came up with the idea maybe of having somewhere where people can get together and just randomly jam out. just bring along a guitar an amp and a silly fuzz pedal and feck about for a while.

I don't really have much time for jamming on top of doing band stuff and my own stuff, but until I do find a band it could be a nice idea and a good way to meet people.

Where could we do this and how should we go about doing it?

People in cork seem to be having real issues with finding people. I also think that with a more casual venue like this people would be more likely to commit eventually as they're not diving straight into a band audition which is what a lot of meetings feel like. Personally I'm not good with that and it makes me reluctant to meet up to jam with people.

I was thinking of setting up a forum for local cork musicians/producers, could be a good way to keep track of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

I love this idea. Me and another guy have been trying to find other musicans in Cork for a couple of months and this good be a way of getting to know another musicans.

Not really keen on the idea of lugging an amp around the city, having a lack of transport, but maybe a jamming room like the one out in blackpool would be a good idea. We would have all the amps, drum kit and PA provided, at a charge for a couple of hours. This, of course, would be dependant on the number of people coming, I don't think those rooms are that big.

But, I would love if something like this did get off the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Sandvich

You don't need to lug a big amp out. Just a Microcube would be fine and not very heavy :) My amp has an Aux in too so you could plug a modeler in the back of it and run 2 guitars. Basically any modeler should be like this too. If we had sound kind of sound system it'd be even easier, everyone could plug into that.

Drums would be difficult though. We could use a drum machine but obviously actual drummers would just be sitting there. Still, unplugged instruments would be better than nothing, we could maybe get an electronic drum kit or something.

http://www.corkrehearsalstudios.com/rates.html

If you could manage to get 10 people, it'd be a fiver each... though we'd be unlikely to get that very often. Maybe just once a month for that.

It's a shame there aren't more public spaces just to meet up and do stuff. Even if you have to buy coffee or whatever, realistically you're going to want coffee anyway.

The Unitarian church is the closest I can think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Did I hear my name being mentioned? :p I would be very interested in meeting up for a jam. Any excuse to try out my new gear :).

If necessary I could provide a lift for at least one other person who might need one Knifey Spoony

The only other thing that jumps out at me straight away is putting some sort of structure on the meet up. I've been in enough jam sessions which just turn into a bit of a shambles as people haven't discussed beforehand what they would like to play. I'm not saying everyone has to learn a setlist of twenty songs but if we could at least settle on maybe five songs that we could play then it might make things a bit less nerve-wracking for all concerned. Either that or we just bring a load of beer, use taxis for transport, get wasted and see what happens musically!

To be honest I'm way too nervous to meet up and jam the regular way, which is why I suggested this.

I think waht Malice said is a good idea, we would need something planned before hand to jam when we get there, just so we don't show up and discover we have nothing in common to play and just decend in some random blues noodling. I would prefer to rent a space, just so amps are provided because my current amp is crap. But, won't mind what we end up doing as long as it goes ahead.

Sandvich wrote: »
    To be honest I'm way too nervous to meet up and jam the regular way, which is why I suggested this.
    But surely an unstructured meetup of a bunch of strangers in a room would be worse? If you know beforehand what you are going to be playing for at least some of the time then doesn't that put your mind at ease?

It's only happened to me a couple of times because I learnt pretty quickly to avoid it but it's quite awkward to be stood in a room with strangers where everyone has the look of "WTF do we do now?" in their eyes.
    Sandvich wrote:
    If you could manage to get 10 people, it'd be a fiver each...
    I missed this earlier. Ten people might be a bit difficult to manage. Imagine five guitars, three basses and two drummers belting away! Could 10 people and their gear even fit comfortably in a rehearsal room?

But surely an unstructured meetup of a bunch of strangers in a room would be worse? If you know beforehand what you are going to be playing for at least some of the time then doesn't that put your mind at ease?

The pressure isn't on any one individual though, that's the thing.

I'm not quite sure what you mean here. There's no pressure on any one individual doing what I recommend either unless you mean the pressure to learn a few songs? That's where some discussion comes in handy so at least people are working on songs by bands they like or songs they are familiar with.

I mean when I answer an add or whatever I feel like I'm going to a job interview. I do want to get serious about music eventually, but starting out I want it to be as casual as possible where actual technical talent and hours practicing doesn't matter as much.

This would be a great way to build skills up and get into a jamming environment without feeling the need to commit to one person or band.

Well I don't think anyone wants it to get serious straight away, certainly I don't. I'm just saying that I've stepped into a room to jam with a few strangers without any preparation done and it has gone horribly wrong so I'd rather do a bit of preparation.

I don't just want to set up a band though, I'd like to help kickstart a bit of a scene. I think Cork really needs a good alternative rock scene especially(as in alternative to the pub rock/cover bands..) I like this idea a lot but I'm wondering how to get it off the ground.

I think part of the reason it's so difficult setting up a band is the lack of a good scene.

So it is much more than a jam thing that you want to start, more of a musican's scene? That seems very ambitious, but I think it would have to start with a few people coming together to just jam and see what happens from there. I know that it is not a band that you want to form, but Malice is right about having a general idea of what to do when people meet up, even if that means just playing some cover songs. But, it is still a good a idea, we need some sort of musicans scene down here, it is very small at the moment and I am sure that there are a load of bedroom rockers about.

I'm hoping the jam thing might spur a scene on it's own actually. It seems like an inevitable thing. I really think us Cork heads need to get together and think about it anyway, at the very least. Organise gigs, etc. Maybe call in and see Albert in Plug'd records one day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Wooden Jesus

Im in Cork for college and im dying to jam while im here. Not really many music societies or groups for meeting musicians around. This could be a cool idea even if its just a load of musicians with a crate of beer getting together in a room

I don't just want to set up a band though, I'd like to help kickstart a bit of a scene.
    Ah well that's probably a whole different thread :).

Building up a scene takes time. I think the key is to just get something started even if it is just small.
    Im in Cork for college and im dying to jam while im here. Not really many music societies or groups for meeting musicians around. This could be a cool idea even if its just a load of musicians with a crate of beer getting together in a room
    Cool, that's another person to add to the list.

What do you folks all play anyway? I play bass and guitar so I'll bring both along to this meet-up.

Does anyone want to start suggesting songs we could have a bash at? I'd say keep it pretty simple, stuff like Today by Smashing Pumpkins or Creep by Radiohead.

If we could decide on three or four songs then we can start discussing times and places to meet up.

Well, I play guitar and a tiny bit of drums, but am far more experienced on guitar and would prefer that. As for the songs, I'll have to have a think about it, but maybe Jailbreak by Thin Lizzy, simple enough song.

I play guitar. Rock and blues stuff mostly. Wouldnt mind doing something by led zep or pearl jam

Yeah, maybe we should basically set up a music soc? But not attached to any particularly society.

Back in Ennis when I was younger we used to have Elmo's Attic which was kind of cool, a sort of youthclub type thing orientated towards bands and music. People used to bring acoustic guitars and whatnot and play outside. It'd be great to have something like that down here.

Malice_ wrote: »
    Ah well that's probably a whole different thread :).

Building up a scene takes time. I think the key is to just get something started even if it is just small.

Cool, that's another person to add to the list.

What do you folks all play anyway? I play bass and guitar so I'll bring both along to this meet-up.

Does anyone want to start suggesting songs we could have a bash at? I'd say keep it pretty simple, stuff like Today by Smashing Pumpkins or Creep by Radiohead.

If we could decide on three or four songs then we can start discussing times and places to meet up.

I like my Pumpkins and Radiohead. I was learning Today at one point, though I'm horrible at tuning my guitar and the intonation tends to go a bit screwy when I tune down. I could probably jam those with you though in standard tuning.

I'm not as into classic rock and blues since there's a lot of that around but I still play quite a few of those riffs when I'm eejiting around. I wouldn't mind learning some of those so I can play them with my old dad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Strider671

Ive been told Cork rehearsal studios on Dublin hill is a great place to jam.Im a lead/rhythm guitarist playing 9 years now.Anyone fancy jamming 'freedom' by Rage against the machine??Also I think 'Cherub Rock' by The Pumpkins would sound great to jam!

Hi, I'd love to Jam with you sometime :)

I love the Pumpkins. I have tons of fuzz too.

I like my Pumpkins and Radiohead. I was learning Today at one point, though I'm horrible at tuning my guitar and the intonation tends to go a bit screwy when I tune down. I could probably jam those with you though in standard tuning.
    I play 5/6 string bass so unless you drop down to A or something crazy like that I'll be covered in normal tuning :).
    Strider671 wrote: »
    Ive been told Cork rehearsal studios on Dublin hill is a great place to jam.
    That's the only place I know of in Cork anyway.

I second the use of Cork Rehersal Studios, won't have to drag my amp around the place and looks like a quality set-up.

Alright, so we'll work out dates and split the money fairly even between us.

If any of us have Acoustics or Microcubes or similar there may be public spaces where you can jam a bit too, maybe even go busking ;)

Alright, so we'll work out dates and split the money fairly even between us.
    So let's provisionally say this is our setlist:

Today by Smashing Pumpkins
    Creep by Radiohead
    Cherub Rock by Smashing Pumpkins
    Freedom by Rage Against The Machine

A weekend might be easier to get everyone together. So, next weekend (Oct 30th/31st) might be a bit too soon for everyone to be familiar with those songs (if not, say so) and I'm in Liverpool the weekend after that. How is everyone fixed for meeting up on either the 13th or 14th of November?

I've no problem with that. I do have lots of appointments though so I'll double check. I'm not great at learning songs though(pretty severe ADHD), I'd like to get a bit of a freestyle jam yoke going, pick a scale/key and jam about, know what I mean like?

Also I'm pretty sure I can bring enough Fuzz pedals for everyone.

Modded Russian Big Muff
    Zvex Fuzz Factory
    Devi Ever Soda Meiser
    Devi Ever Ruby prototype/Fooked Hyperion
    Modded MXR Blue Box
    Made by Mike Fender Blender

Line 6 M9 has some great fuzzes on it too, nothing too crazy though.

That list looks pretty small now I look at it though, especially since the Fuzz Factory is usually at home back in Clare. Need more Fuzz...

Im around all of november. I can bring a spare guitar if anyone wants it

I'll be bringing these

Sandvich, you must have some collection of effects units!
    Sandvich wrote:
    I'd like to get a bit of a freestyle jam yoke going, pick a scale/key and jam about?
    Yeah, we can give that a go. I usd to that a bit with my last band. The trick is to keep eye contact and get used to everyones nods so that you know when to switch chords :).

That weekend should be fine for me, can't wait to try out my new guitar on a proper amp.

I sell a lot of my effects when I'm not using to be honest, I got a Line 6 M9, though mostly these days I just use the effects on my Korg Pandora. Looking to get a new amp to throw the M9 in front of. My current amp doesn't have reverb built in so that's one slot generally gone from the M9 as I always like to use a bit of verb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭TheStickyBandit

Hey lads, I'm liking this idea a lot, I'm a drummer in a heavy rock/metal band already, but I'd love to give this a bash as it sounds like a good laugh. Let me know if ye wnat me to tag along!

Sure, the more people come the cheaper it is for us. It would be great if we just had people sitting in too.

Actually my aunt is coming then so the next weekend might be better. Sat during the day as well I have D&D games. Maybe a little harder to set up than I thought...

Hey lads, I'm liking this idea a lot, I'm a drummer in a heavy rock/metal band already, but I'd love to give this a bash as it sounds like a good laugh. Let me know if ye wnat me to tag along!
    Yeah definitely come along, having a drummer there would be great.
    Actually my aunt is coming then so the next weekend might be better. Sat during the day as well I have D&D games. Maybe a little harder to set up than I thought...
    Well assuming that weekend suits everyone else maybe you can come along for as much of the meet up as you can?

Does anyone have a preference for the morning (10 - 2), afternoon (2 - 6) or evening (6 - 12) sessions? I reckon 10AM is a bit early so I'd be in favour of an afternoon session and then beers afterward :). The price is €50 for each session so assuming the 6 people that have expressed an interest turn up it works out at 8.33 each. Also can we decide on Saturday or Sunday? I'm not too fussed on the day but for simplicity I'd go for the afternoon slot of November 13th.

This is the list of attendees so far:
    Malice
    Sandvich
    Knifey Spoony
    Wooden Jesus
    Strider671
    TheStickyBandit

Obviously if anyone has any mates that don't post on Boards that they want to bring along, feel free.

It takes a good few hours to get down to clare so I probably won't be around that weekend at all, you'll have to strike me off the list if it's then I'm afraid. Let's see if we can get more replies. Maybe someone post the idea on PROC too? I don't like going there personally though.

Afternoon session definately looks the handiest. Should probably try get a few more songs for the day if wer gonna be there that long

IMO, Sundays are probably the best in general. I could make it for 3 maybe that weekend then if I got an early train back, but I won't have a guitar or amp with me most likely, and I'm generally doing nothing on Sundays when I stay in Cork.

hmm, probably should have thought this through more?

IMO, Sundays are probably the best in general. I could make it for 3 maybe that weekend then if I got an early train back, but I won't have a guitar or amp with me most likely, and I'm generally doing nothing on Sundays when I stay in Cork.

hmm, probably should have thought this through more?
    I have a 2nd guitar in cork if you want to use it. A fender tele. Theres amps already in the studio too. Sweet marshall stacks!

I won't have a guitar or amp with me most likely
    I'll have my K7 with me, you can use that if you like.

Actually I might just be able to store my guitar in my friends across from the Railyway station. That would be dead handy. The Sheena is light too so I could take it home with me if I wanted.

I'll be bringing fuzz anyway.

Anyone else getting a bit excited now? Though worried I'll show myself up since I can't actually play anything haha

Should probably try get a few more songs for the day if wer gonna be there that long
    Well feel free to suggest a few more.
    IMO, Sundays are probably the best in general.
    Fair enough, anyone got any objections to aiming for an afternoon slot on Sunday, November 14th then?
    Though worried I'll show myself up since I can't actually play anything haha
    Well that's easily fixed, have a bash at the songs that I listed earlier.

Um, I'm not actually sure how to get out there. I Didn't realise how far out it was. I don't have transport or anything. Is there a bus that goes out there?

Also, guys:

"Our Session rooms come fully equipped with the best professional gear from some of the biggest brands in the world..."

"Full Marshall stacks for guitar - 1960a Cabs and MG100fx Heads"

:/ Not a tube purist or anything but I was expecting a JCM800 or AC30 or JC120 or something. I suppose it's grand for a quick jam, but it's made me a lot less excited. I don't get to play proper big amps very often, not too bothered about owning one but of course I'd love to jam out on one now and again. Would love to hear my fuzz through a proper tube amp.

How about this?

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/forums/showthread.php?p=3345128

It's city center so easier to get to for most people probably. Dunno what amps he has or anything.

How about this?

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/forums/showthread.php?p=3345128

It's city center so easier to get to for most people probably. Dunno what amps he has or anything.

I jammed there a couple of months ago and the place is a hole. There was rubbish all around the room, as well as mousetraps, the kit provided is shit and amps aren't great. Your man that runs it as well seemed kinda dodgy to me, but that is probably beside the point. Blackpool seems way better, but havn't jammed there yet. Should be checking it out this weekend.

****e.

Tell us how it is.

Also, I can get the Number 7 up so I'll probably go home after the station. If there's only MGs there I'd rather bring my Lunchbox, though I guess if I'm using Fuzz it's not a big deal. The thing is it'll take ages to get through city centre and that even on a Sunday. It really is a bit far out, shame there isn't somewhere city center. Wonder if UCC has any rooms to rent out? Or any of the smaller colleges like St. Johns, CSN?

There's probably lots of little places we could use though. Keep in mind we're not doing "proper" practice so we don't need to go as all out.

I know that CIT has practice rooms alright, but to use them you some one in the group has to be going to CIT and since I don't go there I have being relying on a friend that goes there to book some time there for my band, but it is taking ages to sort out. As far as I know, UCC don't have anything like that.

It's a pity the place in town is so bad, Blackpool is a bit out of the way and the one bus that drops you from the city centre to directly outside of the industrial estate, where the rehersal space is, doesn't run on Sunday :rolleyes:.

I've never been to the rehearsal studio and my knowledge of Cork is fairly limited but isn't Blackpool where Argos etc. are? That's only a couple of minutes outside the city centre any time I've driven it. Depending on where you guys live and how much gear you're bringing I could give lifts to two of you.

I know that CIT has practice rooms alright, but to use them you some one in the group has to be going to CIT and since I don't go there I have being relying on a friend that goes there to book some time there for my band, but it is taking ages to sort out. As far as I know, UCC don't have anything like that.

It's a pity the place in town is so bad, Blackpool is a bit out of the way and the one bus that drops you from the city centre to directly outside of the industrial estate, where the rehersal space is, doesn't run on Sunday :rolleyes:.
    Any idea where exactly the rooms in cit are?
    Would it take long to walk to blackpool from the city centre. Iv never been there but if its about a 30 minute walk it wouldnt be too bad

Malice_ wrote: »
    I've never been to the rehearsal studio and my knowledge of Cork is fairly limited but isn't Blackpool where Argos etc. are? That's only a couple of minutes outside the city centre any time I've driven it. Depending on where you guys live and how much gear you're bringing I could give lifts to two of you.

It's actually quite a bit from the shopping center area if you look at the map. You have to get a number 7 and walk for a bit. The 7 can take a while to get through town so it's awkward for me, I'm south side.