Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Demand for new government

• 18-10-2010 11:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭

I know now there is a demand for new government but i was just looking to see, How many people want a new government? Why? and who do you want to replace the current party in charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I want a new government.

If Richard Bruton had of took over FG then I would vote for a government with him as leader, unfortunately that didn't happen.

At this stage I feel we need new blood and an overhaul of the political system and the way this country is governed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

hobochris wrote: »
    I want a new government.

If Richard Bruton had of took over FG then I would vote for a government with him as leader, unfortunately that didn't happen.

At this stage I feel we need new blood and an overhaul of the political system and the way this country is governed.
    I agree. As much as I want leadership change in this country, FG is just as bad as FF and they have no clear plan on how to fix this situation. Labour is just not for me and I'd never vote for them regardless of leadership.

We need a complete overhaul of the system and new leaders in all the parties. The parties need to have a discussion - not a debate - but a discussion on RTE in prime time where they ought to lay out their ideas and plans on how they are going to fix things.
    How they will reform taxes, how and where they will make cuts and who their new leaders will be.

We need one thing more than anything right now this minute: and that is transparency.
    We are the sovereign of this country and the politicians need to see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Think this country need to be whipped into shape fast Fine Gael sound like the only people so far that no what there talking about.
    Example of the cuts being that the TD's driving there own vechiles with only the taoiseach, Minster for Justice, President getting government quirks.
    But biffo and his lads seem to think thats not the issue when clearly a goverment car including a garda driver is 15,000 a day Enda Kenny said in statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

OisinT wrote: »
    I agree. As much as I want leadership change in this country, FG is just as bad as FF and they have no clear plan on how to fix this situation. Labour is just not for me and I'd never vote for them regardless of leadership.

We need a complete overhaul of the system and new leaders in all the parties. The parties need to have a discussion - not a debate - but a discussion on RTE in prime time where they ought to lay out their ideas and plans on how they are going to fix things.
    How they will reform taxes, how and where they will make cuts and who their new leaders will be.

We need one thing more than anything right now this minute: and that is transparency.
    We are the sovereign of this country and the politicians need to see that.

how do you compare a party which has been in power since 1997, had a leader who still has not received a tax clearance certificate and is under investigation of the mahon tribunal, created the financial regulator which sat by with full knowledge and did nothing about the banks, caved into the demands of the banks & property developers by bringing in lots of tax breaks/incentives to create a massively inflated property bubble, increased public expenditure threefold, created the HSE to FG who were not in power for this period?

there is no basis for a comparison and i fail to understand how people can come on here and suggest FF & FG are the same, no-one deserves to be tarred with the same brush as FF as they are responsible for this nation being in the gutter and what are they doing about it?? SFA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'm a FG voter. I don't believe FG are anywhere near as bad as FF. I do believe FG have had some problems with corruption, and I do believe these were handled better and quicker than those in FF. For example Michael Lowry being ejected by the party. Where as Bertie was up and down every tree in North Dublin but couldn't see something as plain as the red nose on his face that Ray 'Rambo' Burke was corrupt.

We do need transparency, badly. That will not come with FF.

I don't believe Labour have it to fix the problems we are facing. They're too far in the leaba with the Unions.

So, realistically, that leaves FG. I don't have faith in many politicians but I do have faith in Richard Bruton, despite the ill prepared heave he led.

I don't believe Michael Noonan would be in Finance in a FG led Government. I would like to see a FG overall majority to really see how good, or bad, they would be.

I think there will be a great argument between FG & Labour for Finance & Taoiseach. I believe both should go to FG, but I would say that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

Think this country need to be whipped into shape fast Fine Gael sound like the only people so far that no what there talking about.
    Example of the cuts being that the TD's driving there own vechiles with only the taoiseach, Minster for Justice, President getting government quirks.
    But biffo and his lads seem to think thats not the issue when clearly a goverment car including a garda driver is 15,000 a day Enda Kenny said in statement.
    Ahem. Maybe you mean perks rather than quirks?;)

To be honest, I can't see where you are coming from here unless you're testing the water on behalf of Fine Gael. To be fair, in my opinion Enda Kenny is up (or down?) there with Cowen as regards ability to run this country. Fine Gael proved their ineptitude this year when, given the chance to undermine Cowen in a confidence motion, they imploded and tried to unseat their own jockey instead. Sadly we are bunched, as it were. We have a shockingly bad Government and an equally impotent opposition. I fear it will take a few General Elections to flush out the entire current population of Dáil Éireann and inject an entirely new generation of Politicians. Hopefully with some scruples and basic decency and intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Hopefully with some scruples and basic decency and intelligence.

And hopefully with a skill to be able to communicate to the electorate because lets face it the current shower cannot communicate at all, especially the Taoiseach.

To be honest, I can't see where you are coming from here unless you're testing the water on behalf of Fine Gael.

Maybe I could be.

But I would like to see new leadership maybe cowen should learn from Ex british prime minister Gordon Browne and jump ship whenever he is challegned because enda kenny has also said something that most irish citizens didn't really notice and that is in endas words "when was the last time mr cowen addressed the nation to assure us that ex TD's will have the PERKS taken away and as to why a minister for agricultar needs a garda driver and government car. In fact when was the last time he addressed the nation full stop."

in endas words "when was the last time mr cowen addressed the nation
    A bit rich coming from Enda Kenny. When did he address the nation as opposition leader and reassure us with what he'd do if he got into power? He should have been tearing into the Government for the past year on TV and Radio but we haven't heard a peep from him apart from when me made a right clown of himself on the Late Late Show.

Its not up to him to address a nation its up to the leadership to do that his job is to do what he is doing now which is probably 110% better than what bif and the boys are doing to the country. But Seriously, Enda Kenny is going to be the next Taoiseach. But a stronger reason is the support of newspapers. The support of the Irish Independent is crucial for a government or prospective government. The Irish Times is already (and generally is) on the side the opposition. When John Bruton lost the support of the Indo on the eve of the 1997 election it signaled the end of his time as Taoiseach.

Thats how he's more in touch with a nation FG is and biffo is out on the sauce (drink) with the lads living it up and is what some smart would say a wreckless Minister probably sitting in his office now playing connect 4 with lenihan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I know there is a demand for a new govt, but the debt wont dissappear. None of them are capable of undoing the mess, I think. Its over. Welcome IMF.

Well were the new Greece 2010 as the EU have stated.
    But new government can patch up were neccasery but whats cowens idea of cuts to the Social welfare payments theres no reason for that and its a joke the average jobseeker is possibly earning on average about 150 euro a week which is already taxed why is he raising taxes and cutting the allowance. If thats the case it'll drop possibly to 80 euro a week and thats for people who need money and transport.

Basically you just about get the heating on for that and thats it. regardless of food and water. Oh and he's charging for water in the new budget so whats he getting t.

New government will see the F*&k ups he's making and learn from it

I'm just saying that FG has come up with no actual plan for the budget other than disagreeing with everything FF has said and making suggestions about how to save 15,000 quid here and there.
    That's like a drop in the bucket - let's be honest.

The problem here is clear. FG voters are calling for FF out but are unwilling to see that their party has its own faults too (a major one being that they are just as clueless as the current lot.).

If it's not clear I'm not a FF, FG, Labour or SF or anyone for that matter.

I'm talking about electing officials who have a clue, who have a clear plan and who are interested in non-party politics.

I'd love to give Bruton a chance, but can anyone tell me the major party differences in policy between FF and FG at the moment?

Economic differences,
    Taxation Differences,
    European Politics Differences,
    Oireachtas makeup differences?

I would honestly love to know the ACTUAL FG position on these things and how they differ from FF?\.

Its not up to him to address a nation its up to the leadership to do that his job is to do what he is doing now which is probably 110% better than what bif and the boys are doing to the country.
    If he's serious about his job he'd be putting it up to the Government. He'd be in our faces at every opportunity. He's like a rabbit in the headlights. He doesn't know what to do next. I'd argue that he's as equally inept as Cowen. FG missed the boat by leaving him in place when they should have put in Bruton.
    But Seriously, Enda Kenny is going to be the next Taoiseach.
    The bookies don't agree. And they rarely back losers!
    Thats how he's more in touch with a nation FG is and biffo is out on the sauce (drink) with the lads living it up and is what some smart would say a wreckless Minister probably sitting in his office now playing connect 4 with lenihan
    To be fair Kenny is as prone to boozing gaffes as Cowen. Wasn't it Enda Kenny that was rolling out of the Dáil with Sheehan when the latter was stopped for being drunk by the Gardai?