Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mo Run Dublin - 20/11/2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Injuries permitting, I plan on running this. 4 weeks after Dublin so everyone should be recovered enough to give it a good lash.

http://www.runireland.com/events/10k-mo-run-dublin

http://www.thefixevents.com/content/the-movember-10k-run-dublin/

Edit 2: Thank you anonymod! :)

Thanking you kindly.

Hmm looks like it could be perfect low key race for the crack early season i just might do it myself. Little vague on few details but ill try get to the bottom of them before making a decision but i prob will do it for the laugh. Same route as the GI so i would say not one for PBs but definitely a good strength run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Keedowah

Signed up for this today - anyone else doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Wonkagirl

yep just signed up too.. imperative to have a few of these in the diary to keep fitness levels up as opposed to letting it all collapse in the winter (the mistake i made last yr!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Route has been changed to an out-and-back on using the hills on the southern half of the Phoenix Park.
    http://www.mapometer.com/en/running/route_876735.html

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

daymobrew wrote: »
    Route has been changed to an out-and-back on using the hills on the southern half of the Phoenix Park.
    http://www.mapometer.com/en/running/route_876735.html

They've just made the route even worse by doing that. Very slow course IMO. That might have just confirmed me not doing this and doing the reindeer run in Marlay the following week instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

They've just made the route even worse by doing that.
    Agreed. I'd emailed the guy earlier and he said that they were modifying the course to satisfy the Phoenix Park people. I hope it is not an omen for the Aware 10k next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Road runners are really terrified of hills ;)

It's only right that event which supports the growing a tache should be a manly affair ;)

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Road runners are really terrified of hills ;)

It's only right that event which supports the growing a tache should be a manly affair ;)

But, but hills are HARD :eek:

I'm going to bring my eyeliner and draw on a tache :pac:

Edit: If I have eyeliner, I'm sure I've bought some at some stage of my life so it should be somewhere in the make up bag I don't use!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

We got our facepaint today and are trying to decide which of the following http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3197/3005123817_1c635e58dc.jpg will be the most unattractive... can't wait. I hope it comes off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jk_Eire

Signed up for this as my first 10k.
    Aiming for sub 50 mins.

Not sure if I'll sport a moustache as the wind resistance may cause me to lose some vital miliseconds.

Big congrats to Boards A/R/T's very own mo-winner! :D

Ah savage! Congrats. Twas a tough run this morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Big congrats to Boards A/R/T's very own mo-winner! :D

Thanks. 'twas a tough enough course - one that I'm glad to see the back of!

Hear hear. Well done. There a lovely photo of the mossive trophy on facebook there! :)

http://www.facebook.com/MovemberIreland?v=photos#!/photo.php?fbid=10150100675782329&set=a.497213422328.294957.136442407328

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jk_Eire

Enjoyed this race but it was a tough course. Made some good ground on the Kyber Hill finish but I think I felt the closest I have have to actually dropping dead. Managed to do a nice sprint finish to the line though when the crowd got me all riled up.

I was aiming for sub 50 and finished with 48:20 so happy out :pac:

Very well organised, fun and a great atmosphere.

They even let people who missed the entry deadline and who turned up anyway take part if they "promised" to donate to charity. Nice of them.

The Bootcamp warm up was great craic too. Only did a little bit of it, but it really got the atmosphere buzzing.

Feckin hills though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

claralara wrote: »
    Hear hear. Well done. There a lovely photo of the mossive trophy on facebook there! :)

http://www.facebook.com/MovemberIreland?v=photos#!/photo.php?fbid=10150100675782329&set=a.497213422328.294957.136442407328

Well done to StupidPrivate, that's one for the trophy cabinet!

In other news, can I recommend a read of "the Emperor's New Clothes"?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

Was a nice course yesterday apart from the last km, what a kick in the balls that was, even though you knew it was coming.

one girl on the water station was a farce as she couldnt keep up with demand.

chip timing is pretty pointless to me unless you have a timing mat at the start, just stick up a clock at the finish line and we'll know our times

Was looking up the results of this last night. Kicking myself I didn't get out of bed looking at those womens times, top 5 would have been pretty much a dead cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭emco

I actually thought the course was great, no boring long straight sections. That hill at the end seems standard for a few races in the park.
    Just one person at the water station was ridiculous yeah but its only 10k.