Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lads wearing those military style boots??

• 17-10-2010 7:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭

just want to see what girls think of the those military boots from the likes of river island on lads??? do they find them cool or do they think lads shouldnt wear them because they are just to like the girls ones.
    i just wanted to start a thread and ask because when i was at a party last night , this topic came up and some lads said no they are "ghey" :rolleyes::rolleyes:

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

I am a lad but my fends think there guy and I got a pair there in river iland
    There maybe the best 110 euro I spent on boots

I only have them on when I go out. With black skinnys and a skinny fiting shirt I don't think there gay but you have to dress with them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

ye sure like i wouldnt wear them to the centre like my most girls that wear them everyday etc
    i think they are great when your actually dressed up :D id wear them with slim jeans with a long double breasted jacket or with a cardigan or something , some lads just think they look so stupid and some girls dont seem to like them on fellas:S

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Samapple789, please consult the forum charter. We do not discuss whether clothes make you look "gay' or not here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Lolnouska

My ex got a great pair from H&M in NYC and i think they look great on guys. I don't think they look girly at all on men, i think with the right clothes, you can pull them off very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

I'm bored of seeing them on either gender by now to be honest, they can be really unflattering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cookie Jar

I wouldn't be mad on seeing them on a lad on a day to day basis, but I think they look nice on a night out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

@cookie

most people have been saying this, i would only really wear them when your propper going out when you have a deadly jacket and cool jeans etc :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cookie Jar

Yeah I think they look deadly on a fella on a night out. But then again when I was working in retail a few of the lads used to always wear them with nice jeans and tshirt to work so it just all depends on where you're going / what you're doing.
    And then there are the lads that can just pull the look off whenever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 yummers

i love it. you'd want to wear it with something like jj from big brother would. he is always the first thing i think of when i see fella wearing them boots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I quite like these on lads, when they're dressed up nicely they can look really sexy my boyfriend doesn't like them though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

I personally dont like them. Too many people wearing them now. Everyone of them lads in that xfactor band was dressed nearly identical with these boots the other night. Bit ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I agree with slunk!

They were cool when they first came out, now they are like ugg boots to me. Going into town every girl is wearing them and only a few guys but they look stupid to me!

I like the eclectic man skinnies with pointy toed boots look. NOM!

I have a pair, but then again I got them for Civil Defence and I use them for work. They're actual work boots, and I'd wear them with blue-jeans no problem.

I have 3 more pairs, but these were *issued* to me by Civil Defence so *not* for going out on the tiles with! :D (nor would I want to!)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,646 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Further information required. I own the following military boots:

I have black, vaguely polished laced boots which come about 8"-10" up.

I have black, vaguely polished tanker boots which come about 8"-10" up.

I have tan suede laced boots which come about 8"-10" up.

I have tan suede tanker boots which come about 8"-10" up.

I have seen an officer wearing tan suede cavalry boots, which come some 20" up, I think they look a little odd, but there is a point to them if you're on a horse.

I will often wear any of the four types I have as casual civilian attire if my trainers aren't suitable. Usually for going out and about outdoors or for clambering on tanks or the ilk. With my grand fashion sense, I'll wear whichever one is closest, and, in the event that appearance matters, whichever one has the fewest FRH/Oil stains if they're the suede type. In all cases I will place the trousers over the boot instead of blousing them in traditional military fashion. Frankly, it would look silly, especially in jeans. In most cases, people won't notice if they're tanker or laced style boots, so it comes down to personal comfort.

They are eminently practical, and quite comfortable, particularly the tanker boots as long as I'm not doing anything which involves much hiking. It's a case of form follows function. I can't think of anything much military-related which could constitute as 'ghey', anything military is designed with durability, combat comfort and utility, and general rough and manly treatment in mind.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 goldbird200

If a bloke has them on.. I fancy him.

End of... Go buy a pair!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭azwethinkweiz

Honestly... skinny jeans and those boots are my worst nightmare for a guy to wear... I dont really like skinny jeans on a guy anyway, just looks weird to me.