Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's this new "But I digress" trend in AH?

• 16-10-2010 10:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭

...it's sucky to be honest and sounds like it has been ripped from an American soap!

But I digress...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Can't say i've noticed it to be honest.
    People trying to sound posh maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

I'm guessing it's from Frasier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

The Agogo wrote: »
    I'm guessing it's from Frasier.

Hey, don't pour scorn on The Fraige.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Can't say I've noticed it but trends & fads come and go. If this one is coming in, it'll be going at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

Superbus wrote: »
    Hey, don't pour scorn on The Fraige.

I'm not! That's one of the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Yeah, I don't know where people get it from. I used to like climbing trees. In fact I have many warm memories of spending summers building tree houses. The warm summer breeze felt cooling as we sprinted from the Gotchie on the local building site with our 'supplies'.

This one time he called the Garda on us. They came down, running across the field sprinting towards us. Little did they know fom our newly built perch we could see them coming a mile off.

We scattered in many directions with the twilight grass whipping off our bare legs leavin the cool summer dew on our green 'Air Max'. We ran down past Hammil's gaf in the middle of nowhere grazing our legs on the brambles between the fences laughing as we ran.

Later we all met back up and recounted our escape to eachother and giggled like the happy kids we were. I realized it was time for me to check in and had to make that run to my parents house to keep from being grounded.

I used to run a lot back then. Running carefree simply because it was fun. Now, since I've gotten older I have tried to relive that childhood happiness by running. But to no avail. I feel old. I feel fat...and I feel run down.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

WTF????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Can't say I've noticed it OP

But I do hate

the ironing is delicious

It doesn't make sense on so many levels.
    If you see an ironic statement or a flawed statement just point it out and stop trying to clever. As it certainly isn't original

funk-you wrote: »
    Yeah, I don't know where people get it from. I used to like climbing trees. In fact I have many warm memories of spending summers building tree houses. The warm summer breeze felt cooling as we sprinted from the Gotchie on the local building site with our 'supplies'.

This one time he called the Garda on us. They came down, running across the field sprinting towards us. Little did they know fom our newly built perch we could see them coming a mile off.

We scattered in many directions with the twilight grass whipping off our bare legs leavin the cool summer dew on our green 'Air Max'. We ran down past Hammil's gaf in the middle of nowhere grazing our legs on the brambles between the fences laughing as we ran.

Later we all met back up and recounted our escape to eachother and giggled like the happy kids we were. I realized it was time for me to check in and had to make that run to my parents house to keep from being grounded.

I used to run a lot back then. Running carefree simply because it was fun. Now, since I've gotten older I have tried to relive that childhood happiness by running. But to no avail. I feel old. I feel fat...and I feel run down.

-Funk
    This has to be the longest post of yours I've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

That post from Funk needed a But I Digress..... at the end, but great anyway.

I'll let someone else link the facepalm. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Can't say I've noticed it OP

But I do hate

the ironing is delicious

It doesn't make sense on so many levels.
    If you see an ironic statement or a flawed statement just point it out and stop trying to clever. As it certainly isn't original
    The funniest part of that phrase is that it normally isn't used right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Bonito wrote: »

I'm a man of few words and much sarcasm.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

digress me bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,336 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Not as bad as when people say "but I digest"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

funkoff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Bonito wrote: »

He is usually rather succinct. Makes you a little suspicious....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Whenever I read that phrase Fall Out boy's this ain't a scene pops into my head!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

...it's sucky to be honest and sounds like it has been ripped from an American soap!

But I digress...

I'm quite fond of some of those American soap's myself...but i digress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

But I digress...

i leave boards for more then 20 minutes and ye rip me off ?? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

....but I divest, and that's why they call me the streak...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Hitler was an ok guy, actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Epic fail

full of win

the ironing is delicious

cool story bro

....you sad bunch. Nerd rhetoric.^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Epic fail

full of win

the ironing is delicious

cool story bro

Riveting tale chap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I don't think it'll catch on the way words like 'Random' or 'Epic' have done.

~"Dude, I drank a sh*tload of random beers last night and this morning I took the most epic dump ever"

I don't think it'll catch on the way words like 'Random' or 'Epic' have done.

~"Dude, I drank a sh*tload of random beers last night and this morning I took the most epic dump ever"
    What word would you put there instead of "random" or "epic".

I see nothing wrong with using words in the right way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

DOC09UNAM wrote: »

Thats so random in an epically ironing way

Cool story bro.

Hmm, this reminds me of the time I took up time as a hair dyer. I'd set up a business back in the day in Macer street, back when it was Macer street, dunno what it's called now. Anyway, this greying rich old guy John Gress comes into the store and asked his hair dyed blonde. Natually I obliged, and thought no more of it. Next day his assistant Dorenton comes back and asks "Would you work exclusively for Mr. Gress?" "Would I?" said me, I mean I'd have six dyemen's full wages for a half hour's work a week. so I did. I did it for a few months, then a group of old guys, Martin Ambleton, William Foxe, Arthur MacElton and a host of others all came to the shop begging me to work in their salons around the world.

But I Dye Gress.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Epic fail

full of win

the ironing is delicious

cool story bro

Meme parrotts.

Funk wins* thread....

*Doh!! Arrrghhh! facepalm....Argh b0ll0x.....:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

If a female tiger is a tigress, what's wrong with a female dig every now and then ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

This thread delivers, well done OP

Your thread is full of win

Oh the ironing is delicious.

What the **** are you? A goat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

DOC09UNAM wrote: »

Those 2 words are seriously misused. I hear examples of Epic being used to describe something fairly mundane or frivolous at least 10 times a day. And the word random is used all the time by people who don't know what it actually means, naming a photo album on facebook as Random is completely incorrect as the photos contained in the album are not random, they were chosen by the user and uploaded onto the website.

blablabla