Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post-DM boards beers-where will we meet up?

• 15-10-2010 12:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭

Where are we going for drinks afterwards?

Conrad - no atmosphere
    Porterhouse - close (ish) to finish, on route, serves food - but could be rammed, and no Guinness :eek:
    Market Bar - serves food (and proper drink), but is further away
    Ryans - traditional but, er, probably not

Any other suggestions? Seats and food are priorities.

Perhaps a mod could add a poll to the thread after a few days?

What bar do you prefer for post-DM beers? 23 votes

Conrad
    0%
    Porterhouse
    17%
    Orando Broombart simpsonIzoardIronTractorBoy 4 votes
    Market Bar
    4%
    neilc 1 vote
    Ryan's
    43%
    shels4everPeckhamBlueskyeOisin11178MacanrisarsfieldsrockAimmankandikaneBrianderunnerrunningcoach 10 votes
    The Hairy Lemon
    4%
    heffsarmy 1 vote
    Long Hall
    21%
    robinphhawkwingmetamorphosisfoleyalancillchainnigh 5 votes
    Grogans
    4%
    smmoore79 1 vote
    McGrattans
    4%
    jaytobe 1 vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

RayCun wrote: »

Perhaps a mod could add a poll to the thread after a few days?

Will do. Bear in mind the likes of Oisin11178 and Racoon Queen will be voting, so it should have an "all of the above" option.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

When did I become the forum alcoholic? :pac:

Just because I need to take a swig of whiskey every morning before I get out of bed it doesn't mean I have a problem :(

When did I become the forum alcoholic? :pac:

Just because I need to take a swig of whiskey every morning before I get out of bed it doesn't mean I have a problem :(

You're the life and soul of any party, your reputation as a civilizing influence and all-round good egg precedes you. I never mentioned alcohol.

[size=-5]How's that for a swift climb-down?[/size]

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Long Hall
    Porterhouse - close (ish) to finish, on route, serves food - but could be rammed, and no Guinness :eek:

Choice is a good thing.

I do think it could be busy though, but if there is any normal people in there we should quickly be able to scare them out once a few smelly runners turn up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Ryan's
    Drink:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭aero2k

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    Drink:D
    Feck:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Arse :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Down with that sort of thing!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Would anyone know someone working in bar in that end of town or near the city centre where we might reserve some space/chairs for everyone to try and meet up for a couple of hours, say 2pm to 5 pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Everyone faint at the finish line and you can meet in the Merrion Inn opp St. Vincents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

chinguetti wrote: »
    Would anyone know someone working in bar in that end of town or near the city centre where we might reserve some space/chairs for everyone to try and meet up for a couple of hours, say 2pm to 5 pm.

RacoonQueen must (based on earlier reputation ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

If I end up not being able to do DCM, I shall stake out somewhere. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Ray, this is defiantely the most important DCM based question out there. We deifnately need a poll and can then go with the majority. The conrad is only somewhere for the quicker runners and pacers to go to nab a pint and possibly a shower, but we should all be meeting somwhere else from 2pm. I vote the market bar as it has great food and won't be too jammed (as I suspect porterhouse will- unless of course RK can stake it out!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

menoscemo wrote: »
    Ray, this is defiantely the most important DCM based question out there. We deifnately need a poll and can then go with the majority. The conrad is only somewhere for the quicker runners and pacers to go to nab a pint and possibly a shower, but we should all be meeting somwhere else from 2pm. I vote the market bar as it has great food and won't be too jammed (as I suspect porterhouse will- unless of course RK can stake it out!!)

Market Bar sounds good to me and there's a circulation of air there which should help (for those that haven't showered).....

Let's keep the suggestions open until Monday, and we'll stick up a poll then.

Can you retitle this thread to "Post DCM beers nominations thread" (or some such).
    I will also nominate The Hairy Lemon. Nice bar with nice food. The only down point is that the toilets are up the stairs.

Can you retitle this thread to "Post DCM beers nominations thread" (or some such).

done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Git101

I will also nominate The Hairy Lemon. Nice bar with nice food. The only down point is that the toilets are up the stairs.

Are you MAD :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

Ryan's
    I also nominate the Market Bar. Plenty of patatas bravas for filler.
    For those who want to wander around a dancefloor later on Hogans is just around the corner.
    As is the Long Hall and Grogans, two good Guinness pubs.

Git101 wrote: »
    Are you MAD :eek::eek::eek:

could be good fun :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Git101

could be good fun :pac:

Emergency services called to rescue large group from upstairs landing...:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Long Hall
    Git101 wrote: »
    Emergency services called to rescue large group from upstairs landing...:D

If we are going somewhere with stairs, best make sure that there is easy access for a firetruck to park outside so they can bring us back down on the lift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

robinph wrote: »
    If we are going somewhere with stairs, best make sure that there is easy access for a firetruck to park outside so they can bring us back down on the lift.

If you've put the training in stairs shouldn't be an issue ;)

Please note I had to walk backwards up stairs after my first 3 marathons. Hamstrings had to do the work of my quads due to poor preparation. Still ran sub 3 ;)

Long Hall
    I'll take walking backwards upstairs for a sub3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

I won't be there this year, but O'Donoghues on Baggot Street was great craic last year - beer garden (heated) was nicely busy with runners afterwards - plenty of stools and tables. Close to finish area too (unless theyve changed that from last year).

Not 100% sure on food situation there (ie if there is any?).... I lashed in a swift burger king prior to my arrival at said venue.

Failing that, I'm sure there's other convenient Baggot St venues...

chinguetti wrote: »

Till 5pm :confused: where will we be moving on to at 5pm? :confused:
    digger2d2 wrote: »
    RacoonQueen must (based on earlier reputation ;))

Well, I never. :eek:

I could make a few calls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

RQ, i think by 5pm i'll need a shower and a break before i go back dancing.

Chair dancing:D

I expect you all there to watch the Leeds match with me. Might as well have you all laugh at me in the flesh.

Gee next monday could be a really bad day - no marathon and Leeds lose to the taffs or crap marathon and Leeds lose to the taffs. *sigh* :(

To double up on my suggestion in the novices thread, we should go to the baggot inn - just so nobody can get out again once they come in. It's totally not worth climbing those stairs just to go home or go for a smoke(you know who you are :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭marrona

McGrattans on Baggot Street has:
    -burgers
    -and other food
    -wine €10 per bottle
    -6 bottles Sol €20
    -fireplace
    -couches
    -spacious
    -good music
    -dancefloor (i think, you can defo dance if you want to but general atmos more like a pub)

....and all at ground floor level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

marrona wrote: »
    McGrattans on Baggot Street has:
    -burgers
    -and other food
    -wine €10 per bottle
    -6 bottles Sol €20
    -fireplace
    -couches
    -spacious
    -good music
    -dancefloor (i think, you can defo dance if you want to but general atmos more like a pub)

....and all at ground floor level
    -Smoking area?

sideswipe wrote: »
    -Smoking area?

yep, outdoor heated and a conservatory area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

marrona wrote: »
    yep, outdoor heated and a conservatory area
    Cool, might be time to get the cigars out, I love it when an 18 week plan comes together:D

They also have massive TV's for the Leeds game. :cool:

Long Hall
    Do they televise the conference games these days? Or are they down in the Yorkshire pub league now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

I'm liking this McGrattans idea more and more... Closer to the finish line than other suggestions and seems to tick all the boxes. How long is the poll staying open for and will someone give them whichever bar wins a ring to reserve an area for us?

xebec wrote: »
    I'm liking this McGrattans idea more and more... Closer to the finish line than other suggestions and seems to tick all the boxes. How long is the poll staying open for and will someone give them whichever bar wins a ring to reserve an area for us?

Why can't you? :pac:

I will though, can't trust a man to do it anyway.

Long Hall
    Can't find McGrattans on street view, or my memory of Baggot Street. Where is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Coming from town, it's the left turn between burger king and tesco. I think Georgian Fare is just on the corner. It's about 100m straight ahead after you turn left.

On an aside, can anyone recommend a good spot from which to spectate along the route?

Long Hall
    :o I used to work about 20m from there and never knew it existed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

don't know it myself, but sounds good. here's the web site

I just rang McGrattans to make sure they're open and have food that day cos wasn't sure from website -they are! Food is a full menu. Steak sandwiches, soup, cod and chips were given as examples and platters will also be available. Tables can be booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

don't know it myself, but sounds good. here's the web site

Just had a look at the website... I think we now need another poll just to figure out which bar in McGrattans to meet up in!!!

I guess this is the menu on offer: http://www.mcgrattans.ie/NewBarMenu.pdf

ronanmac wrote: »
    Just had a look at the website... I think we now need another poll just to figure out which bar in McGrattans to meet up in!!!

It's really not that big, you can see the whole room at one time. I think those rooms must be suites bookable for functions. (I don't work for McGrattans I swear)

Poll up.

Poll up.

Can you make it a multiple choice poll? Several of the options sound good to me.

Long Hall
    Can you make it a multiple choice poll? Several of the options sound good to me.

No ticking every option though. :D

Where's the pub crawl option?

None of the pubs will disappear if you don't vote for them, the best thing is to decide on one venue to meet up, most popular wins. This will turn into a "Boards Tshirt" thread if there's too many options..:pac: